Customer Reviews for

Arnie and Jack: Palmer, Nicklaus, and Golf's Greatest Rivalry

Average Rating 4
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    RIVALRY!

    Anyone even casually interested in sports or drama, let alone golf, will enjoy this tremendously engaging book. The reader will be sucked into the differences between these two titans and follow their years of battles.
    Arnold Palmer had a way of achieving a fan base, including my own dad, who did not buy into the cult of personality with any other sports or entertainment figure I can remember. This book helps me understand what magic Arnie was able to perform to gain fans like my dad. A great read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2008

    Arnie's Army Still Marching

    As an avid Palmer fan, I initially bought this book as an early holiday gift for my brother-in-law, but couldn't resist the temptation to crack it open and read it. I'm very glad I did. I've read a ton of golf books, and this is right up there with the best of them. I always knew the Palmer-Nicklaus rivalry on the course was intense, but never knew how much they went head to head in business. Great stories here about that.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2014

    Anyone can enjoy this!      Even if you enjoy People Magazine y

    Anyone can enjoy this!

         Even if you enjoy People Magazine you'll like it. It isn't "all golf, all the time".
         Now, I am sure, mostly golfers will be drawn to it. You will learn things about both these guys you didn't know.
     Jacks image isn't going to suffer and Arnie's legend only gets inhanced.
     Maybe the human factor grows out of the shadow of the myths with this!
     Good people read, good sports read, good golfing read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2012

    Golfers will love this book.

    Although I am in my 40's I have been a student of the game of golf for a while. iI was always more of a Nicklaus fan, seeing him play in his heyday more than Arnie. This book chronicles the rivalry on and off the course and gives good insight to pre-Tiger Woods golf. a good read for those that love the game.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    Ok

    Interesting, but some unessesary language throughout.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    I am 77 yrs. old and play golf every week. I thoroughly enjoyed this book.

    Jim34SC

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    Behind the scenes was interesting

    I grew up with my Dad watching them on TV. Although as a child, I did not follow golf, I knew a lot about Arnie and Jack from what my father said. I am still not a golfer, but I love history and it was interesting to see "the rest of the story". Thanks

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2012

    recommended for golf fans

    if you enjoy golf and it's history you will enjoy this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2012

    If you are a golfer, this book is very intetesting.

    I learned things about Arnie and Jack I never knew. Would highly recomendthis book to anyone who is a fan of Arnold Palmer or Jack.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2012

    Very Enjoyable Book

    I would recommend this book even if you are not a golfer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2012

    Highly recommended

    Gave this to a weekend golfer. He started reading about these two greats and called me to say how much he enjoyed it, especially finding out info about their lives. He has also recommended it to friends and fellow golfers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2012

    Based on nook sample

    Did not like nook sample, will not be buying book

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2012

    looks bad

    Looks like pretty bad book so lm not going to read. Plus, look at all the bad coments.

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2012

    Never read it so i wiuldnt know

    By the looks of the snap shot it looks like it os going o be a good book o read

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2012

    So so

    Golf finds will like reading about this historic rivalry, but the text vould use substantial edting. This book is not very well written. Some unnessary off color language. Glad I only paid $1.99.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2008

    A Read Worthy of the Rivalry

    For those of us who wish Tiger had some real competition, an antagonist, this is a great look back on a time when golf had the best rivalry in sports. The reporting is the strongest part of the book. I was a bigger fan of Jack than Arnie, but there was a lot of stuff in it that I didn't know about either.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2008

    A Great Golfers Read

    This was my Father's Day present. I could not put this book down once I started reading it. I was a faithful member of Arnie s Army, that later could root for Jack because of the fabulous golfer he was then and is amazing still. I relived the TV moments of my youth as I read the detail about the rivalry, the friendship, and the trails that led to the dream competition that these great men had. The stories of their very different personalities and how they were bitter rivals and good friends is touching and well written. Their friendship bloomed when the other was in personal pain...except when competing in golf and business. I will give this to my son to read. The family interactions were told and mostly unknown to the masses. The stories are moving and I even had a Brian's Song moment a couple of times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2008

    Javee and Second class

    A poor excuse of a columnist makes a bad attepmt to show he has little sports knowledge.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2