Customer Reviews for

Art of Keeping Cool

Average Rating 4.5
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2009

    The Art of Keeping Cool

    A readable children's book that gives us a glimpse into life of a coastal New England town in the spring of 1942. America is still reeling from the surprise attack on Pearl Harbor and many wondered if they were still vulnerable to another attack. Robert, the main character, and his mother move to Rhode Island to stay with relatives. German U-boats begin attacking merchant ships within sight of Robert's new home. Is this the beginning of a German invasion? Are there German spies in Rhode Island? Robert seeks to understand his world, his neighbor's lives, and many family secrets.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2014

    My 10-year old son recommended this book to me so I had to read

    My 10-year old son recommended this book to me so I had to read it.  It was fantastic.  Elliot is an amazing child with incredible talent and a spectacular ability to "let the wind blow through."  We can all learn so much from the wonderful characters in this novel.  It can be intense at times, but I liked the way my son contemplated some of the more deep themes of  racism and just being different.  The relationship between Elliot and Robert was so important  too.  I would highly recommend this book to children and adults!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not that great

    I didn't really like this book. Although there was suspence nothing actually happened. Even though it sounded like there could be action it was kind of a snoozer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2010

    Can't wait!

    I cannot wait to read this book. I previously read Sirens and Spies by this author Janet Taylor Lisle and I honestly think she is a very intelligent writer. The whole story sounds very entertaining to me!! - Anonymous.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2008

    Interesting story! , A teacher and a bookworm

    In this story, Robert moves to Rhode Island with his mother and sister to live near his grandparents during the war and he meets his cousin Elliot. He has to learn 'the art of keeping cool' as he deals with his father flying dangerous missions, a German artist who befriends his cousin and the secrets the family has been keeping for a long time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2007

    Excellent on two levels

    A great story told very well. In addition to using this book for literature circles, it might be an excellent way to teach students about what life was like during WWII. I really enjoyed this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2004

    This is an excellent book.

    I found the book very interesting. The characters were very different from the ordinary people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2004

    WORST BOOK EVER!

    The Art of Keeping CoolJanet Taylor LisleScholastic Inc, 2000, 207pp., $4.99ISBN 0-439-40440-1 ¿¿¿¿¿ Janet Taylor Lisle wrote The Art of Keeping Cool. Lisle has written many great books, but this book was dreadful. You wouldn¿t think an author of her creativity and talent would write something as despicable as this. In my opinion The Art of keeping Cool is the worst book I have ever read. This book can be briefly summarized. It is about a mother and her son named Robert. Robert, his mother, and his sister move in with his grandparents. While his father is a pilot for the Royal Canadian Air Force {he is off at war with the Germans}. Once arriving there Robert meets his cousin who has a great artistic talent. While the war is going on the only German left in town is Abel Hoffman who is a very talented artist. Elliot soon secretly becomes friends with Abel and could be putting him and his family in danger. Was there ever a time where you just couldn¿t fall asleep no matter how hard you tried? Well if so start reading this book it will be sure to do the job. The characters in this book are so bogus. For example Elliot is insulted everyday by the people in town and even his own family members, but does not show feelings of resentment or annoyance towards them. I had one reaction throughout this whole book and that was boring.I strongly recommend this book to anybody who has insomnia. This book is boring, tiresome, mind numbing, dull, and unexciting. The best part of The Art of Keeping Cool was the very end. Grade 8Willowcreek Middle School, Portage, IN

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2003

    Awesome book

    The Art of Keeping Cool was exciting because it wasn't your typical book. There was hints of mystery, some friendship, and dark family secrets undiscovered by Robert and his cousin Elliot. They are staying with their grandparents in Rhode Island due to Robert's father's involvement in the war. Robert is there because his family lost their house. The book also had some unlikely people like the german artist in the woods who has secrets of his own. Over all, a very interesting and unique story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2003

    EXCELLENT BOOK

    YOU GUYS HAVE TO READ THIS BOOK!!!! IT IS SOOO AWESOME! I LOVED IT!! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2002

    The Art of Keeping Cool

    Robert, his mom, and his sister move from their farm in Ohio to a cabin in Rhode Island when their dad goes to Europe to do bombing raids during World War II. The cabin is right down the road from Robert's grandparents, his aunt and uncle, and his cousin Elliot. Two huge guns are brought to the nearby fort to attack German subs. Elliot who is a good drawer draws many things that he sees. One day they were walking home to draw the guns they passed a German artist named Abel who Elliot knew. Elliot eventually started learning how to paint from Abel. Their grandpa was always giving them a hard time so they avoided him by going to Abel's house an other things. Abel had been aressted twice in the book because he was German. He gave Elliot his best painting because he thought something would happen and it did. Some people burned down his house and he ran in and died with his paintings. Robert later got news that his dad's plane was shot down. His dad and grandpa didn't like eachother either which leads to something. To find out what happened when his dad was young, if his dad is ok, and Elliot's future read the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1