Customer Reviews for

Around the World in Eighty Days (Barnes & Noble Library of Essential Reading)

Average Rating 4
( 272 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(129)

4 Star

(71)

3 Star

(37)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(24)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Adventure

I recently reread this book for this first time since I had to in school, many years ago. Although it seems a fairly simplistic read, it still has a plot, while plausible and adventures, also plausible, that kept me wanting to keep reading it and finish the entire stor...
I recently reread this book for this first time since I had to in school, many years ago. Although it seems a fairly simplistic read, it still has a plot, while plausible and adventures, also plausible, that kept me wanting to keep reading it and finish the entire story. Phileus Fogg and his servent Passeportout make up the main characters, almost in an odd couple styling. Traveling by any means necessary to win a bet (not the money, but the honor) they are constantly playing off of each other with their conflicting attitudes. I would recommend this for any young reader, it is a classic and easy to read and quick as well. For an older reader or an adult, in today's view it can seem simplistic and dated, and unchallenged, but it is still a great work by Jules Verne. To anyone who hasn't read it, go for it, you have nothing to lose except a couple hours in which you can be with the imagery and travel to Egypt, India, Japan, American and back to London in a simpler time, yet many of the problems put into the path of Fogg, one can relate to today in their modern versions.

posted by seeGreen on May 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Was not able to open

I tried to open this book and it said sorry, unable to open your book.

posted by Steve542 on January 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 129 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted June 25, 2011

    This book was EXCELLENT!!!!

    I would reccomend this book to anyone

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2012

    Highly Recommended - you must check it out!!

    Highly Recommended - you must check it out!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Extra! Extra! Verne Strikes Again!

    To start off, this is a classic book. If this was a badly written book, I don't think it would be a classic. Around the World in Eighty Days tells the adventures of Phileas Fogg, a man who made a wager of twenty thousand pounds that he could go all the way around the world in exactly eighty days. And sorry to say, Jackie Chan does not help him along the way.

    The author Jules Verne writes the book to a certain perspective that comes from almost every main character's point of veiw. In addition to the main plot, their is a suspenseful subplot in which a clever Detective Fix snoops out Mr. Fogg, who is a suspect for the theft of fifty thousand pounds!

    The book is rich with character developement. Phileas and his servant Passepartout show great change throughout their journey. Also, a love story evolves as Fogg meets Aouda, an Indian woman who was about to be sacrified by a thuggee tribe, until Fogg and his crew came to the rescue!

    Now we get to this edition of the novel. Really it adds nothing but an introduction by James Hynes. The intro is well written but unnecassary, it slows down the suspense you have when you open up to the first page. One plus to this edition is the cover illustration. It features a man in a hot air balloon and a map of the world in the background. The problem is that Phileas Fogg does not travel once in this book by hot air balloon or any form of air transportation for that matter.

    Over all you want to get this book. However you could probably find a much nicer edition of it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Very interesting... :3

    I think the descriptions of the charectors are nery good and i reccomend this book to anyone with a thirst of adventure and does not mind all the punctual errors and for it being old timey. I also reccomend the movie. Just search , around the world in eighty days staring jackie chan. :3

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2011

    i read it in library i loved it and im 10

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2010

    The just one journey that everyone should read within their life time.

    The daring quest of Phileas Fogg to travel the world within 80 days with twenty-thousand pounds sterlings of his fortune at stake that comes down to the wire. It is definitely one of those books that everyone should read within their life time.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    Phileas Fogg, a somewhat rich London man makes a bet of 20000 eu

    Phileas Fogg, a somewhat rich London man makes a bet of 20000 euros with the people of the reform club that he could travel around the world in 80 days. While he does that, the reform club makes him look guilty and a spy is chasing him. He used lots of different types of tools to travel including some that you don’t see often. One of the transportation tools that I thought was interesting was a wagon powered by wind. I thought that Phileas is really stupid to make that bet because at last, he only gains a profit of about 200 euros while arriving at the last second and sacrificing a several dogs promising a taxi driver 200 euros. Around the world in 80 days is a very interesting book. I would suggest this book to anyone who enjoys adventurous books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book w/ No Balloon

    Contrary to what many people (who have not read this book) believe and despite the cover of many printings of this book: There is NO hot-air-balloon in this book. This false belief has been instilled in us through modern media.

    However, without the hot-air-balloon and bullfighting (?), this book is still a fascinating tale of adventure. Even so, if you are looking for a quick fix for a book report I encourage the reader to go beyond the illustrated cover and movie to find a copy of Jule's Verne's "Around the World in Eighty Days" and read it. And furthermore, SparkNotes should be reviewed in hindsight.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2009

    Exhilarating, absorbing story!!

    Phileas Fogg is a rich member of the Reform Club, and is always very precise on time. He has accepted a bet that he can not travel around the world in eighty days. In the meanwhile, money has been stolen from a bank, and Phileas is the suspect. He leaves on his journey, not knowing that Detective Fix has boarded the ship, the Mongolia, for the adventure. During the trip, they make many stops and he barely escapes being arrested at each of the stops. They also take many twists and turns in their journey, switch boats, and collect many clues that may help them identify the real thief. I found this book suspenseful and a mystery. I would recommend it to anyone in middle school or older.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2007

    Around the World in 80 Days

    Around the World in 80 Days by Jules Verne is a story about a man named Phileas Fogg who lived by a routine schedule. Fogg had just fired his man servant for not bringing him his water for shaving at the right temperature of 86 degrees Fahrenheit but instead at 84 degrees Fahrenheit. Fogg gets another man servant named Jean Passepartout who is going to travel around the world in eighty days with Mr. Fogg but does not know it yet. The bet all started when Phileas Fogg went to the Reform Club for his daily routine. He had his meal, read, had his meal, and then played whist with his fellow reform members. The other reform members are debating on whether of not the thief who stole money from the Bank of London could escape easily. That is when Phileas Fogg says that it is possible, and bets half of his fortune-20,000 pounds- that it is possible. He walks calmly home and tells Passepartout to get everything ready in 10 minutes because they are leaving for Dover and Calais. Fogg and Passepartout go on their way, but Detective Fix wishes to arrest Phileas Fogg because he thinks Fogg robbed the Bank of London. They face many difficulties, but Phileas Fogg still had his confidence and calm ways. From trains to ships to an elephant, from being beaten for wearing shoes in a sacred place by accident to saving damsels in distress from being sacrificed all the way to being attacked on a train by the Souix. Jules Verne does a beautiful job describing the beauty and the horror of the countries Fogg, Passepartout, and Aouda face off against. I really enjoyed this book because it had comedy, adventure, and science involved in the lives of many people, and how one man set out to show that it was possible to go around the world in eighty days and the other a servant along for the ride.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2003

    Marvelous

    This marvelous book by Jules Verne is a must for every book lover everywhere! Mr. Phileas Fogg, an English gentleman, sets his whole life to the time of his watch. Every morning he gets up and goes to the reform club to play cards with his chums. Well one day, his friends and Phileas Fogg gets into a discussion and out of nowhere he bets his whole life savings he can make it around the world in 80 days. It was thought to be impossible by everyone but Phileas Fogg as determined to prove everyone wrong. So right away his new servant, Mr. Passepartout, and Phileas Fogg set out on their very exciting adventure around the world. The only thing that can stop them now is a detective, Detective Fix, who thinks that Mr. Phileas Fogg is the man that robbed a bank in London. Mr. Fix travels on his adventure to stop him at all cost. I am not going to give out anything else about they¿re daring, ride around the world but your sure can bet it is going to be very exciting. I believe this was a very interesting tale from beginning to end with a bunch of surprises along the way such as an Indian princess that will be killed if Mr. Fogg doesn¿t put a foot in to stop it. You never know what Jules Verne had up his sleeve every turning of the page, you knew it was going to be good but never knew what. After the first two chapters I never put it down to the end! This was certainly a book that kept you on the edge of your seat with every word read. I think his setting of the 1800¿s and the English characters certainly added a little something to the mix to make it even better! All of his characters had there own special place in the story, which made it all come together. Also how he used the language of that time period made you feel like you was in the 1800¿s in the reform club talking about his adventure with Mr. Fogg. Then he used a lot of different things to make you feel like you were right there on Mr. Phileas Fogg¿s right side. All of this made this book one of the best I have every read. All in all, this was a wonderful book that I think was very exciting and mysterious all in one! I defiantly think anyone who is thinking about reading this book should and even if you aren¿t still read it. I know that after the first two chapters you will be hooked like I was!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2014

    Sapphore and Blue meeting place

    Mr hyde 2

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2014

    Private India

    Alfred

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2014

    Around the World in 80 Days

    This is a wonderful book! It is a bit slow at first, but give it a few chapters and you'll really get into it. Also, as opposed o most free books, it is not so full of typos that you can hardly read it. There are a few but not many.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    It's great!!!!

    I'm not done with the book 11 classic reads for boys yet but I'm working on it!!!! I finished the hoosier school boy. I liked it now I am on Gollivers travel's!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2013

    Mkj.im. j ihm i,mj.j.nm .iii.i.imk

    Un. .i .nikm oil .jnm.j.bhy ju.jj.u.un j .b .u. .mu mbm.u ijj .kbb..

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    I cant belive its free

    I read this book with my teacher in fith grade i abouslutly loved the book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    D r maqt

    I uph.
    mq
    Ylg

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    Yolo

    Love geography and i just love this book!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    Yo pplz

    Is it as good as journey to the center of the earth? I have a classics assignment for school (6th grade honors english) and wondered if this was a good book to read. I saw the newish version of the kourney movie (with a young josh hutcherson) and i thought it was a good movie. Plz reply to abifail12. Thx!:)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 129 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7