Customer Reviews for

Arms of Love

Average Rating 4
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    "Arms of Love" by Kelly Long is really different than

    "Arms of Love" by Kelly Long is really different than any other Amish story that I have read. First of all it takes place back in 1777, and secondly it deals with abuse. The time setting was unique, and the topic of abuse was one I don't think I had encountered before in Amish fiction.

    Adam Wyse is in love with Lena Yoder, but he is also grappling with a dark secret,his father is abusive toward him but Lena's mother Mary knows the truth, and makes Adam make a death bed promise to her to back away from Lena until he can break free of his father's rule. Lena doesn't know about the promise and doesn't understand what is going on and finds herself turning to Adam's brother Isaac. Which brother will ultimately win Lena's heart? Will Adam ever be able to understand why his father is so cruel? Read this interesting story and find out!

    I really loved the time period in which this story takes place, and while Adam and Lena are the primary characters in the story, there are several secondary ones to keep the plot moving at a pretty brisk pace. Adam was such a wonderful person, but honestly for most of the book I really didn't like his brother Isaac, it galled me that he could stand by and see his brother's maltreatment. I really thought it was clever how the character of Ruth, the Englisher wet nurse that came to help out after Lena's mother died during childbirth. I really hope to read more about her in a future novel. While I found this story an interesting read,I found parts of it repetitive. A good story but I actually enjoyed her "Patch of Heaven" series much more. Overall, I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys the genre of Amish fiction.

    A complimentary copy of this book was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    Not decided

    The start of this book was kinda slow. However when the book got about halfway it took a turn for the better. During th last 100 pages I hated to put it down for the night. I will give it a 3 1/2 star rating.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2012

    The year is 1777. A sad beginning. A hopeful surprise of a stran

    The year is 1777. A sad beginning. A hopeful surprise of a stranger. A love that can’t be returned only because her father has something against the man she loves. The man she loves mixed in his own feelings. A father, returned from being a prisoner only to find the love of his life buried. 




    I love the relationships between Lena and Adam (and Isaac), Lena’s father and Ruth. There is so much hope in these stories. For when all things seem wrong, things seem to go right.




    I love period pieces and I had to remind myself that I was stepping back in time to the Revolutionary Era. And it’s also not like any other Amish Romance Novel I have read before. The story seems to have more “life like” personal conflicts that someone in modern ages could deal with. It was also still easy to open my heart to these characters. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2012

    I am a huge fan of Amish fiction and this book was different tha

    I am a huge fan of Amish fiction and this book was different than any other amish book I have read.What makes it different is that it takes place around the revolutionary time period. another thing that was interesting
    about the story was one brother wanted to be a preacher but the other brother was more suitable.Also with any Amish fiction i have read they always choose their spiritual leader by lot. I would recommend this book for any who enjoys reading about this time period, because it was easy to see the Author had researched the period in which she was writing about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2012

    I picked up this book to read because we are currently studying

    I picked up this book to read because we are currently studying the American Revolution. This book takes place during that time period. It depicts the difficulty the Quakers and Amish trying to remain neutral. Some ended up going against their beliefs and joining the fight. Those that remained true to their faith and remained neutral were often criticized by others in the area. Sometimes they were harassed and sometimes they were jailed. They came to America for freedom to worship God as they believed. The War for Independence would ultimately secure that freedom - yet they couldn't fight to help further those ends. I enjoyed reading and learning more about the Amish - and noting how their practices have changed over the centuries. This book was good but at the end it did get to be a bit much. Most times a book with end with the marriage occurring - and it seemed this one should have also. Yet, this one went on - and the Bride gets bit by a snake and nearly dies. I just think that could have been left out of the book. It seemed to be out of place with the entire rest of the plot line. Interesting time period to study though. A complimentary book was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    To thoroughly enjoy a novel, there are only a few things I requi

    To thoroughly enjoy a novel, there are only a few things I require: good writing (more active voice than passive), an interesting storyline with characters I can connect with, and at least one unexpected turn of events. Kelly Long delivers all this in "Arms of Love." Adam struggles with something from his past, though he isn't even sure what it is. He also struggles with honoring the wishes of Lena's mother, who asks him not to marry her daughter until he deals with his "darkness." Lena must deal with her strained, and at one point broken, relationship with Adam while keeping her family together after her mother dies in childbirth. Ruth, an Englishwoman, finds herself with Lena's family as a wet nurse and must come to turns with her own trials and tribulations. This all occurs in Lancaster in 1777, as the Revolutionary War rages and Adam wonders whether he should give up his Amish ways to join the Patriots' cause and start a new life beyond his darkness. If you enjoy stories involving the Amish or are just looking for a good read, "Arms of Love" will satisfy both. My hats off to Kelly Long for crafting such a good work.

    Note: I receive a review copy of this book from the publisher, Thomas Nelson.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2012

    Arms of Love by Kelly Long is one of the best Christian Romance

    Arms of Love by Kelly Long is one of the best Christian Romance novels I have read in a long time and I read a lot of them! I am not usually a fan of books written about the Amish, but this one focuses not so much on the Amish way of life that seems to prevail in other books in this genre. Instead it focuses on what it means to be obedient to God and allowing Him to fight your battles for you. Lena, a young Amish woman loses her mother and is left to care for her siblings. Adam, the man she loves has made a promise that could part them forever. He considers enlisting in the military to get away from the temptation of being with Lena. Through this story Lena learns how to truly hear God’s voice and obey. Adam learns to let God fight his inner battles to give true freedom. They both learn that God is revolutionary.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Different Amish Story

    A very different type of Amish Story, with a lot of Historical reference. It takes place in Lancaster PA, but not the current Amish population. The Bishop doesn't come around all that often, and the district sounds huge, but a small number of Amish. Weddings can only happen when he comes, and it could be many months in between.
    There are a lot of sad happenings in this story, death in childbirth, loss of a spouse in war, and home burning down, murder, imprisonment, and horrible child abuse. Not really happy topics.
    The story did keep me turning the page, and kept my interest. It takes awhile for all of this to work out, and some of the happenings are so different that what we are used to with Amish stories.

    I received this book from the Publisher Thomas Nelson, and Netgalley, and was not required to give a positive review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2012

    Although the Patriots and British are still at odds, Lena Yoder


    Although the Patriots and British are still at odds, Lena Yoder believes that she will marry soon, perhaps even before the year 1777 comes to a close. Lena's father Samuel is imprisoned, but she is hopeful he'll be released soon and things on their Amish farm near Lancaster, PA can return to normal.

    The recipient of Lena's affections, Adam Wyse, has entertained thoughts of joining the war efforts despite his Amish upbringing. He is willing to settle down, though, and marry Lena, whom he has loved for as long as he can remember. Everything changes, however, when Adam makes an unusual promise to Lena's mother.

    Lena struggles to regain her equilibrium as Adam withdraws from their relationship. Isaac, Adam's brother, desires to become an Amish bishop someday, and expresses interest in Lena. Hurt and confused, Lena reluctantly accepts Isaac's marriage proposal to please her father.

    Meanwhile, Adam again considers enlisting while wrestling with dark memories from his past. He befriends a prisoner of war, a British soldier who is detained in Lancaster. The unlikely pair forge an interesting bond that brings comfort and light in unexpected ways.

    This book illuminates an aspect of the Revolutionary War period that isn't often discussed. The Amish, as a peace seeking community, sought to stay out of the fray, desiring instead to foster harmony between men. The Patriots viewed them as cowards, unwilling to fight for freedom. Both sides were in need of able bodied men, and the competition for soldiers, Amish or not, was fierce. Even John, Lena's preteen brother, entertained thoughts of joining up. This book shares a glimpse of how hearts and convictions were sorely tested during this epic time in American history.

    Kelly Long brings an interesting tale of heartbreak and loyalty to life. Her characters' situations show us that, whether from the past or present, we must seek honor and truth. This book provided a wonderful introduction to Kelly Long's skill and storytelling ability. I look forward to reading more of her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2012

    Arms of Love by Kelly Long is not your typical Amish Story. It d

    Arms of Love by Kelly Long is not your typical Amish Story. It dealt with a lot of hardship and trials that were unexpected from traditional Amish stories you read. This made it more enjoyable, because sometimes I find that I read an Amish story and it is written the same way every time even when the author is different. However, this was not the case.

    The story begins with Lena, who is taking care of her mom who is pregnant, her younger brother and younger sister. Her father is in prison for not being willing to join the army, as this is not the Amish way of life. Her mother gives birth and passes away shortly after. Her friend, and “soon-to-be-betrothed”, Adam, tries to help in whatever way he can, but Lena’s mom made him promise to leave Lena alone until he finds freedom. This truly did not make sense to me. It only added more hardship and frustration as I was reading. Adam also helped to bring a wet nurse for the new babe and he helped to bring Lena’s father back. Adam has his own inner struggles that we do not find out about until the end of the book.

    For the most part this was an enjoyable read, however, I had a difficult time really getting into the book. I did “enjoy” reading about the struggles, because it seemed like one thing after another and I was able to relate to this in my own life. I feel I have had one struggle after another. So it is nice to be able to read a book that you can relate to.

    I received a copy of Arms of Love from Booksneeze for my thoughts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A great historical Amish story This takes place in Pennsylvania

    A great historical Amish story

    This takes place in Pennsylvania in 1777, what was once called William Penn's Woods. The area is populated with several different faiths, including a small and struggling Amish group, living together for the first time in American history. The British and Patriots are pillaging land and goods for the war, so the Amish are not safe.

    Adam Wyse, fighting a personal battle and in love with Lena Yoder, is thinking about leaving the Amish faith and enlisting. He has had a harsh life, his father has been beating him since he was nine years old, although his older brother Isaac never got beat. Isaac loved books and spent his time studying the Bible and making plans to become a Bishop while Adam worked with his father, Joseph.

    Lena's father, Samuel, is in prison because he refused to turn over his last milk cow to the Patriots. He refused because his wife was pregnant and not doing well, he needed the milk for her. Even though Samuel doesn't like Adam, Adam would still go to the Yoder's to help them out, he would even take food and coin to the prison so Samuel would get extra food. Adam was there when Mary Yoder gave birth to Faith. Mary knew she wasn't going to live long so she asked him to promise her that he'd give up Lena's love, to give her up, until he was free from his father's rule and ready to build a new and free life for the two of them away from his father, which he did. She feared for Lena because she thought Adam would turn out like his father, a mean person.

    Adam helps Lena get through the next few days, gets a wet nurse for baby Faith, sends his family over to do services for Mary and when these things are taken care of, he breaks things off with Lena, not telling her about the promise to her Mother. When Adam hears that Samuel is about to be tried, he gets Lena and takes her to town, he even trades his horse for Samuel's freedom, these things still don't bring Samuel around to liking Adam. Soon Lena and Isaac are pushed to marry, even though they are not in love. With Joseph and Samuel pushing them, they agree to marry when the Bishop comes around.

    Throughout the story you know that something happened in the past, but just can't figure it out, what is it and is that what's causing Adam to think about going to war? Will Lena be able to follow through with the wedding plans to marry Isaac? Where does Adam end up?

    I thought the book started out kind of slow, but as I read, I was anxious to see how things worked out for everyone. It was an interesting time period to be reading about and the additional struggle the Amish had during that period. I would recommend this book to anyone that likes historical Amish stories.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze® book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    An absolutely great read. Very different from the average Amish

    An absolutely great read. Very different from the average Amish romance story. In this one we see some of the abusive parenting, conflicting emotions with spiritual beliefs, and the normal "I'll try it my way rather than wait for God" human emotions that we all encounter in our lives including the Amish. Just before she dies, Adam makes a promise to his intended's mother not believing that she will really die. Can he keep his promise? Is it necessary to keep a promise to someone who is dead? This is the story of how Adam manages to come to grips with his emotional terrors, his father's abuse, his brother's indifference, and his love for Lena even though her family doesn't approve. Can he solve his problems without running away to war? The book was easy to read, the story gripping and suspenseful. I read it in one long night and was most impressed. I will definitely be looking for more books by Kelly Long. The back of the book contains a four week bible study on the novel which would be wonderful for a group study. Not only do the questions pertain to the story but ask the reader to really delve into her beliefs and practices.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2012

    I just read another awesome novel by Kelly Long. As the bo







    I just read another awesome novel by Kelly Long. As the book description says, it takes place in 1777 which was during a time of upheaval in Pennsylvania. The understanding Kelly brings to this novel is phenomenal, and I loved learning more about the early days of the Amish.
    During this time, the faith of many of the characters are tested...Adam and Lena in particular, but also their families. Sadness is predominant at the beginning of the novel, but gives way to happiness at the end. It deleves deaply into the subject of a person acts the way they do, and how past decisions, situations and happenings can determine the way we look at things, or react to circumstances in the presence.
    I dreaded coming to the end of the novel, because I did not want to leave the characters. They grow on you as they grow in their Christian lives, and I loved them.
    I believe that that is where the saying of my dad comes from – Believe only half of what you see, and nothing of what you hear.
    In the back of the book, Kelly has included a reading group guide as well as a four week Bible Study that can be done individually or as a group, based on the novel. Reading trhough both sets of questions, I feel they are valuable in learning to apply what you have read to your own life.
    I would recommend this novel to my friends, and feel they could come away with a satifaction of having read it.

    I received this novel from ThomasNelson through their Booksneeze program free in exchange for an honest review. The opinions stated are my own! Thank you ThomasNelson for your great program.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1