BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Art of Fielding

Average Rating 4
( 259 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(107)

4 Star

(76)

3 Star

(46)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Recommended but different.

At times, I could not put this down. At other times, I skimmed because, there seemed to be a lot of detail that slowed the process. However, all in all, this was a good read.

posted by 6186101 on September 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

I thought I would like the story better

I really thought I would love this book. I kept waiting to love this book, but it never happened. I found the story being told from so many points of view hard to follow. Maybe it was because I couldn't make myself care about the characters enough to keep track of wh...
I really thought I would love this book. I kept waiting to love this book, but it never happened. I found the story being told from so many points of view hard to follow. Maybe it was because I couldn't make myself care about the characters enough to keep track of who was talking. I thought the co dependent relationship between Henry and Schwartz got old. I also found the relationship between Owen and the university president totally unbelievable. Gay or straight, a relationship between a 20 something athlete and a 60 something university president ......please. One last thing,I thought it was rediculous how many times in the book someone mentioned how pretty Pella's name was. Seriously, every time I read her name I thought of windows. I really expected a New York Times Best Seller to be more engaging.

posted by Anonymous on May 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 259 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2011

    Recommended but different.

    At times, I could not put this down. At other times, I skimmed because, there seemed to be a lot of detail that slowed the process. However, all in all, this was a good read.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2012

    Don't need to love baseball to love "Art of Fielding!"

    I read this amazing debut novel in a little more than 48 hours. I find it difficult to believe that this is Chad Harbach's first published book. You do not need to know anything about baseball to read and enjoy "The Art of Fielding." I do know a little more than nothing about baseball, and the pace was maintained throughout. I liked all the characters, and loved a few. Henry is a cousin of Holden Caulfield, in my opinion. Yes, I would suggest this to reading groups, and as soon as it is in paperback (a rule of the reading group I am in,) I am going to recommend that we read this wonderful book. I happen to live in a small college town in Ohio, and almost all of the college aspects rang true. I am awaiting more writing from Chad Harbach.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2012

    I thought I would like the story better

    I really thought I would love this book. I kept waiting to love this book, but it never happened. I found the story being told from so many points of view hard to follow. Maybe it was because I couldn't make myself care about the characters enough to keep track of who was talking. I thought the co dependent relationship between Henry and Schwartz got old. I also found the relationship between Owen and the university president totally unbelievable. Gay or straight, a relationship between a 20 something athlete and a 60 something university president ......please. One last thing,I thought it was rediculous how many times in the book someone mentioned how pretty Pella's name was. Seriously, every time I read her name I thought of windows. I really expected a New York Times Best Seller to be more engaging.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2011

    Lovely, Entertaining Literary Novel

    I loved this book. Thanks to the author for spending ten years on it! Very well written, great characters, and great story and plot. Overall, I enjoyed becoming engrossed in the novel.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2012

    I found this book to be elegantly written and the story pleasant

    I found this book to be elegantly written and the story pleasantly simple. The author didn't rely on gimmicky twists or plot twists to keep the reader interested. Baseball is timeless, yet you don't have to be a baseball fan to read this book. Enjoyable, easy to read, yet engaging enough to keep you interested in the characters' outcomes. Highly recommended.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2011

    Not terrible

    I just happen to download this because it was about baseball. It was good but not great. At times I was super confused of whether this book was truly a baseball story or some absurd type of gay/straight drama. I definitely don't think I would recommend this book to anyone although I did find it a bit entertaining and couldn't stop reading it. It was just a disappointment to not fully understand why there was a love affair in the middle of the book.

    5 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2011

    Not a baseball story and not a good read. Not recommended

    What starts out to be a story about a gifted baseball player, ends up being a soap opera about family issues, unsatisfied people and even a hard to comprehend gay affair. The author seems to have his own agenda he is trying to promote as well as his own view of words (freshperson instead of freshman - really???). His knowledge of baseball is not the best and his choice of name for a hall of fame baseball player is silly. The only reviewers that appear to have liked it are the non-baseball fan types.

    5 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2012

    This book is so many things, and my biggest regret is that I wai

    This book is so many things, and my biggest regret is that I waited so long to read it. I wasn't convinced that I'd love it like the reviews said I would. I like baseball okay but wasn't sure I'd like to read a novel about baseball. Well, I was dead wrong. I adored this book and couldn't read it fast enough. This just goes to prove that if you have a good tight story, you can sit it down in any scenario and it will still be good.


    Baseball is the backdrop of this book, but friendship is the theme...friendship, sacrifice and forgiveness. It is one of those rare books where you hate to see it end because you love and care about the characters so much. Great writing, great book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2011

    Entertaining

    I am an avid baseball fan, so I was hooked from the begining. I was able to put the book down and come back to it , not exactly a pageturner, but enjoyable.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2011

    Baseball has been beery beery good to me.

    There something grand about a GOOD BASEBALL BOOK. Is it the simplicity of it? the way it moves . . . batter by batter, inning by inning, game by game? I don't know. The same can be said for a good work of fiction (it's ALWAYS a "work of fiction" isn't it) . . . page by page, character by character, chapter by chapter. Combine those two things with a book about college life . . . where young people have freedom to dream with few responsibilities, and you have . . . ta da . . .The Art of Fielding. Curl up and enjoy. peace, trkruse

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2011

    OK

    This book started out great, but turned into a predictable drama and then wrapped up tidily the same. Good characters, but story line unremarkable.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2012

    Great debut novel

    I don't quite get ALL the hype about this book, but it was one of the best 10 or 15 books I read in the last year.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2011

    Started out great !!!!Then----

    There are 5 major characters in the book----none likeable

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2011

    Must read!

    A wonderful book. I am not a baseball fan but I loved this book. Super writing with a human story for all.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2012

    Awesome, put on your must read list.

    You definitely do not need love baseball to love this book. I loved the characters, all relatable, and I couldn't wait to see how their lives unfolded. I got through a lot of it on a flight and was actually disappointed when we landed. It's truly an engrossing novel. I'm looking forward to what's next from Harbach.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Brenda Ballard for Readers Favorite Henry loved bas

    Reviewed by Brenda Ballard for Readers Favorite

    Henry loved baseball. In fact, he lived for baseball. He was a natural shortstop; the ball and his glove were like magnet to steel. Life as he knew it would cease to exist as he is discovered and recruited to a liberal arts university. Thriving in the academic arena and catching the eye of scouts with his error free play, he is headed towards being signed and making more money than his family has probably ever seen. But all this will change in an instant. An errant throw from shortstop catches in the wind, hitting his roommate in the face. This one throw will be the pivotal point of not just Henry but those around him. Five lives, directly affected, thrown down a thorny path. Henry is destroyed on many levels, this one incident haunting him every day ...

    The audio book discs are probably the nicest I have ever seen, printed as baseballs to follow the story line. This is one of those stories that has so many unexpected twists and turns that it is not possible to guess what the author has in store next. It should be noted that while this book is, in my opinion, an excellent read, it may not be for everyone. There are many colorful scenes with both hetero and homosexual activities. Nonetheless, the audience who choose to embark on the experience will not be disappointed. It is funny and emotional, thought provoking and very well-written. Applause goes to the actor whose voice is captivating and pleasurable to listen to!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    College is an interesting time in one┬┐s life. It is the quintess

    College is an interesting time in one’s life. It is the quintessential crossroad for an individual – a concrete dividing line that few of life’s crossroads ever have. At the beginning, one’s life dreams are still unlimited and entirely possible. As a student creeps closer to his graduation date, those options and dreams become limited, sometimes severely, so that by the time of graduation the leap from the possible to the practicality of adulthood is a truly terrifying experience. Henry, Owen, and Mike are all at this essential crossroad and must make that leap into the unknown, abandoning long-cherished plans or miraculously enacting their wildest dreams. Yet college is not the only major crossroad in life’s journey; life is full of those proverbial forks in the road. Pella and Quert both face their own personal crossroad, not knowing which path will lead them in the direction they truly need, let alone desire. Chad Harbach’s The Art of Fielding blends the lives of each of these characters and their own travails with their individual crossroads, deftly detailing the emotional toil such decisions require and establishing strong connections between characters and reader.




    Each of the main characters in The Art of Fielding is lost in some fashion, and it is not until they stop fighting the paths down which fate wants to take them where they finally find what they need. During their individual journeys, one is swept up in their mini tragedies, the dramas that surrounds them, their highs, and their unspeakable lows. Mr. Harbach masterfully recreates the same feelings within a reader, dredging up all the pain and anguish associated with growing up that a reader once felt at his or her own childhood crossroad. Remarkably, he also manages to keep the drama realistic and utterly engaging. The plot moves swiftly, but there is a depth of exposition that enables a reader to empathize with and understand each of the characters. The story never feels overly lengthy and in need of severe edits; rather each scene develops with an attention to detail that enhances rather than bores. It is the type of sweeping drama that so rarely graces the bookstores these days with its thorough descriptions, large cast of characters, and ability to capture and hold a reader’s attention throughout each one of its 500+ pages.




    While The Art of Fielding is more than a novel about baseball, the sport does play an intricate role in the plot, and knowing something about the sport and even liking the game will prove beneficial in some of the more detailed baseball scenes. Interestingly, while much of the locker room antics – the careful pre- and post-game rituals, the superstitions, the banter, the speeches – happen in almost every sport, there are very few team sports in which one player’s mistake is obvious to player, team, and observers alike and can cost a team the entire game. Baseball is as much a team sport as it is a completely individual sport, and Henry’s struggles are uniquely associated with the game of baseball. The understanding of baseball’s dichotomy will enhance a reader’s understanding of and appreciation for Henry’s and Mike’s problems.




    Baseball as a metaphor for life – it might not be the first comparison that would occur to a person, but, if one understands the finesse, the physics, the physicality, and the mental aspects of the game, it rings surprisingly true. The Art of Fielding crosses the boundary of being a baseball novel to being a novel about life that happens to occur to baseball players by subtly highlighting the similarities and the aptness of the metaphor. A reader internalizes each of the characters’ pain and suffering because one can always draw upon similar, equally difficult, and emotional experiences. Between the brutish but generous-to-a-fault Mike, delicate Henry, suave Owen, troubled Pella, and grave Quert, a reader has a myriad of experiences upon which to reflect and relate, and a reader will do just that. Mr. Harbach, with his skillful turns of phrase, makes it too easy for a reader to empathize with each of the characters, and the result is a poignant, beautifully simple novel about the pain of growing older and wiser to which everyone can relate.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    Not really a point . . . .

    One of those books that you read because you think that the ending will justify the effort, it doesn't. There was really no point to the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    A satisfying read

    I enjoyed this book. Found many of the characters intriguing, and liked the writing style. I feel this would make an excellent book club choice or summer read. Many different angles/relationships to explore.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2014

    I think this was a terrible book. I am a woman and actually like

    I think this was a terrible book. I am a woman and actually like baseball and baseball books. It started out so good and then the next several chapters was about the history of the president of the college. It was so boring and complete turn off. I couldn't wait to get back to the baseball players' lives. The whole black/white gay character was fine, but him being involved with a 60 year old president of the college was just so out of place. The daughter of the president could have had so much more in this book. I don't think the auther expanded on her role as much as he should have. The book could have been really good if he would have just told the story of two good friends: one helping the other be a great player. But the whole gay affair thing was stupid. I do not recommend this book. I wanted to quit it so many times, but it was so thick that I thought it might get better. The ending was stupid also.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 259 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13