Customer Reviews for

The Art Lesson

Average Rating 4.5
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

The Art Lesson!!!!

The Art Lesson by Tommie dePaola is a great children's book. It is about a little boy named Tommy who wanted to be an artist when he grew up. He used to draw pictures all the time and sometimes sold them for five cents. When he went to kindergarten he was excited becaus...
The Art Lesson by Tommie dePaola is a great children's book. It is about a little boy named Tommy who wanted to be an artist when he grew up. He used to draw pictures all the time and sometimes sold them for five cents. When he went to kindergarten he was excited because he thought that he was going to get real art lessons. But as it turned out he didn't get them until first grade. When he entered first grade he got a box of sixty four pack of crayons for his birthday. He had a great time during the art lessons drawing all kinds of pictures.The problem was that his teacher wouldn't let him use his own crayons , so he had to make a special deal with her so he could use them. My favorite part was when he drew all of his friends and when he drew pictures on his sheets. This is a great realistic fiction book, i hope that you will read it. The reason i read this book is because i like drawing and also it makes you think that you are really there.This book is special because it shows you that if you keep Practing at something then you¿ll finally get it. I recommend this book this book to everyone because it is such a great book. This book is like all the other Tommie dePaola books i hope that you will enjoy as much as i did.

posted by Anonymous on February 16, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Terrible Message!

I thought by the various reviews/awards this book has received that it would at least be a 3 out of 5! However this in NOT a book that should be read to children! In class all of the children are proviided w/8 crayons to use on their project & Tommy has brought his box ...
I thought by the various reviews/awards this book has received that it would at least be a 3 out of 5! However this in NOT a book that should be read to children! In class all of the children are proviided w/8 crayons to use on their project & Tommy has brought his box of 64 crayons he got as a birthday present, however he is told by the teacher that he is not allowed to use them because it would not be fair to the other children in class who only have access to 8 crayons. So instead of accepting this Tommy sneaks in the crayons under his shirt (the fact that he snuck them in shows he knows full well he's doing something he's not supposed to) and ends up getting to use them-teaching children it's fine to disobey your teacher. It's also disparraging to art teachers and our public schools-portraying them in a very negative light. The whole 'moral' of the story tells kids to just complain and ignore the rules and you'll get what you want. I had other art educators & mothers read this book and they all agreed it was very poor.

posted by Anonymous on October 5, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2001

    The Art Lesson!!!!

    The Art Lesson by Tommie dePaola is a great children's book. It is about a little boy named Tommy who wanted to be an artist when he grew up. He used to draw pictures all the time and sometimes sold them for five cents. When he went to kindergarten he was excited because he thought that he was going to get real art lessons. But as it turned out he didn't get them until first grade. When he entered first grade he got a box of sixty four pack of crayons for his birthday. He had a great time during the art lessons drawing all kinds of pictures.The problem was that his teacher wouldn't let him use his own crayons , so he had to make a special deal with her so he could use them. My favorite part was when he drew all of his friends and when he drew pictures on his sheets. This is a great realistic fiction book, i hope that you will read it. The reason i read this book is because i like drawing and also it makes you think that you are really there.This book is special because it shows you that if you keep Practing at something then you¿ll finally get it. I recommend this book this book to everyone because it is such a great book. This book is like all the other Tommie dePaola books i hope that you will enjoy as much as i did.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2008

    The Art Lesson

    This book helps to show kids that they can have different favorite activities then there friends. It also show that by practicing something can help you follow your dreams. It is a good thing to be creative and unique. The pictures in the book do a very good job of telling the story. I really enjoy this book and believe that it has many lessons that can be learned.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2000

    A must read!

    I play and explore with young children everyday, this book is excellent. Children need the chance for creativity.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2004

    Terrible Message!

    I thought by the various reviews/awards this book has received that it would at least be a 3 out of 5! However this in NOT a book that should be read to children! In class all of the children are proviided w/8 crayons to use on their project & Tommy has brought his box of 64 crayons he got as a birthday present, however he is told by the teacher that he is not allowed to use them because it would not be fair to the other children in class who only have access to 8 crayons. So instead of accepting this Tommy sneaks in the crayons under his shirt (the fact that he snuck them in shows he knows full well he's doing something he's not supposed to) and ends up getting to use them-teaching children it's fine to disobey your teacher. It's also disparraging to art teachers and our public schools-portraying them in a very negative light. The whole 'moral' of the story tells kids to just complain and ignore the rules and you'll get what you want. I had other art educators & mothers read this book and they all agreed it was very poor.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2000

    i think this book is a very good book about art and little boy named tomie

    this book is very good book about art lesson's this book will help kids learn art with this book and understand what tomie had ro learn all about art.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2009

    The Art Lesson

    I loved this book. It was a reminder to me that children can be affected by the decisions we adults make for them. Imagine how Tomie might have felt if the art teacher had not found a way to let him exercise his creativity and use his own crayons too.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2013

    The art lesson is about where a little boy wants to be an artist

    The art lesson is about where a little boy wants to be an artist when he grows up. Because it was his favorite thing to do. Tommy drew and drew  and he even drew 2 twins .They were beautiful drawings. His mother hung one of his pictures up in her room and his dad put  one up in his Barbra shop.  And one time tommy took a flashlight up under his sheets and started to  draw.  I like this book because I like to paint. Plus i liked where he drew a picture of the two twins. I also like the part where he let his father put 1 of his pictures up at the Barbra shop and let everybody could look at it at the Barbra.  If you like to paint maybe you should look at this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Tomie dePaola is a home and classroom favorite

    I stress art in with my children and in the classroom. Children need to express themselves through many avenues. Currently, society is taking away music, art and outdoor and physical education. Children 0-21 need to draw, paint, sing, dance, run and use their imaginations to explore their world. We need to encourage and support the artistic nature of all children. This book helps children realize how their artistic skills can also benefit the world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2011

    Excellent read-aloud!

    Precious story, and one children can relate to!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2005

    a reviewer

    My favorite character in the book is * Tommy, because he is super talented. One time he painted a picture of a goofy pumpkin.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1