Customer Reviews for

Aris Returns: A Vampire Love Story (Infinity Diaries Trilogy Series #1)

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended

This is the first book I've actually wrote a review on. It was a daily deal Nook Book and it seemed interesting so I took a chance. WOW it was an amazing book. I can't wait for the next book in the series to be published! You usually know what is going to happen next an...
This is the first book I've actually wrote a review on. It was a daily deal Nook Book and it seemed interesting so I took a chance. WOW it was an amazing book. I can't wait for the next book in the series to be published! You usually know what is going to happen next and honestly I was surprised at the end. It is a page turner! I would say more but I don't want to spoil the book for you. This is a wonderful mixture of present day and Tutor England. Devin weaves the story in such a way that you are completely emerged.

posted by pinkjennie32 on November 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

16 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Not good. Not good at all. Writing is very sophomoric and stil

Not good. Not good at all. Writing is very sophomoric and stilted. There is no flow. I felt like I was watching a campy sitcom. There was no real heat between characters, the story was choppy and left too many holes. Disappointing. I recommend The Black Dagger Br...
Not good. Not good at all. Writing is very sophomoric and stilted. There is no flow. I felt like I was watching a campy sitcom. There was no real heat between characters, the story was choppy and left too many holes. Disappointing. I recommend The Black Dagger Brotherhood. Fast action, steamy scenes, and excellent story flow.

posted by SarahJo on November 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 155 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted November 7, 2012

    Not good. Not good at all. Writing is very sophomoric and stil

    Not good. Not good at all. Writing is very sophomoric and stilted. There is no flow. I felt like I was watching a campy sitcom. There was no real heat between characters, the story was choppy and left too many holes. Disappointing. I recommend The Black Dagger Brotherhood. Fast action, steamy scenes, and excellent story flow.

    16 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended

    This is the first book I've actually wrote a review on. It was a daily deal Nook Book and it seemed interesting so I took a chance. WOW it was an amazing book. I can't wait for the next book in the series to be published! You usually know what is going to happen next and honestly I was surprised at the end. It is a page turner! I would say more but I don't want to spoil the book for you. This is a wonderful mixture of present day and Tutor England. Devin weaves the story in such a way that you are completely emerged.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    Paranormal, vampires

    About 230 pages. About vampires. Free Friday selection. Disjointed, jerky flow. Editing is so-so. No heat between the characters, but since vampires are cold blooded, I guess that is to be expected. Paranormal books are my least favorite genre. This was not love at first byte for me. I did not even like a nibble. Perhaps this novel was not the right blood type and I found it incompatible. I may have bats in the attic, but at least they aren't blood suckers. Save yourself a sore throat and anemia by skipping this one. I almost put a stake through my own heart it was so bad. Perhaps it needed holy water to heat things up. Juvenile. Plot has been done so many times, it should be buried.

    AD

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    Avid reader

    Dissapointing read. The ending was poor. I felt that this book was a waste of my time. I kept waiting for it to get better no such luck. Dont waste your time free is still too much.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2012

    Honestly, I'm the type of person who never listens to reviews be

    Honestly, I'm the type of person who never listens to reviews because I feel they either spoil or positively ruin a book for me (as some have below, but then again, there's a naysayer for every yay out there). However, I read a very brief one on Aris Returns and decided with it being cheap to buy digitally that it was worth a chance. I'm not quite done with it, but thus far, I'm getting into it and actually enjoy it. In a span of just two hours, I read the first seventeen chapters and am eagerly awaiting the moment I sit down to continue, hoping to finish the rest. I do know that it ends in a cliffhanger (I had to look ahead...Bad, Alli! Bad!), so I'm disappointed in that. Hopefully, though, the sequel will be out soon and I'll be able to read it! :D

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2012

    Good Read

    I wasn't really sure about this book but it was good if at times a little disjointed. It's a new take on the Vampire theme. Characters were interesting but the dialogue for the Vampire was a bit much. It also ended very abruptly. I think she needs to do a second installment just to let readers know what happens. I loved Carlos FYI you never really know why he is angry.

    OK all that said it was still a good book.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Partially interesting story about a therapist, Sarah, who agrees

    Partially interesting story about a therapist, Sarah, who agrees to counsel a friend’s probationer, Carlos.  Carlos is a felon
    who wants to have a different life and is ready to go straight.  The focus of Sarah’s practice is past-life regressions, and
    Carlos’ regression sessions relate the story of Aris, a vampire from ancient Egypt.

    Sarah develops a crush, for lack of a better term, on Aris, Carlos’ alter-ego.  Carlos himself walks the line of falling in love
    with Sarah pretty closely.  The book ends without resolving either relationship, though it’s not a pull-my-hair-out abrupt
    ending, as some I’ve read recently have been.  

    There were a lot of mistakes, seventy-five that I highlighted while I was reading.  That does not include the use, misuse or
    lack of commas, which were far too numerous to count.

    The author related Aris’ story very well, and her descriptions of the past, particularly the time of Henry VIII, were fairly vivid,
    and personal enough to make them more interesting.  It was in the modern time, with Sarah, Colleen and Carlos that things
    weren’t so good.  

    She does have a unique take on vampires and their origins.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2012

    Above my expectations

    I thought this was going to be your run of the mill vampire tale. That said I love a good vampire tale! I was pleasently surprised by the direction this took and shocked at the end. I give it 4 stars because I don't want to wait to read the next one lol.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    Hmm...

    To be fair, the author had a pretty good concept. The execution was mundane. It kept my interest to the end. But it kind of felt like the book was written by two different people; one who was a great story teller (the Aris pieces) and one who was so so (the Sarah/Carlos pieces). I suppose that is what the author wanted to highlight, that Sarah's present is dull in comparsion to Aris's past. I would have liked to see Sarah's character more developed. I just didn't feel the connection to the characters or between them.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2013

    Okay, I have to commend Ms. Morgan on a unique take on vampires

    Okay, I have to commend Ms. Morgan on a unique take on vampires and vampire history in how it relates to our own. It was interesting for sure and I can tell she did her research – both on history and into hypnotherapy.

    The story was written well, maybe a few typos but not enough to distract me from the story.

    The thing is, I had an issue with a few of the characters. The heroine, Sarah, annoyed me a little. I’m not sure why and can’t really put my finger on it. Perhaps a simple personality clash – if I met Sarah in real life, we would not become friends. This took me out of the story a bit, as I was not really rooting for Sarah at all.

    The ending bothered me for a few reasons. One, it felt like we had this huge build up for many different types of tension, two back stories going on, but then the tension for me was nicely severed by what felt like a “convenience”. Sure, it was ‘logical’ to end this way I suppose, based on the other events of the story, but to me it still felt too easy. Like the entire back story was built JUST for this purpose and the character it affected didn’t matter at all – and this character was the one I rooted for the most!

    I do have to say, that Aris’ story was a ton of fun to read. I loved the history aspects thrown in along with the new vampire culture that exists. His story (coupled with my love for Carlos) kept me reading, despite all my other hang ups.

    I think plenty of vampire fans will love this book and I would recommend it to them if asked, but I just don’t think it was for me and my taste. I will give book 2 a chance, if only to see what the author does after the ending of this one.

    (I won a paperback copy of the second book in this series in a giveaway, then purchased both the first and second book in ebook format.)

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2013

    Predictable & boring

    This book could easily have been half the length and been twice as effective.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2012

    A good love story!

    This is a great story about the past and present, and a love that crosses the bounds of time! The only drawback for me was that it is a predictable story, but otherwise it was still well done, and worth reading!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2012

    I love vamipires, I HATED the Twilight series (really? vampires

    I love vamipires, I HATED the Twilight series (really? vampires that sparkle?) so I approach new vampire books with caution, but I thought that the concept behind this novel was brilliant. The author takes a centuries-old topic and adds a totally original twist. For that alone, I give five stars. In a world of instant gratification and half-baked ideas, her innovations is quite novel. I loved the main character--I loved the attention to detail, especially with simple things like her Sunday routine. The end doesn't fail to please, either! Great, fun, easy read that I'd recommend to anyone looking for a quiet evening with a blanket, a cup of tea, and an escape into fantasy.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2012

    Terrible

    Choppy and disjointed writing. Made it really difficult to buy into the story. Illogical leaps in the plot were really frustrating and distracting. I will never seek another book from this author.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2012

    2-3 at best

    Choppy writing for the most part. Story line was very interesting but didnt flow at all.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    Not bad

    This could have been a great story. The characters not given enough depth. The storyline could have been more developed and the parts of aris at henry vlll court seemed straight out of the movie the other boelyn girl. I like the ideas in the story. It deserved more work to be so much better than it was.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2014

    Don't bother

    Got this as a free Friday deal and still think it was a waste. Poorly written, barely any plot, no real conflict, no real resolution. The characters are so disjointed you never truly connect with them, much less empathize. Even the vampiric elements are a disaster. I am a voracious reader and had to force myself to finish this book. Horrible!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2013

    Banal

    I was not able to get past the first two chapters due to the writer's afinity for excessive minor details.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2013

    So... this was free, so how much can one complain really? The o

    So... this was free, so how much can one complain really? The one comment I have to make is that ther person who wrote it, has never been around anyone from the "hood". LOL. I would suggest doing a little research so that the voice of the character sounds some what realistic. I wanted the story to be good..... the concept was interesting, however, I just wanted it to be done.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2013

    Glad it was free. I skipped entire sections, and the ending

    Glad it was free.


    I skipped entire sections, and the ending is very unsatisfactory even knowing there was a sequel. Will not bother with the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 155 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8