Customer Reviews for

Armageddon's Children (Genesis of Shannara Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 160 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(84)

4 Star

(48)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Yet Another One Out of the Ballpark!

I have been a fan of Terry Brooks for 13 years and counting and yet this was my first intro to the world of the Word. As a Shannara fan I had to pick his latest up and was worried that I'd be lost because of the crossover but boy was I wrong. Terry deftly combines the...
I have been a fan of Terry Brooks for 13 years and counting and yet this was my first intro to the world of the Word. As a Shannara fan I had to pick his latest up and was worried that I'd be lost because of the crossover but boy was I wrong. Terry deftly combines the two series for fans and newbies alike and neither will be disappointed. I've already purchased all the books in the Word and Void collection and can't wait for the next installment!

posted by Anonymous on December 5, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Typical sci fi/fantasy blend

The premise is that the world is ending and humanity has to save itself. It's a good book, especially if you're just getting into fantasy, but I don't think I would have bought it if I could have found it in a library. The pace is slow moving and there are a lot of char...
The premise is that the world is ending and humanity has to save itself. It's a good book, especially if you're just getting into fantasy, but I don't think I would have bought it if I could have found it in a library. The pace is slow moving and there are a lot of characters with side-stories to keep track of. I managed to power through it in two days, but I could have put it down at any time. It does bring up a few relevant points about human nature, technology, and the like, so if you're interested in the end of the world, give it a go.

posted by 2036615 on October 10, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2008

    New to Brooks

    I thouroughly enjoyed this book and am excited to read the books that follow. Armageddon's Children kept me on the edge of my seat and up late at night. It may be to my advantage that I do not have a history with the Brook's novels. I now consider myself a new fan.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2006

    A Great Wars Beginning!

    For those fans who want more of what Terry Brooks has to offer, as well as fantasy fans who have been too daunted to try a Terry Brooks book due to the length of his series, this book is for you! In a world that has been effectively destroyed by humanity's twisted misuse of power, a new world is about to be born. But for the phoenix to rise there must be death, and our world has reached its apocalyptic finale. Terry creates a world that is gray and desolate, and yet echoes all facets we can see in our own world today. Armageddon's Children is our future, and a bleak future it is. Attempting to bring light to the world's existence are two Knights - given great power and a far great responsiblity for those who need to survive the coming holocaust. The characters of Logan and Angel are particularly well constructed, and the reader really gets a sense of what it means to carry the Knight mantle for an extended amount of time in the worst of times. Logan's haunting ghosts and Angel's toughened heart remind us that although humanity has its difficulties, compassion and strength of character can overcome any evil that the world may have. Coming after them is an evil darker and more sinister than humanity has ever known. This book was great. It is a compelling story with real characters set in a world that could be our future. It is more literary compared to Terry's earlier work, and the only thing that keeps the story from being depressing is the hope that the characters light. I give this book a four stars, but it could have been five if I had the other two books of the trilogy in hand! It can be read by new readers without any prior knowledge of what Terry has written and it is assured to delight old Brooks fans.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    If you have enjoyed other books by Terry Brooks, you will like this one.

    Armageddon's Children kicks off another great series of books by Mr. Brooks. Terry does a great job at weaving multiple story lines together just to the point where you need to buy the next book to see what happens next. As with his other collections, it's worth reading the entire series.

    This particular series does suggest how mankind can bring about their own destruction if they can't learn to get along. But there is hope if our desire to live is strong enough and we work together to achive it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2012

    Brooks tells the story of Shannara's origin in this combination

    Brooks tells the story of Shannara's origin in this combination of his Knight & Word and Shannara series. If the Shannara series had been feeling a little repetative this is a great book to read to break that cycle. Even if you're not a Shannara fan this book was a great read. If you like apocolipitc fiction this is definatly for you

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good Start to the Armageddon's Children Trilogy

    Since I've enjoyed most of the Shannara books, I figured this would be no different and wasn't disappointed. I'm glad that Brooks has gone back to fill us in on the events that happened after the cataclysm that shaped the world in which he's told so many stories. The action/pace actually seemed faster than his previous works, which I was also thankful for as some of the longer Shannara books have dragged in places. Looking forward to reading the rest of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2008

    GOOD GOOD GOOD

    I started reading this in the am and finished it right before bed. It kept me awake half the night couldn't get it out of my mind. very mind blowing - good story - a little 'out there' but a good read none the less. I've always enjoyed Terry Brooks books they do entertain. highly recommend this one. looking for the next since this one was published in '06.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2008

    Great Story

    I really enjoyed this book. The characters are interesting and well developed. I would certainly recommend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2006

    A link to the past, a bridge to the future....

    Longtime readers of Terry Brooks have been begging for a follow up to his popular 'Word & Void' series for quite some time. Others have become spoiled the last several years with a new 'Shannara' book each August. THIS August everyone should be happy. In Armageddon's Children, Terry begins the story of the two last remaining Knights of the Word and their struggles after the Great Wars. That's right, the same Great Wars mentioned time and again in the Shannara books. Terry leads the reader through several different story lines that will please not just his Word/Void fans, but also readers who have come to love the Shannara series. New readers should take heart, there are new characters and having read Terry Brooks earlier works is not critical to enjoying the story. However, for longtime readers there are a few objects and characters that will make you feel good about placing this book on your shelf between Angel Fire East and The First King of Shannara. A great book from one of Fantasy's brightest stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3