Customer Reviews for

Around the World in Eighty Days (Barnes & Noble Library of Essential Reading)

Average Rating 4
( 272 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(129)

4 Star

(71)

3 Star

(37)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(24)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Adventure

I recently reread this book for this first time since I had to in school, many years ago. Although it seems a fairly simplistic read, it still has a plot, while plausible and adventures, also plausible, that kept me wanting to keep reading it and finish the entire stor...
I recently reread this book for this first time since I had to in school, many years ago. Although it seems a fairly simplistic read, it still has a plot, while plausible and adventures, also plausible, that kept me wanting to keep reading it and finish the entire story. Phileus Fogg and his servent Passeportout make up the main characters, almost in an odd couple styling. Traveling by any means necessary to win a bet (not the money, but the honor) they are constantly playing off of each other with their conflicting attitudes. I would recommend this for any young reader, it is a classic and easy to read and quick as well. For an older reader or an adult, in today's view it can seem simplistic and dated, and unchallenged, but it is still a great work by Jules Verne. To anyone who hasn't read it, go for it, you have nothing to lose except a couple hours in which you can be with the imagery and travel to Egypt, India, Japan, American and back to London in a simpler time, yet many of the problems put into the path of Fogg, one can relate to today in their modern versions.

posted by seeGreen on May 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Was not able to open

I tried to open this book and it said sorry, unable to open your book.

posted by Steve542 on January 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    Ok

    I dont know what chaptrer im on..it doent say

    1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good, but vocah too hard for 12-year-olds

    In around the world in eighty days, a man named Phileas Fogg decides to bet twenty thousand pounds that he could go around the world in eighty days, something that was considered then to be impossible. (You could probably get around the world in eighty hours nowadays). The author writes about his journey in great detail which is good, but he also talks in a very old timey way. He uses some words and phrases that would not make sense to many people today. For example, he says one time that Phileas Fogg is "making his toilet" to mean that he is getting ready for the day. Back to the story, as Mr. Fogg travels across the world with his servant, he meets many obstacles that slow him down on his quest to go around the world in eighty days. He has to change his course and go other ways because of those obstacles. He meets new people along the way and gains new friendships. He gets softer and more humane as the journey goes on. The author describes Phileas as being cold hearted and emotionless at the beginning, but by the end, he is doing things for the sake of other people. I think that this book, being a classic is a great one but I rank it only two and one half stars mainly because I am a kid, and the vocab and terms were overwhelming for me.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2014

    Please tap now

    I need a freind to contact me back put in awesome thank you

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2014

    Ugh stupid sppelling!!!

    The spelling is HORRIBLE its so hard to comprehend what is trying to be said. Needs a better editor for this one the other ones r better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2012

    Good story

    This is a great story, but the actual book wasn't so great. It's worth it since it's free, though. Every few paragraphs it says AROUND THE WORD IN EIGHTY DAYS and then a random number. Also, you can turn 7 pages and the page number on the bottom won't change. There are also a lot of typos. Over all it was a bad book but a great story. I suggest you get it but don't expect too much of the quality.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2010

    A good read, but the ebook implementation is terrible.

    This is a classic and one many of us read in school. However, this ebook version suffers from numerous mistakes (I'm guessing character recognition errors) in the scanning. While it was nice to see the illustrations, after five chapters of frustration, I opted to get the Project Gutenberg version that was cleanly rendered and proofread.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A good book with footnotes to help in this version

    Around the World In 80 Days was an exciting book about adventure. Out of a five star rating scale, I'd give it a three and a half stars. This is because five would be the best book ever, and it wasn't. I did like how we are traveling around the world in 108 days, and Phileas Fogg was doing it in 80. It kind of made it more interesting for me and I think everyone else that we were both traveling the world easterly, all the way around.
    The book starts off with you meeting a very wealthy man, named Phileas Fogg. It is unknown to the reader why Mr. Fogg is so wealthy. Phileas Fogg fires one of his servants because the water he was given to shave with was one degree higher than it should have been. So, he hires a French man named Passepartout to take the man's place. Passepartout finds out that he likes his master, and Mr. Fogg makes a bet for 20,000 pounds with some other men to go around the world in 80 days, hence the name: Around the World In 80 Days. This book shows a change of character in Phileas Fogg as he becomes a better man. For example, he rescues people's lives, and he bails Passepartout out of prison once, not including one time when Passepartout and Mr. Fogg find themselves behind bars once again, but this time, together.
    This is an easier book than many copies because it has footnotes at the bottom of the pages because some of the words in this book are impossible to understand.
    I would recommend this book to anyone of any age, unless you cannot see or read. If you cannot read, learn how to read so you can read great books like this one. Read this book especially if you are a traveler or wish you were because it gives you a better perspective on the whole traveling thing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good for kids too young for the classic version

    Around the world in eighty days is a great book. Even though I read the abridged version it was good. Phileas Fogg is making a bet of 20,000 pounds that he could make it around the world in only 80 days. Fogg brings his servant, Passepartout. First he starts in London then he goes to Paris then Italy then Egypt then he goes to Bombay then he goes to China then he goes to Japan then he goes to California then he goes to New York. Even though I've only read the abridged I think that it is pretty good. I say that because my brother and cousin read the non-abridged version and they said it was good. Anyway I think that Jules Verne is a good writer. I'm eight years old and I think that the abridged version was just right for me. But I think that the chapters are a little too short (for instance, one time a chapter was only one page long) but in the non-abridged version they are around five to six pages long or more. Phileas Fogg gets slowed down some times but he never gives up, he still wants two thousand pounds.
    Overall I think that children under ten or nine should read this book (unless if they are geniuses they could read the classic version), and if you are between eleven and adult, you should probably read the original classic version. Also the real version was made in 1850. And my abridged version was published in 2003 so it's a big change.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2005

    Not the best, but its a must

    Would you ever take the dare of travelling around the globe in 80 days without the use of any technological media except the telegraph, steam boat, and the train? Jules Verne tells us how this can be done in his famous classic, Around the World in Eighty Days, a book for the adventurous. It all started back in 1872 when Phileas Fogg told his colleagues at the Reform Club in London that it was physically possible for a man to circumnavigate the globe in 80 days. In this book Phileas, with the help of his servant, Passepartout, begins their journey from London. They go through Paris and Suez before reaching Mumbai. In India, they experience a life threatening adventure and rescue Auoda, an Indian sacrifice. Through the rest of the trip Phileas¿ grows more attached to Auoda, his feelings for her developing as he gets to know her. Their real adventure starts when they reach the American continent. Overcoming many obstacles on their way, they finally reach London but encounter a problem with their deadline. If you are not a person who enjoys reading detailed books, this is not the book for you. Verne¿s writing style is so detailed that at some times it can get tedious. At other times the book is thrilling. The adventure of the book lies within the plot. When you are reading the book you tend to be worried about the dates. Since the date is not regularly repeated, the whole drama of the book lies in the amount of time Phileas and Passepartout take. In my opinion this is not the best book ever written. It is not a thriller like The da Vinci Code by Dan Brown. Even while Around the World in Eighty Days is an adventure, it is a very slow book. There is no obvious climax to the book; the reader creates his own climax. However, it is a must-read book. This is an all time classic, which will never be rivaled.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2