Customer Reviews for

Aria

Average Rating 4.5
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 9, 2013

    Aria is powerful.  The writer is adept at  helping  us feel our

    Aria is powerful.  The writer is adept at  helping  us feel our way into the characters and their lives. and the situations portrayed are heartbreaking and intense.  If you are looking to be really moved by  what you read, don miss this book--there are so few that deal as honestly with recovery from grief,

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2013

    Aria was a novel I could not put down. It was very fast paced an

    Aria was a novel I could not put down. It was very fast paced and filled with emotion and excitement! The author really gets you involved with the characters…Can't wait for another novel from this author.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    A passionate, heartbreaking but ultimately uplifting novel about

    A passionate, heartbreaking but ultimately uplifting novel about a woman who becomes famous through a horrendously personal tragedy. Struggling to maintain her hold on life after a devastating boating accident kills her husband and two small children, she rediscovers through new relationships, unwanted celebrity, and a deep passion for music, the power of family to help her heal. Loved this one! Judy E.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2013

    Aria is a wonderful novel that has stayed with me ever since I f

    Aria is a wonderful novel that has stayed with me ever since I first read it. It's haunting and yet uplifting, with vivid writing and compelling characters. Readers will fall in love with Eve immediately and root for her every step of the way. A warm and wonderful book.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    Segal's character-work is a wonder to behold -- there's a Joyce-

    Segal's character-work is a wonder to behold -- there's a Joyce-like complexity to these people, and a complex structure to her prose. Even out-of-context sentences read like stories unto themselves. You see the word "haunting" in a lot of these reviews for reason. ARIA sticks with you.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    I really enjoyed this book...very memorable characters and a very believable story. Thank you Susan Segal...it must have been a difficult book to write!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2013

    Very good writing!

    I enjoyed this authors writing very much. Although the story wasn't a happy one, I felt good about it through the end. Looking forward to more of her work.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2013

    Segal¿s book Aria is heart wrenching, powerful story filled with

    Segal’s book Aria is heart wrenching, powerful story filled with realistic characters. Tremendous human touch. Feels real. Descriptions are eloquent. Writing is subtle and superb. Overall, a great read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    ARIA made me laugh and cry. The author did a great job creating

    ARIA made me laugh and cry. The author did a great job creating compelling characters and situations, especially the opera aspects. I couldn't put it down.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    I loved this book, the amazing realness of the characters especi

    I loved this book, the amazing realness of the characters especially. Definitely worth a read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Aria

    Simple read for a nice cozy evening by the fire.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    I loved it!

    It made me laugh and cry. I didn't want to finish it (in a good way) because I didn't want it to be over! I couldn't put it down. I related to the story in a lot of ways. I don't want to give anything away but this is a great story of trying to coming back from a deep and sudden loss. I love it and will definitely read again and again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    Atria

    Because I have been through trauma this book gave me hope!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2013

    Amazing Story

    If you happen to come across this book and are considering reading it, do not hesitate.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    Megan

    This is just where i wanted to meet you. The roleplay is at 'naplo' res 1 and im luna there." She pokes him on her way out and got on her pegusis and went to 'naplo' res 1

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2013

    A great choice from my book club! I couldn't put it down. Ms.

    A great choice from my book club! I couldn't put it down. Ms. Segal, is very gifted writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    Powerful

    This book is powerful, I found it hard to put down, and then could only think of it, til I could pick it up again. I will remember this book for along time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    Great read Susan!!!! I've recommended it to all my friends.

    Great read Susan!!!! I've recommended it to all my friends. Eric

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1