Customer Reviews for

An Arsonist's Guide to Writers' Homes in New England

Average Rating 3.5
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A Truly Great American Novel

It's interesting--one of the customer reviews on Barnes & Noble's site complained that while they were drawn into the novel and enjoyed the story, they disliked the characters, and particularly protagonist Sam Pulsifer. That was one of the great draws for me. Like David...
It's interesting--one of the customer reviews on Barnes & Noble's site complained that while they were drawn into the novel and enjoyed the story, they disliked the characters, and particularly protagonist Sam Pulsifer. That was one of the great draws for me. Like David Lapham's "Young Liars" series of graphic novels, toying with the notion that the narrator is bad, unlikable, unreliable, and possibly lying through his teeth is one of my favorite elements of the story. To be honest, there is a point early in AN ARSONIST'S GUIDE where Pulsifer is explaining for the reader--without rationalization or justification, simply trying to put the reader in his headspace--why it is that he'd lied to the people he loved for years, and then continued to lie and pile lies on top of lies until they simply couldn't trust him anymore. His reasoning--while flawed beyond belief--is the same I've found myself applying in the past when acting in just such a way. This book holds up a mirror to my least favorite aspect of myself, my past, my personal humiliations and my insecurities. Pulsifer is a character I don't particularly like--but I relate to him on a very personal level. And honestly, that's what a lot of the novel is about. Pulsifer, as well as a number of the characters he interacts with, have literary characters just like that. He, his mother, the folks who write him to ask for help--they all have characters they see themselves in, or that they want to avoid becoming, or that they can't escape from. It's this reality, whether you like the characters or not, that really makes the novel pop. Not to mention, of course, the cleverly flippant language, the engaging plot, the constant hope that things will turn around and the way that, like most great mysteries, something that's clearly not right at the start pays off down the road--not in the way you'd expect.

posted by RussBurlingame on July 10, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

If you want to start a fire, burn this book

The book was not totally horrible but I just wanted it over. The main character is an idiot that just plays the victim and resigns himself to that. There's no climax, no epiphany. You keep waiting the whole time for him to actually DO something. I won't be rushing t...
The book was not totally horrible but I just wanted it over. The main character is an idiot that just plays the victim and resigns himself to that. There's no climax, no epiphany. You keep waiting the whole time for him to actually DO something. I won't be rushing to read anything else from this writer. Definitely disappointing.

posted by Anonymous on March 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    If you want to start a fire, burn this book

    The book was not totally horrible but I just wanted it over. The main character is an idiot that just plays the victim and resigns himself to that. There's no climax, no epiphany. You keep waiting the whole time for him to actually DO something. I won't be rushing to read anything else from this writer. Definitely disappointing.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A bit of a let down

    I was really looking forward to reading this book, but after the first few chapters I found it rather boring and very predictable. The characters were all a bit sad and passive, and I couldn't really relate or sympathize with them.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2009

    Booring. Slow.

    I have actually stopped reading 1/3 of way through because it was so slow!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Truly Great American Novel

    It's interesting--one of the customer reviews on Barnes & Noble's site complained that while they were drawn into the novel and enjoyed the story, they disliked the characters, and particularly protagonist Sam Pulsifer. That was one of the great draws for me. Like David Lapham's "Young Liars" series of graphic novels, toying with the notion that the narrator is bad, unlikable, unreliable, and possibly lying through his teeth is one of my favorite elements of the story. To be honest, there is a point early in AN ARSONIST'S GUIDE where Pulsifer is explaining for the reader--without rationalization or justification, simply trying to put the reader in his headspace--why it is that he'd lied to the people he loved for years, and then continued to lie and pile lies on top of lies until they simply couldn't trust him anymore. His reasoning--while flawed beyond belief--is the same I've found myself applying in the past when acting in just such a way. This book holds up a mirror to my least favorite aspect of myself, my past, my personal humiliations and my insecurities. Pulsifer is a character I don't particularly like--but I relate to him on a very personal level. And honestly, that's what a lot of the novel is about. Pulsifer, as well as a number of the characters he interacts with, have literary characters just like that. He, his mother, the folks who write him to ask for help--they all have characters they see themselves in, or that they want to avoid becoming, or that they can't escape from. It's this reality, whether you like the characters or not, that really makes the novel pop. Not to mention, of course, the cleverly flippant language, the engaging plot, the constant hope that things will turn around and the way that, like most great mysteries, something that's clearly not right at the start pays off down the road--not in the way you'd expect.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2009

    Great title; aggravating book

    The book itself does not deliver on the promise of the title. The writer presents an interesting premise, but the main character has so little regard for himself, cares so little for what happens to him, that I wondered why should I, the reader, care what happens? I read it for a book club; would not have finished it otherwise. I would not recommend it to anybody I like.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    Clarke

    Brocke was my creative writing professor in college, read his book after my final story, and i will have to say he is a lot better to listen to stories in class. I liked the book, but its lacked to personality that he presented in class.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2009

    An Arsonist's Guide to Writers; Homes in New England

    I enjoyed reading the book but di not like the characters. I especially did not6 like the protagonist. I enjoyed the satire/spoof of the subject matter and I did want to read to the end to find out how it all turned out. A worthy read but nothing special.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2009

    original

    insightful and funny

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2008

    Heartbreakingly Beautiful

    This is not a book for anyone who reads to escape life's difficulties--a need I can sometimes relate to. This is a book that explores pain and tragedy, and the almost pinball effect one accident can have on numerous lives. The writing is truthful, beautiful, and often laugh-aloud funny. I dare you to resist turning to your neighbor with an impromptu recital of a passage or two. If you've ever asked yourself 'What does a traumatic event like THAT to do a person?' then you will not only understand the point of this novel, you'll want to give it a compassionate hug once you reach the end. Sam Pulsifer may be lost, but I'm not so sure he's a bumbler after all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2008

    Fantastic Read

    This book was full of twists and turns and i enjoyed it from beginning to end. i recommend this to everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2007

    A reviewer

    For about two chapters, I was really enjoying this book. The main character/narrator, Sam, has a wry outlook on life. But as the book progressed, I came to really dislike him. So passive about his situation, I wanted to reach through the pages and shake him. This 'guide' did teach me one thing, however, to be a little more discriminating about which hardcover books I spend my money on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2