Customer Reviews for

The Art of Hearing Heartbeats

Average Rating 4
( 76 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

This is simply the most beautiful love story between a boy named

This is simply the most beautiful love story between a boy named Tin Win and a girl named Mi-Mi that lasts over 50 years. This story will haunt you forever…like Bridges of Madison County. It has all the right elements, the right mix of romance, magic, heartache ...
This is simply the most beautiful love story between a boy named Tin Win and a girl named Mi-Mi that lasts over 50 years. This story will haunt you forever…like Bridges of Madison County. It has all the right elements, the right mix of romance, magic, heartache and inspiration that can’t go wrong. I've added it to my list of favorite books. Don't hesitate to buy this book!


posted by JadeWant on March 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

HIGHLY RECOMMEND

I FOUND THE BOOK TO BE VERY INTERESTING AND INFORMATIVE ABOUT A DIFFERENT CULTURE. WE ARE READING IT FOR BOOK CLUB. THERE IS MUCH TO DISCUSS ABOUT RELATIONSHIPS AND DEVELOPMENTAL DIFFERENCES.

posted by 2424220 on June 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 76 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4
  • Posted October 1, 2013

    An OK read

    A somewhat overrated fairy tale that should be renamed "the art of tugging on your heartstrings". Ti Win Burmese village is a bit beyond reality as well for the 1950's.
    Hnote-set-par-dae

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    Bad

    HORID

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2013

    Alittle boring at times and didn't move forward like it dragged

    Alittle boring at times and didn't move forward like it dragged on. Hated the ending also.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2013

    Recommend - a must read for every romantic.

    The story line is wonderful, as well as, a very easy read. It is so human in it's nature as it is told not only through what is seen by the characters, but even more so, by what is heard and felt by them. It opens avenues of insight into the things we always look for in others and their situations but is rarely found using our eyes alone. It has challenged me to take more care in "hearing" my world and the wonderful people in it by not being so dependent on what I see with my eyes. It's a gold medal love story with all the challenges, twists and turns that make it worth the character's sacrifices and the reader's time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    Loved this story, reinforces things are not always as they appear to be.

    W

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Excellent read

    What a lovely story. If you are a bit romantic this is a do not miss.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    Meh

    I didn't particularly enjoy this book, I think it did not match my preferences in books. I found it a little manipulative, particularly at the end. Rest of the book group loved it, though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    Great read

    I loved it!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2013

    AMAZING BOOK!

    Loved this book so much. A great story that pulls the readed in right away. It is so detailed and there are SO many stories within stories--they are all intertwined and so beautifully written, it was very hard for me to put down. Highly recommended!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2013

    Read it! You won't be able to put it down.

    Our book club chose this, and the description didn't grab me. But, so glad I had to read it, because I loved it. The characters were amazing, the story was touching. This book truly takes one to the depths of how life experiences affect the character and decisions made in the human life experience. Please read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2012

    the best love story I have read to date!!!! a must read for the

    the best love story I have read to date!!!! a must read for the hopeless romantics <3<3<3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    This is a quirky novel with a good plot and unusual storyline. T

    This is a quirky novel with a good plot and unusual storyline. The only drawback, for me personally, was that I would have liked to know more about the present day story line. The main story is in the past and is being told through flash backs and reiteration. But the present day character, who's pursuing the mystery of her father's past, isn't explored much. I would have liked to know a bit more about that character. But it's a great book and I would highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2012

    Wow

    Is about all I can say. A very different read for me but highly enjoyed it and it really spoke to what we can do with what we have within ourselves. The mystery and the journey were both a great trip to take, thanks to the author.
    Good book club recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    The writing and sentiment of this book was lovely. The character has an almost mystical feeling to them. The story was beautifully told and I kept wanting to go back into its pages. Do yourself a favor and read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2012

    An enchanting love story! The story involves your heart into eve

    An enchanting love story! The story involves your heart into every matter, it's simply magic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    This is an amazing book! 3/4 finished and already I don't want

    This is an amazing book! 3/4 finished and already I don't want it to end. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    Evocative Story

    Well written story of a daughter's search into her father's past that reveals a tender love story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    A must read!

    One of the best books I have read this year!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2012

    Highly Recommended!

    Wonderfully written tale!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 76 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4