Customer Reviews for

The Art of Possibility: Transforming Professional and Personal Life

Average Rating 4
( 46 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted July 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Inspiration of the Zanders is Astounding

    Don't mistake yourself and think this is a business philosophy book, or even a self help book. It's a life philosophy, pure and simple. I'm sure you could take all the practices mentioned by the Zanders and dryly go over them in a board meeting, but you'd miss the soul of the book. It's essentially about interacting with other human beings in a way that gives you fulfillment, and it that regard it is a wild success.

    It also is particularly poignant for the musicians. Benjamin Zander being a world renowned conductor and pedagogue, almost all of his lessons, taking the form of anecdotes and parables, are deeply moving and strongly relevant to an artist who seeks to move and audience and find the sublime form of his or her art.

    My only strong criticism of the book would be the distinctly different writing styles of Benjamin and Rosamund. I personally found the portions by Benjamin compelling, moving, tear jerking, and often unforgettable. And while the portions by Rosamund were often profound and effective, the distinct voice and writing style she used didn't always engage me as actively, and she often wrote in perpendiculars to how my mind thinks.

    That said, this is a must read for every introspective individual. I have no doubt it will be someday be a 'self help classic', as it were.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2011

    Thanks for a practical and uplifting book. Brilliant and inspiring. Nook price almost doubles kindle.

    Brilliant and inspiring. Nook price almost double Kindle. Hmmm...

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2007

    Insightful

    Family therapist Rosamund Stone Zander and symphony conductor Benjamin Zander offer 12 practices for learning to take on an attitude of abundance and possibility. You will enjoy Benjamin Zander¿s charming anecdotes from his experiences as a distinguished orchestra conductor, as well as the philosophy of family therapist Rosamund Stone Zander whose professional background gives her a deeply insightful viewpoint. Indeed, some of the Zanders¿ stories are so striking that they will stay with you long after you put the book down. We recommend this book to people who like to explore self-development, story lovers, music aficionados, anyone who has taken on a big commitment and other creative types who will savor the authors¿ unusual frame of reference.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2004

    Great book for Women in Transition

    As a certified life renewing coach who specializes in women going through transition, I found this book to be an exceptional tool for my clients. The author opens up a whole new world for women who are in search of their individual choices to the next chapter in their lives.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2000

    Great Performances for Everyone!

    '. . . The objective of this book is to provide . . . the means to lift off from . . . struggle and sail into a vast universe of possibility.' Benjamin Zander is the conductor of The Boston Philharmonic and is well known for his orchestra's passionate performances. Rosamund Stone Zander is an executive coach, family therapist, and private practitioner who brings enormous psychological perspective to enhancing human behavior. They have written a fascinating book in which they alternate as voices in sharing principles and examples in the form of compelling stories. They have striven to make what they share ' . . . simple, not easy.' The idea is to help you create in yourself and in others 'transformational' improvements. They share a series of perspectives designed to improve your understanding of what and where the potential is. First, humans tend to focus on very few things, missing most of what is going on around them. By shifting focus, you will see many opportunities for the first time. Much of this book is designed to do that for you. You will visit our old friend the nine dot square and be reminded that connecting all of the dots in four lines without lifting your writing instrument from the paper requires you to go outside the box that we mentally draw at the circumference of the dots. Be careful about your assumptions! They can fence you in! Second, measurements can cause us to focus too narrowly on where we are today and encourage scarcity thinking -- the glass is half empty. The Zanders encourage thinking about the glass as half full, citing the well-known perspective of optimism as being empowering. This can help you 'step into a university of possibility.' I like to call this pursuing the ideal practice. Third, if you assume that people will do well and help them see how they can, they will. Mr. Zander gives every student an A in his class, and simply requests that the student write a paper to tell what they will do to deserve the A. This gets the students focused on excellence, and takes away the tension that harms accomplishment. Fourth, as a mindset, think of your role as 'being a contributor.' 'You are a gift to others.' How could that change what you do? As someone who thinks that way now, I find it a very useful perspective, and was glad to see it in the book. Fifth, lead from any chair. This is a reference to involving everyone. Mr. Zander asks his players to write down how he could improve practices and peformances, and pays attention to the suggestions. Sixth, follow rule number six. That rule is to 'lighten up.' Seventh, be present to the ways things are. Many of us are disconnected from reality. By re-touching it, we can see more possiblities. Eighth, give way to passion. Going with your strong feelings allows you to be more authentic, and to go to new heights of accomplishment. Ninth, light a spark. See you role as creating a spark of possibility to be lit that others can see. Tenth, be the board of the game you are playing. This makes it easier to see how you can make a difference. Eleventh, create a vision that generates 'frameworks of possibility' for others. Martin Luther King, Jr.'s famous 'I Have a Dream' speech is cited. Twelfth, tell the WE story. Focus on being inclusive and considering what is best for all. Move from I to We, as the Coda to the book encourages. Each section has exercises you can use to deepen your understanding of the principles and to help you practice, in order to create greater skill. The principles are similar to those in many other books about improving performance and creativity. What is different about the book are the unique ways that the principles are expressed, the exciting examples in beautiful stories from music and business that will be new to you (as they were to me), and the passion with which the Zanders write. I would love to hear them do this book on an audio cassette! Both do public speaking, so you may g

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2013

    A beautifully written, entertaining series of timeless principle

    A beautifully written, entertaining series of timeless principles we can all benefit from being reminded of or invited to live through. A masterpiece.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    A focused read

    You have to be mentally plugged in to read this book. Great ideas and perspectives. But you must committ.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2011

    Price is a problem...

    BUT barnes and noble doesnt decide the price, the publishers do. Get upset with the publisher not the middle man that cannot make the change without inciting a lawsuit. Infact, barnes and noble as a publisher has been known to price books very cheap and a lot of times free on the nook. Having that said, the book is amazing. Worth whatever price it sits at.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2011

    Excellent Self-help - nook price exorbitant

    This is one of the best inspirational books that I have read. The metaphors drawn from his musical experience are insightful, especially if you have some musical performance background of your own from which to draw comparisons. I had the opportunity to hear Maestro Zander speak and his book closely follows the concepts of his speaking engagement. Frankly, the enthusiasm of his presentation helps to bring the book more alive. However, the nook pricing for this book is ridiculously high.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    testtt

    testing......

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2009

    Very user friendly!

    It is a great self-help book,one that you can pick up and put down many times depending on your needs.

    It helps to shape or find your voice and your place in life.

    Very dynamic!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2008

    Best of its kind

    I enjoy books in this genre and i must say that this book is the best of the bunch. as a musician i enjoy the anecdotes and soties, as a business man i love the 'longline' of vision thats created and as a human i love the way it makes me feel after every time i open the pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2003

    Deep in Thought and Concept

    This is not Clancy-esk 'read through the night' entertainment. The richness of content requires the reader take their time reading this book, often reading pages more than once. Like a slice of thick, dark, chocolate cake, each page is a morsel to savor. Bite off too much at once and you are likely to miss the importance of the message. Despite the effort, it is worth the time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2003

    This book says it all, for all

    Possibility has always been a weak word in our society. Will this solution work? Possibly. Might I get a raise? Possibly. This amazing book looks at possibility in a wholly different way, as a vast universe of delightful surprise, waiting. Its overarching principles bestride all other self-help books out there like a colossus. I feel that I really only need this book. Absolutely neutral in doctrine, anyone can ignite his or her spiritual life with its principles, regardless of one's particular faith or creed. Once I overcame my own feelings of loss and regret at how much of my life has already been spent in the downward spiral, even the merest comprehension of what is truly possible now guides me, always glimmering, just beyond the next bend¿..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2003

    We can hear God !

    When I visited a cello recital, I had a chance to feel the music not just with my ears, but with my entire body. And while some opt for being together in partnership or in singleship without feeling or focus or too much feeling and too much focus, there is a looser-coupling that the Zanders' show by example that works for them! Where through creation, they make a way in which they both sow and reap.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2001

    A DEFINITE BESTSELLER!!!!!

    This is the most important book you will read this year. I love this book. Passionately written, the Zander's will help you open up a world of endless possibilities. If you only read one book this year, make it this one!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2001

    Quite possibly the most applicable book I've ever read!

    This book is abosolutely amazing. Not only does it apply to my field, music, but it has helped me out in my everyday life as well. The intricacies and personal attention the Zanders have given to each and every detail are so real, human, and can make connections with the most puzzling of people! Definately an instruction book for life!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2001

    An eye-opening read!

    Ben and Roz Zander tell us that 'it's all invented' and show that many of the limitations we put on our lives are barriers that we build and as such are artificial. This book blows away those barriers and gives us simple tools to learn new ways of approaching lives and people in our lives. I feel invigorated, excited, enthused and energized after reading this book. It is an easy read with lots of stories of how these lessons have helped others. I would recommend this book to anyone feeling stifled or limited in his or her life. You will find that you can change the game and affect your life in an incredibly positive manner. This book has had an amazing affect on how I view the future of my own life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2000

    This Book Hit Me Like A Ton Of Bricks!

    When I could finally stop crying and get myself together I was able to read on and finish enjoying the book. I grew up poor with a poverty mentality. I reinvented myself and am a new person. But, in many ways I was not sure what I had done. The Art of Possibility showed me what I did!!! I made my own rules, changed my entire paradigm of the world behind my eyes. If this book does not become a best seller then poor marketing not this book will be the reason!! My friend Daniel bought me this book and I thank him from the bottom of my heart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2000

    A NEW WAY OF SEE LIFE

    The art of possibility show us how a different way of seen things. Show us the beauty of having faith in people and the awesome respond that you receive in consequence. This is not a book for reading is for leaving it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3