Customer Reviews for

The Ark

Average Rating 4
( 134 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(56)

4 Star

(36)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Aaron L Brown's Average Guy Review

You can usually find a great number of novels about any given subject, especially a lost treasure. But sometimes a story comes along that emerges as the definitive work on a particular topic. A few examples off the top of my head would be Raiders of the Lost Ark (it w...
You can usually find a great number of novels about any given subject, especially a lost treasure. But sometimes a story comes along that emerges as the definitive work on a particular topic. A few examples off the top of my head would be Raiders of the Lost Ark (it would take a dramatically new and skillful interpretation to top Indiana Jones, likely never happen, ROTL was about the Ark of the Covenant NOT Noah's Ark) and The Loch by Steve Alten (a great story and theory about the Loch Ness monster). As a writer, after reading and seeing these stories, the chapter seemed to be closed for me on these topics. I now feel the same about Noah's Ark. Boyd Morrison's interpretation is so good that there's little hope of topping it.

I could throw out some zippy one-liner comments here like "it's a thrill-a-minute rollercoaster ride that grabs you from the first page and never lets go," but we hear that about every new thriller. The best way for me to describe The Ark is that it's one of the best books I've read in a long time and possibly ever. It's a magical blend of action, adventure, interesting new insights, and fun. And it contains a quality that I feel is hard to come by: a true sense of adventure. A couple of examples as a point of reference: Raiders of the Lost Ark=true sense of adventure, Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull=lacking that sense - Orginal Star Wars Trilogy=adventure, Star Wars Prequels=lacking.I'm sure you get the idea.

Another great thing about The Ark is that, from a Christian perspective, it manages to provide a new interpretation of a famous and established biblical event without demeaning or degrading the foundations of the Christian (and Jewish, for that matter) faiths. It simply provides a slightly different interpretation that if found to be true could actually have the opposite effect. The easiest illustration is that if The Da Vinci Code or The Templar Legacy were found to be true, it would rock the religious world and make individuals the world over question their faith and their belief in God altogether. If The Ark were found to be an accurate story, I think it would actually give credence to the faith of many and make many others give greater consideration to the Bible. Although I'm a Christian, I can still enjoy a good story that contradicts something in which I believe. My beliefs aren't shaky enough that a fictional thriller is going to offend me, but it's nice to find a story that can provide a new interpretation without diminishing the original. And no matter how good the book, a story that claims that Moses was a transvestite is never going to be a favorite among the 2-3 billion Christians in the world. This isn't the case with Boyd Morrison's The Ark.

Another interesting tidbit is that the author's bio reads like a work of fiction. If a novelist created a character in a story that had done everything that Boyd Morrison has, readers would find that character's back story far too unbelievable. I won't go into detail here, but check out his website for more information.

The Ark is a great book that I highly recommend to any action adventure fan, and Boyd Morrison is well on his way to being one of the top thriller writer's in the world. My only concern: how is the sequel going to live up to the original?

posted by AaronLBrown on May 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

This one will not strain the brain

This book is an easy, simple read. It reminded me of any one of a number of Clive Cussler's books. The hero in this book can do no wrong, has no flaws, is a perfect human specimen, etc. His sidekicks and associates, if not absolutely perfect, are close to it. The v...
This book is an easy, simple read. It reminded me of any one of a number of Clive Cussler's books. The hero in this book can do no wrong, has no flaws, is a perfect human specimen, etc. His sidekicks and associates, if not absolutely perfect, are close to it. The villains are, well ....... villainous. You never doubt for a moment that the hero will win. This is not to say that the book is bad. It was entertaining, but lacked any real depth in plot and character development. If you are looking for a quick and easy summer read, this one will do.

posted by BigTexReader on June 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 134 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted May 17, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Aaron L Brown's Average Guy Review

    You can usually find a great number of novels about any given subject, especially a lost treasure. But sometimes a story comes along that emerges as the definitive work on a particular topic. A few examples off the top of my head would be Raiders of the Lost Ark (it would take a dramatically new and skillful interpretation to top Indiana Jones, likely never happen, ROTL was about the Ark of the Covenant NOT Noah's Ark) and The Loch by Steve Alten (a great story and theory about the Loch Ness monster). As a writer, after reading and seeing these stories, the chapter seemed to be closed for me on these topics. I now feel the same about Noah's Ark. Boyd Morrison's interpretation is so good that there's little hope of topping it.

    I could throw out some zippy one-liner comments here like "it's a thrill-a-minute rollercoaster ride that grabs you from the first page and never lets go," but we hear that about every new thriller. The best way for me to describe The Ark is that it's one of the best books I've read in a long time and possibly ever. It's a magical blend of action, adventure, interesting new insights, and fun. And it contains a quality that I feel is hard to come by: a true sense of adventure. A couple of examples as a point of reference: Raiders of the Lost Ark=true sense of adventure, Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull=lacking that sense - Orginal Star Wars Trilogy=adventure, Star Wars Prequels=lacking.I'm sure you get the idea.

    Another great thing about The Ark is that, from a Christian perspective, it manages to provide a new interpretation of a famous and established biblical event without demeaning or degrading the foundations of the Christian (and Jewish, for that matter) faiths. It simply provides a slightly different interpretation that if found to be true could actually have the opposite effect. The easiest illustration is that if The Da Vinci Code or The Templar Legacy were found to be true, it would rock the religious world and make individuals the world over question their faith and their belief in God altogether. If The Ark were found to be an accurate story, I think it would actually give credence to the faith of many and make many others give greater consideration to the Bible. Although I'm a Christian, I can still enjoy a good story that contradicts something in which I believe. My beliefs aren't shaky enough that a fictional thriller is going to offend me, but it's nice to find a story that can provide a new interpretation without diminishing the original. And no matter how good the book, a story that claims that Moses was a transvestite is never going to be a favorite among the 2-3 billion Christians in the world. This isn't the case with Boyd Morrison's The Ark.

    Another interesting tidbit is that the author's bio reads like a work of fiction. If a novelist created a character in a story that had done everything that Boyd Morrison has, readers would find that character's back story far too unbelievable. I won't go into detail here, but check out his website for more information.

    The Ark is a great book that I highly recommend to any action adventure fan, and Boyd Morrison is well on his way to being one of the top thriller writer's in the world. My only concern: how is the sequel going to live up to the original?

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2010

    This one will not strain the brain

    This book is an easy, simple read. It reminded me of any one of a number of Clive Cussler's books. The hero in this book can do no wrong, has no flaws, is a perfect human specimen, etc. His sidekicks and associates, if not absolutely perfect, are close to it. The villains are, well ....... villainous. You never doubt for a moment that the hero will win. This is not to say that the book is bad. It was entertaining, but lacked any real depth in plot and character development. If you are looking for a quick and easy summer read, this one will do.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Want a book thats hard to put down THE ARK is it

    I read three to four books a week, I have lots of favorite authors, and I have just added Boyd Morrison to that list. This book starts out with action from page one, it's hard to find a place to stop at, each chapter you finish makes you want to read the next to see what is going to happen. If you like books by Jack DuBrul, Andy McDermott, and Dale Brown with characters who you get to know then this is the Author for you.

    As you can tell by the title it deals with Noah's Ark, for readers who like the mythology and legend plots this gives you and alternate explination for Noah's Ark. While we know that this book is fiction it makes you wonder if what is written could be true. The characters are believable, the plot keeps you interested from the first to the last page. And to top it all of it left itself open at the end to continue to another book with the same characters.

    Dom't miss this read, I believe we are seeing the beginning of the next great author in action and adventure

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    The Ark kept me entertained from the beginning to the end. I enj

    The Ark kept me entertained from the beginning to the end. I enjoyed how the author mixed true facts with fiction in the novel, then explained what was true and what was fiction.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    A fast moving thriller. A fast moving thriller.

    Morrison writes a story with plenty of action and interesting scientific background material in several fields, which lends a great deal of credibility to his story. THE ARK is my first experience with this author, but it will not be my last.

    ----Lme 11/6/2012

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2012

    Great Adventure

    This was a great action adventure yarn. I'll be reading more from this author. As far as the reviewer who complained about the cussing - s--t was used three times. That's it. The sex scene was a few sentences and left everything to the imagination. I will say, as a Christian, it is interesting to see how people try to explain away the events of the Bible. How did we get fish fossils on the top of mountains?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2012

    Detailed

    Very detailed like Dan Brown's books, but with more actiion and a little more relationship development

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2012

    Throughout this book I found myself thinking...What if? I grew u

    Throughout this book I found myself thinking...What if? I grew up knowing the story of Noah's Ark from the Bible and I have my own beliefs as to who, what, where, when and how. I found nothing in this book to be offensive as far as my religious beliefs go. This is a fiction novel NOT the story from the Bible retold. Yes, there was some foul language. Yes, there were a couple of times sex took place. But, overall, I did not find it took away from the enjoyment of the book.

    This is a great novel and I have added Boyd Morrison to my favorite authors list.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Suspenseful, Action Adventure

    I signed up for a review copy of this book for two reasons. One, because I thought it was Christian Fiction book, and two, because it sounded like an exciting adventure story about Norah's Ark-I hadn't read anything like that before so I was intrigued. This story was most definitely filled with action, adventure and a few more things I never expected.

    Dilara Kenner meets Sam Watson, an old family friend, for an urgent meeting in a very public place were he tells Dilara her father had found Noah's Ark right before he went missing. As soon as Sam tells her this and strongly urges her to contact Tyler Locke for help, he dies. This puts her on the run. Dilara realizes that someone is out to kill her and doesn't want her to reach Tyler Locke, who is on an oil rig in Newfoundland. Why did someone want her dead?

    Tyler and Dilara's search for the Noah's Ark reveals a plot to take over the world and destroy everything they hold sacred. They begin a race against time to stop this terrorist attack.

    I've been spoiled in reading exclusively Christian fiction where I can count on there being no foul language, sex scenes and agree with author's world view. I found the cussing in this book very distracting and unnecessary to the story. This novel made me appreciate Christian fiction books even more. There are ways to convey the same feelings mentioned in this book without the use of cursing. There's an art to pulling that off and I didn't realize how much so until I read this book.

    There is only one sex scene in this book and it's not graphic, but I wished it wouldn't have been in there at all. This book didn't disappoint on the action, adventure, drama and suspenseful mission Dilara and Tyler were on. But it would have been a better read for me, personally, if there was no cursing. I also found the authors view of Noah's Ark vastly different from mine, his interpretation of the bible passages he quoted from the bible inside this book didn't match up with anything I had heard of. I was disappointed in this book because it was marketed as Christian fiction. It is not. It's definitely a main stream action adventure story with a very unique and creative twist on the whole Norah's Ark story. I'm sure it will be well received in that market place.

    Nora St.Laurent
    The Book Club Network www.bookfun.org
    Finding Hope Through Fiction www.psalm516.blogspot.com

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2013

    This book is just fun. Exciting action, quick easy character de

    This book is just fun. Exciting action, quick easy character development, and fictional history at its best. Read it in two sittings. My views on the Bible have never been literal. But I am one of those people who believes that all legend is based on fact. So why not an Ark Cave?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    Great read!

    Reads like a mixture of Dean Koontz and Dan Brown without getting too scientific or religious. Very engaging book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2012

    Great Book! Hard to put down once you start!

    Great Book! Hard to put down once you start!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The search for Noah’s Ark has been the goal of archeologi


    The search for Noah’s Ark has been the goal of archeologists the world over for centuries, even those who consider themselves to be nonbelievers. Now, her father may have been successful, but archeologist Dilara Kenner knows very little about it other than the fact that people around her are being killed and she herself seems to be a target. Led by the urging of an old family friend, who tells her as he’s dying that the lives of billions are at stake, Dilara seeks out Tyler Locke, a former combat engineer. The two have little idea what is happening but they quickly learn that time is truly short and that the truth—and the terrible peril— of the Flood is something they could never have imagined.

    Boyd Morrison is one of those rarities, a self-published author who gets “discovered” by a traditional publisher. The Ark was originally released as a Kindle ebook; after following the time-honored route of finding an agent, a good one; the book just didn’t sell, apparently because lots of publishers loved it but didn’t believe there was a place for it in the currently overfull thriller market. Morrison decided to try putting it up as an ebook but was smart enough to recognize the pitfalls if he also self-published a print edition. Within three months, he had become an unqualified ebook success, much to his surprise, and his agent took that success back to market. Voila! A contract came, probably the first offered by a Big Six publisher to a self-published Kindle author.

    I, for one, am very glad for the author’s success and especially that a print publisher finally recognized the worth of this book so that I, a hardcore non-ebook reader (at the time), could enjoy it. The story is a good one and is fast-paced; that speed is the one thing that made the audio edition a bit less than terrific. Unfortunately, the narrator’s voice is sometimes too studied and deliberate, actually slowing down the tempo. He also tends to let his voice drop off and his female interpretations are often too low in tone and these two aspects of the reading caused me to frequently have to adjust the volume so I could hear it properly. Another thing I wasn’t crazy about was the length of the tracks, making it difficult to find my place if I needed to do so for whatever reason.

    Having said that, I did thoroughly enjoy this thriller and will read or listen to the next one, gladly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    Excellent

    Excellent and.fast paced ..it was nice to see a new young author in this genre. The characters were well developed ( some would be nice to see again and let them develop even more)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    Entertaining

    An interesting twist to the search for Noah's ark. I truly enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2012

    Super book

    Really liked it - did not want it to end. I'll likely look for other books by Mr. Morrison.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2011

    A new twist on an old idea.

    Very entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2011

    Excellent story... great read!

    Highly recommend this book. The story is fast paced and the characters are well developed. The story is presented in such a way to make the events plausible. Good job!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2011

    Can't Put down Reader

    This was a good find and kept me wanting to read. A thriller that wil ltake you to the edge!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    Great reading full of action

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 134 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7