Customer Reviews for

Arson

Average Rating 4.5
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2013

    Interesting

    The story is good, great writing! However, the author spends alot of time on how terrible arson's life is, his internal view of himself. It was really excellent at bringing me into Arson's life, but it also made reading this book very difficult for me. I actuallu give 3 and 1/2 stars because a good portion of the book is negative and depressing. There is light at the end of the tunnel though! I was so happy when he found something that brightened up his existence, i was afraid he would muck it up! Vega drew me in and wouldn't let go!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2012

    I know that it's going to sound shallow, but what really intrigu

    I know that it's going to sound shallow, but what really intrigued me into reading the book was the cover. I, actually, saw the cover, then said "yes" to my participation and then I read the summary, which, by the way, is really interesting. First time there is a character creating fire and there are not other characters in the book, who can manipulate the other elements.

    Now, about the book:

    Firstly, there are the characters.

    Arson is one of those loner guys that don't have friends, he comes from a weird family status, since he's living with his grandparents and he is one of those brave guys who can stand every bad reaction from the others and still don't get angry and start kicking butts, or in this case burn them till they're ashes. He has a big problem with his powers, since there is none around who can teach him how to use them and he does his best to hide his secret. As I said, brave.

    Emery is the weird masked girl. Reading about her was easy. She is pretty simple, one of those girls you can easily hang out with, but then there is the mask. Most of the times I was totally forgetting it and imagining I nice pretty girl, but that was wrong. The mask serves a purpose and it's really sad when she finally says her story and you - in this case Arson - learn why she's so obsessed with it.

    Minor characters are Emery's parents, which you follow around quite a bit, but their lives and their actions serve a purpose and lead Emery into taking some decisions that change both, hers and Arson's, lives.
    And then there is Arson's grandmother. Well, her, I hated her. I don't care about her psychological problems or whatever else, I just wanted to grab her head and smashed it at the wall. Learning the things you learn at the end might make you sympathize her, but not me.

    Secondly, there were not many descriptions. You are following around the characters and you get some, but not like the ones I'm used to. What I noticed was that the author was making many great metaphores.

    Lastly, the plot. In the beginning and most of the part of the book, things are semi-simple. There are many "waves". Things are calm, then something rocks the water, then something tranquil again. And then we are reaching the end. I'm serious when I'm saying that during the last chapters my eyes were wide open and my mouth was hanging there completely numb from all the disclosures.

    Bottom line, despite being really fast that makes it difficult to put it in a straight line and some bad characters, I liked it. I liked the plot and I could justify most of the characters actions, because they seemed really human. The end leaves you with so many questions that I can't wait to read the next book. So, who doesn't want to read a young-adult paranormal novel written by a male author? I, for once, was really curious.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Arson is a dark and twisted book by an incredibly talented autho

    Arson is a dark and twisted book by an incredibly talented author. The build up and flow of Arson's story is haunting while mesmerizing and allows the reader to lament for this unfortunate character. It's a story that I found to be mainly about relationships and self worth, a mostly realistic novel but with a hint of paranormal suspense. The author knows his subjects and creates a real life story that features a thrilling and not so real element.

    Arson Gable knows he's not normal. His character is battered and emotionally damaged, and he's living with guilt that he's never been taught how to deal with. Growing up with a grandmother who is physically and emotionally abusive, not to mention a little delusional, Arson has created this shell around himself until he can no longer feel. His life brightens a bit when a new family lives next door, and with it comes Emery (a wonderfully constructed character, the perfect addition to this intense drama). The phrases that come out of Emery's mouth are sarcastic and pungent. Her life is as messy as his and soon they find a real and slightly damaged (with the baggage they both are lugging around) relationship. Arson and Emery, coupled with the multiple characters of Estevan Vega's mind, this book is a complex network of emotional story lines.

    Estevan Vega writes with purpose. He tells this story well, and tells it from everyone's point of view. His angles on various relationships and stages of life made me feel like their were multiple authors to this book. He has every personality down to an art.

    Throughout the book we continued to learn things with the characters as they grow. Their flaws and characteristics develop as the story builds, and the piercing ending was the perfect conclusion and cliffhanger. It's hard not to get involved. I really enjoyed this book and think that Estevan is one writer to watch!

    This book has a shocking there-will-be-a-book-two ending that leaves the reader searching for information on how the story continues. The sequel, Ashes, is also available. This book is magnificently constructed and full of real feelings and people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    'Arson' is a really interesting book that focuses on the idea of

    'Arson' is a really interesting book that focuses on the idea of a person being able to create fire. The teenage hero has a confusing and hard life which is made all the more difficult by his unique ability to make fire. He has to deal with the truth of his past all while trying to understand what is happening to him. Adding to the story of Arson is the strange new neighbor who seems to have secrets of her own. What is she hiding from and what will become of them both?

    The storyline of Arson is unique and gives new life to the YA paranormal genre. The characters are all likeable and realistic, and we get to see Arson grow into his role in the world as well as confronting his dark past. There are normal teenage issues to deal with - high school, cruel classmates, crushes on cute girls - all intertwined with the much bigger plot of dealing with his ability of creating fire and what he believes he must now do.

    Vega does a great job of creating a realistic scenario for his novel; one that doesn't seem quite so unbelievable. The narrative is very well-written and flows easily, making this a great page turner that I ended up flying through in one day. Arson is a great YA novel that explores how far someone will go to fulfill their destiny and save themselves.

    Disclosure: I received a copy of the book in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great book!

    Arson is just one of those books that pulls you in from the very beginning. Plague by being called a freak, the reader's curiosity is intensified by what overcomes this young man to be called such a thing. Is he really a freak. Or are those around him the freak. Since after all, there are the ones who are different.

    What I like most about this book are the characters. Arson has had a hard life. I love the way the author Mr. Vega strongly depicted this young man life for his readers. It is really easy to step in this book and let your imagination run free. Mr. Vega created such a unique and intense world that it is simply impossible not to get into the book.

    The plot line of this book keeps getting better and better as the reader dives deeper into Arson's life. I enjoyed seeing the things that happen to him to make him who he is today. But, I also enjoyed seeing Arson become a man, take charge in his life and not let anyone else dictate it. Arson has been under everyone's thumb doing as they bid, and now Arson has had enough.

    I really did not expect to see a love interest in this book though I thoughtful enjoyed it. It was good to see some love and peace within a book that is full of dark and hurtful things. This love gave a whole new element of hope where the reader did not see one. And the ending, well...that was another surprise that I did not see.

    Arson is a great tale of young man life just beginning. I love the back round history to the characters as well as seeing of what is able to become of Arson. This a dark novel of fire and life just waiting to burn. As I read deeper into Arson's life, I know that he is about to set ablaze a fire that no one has seen before.

    *cursing/sexual content*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2011

    Something a little different!

    I received this e-book for review from Partners In Crime Tours as part of the author's virtual book tour. I did not receive any compensation for my review, and the views expressed herein are my own. Arson is a 17-year-old boy who has an unusual ability: He can make fire! He needs to remain in control of his emotions to avoid something disastrous from taking place. Raised by his senile and abusive grandmother, Arson lives like a hermit only leaving home to work at the ice cream parlor or go to school. When a teenage girl his own age moves in across the street, Arson is intrigued by the girl (Emery) who wears the strange mask. What is she hiding behind that mask? The two social outcasts find friendship and more with each other. Vega has created an interesting pairing with Arson and Emery. Arson is more shy and withdrawn, and it is hard not to feel sympathy towards him for the upbringing he has had. He comes out of his shell when he meets Emery, who I think is a fantastic character! You would think that Emery would be shy and aloof, but no! She has spunk and is not afraid to speak her mind! I think the mask gives her the courage to do that because people can't really read her. The book deals with real problems which teenagers will be able to relate to: peer pressure, alcoholism, their parents' marital strife, first love. The book ends rather abruptly, and Vega has obviously set us up for a sequel. I wonder what Vega has next in store for Arson and Emery? MY RATING: 4 stars! I liked it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Arson

    I won't waste anyone's time by repeating what's already out there, so if you want a rundown of the plot, look elsewhere. :)

    "Arson" wasn't a typical book. I loved that. Stereotypes only get duller every time they're re-used. Honestly, though, I didn't know what to expect from the book. A boy that can create fire with his hands? A girl who always wears a mask? These were interesting things, but I wasn't sure where the conflict came in. Luckily, Estevan Vega did. Arson's psychotic grandmother would probably have been enough, but the girl has got problems, too. The ending of the book was very good. It made me want to read more.

    Though the author of this book is young, I wouldn't recommend "Arson" to younger readers. There are dark themes and a few mature moments in the book. However, it's obvious that Estevan Vega wrote what was on his heart. It bled through to the paper, and I, as a reader, could see the stain. Well-done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2010

    Unique story about an remarkably gifted boy

    ARSON, by Estevan Vega, was an exceptional story about a peculiar boy and his remarkable gift of creating fire with his mind. Vega took my mind right out of its comfort zone and threw me for a loop with this amazing story.

    What I loved more than anything about this book were the main characters, Arson and Emery. They were two peas in a pod together and their relationship blossomed wonderfully. They had much in common with not-so-perfect family lives and both being outsiders. Emery seemed a bit bizarre with her obession with her mask, but Arson immediately wanted to know who was behind it, unlike others who just stared and ridiculed. Emery, in turn, wanted to know what made Arson tick. I like reading books about those on the "other side of the tracks" with troubled families and the like. It takes me to another understanding of people outside popular groups and the need to be in them.

    The development of the minor characters was equally interesting. I thought I had most of them pegged from the beginning but I was wrong. From the beginning, I wanted to learn about the immediate mood changes of Grandma Kay. I had my own idea about it, but Vega pulled the metaphorical rug from right under me. The realizations of who these characters were in the latter part of the book quicken my reading pace to figure it out.

    The element of fire in this book was very interesting. Arson knew he had to control his emotions to keep the fire in check, but at times the build-up was excruciating. Vega explored the depths of Arson's guilt and distress about his gift so fully, it was at times very emotional and disheartening. But the consquences of not freely exploring his gift created devesating results.

    The cover art is really fantastic with elements of Emery (mask) and Arson (fire). The pulling together of these ideas makes this book jump right off the shelf.

    The last couple chapters unraveled some new situations, and a massive cliffhanger that makes me need to read the sequel as soon as possible. Overall, this book was incredibly unique and creative, and I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1