Customer Reviews for

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe

Average Rating 5
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    Best book ever

    I devoured the entire book in less than 24 hours. Ive never been so cptivated by a book that it changed my whole take on life. BEST BOOK YOU WILL EVER READ! SO READ IT!!!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2014

    This book was truly beautiful. I was not concerned where it woul

    This book was truly beautiful. I was not concerned where it would end, because I just loved reading the words on the page in front of me.
    Even more, the dialogue made the whole piece flow, because it was not plagued with "he said." More importantly, I felt very comfortable reading this book because there were no glaring explicit events, yet in no way was it an easy or young read. For those who enjoy quality writing and have been bored with dystopian futures, please read. :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2013

    I had to give myself some space from this novel after I finished

    I had to give myself some space from this novel after I finished it because I was so floored. I’m still not sure I can capture exactly how it made me feel or how much I loved it.

    Aristotle, or Ari, is angsty and confused. He’s angry that his parents won’t talk to him about his brother, who’s in prison. He’s also a loner, never feeling like he quite fits in with other boys. Dante is a brilliant boy who tries to look on the brighter side of life. The two seem to have nothing in common, but learn a lot about themselves through their friendship. Ari and Dante are the kinds of characters that feel very real and jump off the page, but you would be hard-pressed to find real people like them. I loved the literary references, commentaries on different aspects of life, and their parents. It’s so easy to find YA books with parents who are either never around or are unsupportive. Ari and Dante have wonderful parents who love them, talk to them, and want them to be happy. I wish everyone could have parents like them. The writing was so beautiful that I immediately wanted to read everything Saenz has ever written. I liked that the LGBT elements weren’t of the in-your-face variety. It’s just genuine. I also loved their struggle with where they stand as Americans and Mexicans. It was so refreshing to read about these topics when they’re handled subtly and well. This book definitely deserves all of the acclaim and awards. The narration was good, but I had to let it grow on me. I wasn’t sure about his voice in the beginning. After listening to nearly the entire book in one sitting, his voices became the characters’ voices to me. I’m already re-reading this one in print to pick up on any quotes I might want to tag and I can still hear the narrator’s voices in my head.

    Go read this book now!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2014

    This book helped developed my relationship with my family, I ext

    This book helped developed my relationship with my family, I extremely love Dante's 'no secret' part. And this story established my view of the world and the universe into a new higher level as I found Aristotal's notion of his life (miserable, confusing, lonely) pretty inspiring, and the process as he met Dante first at the swimming pool, puzzled by his optimistic characteristic and his logical life, lovely family and infinitive dream. On the other hand ,Aristotle's relationship with his father which I found the most attractive part. His father was a wordless man who once joined the army and endured great harm during the Vietnum warfare, Aristotle also inherited this disadvantage from his father-don't know how to express his own feelings and be with people defendlessly(Aristotle even hated to be a guy!) .

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2014

    Loved it. Doesn't have needless sappy drama like other YA books.

    Loved it. Doesn't have needless sappy drama like other YA books. I finished it in 2 days because I simply could not stop my self from reading it. I bought this on a whim and it was the best decision, you will not regret reading this story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    This book has left me speechless. The author is truly amazing wi

    This book has left me speechless. The author is truly amazing with his words and the story is unforgettable. It's truly a book to read over and over again. I'm in love with this work and I can't believe I didn't read it sooner. I finished this book in 12 hours, crying all the while.
    The characters are real and funny, they're sarcastic and full of wit. They are so much more than I had ever expected from this book. 
    This book made my heart ache more than any other book I've ever read, and I've read The Fault in Our Stars and many other ones of the sort.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    If I had to use one word to describe this book it would be beaut

    If I had to use one word to describe this book it would be beautiful. The story, the characters, everything. This is not my usual kind of book and it's the first time I've read anything dealing with this particular issue but I feel like Sáenz handled it flawlessly.

    The first thing I fell in love with was the writing. It's the kind of writing that I want to endlessly gush about it. Sáenz has a talent for conveying an overwhelming amount of emotion in very few words. His simple prose and utilization of short sentences and chapters is usually not the kind of writing that works for me, but his writing is so lyrical and evocative that I was instantly engaged and couldn't stop reading until I was done. His is the kind of writing that gives you the sense that every word was selected with great love and care.

    The second thing I fell in love with was Ari, and through his narration I fell in love with all the other characters as well, from Dante to the dog Legs. It was so easy for me to relate to Ari, despite the fact that we have nothing in common other than an overwhelming sense of loneliness. In a lot of ways he reminded me of Holden Caulfield of The Catcher in the Rye, who is one of my favorite narrator's ever. Ari's mind and narration is honest, thoughtful and of course beautiful. It is also brutally painful and caused me to have all sorts of aching emotions. Honestly, as I was reading I felt like I was growing up right alongside Ari.

    Dante and both sets of parents are also lovely. While the book is told exclusively from Ari's POV, it is so easy to feel as if you understand Dante and the parents just as well as you do Ari by the end of it. Sáenz developed all of his characters masterfully and there is not a one who is not a complexly layered fully developed individual. So often in first person narrations the secondary characters do not get the development they deserve but that never becomes an issue here.

    However it is the relationships that are hands down the best part of this book. Dante and Ari's friendship is completely organic and realistic. The love the parents have for their sons, their insight and understanding of these boys made my heart melt because they are the truest child/parent relationships I've ever read.

    This really was one of the most honest, thoughtful, and genuinely realistic books about the importance of family, love and finding yourself that I've ever had the pleasure of reading. This is the book that should be studied in every high school and I will be recommending it to everyone I know until they all read it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2015

    Everyone gave this book 5 stars for a reason. So read it! I love

    Everyone gave this book 5 stars for a reason. So read it! I loved how the author spoke and intertwined so many aspects of teen angst and issues. A truly phenomenal read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2014

    Such a great book

    I havent read anything like this in a while. Truley an astonishing book. I loved the end, and just the chracters in general. Everyone should read this book. It speaks so well to any body

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2014

    Amazing

    A book has never made me cry this much. Truly beautiful

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2014

    One of the best books i've ever read. I barely ever cry while re

    One of the best books i've ever read. I barely ever cry while reading books but there were times that this book made me want to and sometimes I even had to stop. At first I wasn't really intrigued in reading this book but had to because of book club. After reading it I never regretted wasting my time. Honestly a great book about a kid who tries to find himself

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2014

    Amazing

    This one of the best books ive ever read. Its truely amazing and beautifully written.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2014

    The best book I ever read!!!!!

    The best book I ever read!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2014

    Incredible

    I picked up the book and thought it would be something about philosophy. I was half wrong. It wasn't about the historical philosophers but I was pleasantly surprised. This book makes you think and has a new take on philosophy. I found myself able to relate to the main characters and I really liked how it was written. The main characters were beautiful developed and the story was incredible. I'm so happy I read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2014

    My favorite book in the universe. Really, so beautiful and tende

    My favorite book in the universe. Really, so beautiful and tender and I just love all the characters, even Legs and Fidel. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2014

    I want to start by saying this... If you are part of the LGBTQ,

    I want to start by saying this... If you are part of the LGBTQ, if you are an ally, if you are straight, if you are trapped in the "ecotone" of gender identity... I urge you, do yourself a favor and read it... It definitely won't be a waste of your time... This book deserved it all: the hype, the awards, all of it if not much more...

     Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe is a coming-of-age story that is told mostly from the point of Aristotle as he goes into a deep and thoughtful exploration of discovering his identity and coming to terms with his own sexuality. Along the journey he meets Dante, another boy who seems to be nothing like him. It was that fateful encounter that changed everything and we are then entertained with a story of discovery, friendship, family and love...

    I really loved the way this book was written. Some chapters were really short (just a portion of the page with a few dialogues). Yet, I still felt it was very lush with just the right amount of details. The prose and dialogues, were so simple yet so good, I would go so far as to call it lyrical at most. I had to stop reading this book at times because it was just that good and it kept tugging hard at my emotions. It was very easy to get lost in this book. There were a lot of times while I was reading this book, that I had some "Eureka!" moments wherein I needed to stop a bit just to completed absorb all the profoundness that is hidden within  the very straightforward and honest way it was presented. 

    Personally, I don't know if I've connected and empathized more with any other characters other than Ari and Dante. Everything seems so real and the writing just seems to resonate with something I know I've struggled with in the past. I guess I should have expected much when I read the dedication: "To all the boys who've had to learn to play by different rules...". This book turned me into a blubbering mess and still, I loved it. Everything about this book was beautiful: the cover, the characters, the love,the story, and the writing style. This is definitely one of my best reads of the year... ♥♥♥

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2014

    Very good, short, easy read.

    Very good book, great characters, was somewhat upset at abrupt ending. Would love a follow up book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2014

    This book was completely amazing. I had heard of it before and r

    This book was completely amazing. I had heard of it before and randomly decided to purchase it, and I must say that I have absolutely no regrets. I'm so glad that I read it sooner rather than later. An excellent book that I highly recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2014

    Possibly the best book I've ever read. I read it so quickly and

    Possibly the best book I've ever read. I read it so quickly and was in tears for the most part. GAHHHH it was just too good. Definitely recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    An Amazing Story

    This story is so lovely and just impossible NOT to love. Aristotle is a young man who is constantly searching for something to fill his angry voice. Then comes in comes Dante and shows him a path he'd never even dreamed of taking before.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2