Customer Reviews for

Argo: How the CIA and Hollywood Pulled Off the Most Audacious Rescue in History

Average Rating 4
( 73 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

AFTER ENJOYING THIS FIRST RATE TRUE SPY THRILLER, YOU CAN CONCLU

AFTER ENJOYING THIS FIRST RATE TRUE SPY THRILLER, YOU CAN CONCLUDE THE FOLLOWING:FIRST ,DEALING WITH IRAN IS A FOOLS ERRAND. SECOND, WE HAVE INCREDIBLE PEOPLE WHO WORK AT THE CIA LIKE MR. MENDEZ AND HIS STAFF, WHO RISK THEIR LIVES FOR ALL OF US. THIRD , THANK YOU CANA...
AFTER ENJOYING THIS FIRST RATE TRUE SPY THRILLER, YOU CAN CONCLUDE THE FOLLOWING:FIRST ,DEALING WITH IRAN IS A FOOLS ERRAND. SECOND, WE HAVE INCREDIBLE PEOPLE WHO WORK AT THE CIA LIKE MR. MENDEZ AND HIS STAFF, WHO RISK THEIR LIVES FOR ALL OF US. THIRD , THANK YOU CANADA. FOURTH, I WISH MR. MENDEZ CAN SHARE WITH ALL OF US THE OTHER STORIES OF THE CIA LIKE THIS AUDACIOUS ONE PORTRAYED IN THIS EXCELLENT BOOK,

posted by WASHINGTONGW on September 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

its an OK story, but too bad it is historically inaccurate

The author must have been sleeping through that crisis. he didn't know that the CIA played only a minor role in that escapade. The real hero was Ken Taylor, Canada's Ambassador to Iran at the time. And his staff also played super human roles as well. Canada's Parliament...
The author must have been sleeping through that crisis. he didn't know that the CIA played only a minor role in that escapade. The real hero was Ken Taylor, Canada's Ambassador to Iran at the time. And his staff also played super human roles as well. Canada's Parliament even went so far as to meet surreptitiously at a private setting to agree to provide the six Americans with false Canadian passports. The correct version would have been preferable. These facts were recently corroborated by President Jimmy Carter. But of course Americans prefer to belive in the heroics of Americans.

posted by bobinbc on March 1, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 73 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted September 17, 2012

    AFTER ENJOYING THIS FIRST RATE TRUE SPY THRILLER, YOU CAN CONCLU

    AFTER ENJOYING THIS FIRST RATE TRUE SPY THRILLER, YOU CAN CONCLUDE THE FOLLOWING:FIRST ,DEALING WITH IRAN IS A FOOLS ERRAND. SECOND, WE HAVE INCREDIBLE PEOPLE WHO WORK AT THE CIA LIKE MR. MENDEZ AND HIS STAFF, WHO RISK THEIR LIVES FOR ALL OF US. THIRD , THANK YOU CANADA. FOURTH, I WISH MR. MENDEZ CAN SHARE WITH ALL OF US THE OTHER STORIES OF THE CIA LIKE THIS AUDACIOUS ONE PORTRAYED IN THIS EXCELLENT BOOK,

    21 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    Recommend if espionage intrigues you

    This is a very well written account of an actual CIA scheme to exfiltrate 6 "house guests" from a hostile environment. The planning that goes behind the scenes is incredible. Mind-boggling to me what kind of technology is out there. I questioned revealing this information to the general public but I suspect it is common knowledge to those in the "business." It was good to hear something good about the CIA, which has seen some bad press over the years. As always, the book is better than the movie. I went on to read Antonio Mendez' Master of Disguise which was equally intriguing.

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    Fascinating

    Remarkable insight into the real world of the CIA. Hard to put down. Liked this book a bit more than Tony Mendez's Master of Disguise.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Great read - well done.

    Wanted to read before I saw the movie. Haven't found the time to do that yet....but I definitely will. Tears you up that people find themselves in these kinds of situations in this world.....glad there are good people to lend a hand for those trying times when there is no where left to turn. Thank you Canada once again.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    quick read

    nice short read. not surprisingly the movie was quite a bit different as i suspected. good insight into what actually happened during the dark days of American History. Brought back a lot of memories of how a weak leadership can fail the country.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2013

    its an OK story, but too bad it is historically inaccurate

    The author must have been sleeping through that crisis. he didn't know that the CIA played only a minor role in that escapade. The real hero was Ken Taylor, Canada's Ambassador to Iran at the time. And his staff also played super human roles as well. Canada's Parliament even went so far as to meet surreptitiously at a private setting to agree to provide the six Americans with false Canadian passports. The correct version would have been preferable. These facts were recently corroborated by President Jimmy Carter. But of course Americans prefer to belive in the heroics of Americans.

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Fascinating and gut wrenching. I suggest Our Man in Tehran for

    Fascinating and gut wrenching. I suggest Our Man in Tehran for the story from the inside of the Canadian Embassy.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2012

    O.k. no lasting impression. Just anothe government story

    Nothing special

    4 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2012

    it's remarkable that these 6 survived at all given the open viol

    it's remarkable that these 6 survived at all given the open violence toward any american in iran then. it should be noted that there were a number of iranians that helped out, at risk of their own deaths, and made it possible for the americans to survive until the cia got in there and got them out. i wish there had been a similar story regarding the hostages. 444 days of abuse and terror at the hands of the ignorant young 'students' in iran who had zero understanding of their own history and blamed the americans for everything while believing the most ridiculous paranoid rumors about them. the ayatollah's in iran need to be removed by the people so they can get back to being a leading civilization again.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Not

    Boring

    2 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2012

    Excellent Book. Glad I read it!!

    Exciting story.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    What a Great Look at the CIA

    This is a fascinating book. Mr. Mendez career in the CIA and his detailing of the workings of the CIA make for an indepth view of operation that rescued the 6 Americans from Tehran. The movie really follows the the actual events that made this rescue a reality.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    Great Read!

    This book was a great read. I couldn't put it down. I am sure there are parts that were not totally as it happened due to security preservation, but the glimpses into the operations of the various governments was thought provoking . Well worth reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2013

    It is written in first person viewpoint. Highly informative of our unseen It is written in first person view point, an example of our front line people......

    Very well presented, and a viewpoint to remember.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2013

    Great book!

    I couldn't put it down! If you like suspense, this is the best.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    A Fantastic Read.

    Even though the reader knows from history how this story turns out, it is a suspenseful account. The couraqge ,ingenuity, and resources employed by the CIA is fabulous. The author captures the various personalities of the six embassy people rescued. I highly recommend Argo.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2013

    I was wicked excited about digging into this book but I must say

    I was wicked excited about digging into this book but I must say that at this point, I'm just going through the motions.  Three quarters of the way into a book and still introducing all the players - some of which do not really need their 3 pages of description - is a bit too long.  I'm a patient reader but I actually have been getting annoyed reading this.  I would just opt for the movie on this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    Kill 'em dead

    What did i do?

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    Good read

    Finished this book in one day ... couldnt put it down

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    An interesting read

    Even though this book has been made into a movie which I have not seen, I was curious how Argo really happened. There was a lot of detail about Iran, our government and what was happening in the counties at the time. The details involved to successfully pull off the rescue were amazing. The cover was so well done it was almost a letdown in the book for the lack of drama, but I am sure there was plenty of drama for the actual hostages during this time. Bravo to the CIA and Canada!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 73 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4