Customer Reviews for

Arm Candy: A Celebrity Escort's Tales from the Red Carpet

Average Rating 4
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

US weekly and People are my guilty pleasure, but they always end

US weekly and People are my guilty pleasure, but they always end to quickly. This book was 300+ pages of juicy goodness that I couldn't put down. Plus I learned who all those people are that mill around in the background of red carpet photos. Fun and educational!!!

posted by Anonymous on February 1, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

I am embarrassed I actually spent money on this book. To begin w

I am embarrassed I actually spent money on this book. To begin with the writing was dreadful. It read like the rough (very rough) draft of a book instead of a book itself. It even had the occasional typo. Whoever edited this should lose their job.

While there are a few...
I am embarrassed I actually spent money on this book. To begin with the writing was dreadful. It read like the rough (very rough) draft of a book instead of a book itself. It even had the occasional typo. Whoever edited this should lose their job.

While there are a few interesting tidbits, this book felt like it was written by a starstruck fan, not an industry insider. Gaida gushes profusely throughout the book about how amazing and glamorous and nice various celebrities are during what are sometimes nothing but brief and uninteresting interactions with them. There are thousands upon thousands of people working in jobs that interact with celebrities regularly in one form or another like this guy. Security guards, body guards, publicists, journalists, photographers, hair and make-up people and many more. They don't write books for a number of reasons. First and foremost because it's crass and unprofessional. And, frankly, most celebrity interactions aren't really all that interesting as this book proves. Any really interesting stuff would likely end Gaida's career and he has - wisely for his career but unfortunately for the reader - left it all out.

Ultimately this is poorly written, toothless book from a low-level, starstruck cog in the machine that is Hollywood. Save your money.

posted by Anonymous on February 2, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Fun

    Fun book to read, it's fun to hear about the famous people

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    I am embarrassed I actually spent money on this book. To begin w

    I am embarrassed I actually spent money on this book. To begin with the writing was dreadful. It read like the rough (very rough) draft of a book instead of a book itself. It even had the occasional typo. Whoever edited this should lose their job.

    While there are a few interesting tidbits, this book felt like it was written by a starstruck fan, not an industry insider. Gaida gushes profusely throughout the book about how amazing and glamorous and nice various celebrities are during what are sometimes nothing but brief and uninteresting interactions with them. There are thousands upon thousands of people working in jobs that interact with celebrities regularly in one form or another like this guy. Security guards, body guards, publicists, journalists, photographers, hair and make-up people and many more. They don't write books for a number of reasons. First and foremost because it's crass and unprofessional. And, frankly, most celebrity interactions aren't really all that interesting as this book proves. Any really interesting stuff would likely end Gaida's career and he has - wisely for his career but unfortunately for the reader - left it all out.

    Ultimately this is poorly written, toothless book from a low-level, starstruck cog in the machine that is Hollywood. Save your money.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    US weekly and People are my guilty pleasure, but they always end

    US weekly and People are my guilty pleasure, but they always end to quickly. This book was 300+ pages of juicy goodness that I couldn't put down.

    Plus I learned who all those people are that mill around in the background of red carpet photos. Fun and educational!!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2013

    Arm Candy is an insightful read detailing Chris Gaida's behind t

    Arm Candy is an insightful read detailing Chris Gaida's behind the scenes celebrity encounters at countless awards shows and "A-List" events that most of us will never have a chance to experience in our lives. It also gives a very honest and personal glimpse into his life and a few of the obstacles that he overcame on his way. All in all this was a fun, informative read filled with plenty of backstage "insider" scoop as well as a surprising, heartfelt, touching, humorous journey of an average guy who made his dreams a reality. This is a story that we all can relate to.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    Very interesting segment of the industry--nice job showcasing th

    Very interesting segment of the industry--nice job showcasing that for us!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    I liked how genuine Chris sounds in the book. It was a good boo

    I liked how genuine Chris sounds in the book. It was a good book to read. You can tell he is a first time writer. It made it more appealing that is wasn't over processed. This gives you a ride through the life of an ordinary person, who being in the right place at the right time... changed his life. The Celebrity details are fantasic. It's not the juicy details thats staged for the cameras... its true interactions with Stars (Things that happen between the show the world is watching). A great behind the scence expierence!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2013

    Excellent behind the scenes into the world of celebrity escorting

    "Arm Candy" by Chris Gaida is an excellent book about the behind the scenes of red carpet events. Chris Gaida does a great job of describing what it is like escorting over 150 celebrities and interacting with them, and all of the operation and organization for making red carpet events go without a hitch. I appreciate that this is not a book about movie star gossip, but shows movie stars in a human light. If you like to see movie starts on the red carpet and wonder why everything seems to flow so smoothly, "Arm Candy" gives you a behind the scenes look at why the red carpet events are so organized and the celebrity escorts that are assigned to each celebrity keeping them on time and in the right place.
    Thank you Chris Gaida for writing this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This book is phenomenal especially for those looking to enter th

    This book is phenomenal especially for those looking to enter the entertainment business. Chris's personal stories about surviving cancer and his experiences as an escort really outshine the celebrities he talks about. I could relate to many of the feelings he had about moving far from family and going for his dream. Excellent writing. I definitely recommend this book. He has a way of humanizing the glitz and glamor which makes for a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    Fun read, but poorly edited.

    This is an interesting view of the award show experience by a non- celebrity. The reader must overlook the poor grammar. Surely an editor could have corrected agreement and tense issues while removing prepositions from the ends of sentences.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2013

    Very fun book! Glad I bought it. Anyone who has any interest in

    Very fun book! Glad I bought it. Anyone who has any interest in behind the scenes workings at an awards show will LOVE this! Gaida has a fresh candor not often seen in Holywood.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2013

    I really liked this book a lot. Far being mean-spirited, the boo

    I really liked this book a lot. Far being mean-spirited, the book captures what it's like to have a dream and see it fulfilled. It's entertaining, funny and provides an insider's look into a world that few of us will ever come close to in reality. Reading it puts you right there on the red carpet, backstage and even into the after parties, for a perspective that you don't get from the entertainment magazines. I felt like a well-dressed fly on the wall at all these events that the author has attended. An easy read and hard to put down. Totally jealous of this guy's job.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2013

    Loved it! It's very rare and refreshing to read actual "rea

    Loved it! It's very rare and refreshing to read actual "real" celebrity encounters and experiences. Very thorough, engaging and filled with lots of heart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1