BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Armageddon's Children (Genesis of Shannara Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 161 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(84)

4 Star

(48)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Yet Another One Out of the Ballpark!

I have been a fan of Terry Brooks for 13 years and counting and yet this was my first intro to the world of the Word. As a Shannara fan I had to pick his latest up and was worried that I'd be lost because of the crossover but boy was I wrong. Terry deftly combines the...
I have been a fan of Terry Brooks for 13 years and counting and yet this was my first intro to the world of the Word. As a Shannara fan I had to pick his latest up and was worried that I'd be lost because of the crossover but boy was I wrong. Terry deftly combines the two series for fans and newbies alike and neither will be disappointed. I've already purchased all the books in the Word and Void collection and can't wait for the next installment!

posted by Anonymous on December 5, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Typical sci fi/fantasy blend

The premise is that the world is ending and humanity has to save itself. It's a good book, especially if you're just getting into fantasy, but I don't think I would have bought it if I could have found it in a library. The pace is slow moving and there are a lot of char...
The premise is that the world is ending and humanity has to save itself. It's a good book, especially if you're just getting into fantasy, but I don't think I would have bought it if I could have found it in a library. The pace is slow moving and there are a lot of characters with side-stories to keep track of. I managed to power through it in two days, but I could have put it down at any time. It does bring up a few relevant points about human nature, technology, and the like, so if you're interested in the end of the world, give it a go.

posted by 2036615 on October 10, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 84 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2006

    Yet Another One Out of the Ballpark!

    I have been a fan of Terry Brooks for 13 years and counting and yet this was my first intro to the world of the Word. As a Shannara fan I had to pick his latest up and was worried that I'd be lost because of the crossover but boy was I wrong. Terry deftly combines the two series for fans and newbies alike and neither will be disappointed. I've already purchased all the books in the Word and Void collection and can't wait for the next installment!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Armageddon's Children, Genesis of Shannara trilogy, Book 1

    Set 15 years after Nest, Knights of the Word, Logan is in search of the gypsy morph by the guide of Nest's bones. And, Angel is guided in search of the elfstone Loden. The Chosen are told by the Elcrys to move them to a safer home because the Void is threatening her survival. This is a fast and exciting read that I found very hard to put down.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A new beginning

    I've loved Brooks' writing for many years now and this new series continues his great tradition of excellent stories with great thoughts and values.

    With this novel, Terry begins to bridge the gap between two of his main story threads...that of the world of Shannara and that of the world in the "Word and Void" series.

    The characters are approachable and each filled with their own strengths and flaws. As readers, we are taken on a voyage of self discovery along with the characters as they interact with the struggle between good and evil in the post-apocalyptic society.

    You can certainly approach this story without having read Brooks before, but it would be advisable to have at least read the Word and Void series before starting on this journey. Even though set a hundred years or so beyond the first Word/Void book (Running with the Demon), it builds on the framework created there and your understanding will be greatly enhanced by starting with Word/Void and working your way into this novel. Reading the various Shannara series before this one are unnecessary and it could be argued that you should wait for this series to be done before you start Shannara, just to keep the chronology right...but then you're just depriving yourself of other fabulous works while you wait for this series to complete.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2010

    A wonder

    Like all the other books by this writer this was a wonderful read. Could not put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2007

    A reviewer

    If you have read this and not the Word and The Void series you should go back to the begining. This is the latest and best story in this line so far and I can't wait to read the next one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2014

    A Great Read!

    This is the kind of a book that is really hard to put down. One event leads to another. Each character leads to the next. Everything ties together and leaves you wanting more. This book was recommended to me and I recommend it to anyone else who enjoys reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    I think that this book was amazing -random reader

    I think that this book was amazing -random reader

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    Bmnmyi iomb tuvubyi

    Yiuytutyo

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2012

    Great book

    This book was good to lead up the the rest of the series. I read the entire series and thought it was good reading. Would recommend this series to all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2012

    loved it

    I loved the book but had not realized it may be book one but it is only a branch of the many books in the whole world of shannara. so I read this one and now have to start with the real book one and catch up to this bunch.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    Readable over and over...

    This is most certainly a book I will be rereading in the future. It's such a fantastic melding of his Word and Void and Shannara series. It throws in the apocalypse element I love in other stories too. The world is so vivid and sometimes terrifying. One of the best he's written in my opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2010

    Fantastic!

    Once again, Terry Brooks gives readers a fantastic trip into new worlds. As always a good read, I never have to worry if I'm getting what I pay for.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2009

    great begginning

    finnaly a beginning to shannara. this was and is one of my favorite series. the story arc, along with the elves of cintra and gypsy morph is the perfect origin for the later stories. highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    So good I have read it twice!

    Terry Brooks is bringing the Shannara world he created for us to escape to into, into the conflict of the Word which he created to captivate us. The result is this, the first book of the Genesis of Shannara series.

    I personally find this concept to be amazing and wonder ... was this planned over 20 years ago? If not, what compelled Mr. Brooks to bring them together? Whatever the case, I cannot thank him enough. It is delightful to be totally captivated (yet again) with the story he is weaving.

    If you have not read any of Terry Brooks' work, I would suggest starting with the Landover series. Yes, they are written for teens (and younger) but they are lighthearted and very interesting for a wonderful afternoon read. If you begin with the Shannara series, be prepared to read late into the night. In my opinion, they are that good. You will discover how easy it is to escape into the world of Shannara.

    Enjoy yourself and thank you Mr. Brooks

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2007

    Another Amazing Book

    An amazing book which will like the world as we know it to the world of shannara. I cannot wait to read the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2006

    Read it before

    A great story. Unfortunately I had already read it. If anyone knows where it was previously published and its previous title please let me know. Thanks

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2006

    Armageddon's Children (Genesis of Shannara Series #1)

    Probably the best Terry Brooks I've ever read and i have read them all!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2006

    Armageddon's Children (Genesis of Shannara Series #1)

    This is one of Terry Brooks' best books!It is somewhat of a departure at first, BUT stay with it. I can't wait for the second book!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2006

    Part science fiction, part fantasy, and totally awesome

    In the not so distant future, wars, the destruction of the ozone layer and the melting of the polar ice caps have caused civilization to collapse. Although the few human survivors think of it as an urban legend, the demons from the Void have risen in ascendancy while the Knights of the Word are hunted to near extinction. The water and soil is poisoned, plagues continually sweep the planet and humanity is at the mercy of the non-humans, those who have been subverted by the demons. --- The not-humans led by demons who look like people attack the compounds where humans live. Teens and children with no parents like Hawk and his group the Ghosts band together in tribes to survive outside the compound. Tom Logan, who has spent two decades in service to the Word, is now on the quest to find a child of magic who will be the one to bring the chosen into the Promised Land. --- Part science fiction, part fantasy, and totally awesome in its complexity ARMAGEDDON¿S CHILDREN is one of the best works of speculative fiction to come along in years. This is nothing like the Shannara books but it is a classic tale of good vs. evil and what happens when malevolence becomes more powerful that its counterpoint. There are many heroes struggling against overwhelming odds to bring light to a dark and dangerous world. --- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 84 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5