Customer Reviews for

Arena One: Slaverunners (Book #1 of the Survival Trilogy)

Average Rating 3.5
( 252 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(102)

4 Star

(59)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(37)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Totally original and amazing read!

I really loved this. It's in the same genre as the Hunger Games, but the plot is totally original. Unlike the Hunger Games, there is no government, no authority, no capitol, no society left alive, no reality TV and no games between teenagers. Instead, it's a lawless soc...
I really loved this. It's in the same genre as the Hunger Games, but the plot is totally original. Unlike the Hunger Games, there is no government, no authority, no capitol, no society left alive, no reality TV and no games between teenagers. Instead, it's a lawless society and is really just about a brave girl's attempt to enter New York City and rescue her sister. I love the unique mountain settings of the Catskills and the apocalyptic, urban setting of NYC--along with the constantly snowy climate--none of which are in the Hunger Games. Even the indoor death matches here (with adults) are totally different. This is an action-packed read that keeps you on the edge of your seat the entire time!

posted by 3096621 on February 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

16 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

Wth...

This is totally a rip off of the hunger games. The world ended. She has a younger sister that she loves OH so much. Shes in love with 2 guys. Sound familiar? I was looking for a book as amazing as the HG were...not one exactly like it!

posted by 2641374 on February 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 252 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    Totally original and amazing read!

    I really loved this. It's in the same genre as the Hunger Games, but the plot is totally original. Unlike the Hunger Games, there is no government, no authority, no capitol, no society left alive, no reality TV and no games between teenagers. Instead, it's a lawless society and is really just about a brave girl's attempt to enter New York City and rescue her sister. I love the unique mountain settings of the Catskills and the apocalyptic, urban setting of NYC--along with the constantly snowy climate--none of which are in the Hunger Games. Even the indoor death matches here (with adults) are totally different. This is an action-packed read that keeps you on the edge of your seat the entire time!

    17 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    Wth...

    This is totally a rip off of the hunger games. The world ended. She has a younger sister that she loves OH so much. Shes in love with 2 guys. Sound familiar? I was looking for a book as amazing as the HG were...not one exactly like it!

    16 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    Don't bother

    I bought this book because I liked the concept, but the more I read all I could think was, "Get this lady a Thesaurus!" At first I found it amusing how often the word "grateful" was used, but by the end of the book I was cringing! Granted, this is fiction and your characters can pretty much do anything in your imagination, but if your story has no magic, etc. you generally must keep within reason. So,tell me. Since when does an old Harley motorcycle with a sidecar go 130 miles an hour? They say this book is the next "Hunger Games". Not hardly. In "Hunger Games" Kat's skills were believable, but Brook..., well, let's just say the book just got more and more stupid as it went on. A glutton for punishment, I actually finished the entire book, hoping that it would somehow redeem itself. I don't think the age group this was aimed for would even like it and it's definitely not for anyone under 17; not with talk of men having underage sex. And that's another stupid thing that I found. They're in this house at the end (yes, a spoiler alert. Although this whole book is just spoiled!), she's looking for Bree. Guns are being fired and she's opening all these doors, only to find men having sex with girls, oblivious to it all. I don't care what a man (or anyone) is doing, if guns are being fired in close proximity, you go find out just what the hell is going on!! So, save your money!!

    11 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Just wonderful!

    I read this book in one day! Could not put it down. I have read pretty much all of Morgan's books and this was one of my favorites!! Will not be disappointed!

    9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommend this book!!!

    I read this book in 2 days. Could not put it down. Can't wait for the next book to come out! I was on the edge waiting for what would happen next.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    Derivative and disappointing...

    Overall, this book was pretty disappointing. How many times can you repeat the same plot devices? "We've wrecked the car! OH WAIT, we've fixed it..." "I'm going to die now! OH WAIT! I lived!" With better writing, and certainly better editing, this book had the potential to be great... OH WAIT, it already was great...it was called The Hunger Games.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    Awesome! Morgan Rice did it again!

    This book was fabulous. Morgan created a new series that is up to par with her Vampire Journals series. This book reminded me of the Hunger Games books along with Amamda Hocking's Hollowland boojs. However, Morgan's work is fresh and new. Buy it!

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2012

    I, VERYLY !!!!! HIGHLY !!!!! Recommend this book. ;-)

    Morgan Rice is a great writer. She has a way of making you beleive you are right there next to her charactors. She shows this not only in this book but all of her books before this one. Morgan, as long as you keep writing, I'll keep reading.
    Thank you.
    Francis Chandler

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    awful! don't bother.

    junk.

    8 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    Awesome

    Love morgan rice. This book is one of the best so far. I dont think it should be compaired to the hunger games though. I thought it was one of the better dystopian books out there.

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2012

    Mediocre read; atrocious attempt at ripping off The Hunger Games' premise.

    It may have been more enjoyable if it wasn't blatantly obvious that author ripped off the premise of The Hunger Games. It's insulting in my opinion try to rip off another author and then sell it to their readers as if it's something in the same genre and not just a cheap mimic.

    7 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2012

    A good read

    Enjoyed this book from the begining all the way to the end.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    ARENE ONE IS #1

    This book is incredible! I loved this read and could not put it down. I disagree with any of the haters out there that say this is a rip off of the HG. It's totally original.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2012

    This is pure literary junk food. The author would have you beli

    This is pure literary junk food. The author would have you believe that
    a motorcycle stored for 3 years would start right up. You can drive 100
    MPH on icy mountain roads and crash a motorcycle at 150 MPH and survive.
    JUNK - even 12 year old girls (which is probably the market for this
    trash) should know better. If you are over the age of 12 avoid at all cost!!

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2012

    Just not sure

    What threw me off was her description in the begining of the story about the freezing blizzard Brooke was in. She wears nothing but a hoodie, but does not get ill from exposure to extreme cold. She finds a Maple tree, taps it and the sap flows freely. I am almost certain that in freezing weather the sap would not flow, as maple trees are generally tapped during the warmer winter days and early spring when the weather warms up. I have only just begun reading this story but there are so many things wrong with it that it is a complete turn off. The author does not write very well at all. Certain phrases she uses are off, causing them to be very confusing. She says "the entire nation was spilled with blood" that phrase does not make sense and should have been revised. Little things like this drive me crazy and it made it very difficult to read this story and take it seriously. I felt like I was reading what was written by an amature role player, or even something written by a person with mild language barrier. Once I have finished this book (and hopefully that is soon) I will write another review based on whether this story is actually good or not. From what I have read thus far, outlook not good.

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    Not good

    TOTAL Hunger Games ripoff - a girl who takes care of her younger sister and has a special fighting talent, an arena where they fight to the death, two love interests. I don't see how anyone could say the story was original. I admit I kept reading and hoping it would find some originality, but it didn't improve. And the writing? I haven't read any other of this author's books, but the writing was pathetic with constant repition. In the arena scene, I think the phrase, "the crowd roared" was repeated every few sentences. Every time she barely missed those metal spikes - repeated a dozen times. And every single time she woke up or regained conciousness for any reason, well she never knew if she was alive or dead, and she said just that...every single time. It is a shame because it really could have been a good story for this genre if more effort had been put into making it an original and well written story. If you are still interested in wasting part of your life reading this book, borrow it from someone through lend me or something.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2012

    I give it 0 stars

    This book SUCKED!!!!! Total rip off of the hunger games. Seriously. Two love intrests. Going to an arena to fight to the death with only one survivor. Takes care of her younger sister. Where have i heard this before? Oh right the hunger games. Why does this all sound so familliar? Oh, i heard it all in the hunger games. The hunger ganes rocks, this book, well kind of sucks. Not recommended in my book. Haha! Get it? Because it's a book? Ok, i know im not verry funny. CREAMCHEESE!*

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    Disappointing!

    This book is poorly written with several holes in the storyline that are never explained. I was very disappointed with the characters, there was no feeling of connection to any of them. It honestly felt like I was reading a rough 1st draft manuscript by an inexperienced writer. The only reason I read it through to the end was I kept thinking it must get better, sadly it did not.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    Loved it!

    I really, really enjoyed this book. It's a nail-biting, on-the-edge-of-your-seat, holding your breath kind of story. I really can't wait for the next one to be out. Morgan incorporates some of today's issues into the story and I found it truly frightening. I love Brooke she's a great character to add to the tough, strong heroines out there.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    Amazing new trilogy!

    I totally loved this book! Brooke is so brave and so devoted to her sister--I loved spending time with her. I also loved the romance between her and Ben, and her and Logan. I'm dying to see who she ends up with!

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 252 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13