Customer Reviews for

Around the World in Eighty Days (Barnes & Noble Library of Essential Reading)

Average Rating 4
( 271 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(128)

4 Star

(71)

3 Star

(37)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(24)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Adventure

I recently reread this book for this first time since I had to in school, many years ago. Although it seems a fairly simplistic read, it still has a plot, while plausible and adventures, also plausible, that kept me wanting to keep reading it and finish the entire stor...
I recently reread this book for this first time since I had to in school, many years ago. Although it seems a fairly simplistic read, it still has a plot, while plausible and adventures, also plausible, that kept me wanting to keep reading it and finish the entire story. Phileus Fogg and his servent Passeportout make up the main characters, almost in an odd couple styling. Traveling by any means necessary to win a bet (not the money, but the honor) they are constantly playing off of each other with their conflicting attitudes. I would recommend this for any young reader, it is a classic and easy to read and quick as well. For an older reader or an adult, in today's view it can seem simplistic and dated, and unchallenged, but it is still a great work by Jules Verne. To anyone who hasn't read it, go for it, you have nothing to lose except a couple hours in which you can be with the imagery and travel to Egypt, India, Japan, American and back to London in a simpler time, yet many of the problems put into the path of Fogg, one can relate to today in their modern versions.

posted by seeGreen on May 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Was not able to open

I tried to open this book and it said sorry, unable to open your book.

posted by Steve542 on January 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 71 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted May 22, 2010

    Adventure

    I recently reread this book for this first time since I had to in school, many years ago. Although it seems a fairly simplistic read, it still has a plot, while plausible and adventures, also plausible, that kept me wanting to keep reading it and finish the entire story. Phileus Fogg and his servent Passeportout make up the main characters, almost in an odd couple styling. Traveling by any means necessary to win a bet (not the money, but the honor) they are constantly playing off of each other with their conflicting attitudes. I would recommend this for any young reader, it is a classic and easy to read and quick as well. For an older reader or an adult, in today's view it can seem simplistic and dated, and unchallenged, but it is still a great work by Jules Verne. To anyone who hasn't read it, go for it, you have nothing to lose except a couple hours in which you can be with the imagery and travel to Egypt, India, Japan, American and back to London in a simpler time, yet many of the problems put into the path of Fogg, one can relate to today in their modern versions.

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2011

    Around the world in 80 days

    it was an interesting book but dont watch movie before reading.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    Good book, many typos

    This is an amazing book and I recomend it to anyone looking for somewhat of an adventure story. I would have given this book 5 stars if it wasn't for all the typos. They are understandable but agrrivating. Also, halfway down most pages it will say AROUND THE WORLD IN 80 DAYS and then an number. I love the stoy but the book itself could have been better.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2001

    Around the World in Eighty Days

    In the novel, Around the World in Eighty Days by Jules Verne, Phileas Fogg a determined Englishman, made a possibly life changing bet with his cronies. He bet that he could travel the entire globe in 80 days. Many people believed that Mr. Fogg could not circumnavigate the world in such a short period of time. I thought that this challenge could be met if everything could be perfectly executed. then the probability of an accident or mishap came to mind and just one problem could throw the whole schedule off track. Phileas Fogg had the trip planned out, even with the probability of an accident in mind. Could he make the journey and reach London to recieve his money at quarter to nine in the evening on December 21st? I had my doubts in the man's plan just like many other readers. With great determination, Phileas Fogg set out on his trek around the world. Mr. Fogg traveled with his gracious servant Passepartout close to his side and a snoopy detective, Mr. Fix, hot on his trail. Mr. Fogg had been accused of robbing a bank in England. Mr. Fix, planning to arrest Phileas Fogg in India, was averted due to the delay of the warrant. The three traveled to India, saving a beautiful princess from her death, and on to China and Japan. Inconveniences occured with delay, the travelers missing a steamer after steamer they needed to take in order to make time. Aouda, the princess, now accompanied the three. They wisked across teh Pacific onto trains in the United States. When a band of Sioux Indians attacked the train, they took Passepartout prisoner. Mr. Fogg retrieved his servent and continued on their journey. With the undying determination that kept the travelers on their way, and ventured onto the Atlantic Ocean. In England, Fix arrested Mr. Fogg not knowing the robber had been caught. Phileas Fogg and his companions arrived in London thinking they were late. The catch was that they were a day early, thus making the journey around the world in eight days. He didn't lose or gain any money but did take Aouda as his wife. Mr. Fogg kept his calm and keen composure throughout the journey. He dismissed his orderly ways after finding out he had been late. This was one of the only changes that Phileas Fogg went through on his journey. I thought this story was excellent inteh way Jules Verne presented the world as Phileas Fogg traveled upon it. I enjoyed reading the novel and understanding the many different ways of life throughout the world. I would recommend this novel to anybody who wants to read an entertaining novel about many different parts of the world.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2000

    Around the World in Eighty Days - A Thriller!

    This great novel by Jules Verne is about an Englishman who makes a bet that he can travel around the world in eighty days. Jules Verne describes the protagonist's journey through the American plains in great detail but his ability to describe these legendary plains does not compare to seeing them with your own eyes. As I have already seen them, I found these sections of description rather dull. For instance when he stated that they 'observed the varied landscape which unfolded itself as they passed along; the vast prairies, the mountains lining the horizon, and the creeks with their frothy, foaming streams'. I found this not to portray the real essence of the plains as I found the plains to feel as if they go on forever. Verne's description does not show the real vastness of the plains. It does not describe a real picture of the towering mountains, plains or the streams. I would describe the plains to go on as far as the eye can see. The yellowish-brown fields surrounded by fences, stretching out for miles and miles, with no trees to be seen. I sensed a stronger feeling of being the only thing in the entire plains. His words do not seem to be expressive enough to me. In another segment along their long journey, the protagonist, Phileas Fogg, suggests that he and his friends rescue an Indian princess from death. This is a courageous act on his part and on the part of his partners. They secretly hide behind bushes near the large group of people where the princess is to be burned alive next to her dead husband. They attempt to break into the room where the unconscious princess is hidden but have to rush back to their hiding spot to escape from the guards. At dawn, just before the princess is to be killed, Passepartout, the courageous, brave, servant of Phileas Fogg, inconspicuously races up to the princess. Then, waiting for the right moment, he jumps up out of the flames where her dead husband lies, saves the princess, creating the illusion that the Prince returned to the living and rescued his wife. This act shows Passepartout's bravery and courage. Passepartout, without any second thoughts, risked his life for the princess he had never met before. This act is very courageous indeed. Jules Verne's ability to portray a character's thoughts and actions through his writings, as was just demonstrated, makes this book of great value. This is a great book because it shows you what things are like in different parts of the world, as I described in the previous paragraphs. It has a thrilling, adventurous plot, along with characters that are almost real. All these ingredients put together make a great book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2007

    A reviewer

    Jules Verne¿s Around the World in Eighty Days, Phileas Fogg begins his journey in London and travels throughout the world. Fogg makes a wager of 20,000 pounds that he can travel the world in eighty days. Passepartout, his servant travels alongside him with Detective Fix close on their trail because he suspects that Fogg is the robber of the Bank of England. Their fast paced journey takes them through many obstacles like battling with Indians, racing through the jungle, and saving the beautiful princess Aouda. Personally I thought this novel was quite a good book. It was very creative, I enjoyed reading it, and it kept me on my toes throughout the whole book. I thought it was very exciting because there was one obstacle after the next and they never seemed to stop the race against time. The only thing I did not like about this novel is that Jules Verne puts so much detail about the setting and cultures that Fogg visits, it starts to get boring in some places.I would recommend this book to anybody who likes adventures and to people who like to learn about the different places around the world. I think this book is a good read for people of all ages and is packed with action, suspense, and adventure in this trip around the world.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    Awesome but....

    This book was amazing!!!! The only problem was they skipped part of a chapter, went to a totaly different one, an then resumed the chapter with no warning. It was kinda annoying, but not too bad and that was the only error. Overall a great book!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    Ok

    Its a great book. The only fault is that there is a lot of typos
    Nevertheless dont let that prevent you from buying it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    This is a good read and for me it was very enjoyable! It is well

    This is a good read and for me it was very enjoyable! It is well detailed and has great dialog. In my opinion it was very well written and was very entertaining. It looks like a long book but it goes by really quick. I personally like this writing style, there was only a few words that I was courious about. Overall Im glad I took the time to rad this book, I gave it a 4 star rating because at some points in the book it has some slow parts... but they are soon followed by action.


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2012

    I had to read this book for school and it was ok ...i mean im tw

    I had to read this book for school and it was ok ...i mean im twelve so..... i think if your into literature you'll like it though.It is a good story and has a good plot it is just that if you dont get literature you wont understand it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    I really enjoyed this book alot

    Well jules verne really did an outstanding job writing this one. At first i thought the main character a pompous jerk but as i continued reading the book i really got into the story. It has adventure, love, and drama you can't go wrong on this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2011

    Great book

    I am reading this for a school project and i am so happy that i chose this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2011

    Around the world

    IT's a great book,i didn't really understand,but it was good. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2010

    Excellent Read! - Feels like you are in the story!

    I greatly enjoyed reading Around the World in 80 Days, as it demonstrated adventure, culture, and was just overall very interesting to me. I decided to read it because I had previously enjoyed other older stories, because of their interesting, formal language and different atmospheres. Some of these other stories that I have enjoyed include Journey to the Center of the Earth (which was written by the same author as Around the World in 80 Days) and various adventures of Sherlock Holmes. There were many things that I greatly enjoyed in this book, the first being that no dirty language was used. Some other things that I enjoyed included that the story was very interesting as it was packed full of intricate details, the word, vocabulary, and language choices were excellent, and of course, there were charming, entertaining characters. These unique characters quickly developed my trust, and the story became very close to me. I especially liked that I could relate the character Passepartout, with his humbleness, simplicity, and kindness, to many of my friends. Even Mr. Phileas Fogg, who really didn't appear to be too exciting at first, became very interesting to me, and I quickly became wrapped around his adventures. Along with all of these marvelous characters are the unforgettable places that they journeyed through. Unlike many other stories, the settings keep drastically changing, with each one being brand new, totally different, and packed with waiting adventure. This truly ended up crowning the story's plot. To see these fantastic characters travel through so many amazingly described, exotic places including the majesty of India, the beauty of Japan, and the fascinations of the United States, truly put the whipped cream on this story's plot. The thing that truly distinguishes this story from others that move around from location to location while you are reading, is that the characters are always the same and very few new ones are introduced, so that you don't have to try and figure out what on earth is going on in each new place. Within the first few chapters I immediately began to notice similarities between this book and another one of my favorite books: Sherlock Holmes. Both books are written in what is known to me as 'Ye old English' and each has very distinguishable, captivating characters that demonstrate remarkable likenesses. Phileas Fogg directly parallels Sherlock Holmes, Passepartout's role and attitude greatly resembles Watson, and the Detective Fix's interventions to Phileas Fogg's plans are just like how the Scotland Yard would interfere with Sherlock Holmes' adventures. This book isn't for all readers however. For the most part the story is not necessarily slow, but takes great lengths to explain everything. At some points this can appear to elongate slower parts, particularly when it keeps discussing all of the times and dates that are constantly changing. Anyone who wants to read this also needs to be patient in trying to comprehend the language in the book, as it is older and is sometimes hard to understand. All in all, I give this book two thumbs up for it's unique storyline, adventure, characters, and un-reproducible atmosphere.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2009

    Good illustrations, good story plot, and great story

    This book is about a man whose name is Phileas Fogg who lives a simple life, but he never is late for anything. I don't just mean he is never late, he is never early either. Somehow he is always on time for all his daily tasks. Then one day his theory about being able to go around the world in 80 days is challenged so he travels the world so he can prove his theory. During his journey he meets new friends and learns new things about different cultures.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2008

    Long, but good

    I had to read this book for a report and found it pretty good. It draged on a little, but it overall worth the time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2007

    Ahh..well

    Around the world in eighty days was boring and I thought a little confusing, the language that is. It had a little suspense when Mr. Fogg was suspected to be the robber .I actually thought he had might have been the robber, Mr. Fogg¿s assistant pointed out some different points of view that I would not have seen if they were not pointed out to me. It has many twists and turns and can get somewhat intense. Would you ever take the dare of traveling around the globe in 80 days without the use of any technological media except the telegraph, steam boat, and the train? It was very explanatory that¿s on thing I did not like about the book. There is no obvious climax to the book the reader creates their own climax. They make their trip across India, China, Japan, and America you can see the world without even leaving your own bedroom. Around the World in Eighty Days¿ is a great book for readers of all ages. When I first began this book I thought the title sounded so boring that I was going to fall asleep reading it and I don¿t like to read much anyways. I would recommend this novel to anybody who wants to read an entertaining novel about many different parts of the world. The book also keeps you asking questions like will they get caught by detective Fix? Why is he choosing to go that way? This book is a good example of how money cannot make one truly happy. If you are not a person who enjoys reading detailed books, this is not the book for you. Verne¿s writing style is so detailed that at some times it can get tedious. If you like reading about the descriptions of the world and different places I would definitely recommend this book for you it was the best book that I have read that¿s about the world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2005

    Hard, but I'd read it

    Around the World in Eighty Days is a pretty good book. You can escape and be somebody else, like Phileous Fogg. Also, you can get a taste for past literature. Once you start reading, you'll want to keep going and reading it. It has many twists and turns and can get somewhat intense. However, it is challenging because the wording is difficult to follow, and it can get a little boring. I would recommend this book to anyone who wants a taste for literature or wants a good adventure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2003

    slow begining

    I'm a 12year old girl and i read this book last year when i was 11. The book did have a slow begining which is why i gave it only a 4 star rating, but a few chapters in i really got into it. It's a great book, but don't stop reading it after the begining!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 71 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4