BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Art of Non-Conformity: Set Your Own Rules, Live the Life You Want, and Change the World

Average Rating 4
( 53 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted September 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Inspiring Book to Help You Plan an Unconventional Life

    Chris Guillebeau has a popular blog also called the Art of Non-Conformity, and he's taken is honest, thoughtful style to inspire even more people (offline) to pursue their goals and dreams with a realistic, practical approach to work, school and freedom.

    Chris is a down-to-earth guy who surprised people like myself when he "snuck" on the online blog scene with his excellent manifestos like "A Brief Guide to World Domination" isn't some fake guru-esque model with unrealistic plans or generic information.

    Chris is a good example of someone who walks the talk, who helps you be your better self -- to make a real impact on the world.

    Roxanne of Unruly Guides

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2010

    St. Francis, The Sow and Chris Guillebeau

    Galway Kinnell writes in the poem St. Francis and the Sow, "...everything flowers, from within, of self-blessing; / though sometimes it is necessary / to reteach a thing its loveliness". Returning to that innate blossoming of self-blessing takes most of us most of our lives--if ever at all. Chris Guillebeau has a gift for reteaching loveliness -- through his words as well as his example.

    Guillebeau is one of the most coherent people I have ever experienced. His integration of who he is, what he does, and what he offers to his "small army of remarkable people" has created a momentum of leadership and authority that is inspiring, informative and, simply, remarkable. He invites people to do as he does: set your own rules, live the life you want, and change the world. In this way, Guillebeau is reteaching each of us the loveliness that was our birthright: that we are a whole person capable of unfolding to our greatest potential.

    If you want to call your soul back -- or line up even one little, jilted feather that is limiting your flight, I'd recommend reading The Art of Non-Conformity. Guillebeau will invite you back into the truth that your life can be remarkable. He will help you align with what you have always known, but may have forgotten: that it is your birthright to do meaningful work that nourishes you and the community you serve.(He will also explain exactly how to go about this, and help you see how possible it is to actually do so.) Most importantly, Guillebeau will get you so excited about living an authentic life that you may find yourself effortlessly taking a step forward into your own, greatest desires -- then another. And another.

    You may be familiar with the Marianne Williamson quote that begins, "Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not our darkness that most frightens us. We ask ourselves, Who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, fabulous?"By presenting a thoroughly exhilarating alternative to this life-shackling fear, Guillebeau's The Art of Non-Conformity invites the reader to welcome all that we are--then use the force of our alignment to move where we were always meant to go.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Inspiring Advice, But Sometimes Contradictory with Little Strategy

    The subtitle, the blurbs on the cover, and the quotes on the inside of the book do an excellent job marketing Chris Guillebeau's The Art of Non-Conformity. It is about time that someone set forth to write a common sense guide to establishing one's own priorities not based on a blinded society's rules as to what life "should" be.

    Educated at a traditional institution, Chris Guillebeau quickly realized that he wanted to live by his own rules, establishing his own terms and determining to make a difference in the world by setting his own priorities. In straightforward, non-nonsense language, he explains how he set out to visit every single country in the world and dispelled common myths along the way about how life should be lived. Admittedly, Guillebeau retained little useful information from his academic education and firmly believes that life experience is by far the better education.

    What keeps most people from achieving their potential is fear, and most fears are baseless, taught to us by an ignorant society. Guillebeau explains that while fear is normal and rational, one can overcome fears in order to achieve a higher purpose and break through society's expectations. Another challenge to achieving goals is overcoming authority. Clearly, Guillebeau is against established authority, and without directly saying so, he actually appears to condone law-breaking in defiance of authority while praising activist Tim DeChristopher's illegal intervention in outbidding oil companies in the purchasing of land. While it's fine to challenge authority, suggesting one break the law in order to get ahead in life hardly seems like logical advice. After all, how much can you really accomplish in life and change the world from behind bars?

    At times, Guillebeau directly contradicts himself. He states, "Entertainment and publishing firms establish a cartel that promotes mediocrity and hinders independent artists." Yet Guillebeau himself is published by Perigee, a division of The Penguin Group, one of the largest publishing houses in the world. If we are to expect that Guillebeau really lives by his principles, why would he not have chosen an independent publishing house or merely self-published? Is he another sell-out toting advice that he, himself, does not follow?

    Key to Guillebeau's insight are concepts such as self-belief and the importance of travel. Overall, The Art of Non-Conformity is full of motivation and mind-set, but it is very lean on strategy as to concrete actions someone can take to begin living the life they want. One strategy that Guillebeau does explain in detail is the importance of being debt-free. He has chosen what many might call a minimalist existence, ridding himself of the need for unnecessary material things and wasted time.

    Overall, The Art of Non-Conformity is motivational and inspiring. When combined with a more strategic book like Barbara Sher's Wishcraft (which Guillebeau acknowledges in his book), it can be part of a useful armory of tools to help one achieve one's greatest desires.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2011

    Madness

    Am I talking about the content of the book? No! I'm referring to the fact that B&N is selling the paperback for less than the e-book. Come on!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2013

    If you've ever asked any of the following questions, you should

    If you've ever asked any of the following questions, you should read this book.

    Why do most people have to have a "job"?
    Why do most jobs require you to work 40 hours a week?
    Why does everyone have to go to college?
    Why is work deemed more important than spending time with family and friends?
    Is there a different way to work and be happy?

    This is the story of how one guy created the work and life of his dreams. It's an enjoyable book: thought-provoking, easy to read and quite inspiring. If you are hoping this book will be a step-by-step primer for how you can change your own life and career, I think you will be disappointed. But if you are reading it to expand your mind, inspire yourself, and think outside of the box, then I think you will like it. For me, the book was worth picking up just for the section on "A Second Look at Conventional Assumptions" on pages 73-74.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2012

    Destructivestar

    Sparkclan forest. Dstar

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2012

    RULE YOUR WORLD WITH A GUIDE BOOK

    CHRIS IS A PHENOMINAL OVER THE TOP AND AROUND THE CORNER INTERPETER OF SOCIAL ECONOMIC TRENDS, AND A DISCOVERER OF INNER LIGHT PATHWAYS, TOWARD A MORE REASONABLE EXISTANCE, AMONGST IDIOTS.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2011

    Interesting in some areas but nothing out of this world.

    The Art of non-conformity, interesting title I thought. I will admit this book helped me see things in a different light, perspective, and challenged me to think a little differently. I will on the other hand also say that it wasn't a huge eye opener for me or left me feeling like I was going to go out and change the world. I suppose it's because I already feel like we should do what we love and what we find valuable despite of what others may think (friends or family). If you are looking for some insightful ways to change your life keep one thing in mind-no book is going to do this for you, it's up to us! When we are ready to stop making excuses we will make changes then. I bought this book because I felt I was more than ready to make some changes in my life (nothing too drastic just stuff I was putting off). I have already started the wheels turning. I'd recommend this book to someone who's thinking about making changes and living life for their own happiness despite of our society's belief system. If you truly want a new perspective and think you tend to err on being more conservative then this book may help. Also, if you are teetering near the edge of making some real life changes, this may just push you over the edge to making your dreams come true. Keep in mind no matter what, it's up to you to make these changes happen. It's not magic, you must do the work. For me it was ok, but I can see how maybe for others this book would be life changing in some way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2011

    A TRUE MUST

    If you ever wanted to make a difference; in your life, be it school, career or other personal areas, and in the world. Anyone will be able to get something out of this book: tbe references abd links alone are worth it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3