Customer Reviews for

The Art of Happiness: A Handbook for Living

Average Rating 4.5
( 82 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(52)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 92 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Happiness According to the Dalai Lama

    This book is suppose to represent the Dalai Lama's views on happiness. Readers should know right off the bat that the Dalai Lama didn't actually write this book. Rather, the book is written by a Western psychiatrist who has had extensive converations with His Holiness. To insure that there were no "inadvertant distortions" of the Dalai Lama's ideas as a result of the editorial process, the Dalai Lama's interpreter reviewed the final manuscript. You be the judge as to whether that means this there was nothing "lost in translation". <BR/><BR/>So who is this Dalai Lama, aka "His Holiness" anyway? And, why should we read a book about happiness by him? Well, the Dalai Lama is the spiritual and political leader of the Tibetan people according to Tibetan Buddhism- which in my book makes him a person I'd want to listen to when he talks, especially when it's on one of my favorite subjects, happiness. And if this all sounds like an interesting topic for a book, you should read it- you won't be disappointed. <BR/><BR/>Now this is the kind of book I could write a long review of- simply because there's just so much wisdom packed into it. But, I think I'll take a short-cut with this one and just hit the highlights. <BR/><BR/>The Dalai Lama believes that the very purpose of our life is to seek happiness. Other happiness books have also taken this same position. For example, the book "Finding Happiness in a Frustrating World" refers to happiness as "the ultimate pursuit". On this most will agree, but what exactly does the Dalai Lama tell us about finding it? <BR/><BR/>As with most of his ideas on things, the concept is clear and simple: happiness can be achieved through training the mind. According to the Dalai Lama, one begins by identifying those factors which lead to happiness, and those factors which lead to suffering. <BR/><BR/>Having done this, one then sets about gradually eliminating those factors which lead to suffering and cultivating those which lead to happiness. That is the way. <BR/><BR/>To that end, that's exactly what makes up the majority of this book's pages- ways to eliminate factors in your life that lead to suffering, and learning to foster those factors that lead to happiness. Some specific topics include: <BR/><BR/>-facing suffering <BR/>-dealing with anger, hatred, and anxiety <BR/>-building self-esteem <BR/>-deepening your connection to others <BR/><BR/>When all is said and done, I'd have to say that the time you spend mulling over the book's 300-plus pages is going to be well worth it. For most readers, the Dalai Lama's wisdom and views will probably be very beneficial, if not transforming. Happy trails!

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2009

    The book of life

    Read it, please.Life is worth living.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2012

    Amazing! Everyone should read this!

    Great ways to to view the negative parts of life and turn them into a positive! Definitely helps change the way I look at life. Great to know that there is another way of life & internal happiness is achievable!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A new way to live one's life

    You do not have to be a Budhist to practice these principles. The Dalai Lama presents a compelling argument that one's happiness is not tied to material wealth but rooted in the service to and the happiness of others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2009

    Insightful as always

    I read all of the Dalai Lama's books... They genuinely make me realize things about life, and understanding it better... He is a very wise and compassionate man... I would love to meet him someday...

    This is one everyone should read...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Must Read (or listen)

    The Art of Happiness is one of the most useful and calming self-help books on the market. The concepts, though unusual in light of our western culture, when practiced, bring a sense of peace and contentment desperately needed in our high stress and competitive society. I have read and continue to re-read as needed to keep me focused on what is important in life.

    http://www.jaredsasser.com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    For those interested in Inner Peace

    This book really hit home. I must have an inner Buddha cause I believe I think like they do, aside from the eternal life stuff. It's the way they deal with suffering that I can identify with. Letting go of what ails you can definitely help you achieve peace of mind. I thought the book was well conceived as well. A western psychologist travels with and conducts a series of interviews with the Dalai Lama. Then interprets the answers from his perspective, but also in an objective way. Looking for the eastern wisdom that can be understood by our western culture. Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2008

    The spiritual guide to the lost me

    I sought out this book after the death of a loved one. Needless to say, I'm still here to write a review. And moreover a better person without the anxiety, insecurity, anger and discouragement.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2005

    Amazing

    One of the best books I've ever read, and I read a lot! This book is so helpful to anyone who is seeking a better tomorrow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2005

    happiness has become an optionally constant state of mind.

    This book was so uplifting for me. Inspirational doesn't even cut it, this book changed my outlook, broadened my perspective and made me really think and re-think my daily efforts in general and edit my overall life goal to being happy. and nothing really more. i used to sweat the small stuff. and now it all seems small. in the end, you have yourself and yourself alone, not your rolex or your lamborghini. this is to be kept in mind. bottom line: at the end of the day, you should be able to validate the comfort you have of laying your head on your pillow. i reccomend this book to anyone that is on a quest for truth. as well as anyone that is royally sick of being bombarded with a slur of existentialist thoughts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2005

    Happiness is an art

    Art is defined as the product of human creativity. We create what we think about. Let's think about being joy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2005

    Excellent Book

    I read this book about 5 years ago while going through some hard times in my life and it changed my life. I just read it again and have to say that it's an inspiring book that everyone should read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2004

    art of writing

    THIS BOOK HAS TOUCHED ME LIKE NONE OTHER, I REALLY FEEL LIKE I'VE LEARNED SOMETHING MORE

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2004

    If you're happy and you know it, clap your hands.

    Initially disappointed by the fact that the book is based on conversations between the Dalai Lama and the author, Howard C. Cutler, I still read the book objectively. IMHO, there are areas of the book where I feel I've been given a new perspective on happiness. For example, '...the enemy is the necessary condition for practicing patience.' (pg 179), and similar ways of looking at things differently was valuable for me. However, I can't help but think how much truth may have been lost in the translation between the Dalai Lama and the author. Observation is based on how he seems to over simplify the Dalai Lama's teachings using some of his personal experiences. I feel he could've done a better job getting the bigger picture across. Overall, an Ok book, but at the end of the day, you're getting Buddhist ideology translated by a Western mind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2004

    A Wow experience

    This book has touched me like none other. Very practical advice, easy to understand. This has lead to some real breakthroughs for me-the flodgates are open.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2004

    A Terrific Book!

    This is one of the five best books I have ever read. Profound insight that can make the world a better place for the reader and all around him/her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2004

    Just what I needed!

    The Art of Happiness is an outstanding book that teaches you how to cope with anger and not let anger overcome you. We all experience problems and frustrations almost everyday, but with this book you learn to see how 'anger' is just an enemy within ourselves and we have to learn how to defeat it. I love this book, its a slow-learning process to acquire this ability of not letting anger defeat you, but as the day goes by and your new-self evolves, you start feeling better about yourself and your surroundings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2004

    Significant and practical

    I am extremely wary of many self-improvement books, as (like the current Dr. Phil craze) they spend a lot of time (and a lot of reader's money) telling you common sense notions about standing up for yourself and so forth, presenting them in a no-frills, no-explanation manner masquerading as 'down-home honesty,' or in an attitude that insults the reader for not having discovered this common sense stuff already. But 'The Art of Happiness' is something different, and in my home it's a mandatory bedside title - the Dalai Lama's words are deceptively complex, but not in the manner of obfuscation. His discussions of Buddhist introspection, the value of meditation, the necessary levels of selfishness, the universal desire for happiness, and the dangers of many commonly taught forms of 'anger management' are invaluable in life, work, marriage, friendship, parenthood, etc. To the Dalai Lama, these attributes are not an exterior ability you must work hard to incorporate, but rather innate human psychological states of being that you must work hard to release. There is an inimitable value in this work, and its only detriment is that although Howard Cutler, the coauthor, claims to have spent hours recording the Dalai Lama's words for this book, the construction of many conversations seems awkward and forced - its reassuring, though, to know that the Dalai Lama's translator and advisor reviewed the text to ensure the Tibetan spiritual leader's ideas were not distorted. 'The Art of Happiness' is the first in a five-volume series, the second of which, 'The Art of Happiness at Work,' has just been published.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2003

    Improves the quality of your life!

    This is a tremendous book that enables us to understand various states of consciousness and how these states relate to the overall quality of our lives. It is an excellent book that provides us with very useful practical guidelines to be more mindful of our emotions and motivations. If you would like to understand how the process works in addition to knowing the practical things that we can do to improve the overall quality of our lives, I strongly suggest 'The Ever-Transcending Spirit' by Toru Sato. It is a book that explains things so well and in such a simple way that it makes you think, 'Why didn't I understand that before?' Your life will never be the same and I mean that in the best way possible! Happy Reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2003

    Please also read ' A course in miracles'

    THIS IS OUTSTANDING

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 92 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5