Customer Reviews for

Batman: Arkham Asylum: A Serious House on Serious Earth: 15th Anniversary Edition

Average Rating 4.5
( 61 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Plumb the depths of the Dark Knight's psyche

While you could read hundreds, potentially thousands of Batman comic books and get the same result, this graphic novel manages to thoroughly convey the Dark Knight's mental state and issues in a short space. Additionally, the story involves a look back at a center piece...
While you could read hundreds, potentially thousands of Batman comic books and get the same result, this graphic novel manages to thoroughly convey the Dark Knight's mental state and issues in a short space. Additionally, the story involves a look back at a center piece of Gotham's underworld, Arkham Asylum itself. The artwork may present a hurdle for many traditionalists, but the presentation fits with the story and aids the theme of the piece. I wouldn't recommend this book to the casual Batman fan or even a moderate reader of comic books, but for anyone looking for something with a bit more depth and some mind blowing art should be clicking the purchase button immediately.

posted by Neiman on June 24, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Stay away if you are not a fan of surreal art.

The art in this book only appeals to a very specific demographic. I, personally, didn't care for it at all. The story itself is not all that bad, but I just could not get past the visuals. They really don't add anything to the book for me, and I find they take away from...
The art in this book only appeals to a very specific demographic. I, personally, didn't care for it at all. The story itself is not all that bad, but I just could not get past the visuals. They really don't add anything to the book for me, and I find they take away from it more then anything. This book is one of the few I have ever returned. I found it very difficult to tell what was actually going on in several of the pages and some of them are almost unreadable; especially when The Joker is talking. I also find that the way Batman is represented in this book is uncharacteristic; Not only in art, but also in the way he behaves and what he says.

I would stay away from this book. If you're looking for serious Batman, check out The Joker by Brian Azzarello & Lee Bermejo.

posted by Ashen7 on September 15, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted June 24, 2009

    Plumb the depths of the Dark Knight's psyche

    While you could read hundreds, potentially thousands of Batman comic books and get the same result, this graphic novel manages to thoroughly convey the Dark Knight's mental state and issues in a short space. Additionally, the story involves a look back at a center piece of Gotham's underworld, Arkham Asylum itself. The artwork may present a hurdle for many traditionalists, but the presentation fits with the story and aids the theme of the piece. I wouldn't recommend this book to the casual Batman fan or even a moderate reader of comic books, but for anyone looking for something with a bit more depth and some mind blowing art should be clicking the purchase button immediately.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The artwork is astounding and the plot is absolutely surreal. A

    The artwork is astounding and the plot is absolutely surreal. A must read for someone looking to read alternative Batman but just alternative entirely.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Stay away if you are not a fan of surreal art.

    The art in this book only appeals to a very specific demographic. I, personally, didn't care for it at all. The story itself is not all that bad, but I just could not get past the visuals. They really don't add anything to the book for me, and I find they take away from it more then anything. This book is one of the few I have ever returned. I found it very difficult to tell what was actually going on in several of the pages and some of them are almost unreadable; especially when The Joker is talking. I also find that the way Batman is represented in this book is uncharacteristic; Not only in art, but also in the way he behaves and what he says.

    I would stay away from this book. If you're looking for serious Batman, check out The Joker by Brian Azzarello & Lee Bermejo.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2013

    Insane

    Arkham Asylum is by far the best batman comic I read the style of art is amazing and dark its just ...amazing!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2012

    Firstly, the Joker in this story is the real deal. I achieved a

    Firstly, the Joker in this story is the real deal. I achieved a much higher scope of understanding of his character psychologically vs. the superficial 'I'M THE JOKE' tones I've interpreted from other graphic novels. If you're a fan of the Joker, hopefully you receive the same rich interpretation I gathered from reading this deliciously dark story.

    I enjoyed learning the creepy history of the asylum. Throughout the entire story, I was captivated, although I must admit the artwork does get a bit confusing and distracting at times. However, it matches the tone of the story. In other words, it wasn't distracting to the point where it took the great depth of some of the characters. This definitely is not your traditional representation, in fact, it's about the one and only ARKHAM ASYLUM, one of the most darkest, psychologically thrilling fused places of Gotham City. I suggest sitting alone and getting lost in this read, it's definitely another world!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A remarkable story

    but the art is atrocious. I seen past the art and looked at the story unlike most people. The art was original, but... it was eye straining. The story was one of the best I've read of batman's. If you are looking for a great [batman] story its right here, other than that beware

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Good...I guess

    The story line was very good as far as the origin of Arkham Asylum goes. It goes into very great detail and describes how the asylum came to be. The thing I disliked most about it was the art. It looked like someone was inspired to make a mess on a page and very poorly make the characters. It made everything really hard to understand and when there were fight scenes I couldn't tell what was going on. Aside from the bizarre, sloppy art it was a fairly good batman tale and something all batman fans should have in their collections.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Must-Read For Any Batman Fan

    After reading this, you can really understand how far Batman has come from his camp origins. It's filled to the brim with symbolism, great character insights, and boldly surreal art. Turning away from the more action/fighting based comics, this particular graphic novel focuses more on the psychologic relationships between Batman and the villians than their battles. This is arguably more eye-opening towards Batman's true nature than any other Batman graphic novel ever. Arkham Asylam features innovative frame layout and illustration, making it one of the most influental Batman books of all time.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    awsome book

    i was just a beginner with batman when i picked up this book. this book definatle got me hooked on batman. it is a short read but definatley worth it! this made me a batman addict and i hope it did to whoever else reads it.

    p.s. does anybody know if there is a sequel to this book? just tell me in one of your reviews if there is.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2006

    A Masterpiece

    This is one of the best Batman stories I've ever seen, and undoubtedly the most psychologically driven story in the Dark Knight's career. The story is extremely good, but what sets this one apart is the art. The way it is drawn makes the insanity of the Arkham prisoners tangible, and many times while reading it, I felt as though I myself were going mad as well. The sanity of Batman himself is even called into question at many points throughout the story, as he is tormented by the inmates, most especially the Joker. This TPB is disturbing, yet at the same time fascinating, and I highly reccomend it to anyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2014

    Amazing read

    This graphic novel is absolutly one of the best ive ever read. Though quite short the story takes you on a ride through arkham on the night of aprils fools. Batman tries to keep his sanity and is life while being hunted by arkhams most colorful characters. This tale gives much insight not just into the dark knight himself but some of his most terrifying foes. I would recomend this novel to everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2014

    Great, dark story. And despite what others say, the messy artwor

    Great, dark story. And despite what others say, the messy artwork went well with the theme of the graphic novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    Art

    Ok so the story was hard to follow and the art was just TERRIBLE but it was interesting

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    "Batman: Arkham Asylum" Book Review

    I think many people don't read "Arkham Asylum" because of the art, thinking that it's too unconventional. However, it really isn't. It's just really, insanely awesome. The genius of it is that it's not really about Batman, or Joker or even poor Jeremiah Arkham, who you'll meet in flashbacks. It's about Arkham, and what it does to you. While the story is very creepy at times, and it can get chunky, this graphic novel is a must read for all Batman fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2009

    Arkam/Batman

    After reading it, it definitely sends a few thrills down the spine. The bad guys make the book and really mess with Batman's head. We loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2008

    The Dark Knight is truely Dark

    I've never really been a fan of DC comics. I always found the characters and storylines a bit one-dimensional. But this, this is one of the best, darkest, twisted story I've read. Wonderful art coupled with well-written dialogue. Also, I'd say if you haven't read any comics before, this is a great one to start with (if you enjoy dark, psychological things.) And if you enjoy the new Batman film series (especially the Dark Knight) this is the perfect comic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2007

    The First Sign of the Dark Knight

    This story was the first sign of what I would consider the modern, darker version of Batman. Great story. A must for all bat-fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2006

    Not For Kids.

    Grant Morrison runs a current of Jung and Freud through what was the Batman legend of the 198os. Dave McKean paints (not draws, not doodles, not sketches--paints) a version of reality that none of us are ready for, unless of course, we're willing to let go of a nagging little problem known as sanity. Combine the two and you have the most adult and fantastic offspring from the tree of Gotham ever imagined. Also the closest you will ever come to seeing a dream captured between panel and page. Absolute magnificence.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2006

    The Best Psychological Graphic Novel

    This was an awesome graphic novel! It tells of the twisted past of Arkham Asylum and its disturbed builder, and tells of its even more mentally deranged inmates such as the Joker, Two-Face, Scarecrow, Black Mask, Croc, the Mad Hatter, Zeus, etc. It's not the traditionally violent mob-like Batman novel and that's what makes it unique.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4