Customer Reviews for

Arrow's Fall (Heralds of Valdemar Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 94 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(67)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2004

    Deserves More Than Five Stars

    This is one of the best books ever writen. It starts off with Talia coming back from her internship after going through a severe breakdown and reconstruction of control over her Gift. Talia than is greeted by her unacknowledged lifebonded, Dirk, and he goes on to think that Talia is in love with Kris and Kris with Tali. Meanwhile, Talia takes her rightful spot at the council table and helps make important decsions while Lord Orthallen tries to undermine Talia's power and effort. One example of how he does this is by framing Dirk of stealing important info. and bringing Kris & Talia into it. The issue is resolved, Dirk's name is cleared but this creates a major fight between Dirk, Kris, and Talia. Elspeth isn't making Tali's job any easier by disappering everyday with a no-good power taker, until the Companions get worried about her and Talia has to interfere causing another fight, this time between Elspeth and Talia. Than, Dirk falls ill and right after Talia is sent away with Kris (after making up w/ him) on a diplomatic mission to Hardon to find out if Ancar is a suitable husband for Elspeth. On the first night in the capital, they discover that Ancar is a horrible man and sneak out to warn Selenay who is traveling behind the two Heralds by a few weeks. Instead, Talia feels the murder of Alessander, the reining king by his son, Ancar. They rush to escape, not realizing that there are guards at the gate and Kris and Tantris die leaving Talia to the brutal torture from Ancar while Rolan escapes. A merchant helps send a Talia send a massage to Selenay by coded arrows. Talia is tortured not only by Ancar but by HULDA too! She realizes than that Lord Orthallen is the traitor. When Selenay gets the massage, she starts a war plan. Dirk and Elspeth 'Fetch' Talia from Ancar's dungeon's, bloodied and near death. Talia survives and Selenay wins the battle against Ancar. The whole book has an awesome plot and was such a good book. You just can't put it down once you pick it up. It's defenitly one of the best books I have ever read. Lackey surpases herself in this book. It is an awesome mix of comedey, tradegdy, and romance. I've read it about five times and can't put it down every time. Defenitly should read it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2012

    Excellent book

    Great book. I've read it and re-read it a number of times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Strong Conclusion to the Original Valdemar Trilogy

    This is the conclusion to "Arrows of the Queen" and "Arrows Flight," which should be read first. I think this is a satisfying resolution to all the threads established in the first books. I like how Talia grew through all three novels and Lackey certainly made me feel for her characters. Well, the ones on the "good" side. If this author and series greatest flaw is arguably that she creates a very black and white world, with villains in the twirl-the-mustache mold, and this is no exception. Combined with the appealing characters I loved the magical world Lackey created--a group of heroes of desperate backgrounds drawn together because they are the chosen of their companions--magical horses they're full partner. What teenage girl wouldn't be enthralled by such a world? But I still enjoyed rereading this even as an adult: a good escapist read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2009

    Mercedes Is Awesome

    I have loved this series since I first picked up her, Magics Pawn, book in 1990 and have read just about every thing Mercedes writes.. I do have to say that her Valdimar series is the best and truely my favorite.. This book in particular had me hooked from page 1 I was on the edge of my seat the whole time... It really made me feel like I was there watching it unfold... I love her books so much I got my neice hooked too...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2005

    This book was awesome

    Arrow's Fall was an awesome book but so are the other two of the series. I Read the whole series in three days thats how good they are. I was so depressed because I read this part in front of the book that showed Kris had died and his companion but it said nothing of Talia's fate. I had to wait to get to that part it was so deppresing to read Kris had died I cried and than when Talia sends the one arrow with a broken head and one broken in half that was depressing to. All her characters were great I loved all of her friends it was alike they were alive. Kris was one of my favorites so it was hard to see him die like that but after that it was like no one mourned him which disappointed me. This book is in my top five best books and Mercedes is in the top five best authors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2004

    A must read

    This is one of the most powerful trilogies I have ever read. I was so sad for it to end! Mercedes Lackey is a Goddess of writing! During one of the more emotional parts of this book I actually had to put it down because I was crying, but a mischevious friend of mine had picked it up and had started to read it outloud to me. I have sobbed more in that moment than in my entire life. I'll never forgive her. But when I think of books to cry over, this is it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2004

    Great Book

    This was definitely the best installment in Talia's story yet. I was a little disappointed with the ending, though; there was a lot that didn't get taken care of and there wasn't an epilouge. Other than that, loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2003

    awsome! !great! wonderful! magnificent!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This book will keep youentranced. It is a wonderful story that will make you laugh, cry, cheer, and smile.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2003

    I'm in haven at last!

    I have waited for three months to read what happens between Talia, Kris, and Dirk ((all heralds)) .Arrows Fall made me laugh, cry, and rejoyice. Mercedes Lackey did an oustanding job on this book. I've read it more than I can count, and I still want to read it again. It is a must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2002

    The best in Talia's tale!

    I was really surprised with this book. It was amazing. The author became more mature with each book in the Talia stories, and she has finally reached her goal. Talia is not the little, frightened girl anymore. She is now a woman and a full Herald. I was surprised at how mature the author made Talia also. If you liked Arrows of the Queen and Arrow's Fall, then you must read this book! If you love Talia, then you may find yourself very angry at times and also on the verge of crying.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2002

    I love this book!!! It is one of my absolute favorites.

    I think I might have read this book at least 3 times through, and I still want to read it again! The plot is really good, and it just makes you want to keep reading, on and on, and never stop. The middle part is really sad, but it only makes the end more exuberant. This book ranks as one of my favorites, and that is saying a lot, 'cause I'm a little picky about what I read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2002

    A great book!*smiles*

    I read this book and it captured me with its magic. I tell everyone(encluding teachers) that they should read it. I even started a book club in SM discussion board just so I can tell everyone about Ms.Lackey's books. By the way I'm 12.*smiles and giggles*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2001

    Have'nt read it yet

    When I was buying the first two I never thought it was a series. So, i read the first two in two days only to discover there was a third . I absolutly loved the first two and hopefully will be getting the third tomorrow. I can't wait!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2001

    One of the greatest novels ever written

    I absolutely loved this book. I couldnt ever put it down. It filled my heart with joy and it has touched my soul forever. I know anyone who likes fantasy will be touched just as I have. Mercedes lackey is the best author ever and no one can gainsay that if they read her novels with an open heart and soul. I know youll enjoy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4