Customer Reviews for

The Art of Happiness, 10th Anniversary Edition: A Handbook for Living

Average Rating 4.5
( 69 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

The Art of Happiness

This is an amazing and life changing book. I recommend that everyone buy two copies. One to keep and one to give away because you will want to share this with everyone you know and even people you don't know.

posted by JByrd84 on May 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

typos

This book was recommended to me very highly so I purchased it.
It was the most expensive nook book I have purchased and it is riddled with typos, at least the electronic version.
I wish I could get my money back. And I wish you could give negative stars.
So much for...
This book was recommended to me very highly so I purchased it.
It was the most expensive nook book I have purchased and it is riddled with typos, at least the electronic version.
I wish I could get my money back. And I wish you could give negative stars.
So much for Karma.

posted by DetroitSculptore on December 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted May 28, 2010

    The Art of Happiness

    This is an amazing and life changing book. I recommend that everyone buy two copies. One to keep and one to give away because you will want to share this with everyone you know and even people you don't know.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2011

    5 Stars for Book... 1/2 Star for Price

    This is a must own book for everyone! I simply can not understand however why the price is $18.99 for the nook book edition. Seems a little off the spirit the title.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2010

    An interesting book from a wonderful person

    I am not a Buddhist but really admire their practical views on life. Most religions are about "God", this book outlines a religion that focuses on making us a better, more effective, happier person. I don't think "God" is mentioned in the book, except to say that other peoples religions are good and worthwhile if it helps them feel better about themselves and life and gives them happiness.

    The book is co-written by an American Psychiatrist, an revolves around him asking for answers and explanations from the Dalai Lama. Very interesting and educational, even though you might not agree 100% with the ideas of Buddhism. That is very OK with the Dalai Lama ---the books explains ideas rather than preaching.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2014

    I am a high school sophomore and I read this book for my researc

    I am a high school sophomore and I read this book for my research project. I really enjoyed this book because I found it really interesting and it helped me when I was in some of the situations in the book. I would recommend this book to any person who wants to improve their overall life or is just looking for a good book. It is a perfect book to read at the beach because while I was reading it I felt very relaxed and content with my life. It also feels like once I started to read this book I did not want to stop. It helps to guide people on how to relate to someone better; by showing how to put yourself in someone else`s shoes and look on the bright side of things. In society it seems many people tend to go into situations with a negative outlook, but in the book the Dalai Lama shows how to be optimistic and then those tough situations tend to disappear or become less difficult. I consider myself a positive person and this book has made me have an even more positive stance on life. His outlook on life is greatly influenced by the fact that he is Buddhist, but you do not have to be a Buddhist to take his advice. What many people do confuse is that this book is not a handbook for Buddhism; it is a handbook for living.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2013

    Dj .

    Bm .ymrn,gi

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2012

    Surprisingly Good

    I picked up this book largely on a whim. I had been feeling a bit down after a recent move when a friend recommended it. I figured I had some time and was maybe a little pessimistically curious about the book. It ended up being a surprisingly easy and interesting read that helped give me a different perspective on things. At the very least, the book had a positive impact on my thinking. I am glad I read it and still go back to it every once in a while months after first reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2011

    Very inspiritional book.

    An excellent guide that teaches in a way we can all understand the basic principles to happiness. Definetly recommend and worth the price.ppppppppppp

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2011

    Fantastic!

    I would recommend this book to everyone! Believers and non believers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3