Customer Reviews for

Arouse: A Spiral of Bliss Novel (Book One)

Average Rating 4.5
( 59 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2013

    When will it be available for the Nook already??????????????????

    When will it be available for the Nook already???????????????????ugh so frustrating! Should have gotten a freaking kindle!

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2013

    5+ OMG is it hot in here stars! You. Don't. Want. To. Miss. Thi

    5+ OMG is it hot in here stars!

    You. Don't. Want. To. Miss. This. Book.

    Especially if you're married. Or thinking about getting married. Or never want to get married. Or are just simply curious.

    Luckily, I found this book by chance. And it was a delicious accident waiting to happen! I fell head over heels in love with this book and the characters, down to every minute detail. Every spec of happiness, every twinge of sadness, every heartfelt pain, every tear, every smile, and especially every time he called her, “Beauty.”

    “Hey beauty.”

    “Come here, beauty”, he says. “You need to be kissed.”

    Move over Gabriel Emerson. There's a new Professor Hottie in town!

    Dean’s seamless combination of Brilliant Professor and Hot Hunk never fails to quicken my blood.

    Arouse is a thoughtfully written poignant love story that gives us a peek into what was once a seemingly perfect marriage that is now on the road to falling apart. It’s quite a bit different from the books I’ve been reading lately and maybe that’s just one of the many significant reasons I enjoyed it so much. This story begins a few years into a marriage instead of at the beginning of a courtship. First told from Olivia’s point of view, then later from Dean’s, we journey through the trials and tribulations of their marriage while also being treated to their intimate backstory, brilliantly presented via flashbacks.

    It is without a doubt one of my new top favorite books of all time. The writing was contemplative, introspective and emotionally powerful. The characters were genuine and relatable. There were times I wanted to smack Olivia upside the head and scream at Dean, “You idiot! You fool!”

    Then there were the times I could literally experience their excruciatingly intense connection. The sincere passion and love Dean had for his wife worked its way right off the page. Olivia’s inner turmoil and confusion was unfeigned as she discovered what Dean withheld from her.

    Kelsey was an added bonus. She's exactly the kind of friend Dean and Olivia both needed. No nonsense, tells it like it is, get your s*#t together kind of friend. And I had a feeling she was going to do what she did and I was so happy she did it and that she got the response she was after! Now, aren’t you curious?

    And Tyler, well, I wouldn’t mind taking a cooking class with him, but I was a bit annoyed at him because he knew Liv was married. I’ll leave it at that.

    Nina Lane wrote the perfectly imperfect love story. He’s her knight in shining armor. She’s his damsel in distress.

    “I don’t want you to walk away,” I said.
    “Good.” The lines between his eyes eased with relief.
    I gripped his wrists, a knot of fear binding my throat. “But you…you might want to go,” I warned.
    Darkness flashed in his expression. “Why?”
    My eyes stung. I swallowed hard.
    “Here be monsters,” I whispered.
    A heartbeat of silence, brewing with danger, filled the space between us. Then Dean tightened his hold on me and, with his thumbs, brushed away the tears that spilled down my cheeks.
    “Liv,” he said, his voice rough with tenderness, “you don’t have to be afraid.”
    “Why not?”
    “Because I’ll slay monsters for you.”

    I couldn’t put down my Kindle. I stole a glance every chance I could. I couldn’t get enough of Dean and Olivia’s story. And I was rooting for them through it all. The sequel is due to be released very soon and I can’t wait to get my greedy little hands on it. While it didn’t end on an “oh my” cliffhanger, it certainly made me gasp and left me wanting much more. If you’re ready for a read that’s less new adult and more mature adult, then I highly recommend this heartfelt work of art.

    (Reviewers Note: I went to three different colleges and teach in a fourth, and NONE of the professors look like this. NONE! If anyone knows where to find one, please let me know.)

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2013

    ¿One day I¿m going to touch you in a thousand different ways and

    “One day I’m going to touch you in a thousand different ways and show you how to touch me,” he said. And he did.

    Struggling with a tormented past, undergraduate Olivia Winter once led a practical but isolated life. Then she met Professor Dean West, a brilliant scholar of medieval history who melted Liv’s inhibitions and taught her the meaning of both love and erotic pleasure. But after three years of a blissful, lusty marriage, Liv and Dean now face a crisis that threatens everything they believe about each other. And when dark secrets and temptations rise to the surface, the fallout might break them apart forever.

    Finally, a swoon-worthy book where the marriage IS the story and not just an afterthought in an epilogue! Nina Lane gives us two very relatable characters in Olivia and Dean. Her writing is superb and the story kept me reading furiously until the end. And did I mention that I am in love with Professor Dean West? He is a totally hot alpha male, who is also an intelligent and very well-respected university professor.

    “Liv,” he said, his voice rough with tenderness, ” you don’t have to be afraid.”
    “Why not?”
    “Because I’ll slay monsters for you.”

    Arouse gives us a candid peek into the inner workings of a once-perfect marriage between two somewhat damaged people. Olivia had a troubled childhood which left her scarred in many ways. Dean is her first love, slightly older and very, very sexy. He literally sweeps her off her feet. Something comes between them and they both must struggle with their own emotions as they deal with how these events will affect their marriage and their very tight bond.

    “I love him to my bones, but suddenly I’m wondering what I might have been without him.”

    I am not sure why the “married couple” theme has been mentioned as not being everyone’s cup of tea. Olivia and Dean have an intense sexual relationship and Ms. Lane knows how to write erotic scenes that will knock your socks off! I also loved reading Dean’s POV after the mid-point of the book, it was a refreshing switch and gave me a lot of insight into his behavior during the first part of the book.

    “I’ll be here, beauty. Waiting for you.”

    This was my first book by Nina Lane. I absolutely love her writing style. Arouse is a brilliantly-written look into the inner workings of a real relationship. I LOVE Olivia and Dean and can’t wait to dive right into Allure.

    FROM THE BOOK BELLAS

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2013

    Engaging and emotional, heartbreaking and authentic! An intimate

    Engaging and emotional, heartbreaking and authentic! An intimate view into the marriage of Dean and Liv as they learn to shed the closely-guarded layers they’ve built around themselves.
    And get ready, the chemistry between them sets the pages ablaze! 4.5 sizzling stars!

    You know that vicious cycle of arguing? The expectations and disappointments… the blurry line between intense love and animosity… the reading too much into words… the not talking and talking too much, too hurtfully … well, it’s all found in the pages of this book and boy, did I feel it! This book lives in shades of gray uncertainty. 

    “He was my first in so many ways–my first lover, my first love, my first confidante, my first and only hero.”

    The book chronicles Olivia and Dean’s relationship three years into their marriage. Dean is gorgeous, brilliant, confident and oozes sex appeal. “Built like an athlete rather than a scholar,” Dean is an accomplished professor of Medieval Studies at King’s College.

    Olivia loses her job and is trying to find her passion … her skill … and maybe even herself. Although she adores her husband and is proud of his accomplishments, she can’t help but feel a little lost.

    But their passion for each other is blazing, the pull and desire for each other always there.

    They had long decided not to have children–each for their own painful reasons. But a sudden pregnancy scare unexpectedly opens the closed topic, triggering a rippling effect that eventually forces buried secrets to reveal, arguments to escalate, and the rift between them to widen.

    “I can’t even say it. I can’t pinpoint the source of my unease. It’s more than Dean’s reluctance to have a baby, more than my own fears of inadequacy, but I have no idea what.”

    As is typical with deepening problems, they both take actions they regret, making their once solid marriage falter.

    “My disappointment in my husband is so sharp I can taste it, bitter and cold.”

    The story is told mainly through Liv’s POV, but towards the end, we hear more through Dean’s perspective. We also have flashback scenes woven throughout to help us understand how the past shaped present day.

    Ultimately, this story is about Olivia and Dean understanding more about each other, about themselves and about how to make their marriage a more honest, secrets-free marriage. And perhaps all this bad stuff had to happen so that they could really live a more authentic life together. But so much happens that we don’t know if they can make it work. Their marriage is teetering between happiness and uncertainty.

    “Maybe this was meant to happen, this discovery of cracks where now a different light can shine through.”

    In the end, we’re left with a plot twist, not a true cliffhanger, but the fate of their marriage still hangs in the balance. I love both Dean and Liv. I want their marriage to work. They share a love that seems to be real, and coupled with that scorching passion they have for each other … well that just seems too good to throw in the towel. Allure, book 2, comes out May 2013 and I can’t wait to see what happens to Liv and Dean!!! ♥

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2014

    Honestly, I struggled at the beginning of this book to really em

    Honestly, I struggled at the beginning of this book to really embrace the characters and the story being told. As we explored more of how Dean and Liv became a couple from their first meeting I became addicted. This is a wonderful exploration of a married couple dealing with the daily issues many people face. The biggest being children – what happens when one person wants children and the other one doesn't? Liv also struggles with what she is doing with her life. Dean is established as a professor so his work keeps him very busy but she is sort of floundering. This story felt very real to me as we dealt with these issues. Excited to see where we go from here in book 2. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2014

    Excellent book! Love all 3 books!!

    Excellent book! Love all 3 books!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    Wow

    Finally...a book without a predictable ending. The characters and their lives are more like real life. Can't wait to get into book two.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2015

    5+++++

    The drama, angst and eventual love between Professor Dean and Olivia is amazing. This book is a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    Wow! Great flashbacks, steamy sexual encounters and incredible e

    Wow! Great flashbacks, steamy sexual encounters and incredible emotional tension. I loved this couple hard. Their story is told from both Liv’s and Dean’s point of view and alternates between now and the past. Minor spoilers follow!

    One of my favorite flashback moments was Liv & Dean’s first ‘outing’ together one Friday night at dinner after his medieval history lecture at the Chazen Museum:

    ‘Was he the one?
    I had no illusions of great love and romance. I never had. My mother’s relationships with men were restless and sometimes violent. I’d learned early on that it was easier not to count on anyone.

    But during the past few years, I’d come to certain conclusions about myself and relationships. I wanted to learn how to trust a man. I wanted to know what true, physical pleasure felt like. I wanted to find the courage to be vulnerable on my own terms, as my own choice.

    No, I hadn’t expected to find that man any time soon, but I had an unnerving feeling he might be sitting across from me now.

    Dean looked up and caught me staring. His gaze held mine. Electricity crackled in the air between us, sparking red and blue.’ ~Liv

    I completely understood Liv’s attraction to Dean who was so self assured, accomplished and downright sexy. At times, I could relate to Liv on a very personal level – particularly the elements in her past that left her feeling lonely and distrustful. But then there were other times that I felt completely mystified by her actions and reactions. 

    Eventually, she crosses a line that while not catastrophic did create a domino effect. I actually had to stop reading at one point because my heart started racing in pure shock at the line that Dean subsequently crosses. I had to remind myself that these were fictional characters and not real people. I’d fallen hard for their couple dynamic, and I was truly worried that they’d do something damaging and irreversible to each other. 

    “We’ve done it before,” he says. “We can do it again.”
    Fall seven times. Get up eight.
    “I don’t want to lose you,” I whisper.
    “You’ll never lose me.” 

    Fortunately, they find their way back to each other before they break each other, but their story does end on a bit of a dramatic cliffhanger. Be prepared to want to dive right into the sequel, Allure (Spiral of Bliss # 2) available now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2014

    Highly Recommended

    Can't wait for the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2014

    This was my first book by Nina Lane and it didn¿t disappoint! Ea

    This was my first book by Nina Lane and it didn’t disappoint! Easily one of my favorite books of 2013, Arouse is a profoundly moving love story that begins at the HEA. The hero and heroine have already fallen madly in love and the story starts three years into their marriage. A seemingly perfect marriage built on desire, love, and a strong sense of trust ... until it all begins to unravel.

    This read is a passionate and emotional journey through the trials and tribulations of married couple, Dean and Olivia “Liv” West. As their story unfolds, the book goes back and forth between present day and the past giving the reader glimpses into how Dean and Liv first met and fell in love. 

    “If you don’t want to do anything, we won’t. If you want to go slow, we’ll go slow. If you want to end this right now, I’ll walk away from you. It’ll kill me to do it, but if you want me to, I will.”

    Dean, a highly respected and successful scholar, is a professor of medieval history on track for tenure at a private, prestigious university. While Liv, a library sciences and literature major, has been unable to find a job in her field and is struggling to figure out who she is and what she wants to do. 

    “Since the day we met, I haven’t wanted anyone but you … Never looked at another woman … Never thought about one. It’s always been you, Olivia.”

    Then one day, Liv suggests they think about having a baby—a totally natural idea for a married couple—and their relationship begins to spiral out of control. As the tension and doubt between them escalates, a long-buried secret is revealed, and the ensuing animosity and mistrust between them threatens to destroy their marriage.

    “Christ, Liv,” he whispers. “What the hell are we doing to each other?”

    “We can’t do this anymore. Can’t keep hurting each other. Our marriage has always been an island, a safe place where sea-dragons and monstrous creatures can’t reach us. Now we’re letting them in, gnashing teeth and all, and we are failing to protect each other.”

    Arouse is well-written, gritty and emotional story about what happens after the happily ever after. There’s no such thing as a perfect marriage, because no one is perfect. The story portrays honestly the strength and struggles of marriage, depicting how the breakdown of communication and secrets can drive a wedge between even the happiest couple resulting in resentment, betrayal, jealousy and mistrust. The characters are all so relatable, but most importantly, the story is realistic. Told in both Olivia and Dean’s POV, the reader is given a deeper understanding of each characters psyche. You feel their heartache, their frustration, their passion, and their love and commitment to each other as they fight to make their marriage work. The story flows well building into a beautifully touching journey with just enough plot and anticipation to totally captivate you and keep you reading to the very end. If you’re a fan of steamy adult contemporary romance, then this is a book you won’t want to miss! Arouse is a sensual, reflective story about the resilience of true love. And a highly recommended read! There’s no fairytale ending, nor is there a major cliffhanger, but if you enjoy Olivia and Dean’s story as much as I did, their journey is continued in Allure, book two of the Spiral of Bliss trilogy. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2014

    Arouse: A Spiral of Bliss Novel (Book One), Nina Lane Review fro

    Arouse: A Spiral of Bliss Novel (Book One), Nina Lane
    Review from Jeannie Zelos book reviews

    Oh I loved this book, first in a trilogy and for once its erotic without being just sex...some of those are actually a turn off, with no real story, just some vapid sexual encounters. This though – its what I think of as an erotic novel for the real reader, the person who wants everything, sex and story, proper drama, genuine emtions and problems we all have.
    Olivia, she'd had such a difficult childhood, but worked diligently and at twenty four is finally an undergraduate. She's not very confident, thanks to her horrible mother and awful upbringing, so when she meets the sexy and attractice Dean, university professor, she can't quite belive he wants her and not some long legged, gorgeous, model type woman. He does want her though, and this book starts when they have been married for a few years, and gives flashbacks to their beginning every now and then. Sometimes that doesn't work for me but, as with another recent read, here it does as the main story is the current time, and the flashbacks just brief interludes adding to the story, and giving us some background frame of reference.
    He's the world to Olivia, she thinks they share everything then...she finds out he's witheld something huge and feels betrayed. It knocks back all her precious confidence, fills her full of doubts and they struggle. Its heartbreaking, knowing they both love and want each other so much, and yet seem to keep drawing further and further apart.
    A fabulous read, full of tension and drama and I just love knowing there's two more books to come about them, so the drama doesn't have to be rushed. There a sense of eveything coming together for them at the end, and then...wow – a massive shock!! A cliffhanger of sorts, but not the kind I hate, it's one I can live with ,especially as I have the next two books for review :-)
    I know already this is one for my keepers file, one I'll want to re read. I've been lucky of late, after a run of bad chioces i've had several good ones like this.
    Stars: cracker of a book – full five.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2014

    Oh. My. Heck!  I have a new book boyfriend and his name is Dean

    Oh. My. Heck!  I have a new book boyfriend and his name is Dean West!  Seriously, he's climbing his way to the top of my list.  I'm totally mad about him and I'm crazy about the couple that is Dean and Liv.  Their story is full of passion and angst and is completely and utterly romantic.  Although they are facing very real problems in their marriage, the fact that they love each other is never a question and that is what I adore about this couple.  With Arouse, Nina Lane has gained a new fan and I'm happy to let the world know it.  If she writes it, I'm going to read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2014

    My favorite - absolutely awesome

    Could not put it down. So thoroughly enjoyed these charachter , the witing, will reread over and over. the whole seris is hot, funny, hot, sad, hot, hot.....loved

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2014

    Dull

    This book started off with a promising premise. A shelter girl and a overachieving professor. They hinted at problems and struggles but in the in I could care less about these too. The "struggle" with birth control (trying one for a few weeks? Hello, there is more than one formulation). They shut down over a minor issue that most couples would have given thought over. Really? I forced myself to finish it because I thought it would give me some insight in to their issues but in the end I didn't care. As a couple they didn't interest me. I wanted to hear more about the professors work on medevil building

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Arouse is a book that captures the rawness and beauty of a relat

    Arouse is a book that captures the rawness and beauty of a relationship but still full of passion and erotic sensual chemistry.

    It's a story about the love and struggles of Olivia and Dean. Whom meet by chance and quickly fall in love and become each others everything. This story goes back and forth from present to past.

    While Dean is a successful Professor Olivia tries to find her place in the world on her own two feet. She needs this independence to overcome her past. With Olivia and Dean they have their own corner of happiness until a potential pregnancy rocks them off their axis and past secrets and fears come out. With other outside issues causing more doubts and fears their relationship starts to crumble.

    As Olivia tries to find her own path, Dean pulls away forcing her to turn to her new cooking class teacher Tyler The more Dean pulls away the more Olivia needs attention and support. Once she gives into a lapse of judgement she comes clean only to find out that their foundation may now be unrepairable. Things aren't looking good for Olivia and Dean but when she needs him, she calls and Dean drops everything for Olivia. Once they start to fix things another bomb is dropped leaving a wee bit of a cliffhanger.

    "Come Here, beauty." he says. "You need to be kissed."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

    Could not put it down

    Loved this story. I just hate these two and three part novels. Just be prepared to buy the others to find out what is coming next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    Grea read! Great read!

    Super worth it! Loved it! Looking forward to the 2nd book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    Brilliant

    What a heartwrenching, beautifully written book. Oh my! It kept me enthralled and wishing and praying for Liv and Dean. I can't wait to read book 2!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2013

    So good!

    I cannot wait to read book 2. I am hooked on Dean and Olivia!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2