BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Armed and Magical (Raine Benares Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 72 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    spellbinding fantasy

    She was a good Seeker of objects and people and a fair sorceress, but a week ago Raine Benares was psychically bonded with the Saghred, a stone of immense power. It has boosted Raine¿s existing powers and given her unnatural talent making her one of the most powerful magicians in the Seven Kingdoms. However it is an evil object that thrives on eating souls with the last soul it swallowed being Sacred Nikpon. Raine forced that action which is why she has a link to the stone and its seemingly zillion stolen souls over the centuries wherever she may be.-------------- Right now Raine is on the Isle of Mid, home to the Conclave which polices magic users and hosts a highly regarded sorcerer¿s school. Raine hopes someone on the island can separate her from the stone. However, there are factions on the Isle some of whom are malevolent and demand something from Raine starting with the original owner of the stone who razed cities, empires and anyone who got in his way. Raine finds her elven brethren want her for her new power while the goblins demand the stone. Everywhere she turns she finds someone threatens her and her loved ones as ethics do not apply to the people seeking the power of the stone.------------ Lisa Shearin has written a spellbinding fantasy that enables readers to believe in elves, goblins, and mages, oh my. The Shearin world seems real and that magic is a genuine skill thanks in part to the strong characterizations. There is plenty of partisan in fighting, intrigue, and action to keep readers turning the pages wondering what next will happen to the reluctant beleaguered heroine that is while debating her chances of surviving until the next assault occurs.---------------- Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2011

    Superb

    A worthy sequel. Series gets better and better!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2008

    Excellent series

    Books in this series are in my top 50 books of this decade. Simply fabulous!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2008

    great adventure

    Raines adventures on the isle of mid is both exciting and alittle steamy in some areas. don't worry though it is all clean fun. i am a big fan of Lisa Shearin and can't wait until the next books come out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2008

    It's magical!

    Armed & Magical is the 2nd in a unique fantasy series by author Lisa Shearin. The books feature contemporary characters and dialogue in an old world setting of taverns and tall ships, sorcerers, pirates, and magic. Raine Benares is an admirable heroine: she is plucky, resourceful, sassy, and ultimately determined to do the right thing. I want to be just like Raine! I found the secondary characters to have remarkable depth. Their personalities and backgrounds are unfolding to the reader just as the story unfolds over time. This is a sequel which will definitely have its readers begging for more! Ms. Shearin has hit on just the right note of fast-paced entertainment and intriguing plot-twists. The first book, Magic Lost, Trouble Found, and Armed & Magical, sit side-by-side on my keeper bookshelf anxiously awaiting the arrival of the next book in the series, The Trouble with Demons. I strongly recommend Armed & Magical- it has a special magic all its own!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2008

    Fun Fantasy Adventure

    As the sequel to her debut novel, MAGIC LOST, TROUBLE FOUND, Lisa Shearin's latest Raine Benares adventure, ARMED & MAGICAL, had a lot to live up to. And boy did it deliver! Lively dialog, great action and top notch descriptions combined to make this book an energetic read. The characters were solid and believable -- even the new ones -- with plenty of tension and twists to keep both them and the reader thoroughly occupied. Be prepared to lose track of time -- most pleasurably.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2008

    LOVED THIS BOOK!

    I was waiting so long for this second book in the series that I was worried that it would not live up to the expectations. Boy was I wrong! This book was exciting and full of adventure and passion - much like the first in the series, Magic Lost, Trouble Found. I highly recommend both of these books by Lisa Shearin. They are superb!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2014

    Missons

    Stop all nook s.x

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2014

    Absolutely amazing book. Brilliantly written, I almost feel like

    Absolutely amazing book. Brilliantly written, I almost feel like I'm there! I love the characters, very 3 dimensional and very well done. Absolutely amazing book everyone should read this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    Loved It

    Funny, sexy, and exciting could not put them down. My husband would look at me funny as I would burst out laughing at parts in the books. Even got him to read them, and his take on the series was that who ever wrote them must have been around me for some of the creative one liners and sarcastic comments.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Don't judge a book by its cover

    It took me weeks before finally giving in and purchasing this series mainly because of the covers. The cover art of this series gives the impression that the storyline is silly and fluffy somehow. I was pleasantly surprised once I started reading that Raine Benares is both funny, clever and an easy heroine to cheer on. Lisa Shearin's writing style is both quirky and smart with a snappy sense of humor that comes across the pages. Don't judge these books by their covers, Raine and her adventures will be a welcome addition to your book collection that may just make you laugh out loud.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3