Customer Reviews for

The Art of Hearing Heartbeats

Average Rating 4
( 70 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

This is simply the most beautiful love story between a boy named

This is simply the most beautiful love story between a boy named Tin Win and a girl named Mi-Mi that lasts over 50 years. This story will haunt you forever…like Bridges of Madison County. It has all the right elements, the right mix of romance, magic, heartache ...
This is simply the most beautiful love story between a boy named Tin Win and a girl named Mi-Mi that lasts over 50 years. This story will haunt you forever…like Bridges of Madison County. It has all the right elements, the right mix of romance, magic, heartache and inspiration that can’t go wrong. I've added it to my list of favorite books. Don't hesitate to buy this book!


posted by JadeWant on March 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

HIGHLY RECOMMEND

I FOUND THE BOOK TO BE VERY INTERESTING AND INFORMATIVE ABOUT A DIFFERENT CULTURE. WE ARE READING IT FOR BOOK CLUB. THERE IS MUCH TO DISCUSS ABOUT RELATIONSHIPS AND DEVELOPMENTAL DIFFERENCES.

posted by 2424220 on June 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted March 22, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    This is simply the most beautiful love story between a boy named

    This is simply the most beautiful love story between a boy named Tin Win and a girl named Mi-Mi that lasts over 50 years. This story will haunt you forever…like Bridges of Madison County. It has all the right elements, the right mix of romance, magic, heartache and inspiration that can’t go wrong. I've added it to my list of favorite books. Don't hesitate to buy this book!


    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    Recommend strongly, a must read!

    This was a very interesting story and if you believe in soulmates, then this is the read for you. It showed that if you are meant to be together, no matter how long you are apart it will happen. The way the story is told takes you on the journey of discovery that Julia must take to find her father. In some ways I think the reader gets the idea that the big secret comes to you first. Everything comes to an end and it makes perfect sense. Check it out.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2012

    HIGHLY RECOMMEND

    I FOUND THE BOOK TO BE VERY INTERESTING AND INFORMATIVE ABOUT A DIFFERENT CULTURE. WE ARE READING IT FOR BOOK CLUB. THERE IS MUCH TO DISCUSS ABOUT RELATIONSHIPS AND DEVELOPMENTAL DIFFERENCES.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2014

    Great read!!

    One of the best books I've read this year. Would like to read more by this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2013

    I wish I could give it minus star!

    UGH! Is this book over? More than once I tried throwing across the room only to catch it mid-air as I realized it was on my nook! Am I the only one who thought that there might be two writers in this book - one almost readable and the other just so horribly crappy it made Tosh.O a better waste of time? True I hate drippy romances but really Tin Win is almost dying because his lady love left for a mere three days to visit a sick aunt? I would have dumped him for this alone even if he was my only means of transportation. Please save yourself - watch a rerun, go to the gym, talk on the phone, get a pedicure. Anything is better than this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2013

    I really enjoyed this book. The story was intriguing, but I felt

    I really enjoyed this book. The story was intriguing, but I felt that the ending was not as well written and thought out as the rest of the book. I was disappointed when I read the last page.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    Marvelous book

    Loved the book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2013

    Sensitive story

    I feel this story started slowly. I felt I could put this book down and forget it but I kept reading and became intrigued. As the story developed further I read on wanting to know what would happen next. I felt teary eyed at the end, I was disappointed that the daughter's character was not developed further at the end. One can only speculate on what happened.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2013

    Loved this book!

    Loved this book!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2013

    Romantic.....a fairytale or fable

    We read this for bookclub.Some of the ladies in the group used these words to describe the book...."nice, pleasant, a fable, romantic, incomplete, wanted more, a summer read".

    Being a group of ladies that lean toward romance, I was surprised that the majority of the group did "not" seem to like it. They said it was just okay. Written well but just okay in the romance.

    Others thought the book left out a lot .... what happened between TinWin and the American wife he had for almost 50 years? what was his relationship with his American children? The book seemed one-sided in the tale of the love between TinWin and MiMi.

    As a group it left little for discussion. Normally we can discuss a book for an hour or more. This one we only discussed for 15mins and then we moved on to other things. Disappointing.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    Training grounds

    Apprentices & their mentors train here.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Myanmar is open and we're invited...

    The heart of this novel is set in Burma, pre-WWII. The author Sendker was correspondent in America and Asia for Stern, the weekly German news magazine, for some years. This is his first novel. Sendker was successful and very clever in his choice of subject. In making the setting a mountain province of Burma, a country not much opened to the outside and stuck in a pre-WWII lifestyle, things had not changed significantly since the 1950s and if they had, very few English-speaking eyewitnesses would be able to refute it. In addition, Sendker gave his main character a disability, blindness, which gave Sendker the latitude to describe through the voice of another person what the main character was meant to be seeing. Not only does this help us, but it helps the author, in that readers are a little like a blind men: the author must describe everyday things giving focus to sounds, smells, colors. If the reader has any experience in a Southeast Asian country, the descriptions trigger unforgettable memories. But Sendker did more than just excel in describing what any reader could see. He delved into the psyche of the Burmese and showed us folk tales, beliefs, habits, and ways of living. A novel is always suspect in what it reveals, but in this case we can understand as outsiders understand, and are given a way into a South Asia culture that is so remote and so different from modern-day Western culture. All this and I haven’t mentioned the novel is a love story. But not an ordinary love story—it tells of a love that any of us would be happy to call our own. Some reviewers call this a fairy tale, but I would merely say it was an especially daring and insightful attempt to create a plausible story that works on many levels. And so it does. Special kudos go to Other Press, for republishing this story at this time of the opening of Myanmar to the outside world (2012, originally published 2002), and to Blackstone Audio for making a very good audio version of the title with American-accented Cassandra Campbell. The Americans in the novel were so much less spiritual, likeable, and accepting than the Burmese that one can see the stark contrast in our approaches to the world. Let’s hope these differences do not keep us apart. We’d all do better if we had just a little more influence on one another.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2014

    Crooked

    *claps*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2014

    Beats

    Cant wait to write next part

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2014

    Very well written

    What a lovely story. Well written book by jan-philipp Sendker. The story of an boy abandoned at a young age in India and the many twists and turns of his entire life. Deals with many different emotions and has a spiritual overtone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2014

    A book to be savored and read slowly. A beautiful love story, f

    A book to be savored and read slowly. A beautiful love story, father-daughter story, descriptive about emotions and feelings as well as the country of Burma. I loved it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    Wonderful, wonderful story! Very well written. I would recomme

    Wonderful, wonderful story! Very well written. I would recommend this book to everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    Highly Recommend

    This book is beautifully written. It is a true love story and will inspire your hope in life-long love. You get so caught up in the story through the writing you feel like you are there throughout the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2013

    An OK read

    A somewhat overrated fairy tale that should be renamed "the art of tugging on your heartstrings". Ti Win Burmese village is a bit beyond reality as well for the 1950's.
    Hnote-set-par-dae

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    Bad

    HORID

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4