Customer Reviews for

The Art of Raising a Puppy

Average Rating 4
( 74 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(42)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Exceptional Book & Instruction

My husband and I just purchased our first puppy; a yellow lab. The breeder recommended this book to us and we quickly went to the bookstore and purchased it in preparation of our new puppy. What an exceptional and informational read. Although the monks train German Shep...
My husband and I just purchased our first puppy; a yellow lab. The breeder recommended this book to us and we quickly went to the bookstore and purchased it in preparation of our new puppy. What an exceptional and informational read. Although the monks train German Shepards the principles used can be applied to any breed of animal. The book is very easy to read, goes into detail about the birth of the puppies, how the mom reacts and intuitively knows what to do, and then proceeds to discuss the life stages the puppies go through as they grow and mature. It talks about training methods and how essential it is to start working on the role you¿ll play in the puppies life immediately. I recommend this book to anyone that will be brining a new puppy home!!!

posted by Anonymous on March 25, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

So expensive,

All these books seem great but we arent banks to pay so much

posted by Anonymous on January 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2002

    Exceptional Book & Instruction

    My husband and I just purchased our first puppy; a yellow lab. The breeder recommended this book to us and we quickly went to the bookstore and purchased it in preparation of our new puppy. What an exceptional and informational read. Although the monks train German Shepards the principles used can be applied to any breed of animal. The book is very easy to read, goes into detail about the birth of the puppies, how the mom reacts and intuitively knows what to do, and then proceeds to discuss the life stages the puppies go through as they grow and mature. It talks about training methods and how essential it is to start working on the role you¿ll play in the puppies life immediately. I recommend this book to anyone that will be brining a new puppy home!!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Raising a puppy

    this book was recommended to me by the breeder of my new dog. it is an excellent book and has much of Cesar Millan's pack leader type information in it. Stuff i was completely unaware of until just recently, and so important in the first 8 mos of a puppy's life...not allowing them to become the dominant creature in the household, and not petting them when they're doing something you wouldn't want the adult dog this puppy will become to do (jumping on you, pulling on the leash...stuff that's cute when the puppy does it but annoying when the 90 lb Lab is jumping on your guests)

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2004

    Best dog training book out there.

    My once problematic chocolate lab is now a wonderful dog thanks to this book. I followed this book to the letter and it made all the difference in the world. The methods are very gentle. The begining is a little slow. I was at my wits end and this really helped.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2012

    One of two books you should use to train your new puppy

    The Art of Raising a Puppy and Richard Wolters' Water Dog (or Gun Dog or Family Dog) are all you need to raise a happy, healthy, well-trained dog for your family. The Art teaches you the basics of prepping your house, choosing a dog, early puppy life and how the two of you will get along. Its about relationships, and you will probably learn as much about yourself as your puppy with this book (the Monks' book "How to Be Your Dog's Best Friend" addresses issue you may encounter later in your dog's life and is excellent as well). Wolters' books, likewise, are the simplest, most effective way to teach sit-stay-come-heel. Once you and the puppy have those four commands down, its smooth sailing with your dog for many years. Wolters is funny, smart and aware that you only have 10-15 minutes twice a day for training. You don't need to be a hunter to use these books, but dogs love the straightforward drills and skills Wolters teaches in addition to the basic commands. Go get'em and enjoy life with your puppy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    So expensive,

    All these books seem great but we arent banks to pay so much

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    one of the better dog training books

    I saw the Monks of New Skete in the early 2000s on the Discovery Channel. I enjoyed the show and was delighted when I saw that they had published books on dog training. They provide very sound advice in raising and training your puppy. I bought both this book as well as "How to Be Your Dog's Best Friend" as I thought Divine Canine didn't provide as much training information as I'd have liked. The best thing about this book (aside from the training advice) is that the Monks tell you about how puppies grow and the critical stages of their lives. This is great information if you're considering adopting a puppy as opposed to getting one from a reputable breeder at 8 weeks of age. It allows you to consider what critical stages you've missed and how much work you'll have ahead of you. There are also "tests" that the Monks describe in how to choose a puppy that's right for you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    Interesting topic failed by writing skill

    I was intrigued by the topic but struggled to finish because of the poor writing skill. I found the book disappointing. The author would not get past making the same old point throughout the book. And he would fall back upon a thin writing style that rang insincere.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    Excellent advice for all around dog training. It's better for mo

    Excellent advice for all around dog training. It's better for more than just training puppies! We used this on a rescue dog that was scared of my husband because a previous male owner had abused her. She would get scared and litter in the house rather than outside, and after reading the tips in this book and a little creative tweaking to fit our situation, it proved a most EXCELLENT resource to turn her into an AMAZING AMAZING dog!!! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2013

    Raising a puppy is not just the feeding and teaching how to potty....

    The Monks do such a wonderful job of teaching you how to raise your new puppy so that it a nice, well behaved dog who is pleasant to be around. It should be given to every person who wants to have a puppy. Puppy psychology and how the important stages....week by week....are so important for a new owner....I have sled dogs...30 of them....and I have used this for everyone of the puppies that I have raised. Every dog is a great companion, good on the trail, good in the house....
    Thank you Monks of New Skete.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    The Best

    This is, hands-down, the best book on puppy training there is. I read zillions of them for the past 10 years because I wasn't yet in a position to get my first dog. Finally, I was! My husband and I got a little Australian cattle dog mix 4 weeks ago and, because of this book's training methods, people stop and exclaim over how well behaved our puppy is. It's been a relatively painless training process too. Puppies will be puppies, of course, but it's far easier to impart good habits to them early on than it is to wait till they're 6 mo. or older when you'd have to correct bad habits. Watch The Dog Whisperer and read this book, and training up a well balanced, happy puppy is no sweat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book packed full of helpful information! I would definite

    Great book packed full of helpful information! I would definitely recommend this book to anyone with a new puppy or looking to get a puppy. It will help you know how to choose the right dog and how to prepare your home and family for the new addition.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2012

    This is such an unbelievable puppy raising book. I recommend thi

    This is such an unbelievable puppy raising book. I recommend this to anyone who is thinking of raising a puppy and doesn't know how. This book talks about from the ride home to so much more. This is pretty much the only book you'l need to raise a puppy. Don't even bother getting other books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    Excellent resource

    Next to "How to be your dog's best friend" from the same monks, this is the best reference guide for raising a puppy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2011

    Excellent book for the dog lover or for someone who wants to become a dog lover!

    This is a great book that explores the very special relationship one can have with their dog. It takes you step by step through the training process.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2011

    Loved this Book!

    We've read all the Monks of New Skete books. They're wonderful.

    We're fortunate in that our Shepherds' trainers have worked with one of the monks.

    We find it hilarious that the corner is chewed off of this hardcover.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very Helpful

    I bought this book when we first got our puppy 12 years ago. It was immensely helpful for first time dog owners. But of course every dog is different, and there are a few things that I don't agree with (then, or now as an Animal Behaviorist).

    Overall? I'm glad we got it, and would suggest it to others as well.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2010

    Fantastic information

    I am enjoying this book very much. We just added two German Shepherd puppies to our home and we want to bring them up to be healthy members of our world and those around us. This is helping us to understand how a dog's world thinks in response to how we treat them. I highly recommend anyone that is thinking of adding any puppy to their lives to read this book first and to have it to refer back to as they train their puppy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2009

    You don't need any other book than this one . . .

    Don't waste your money on any puppy/dog training book other than those by the Monks of New Skete! I purchased this and a few other books on dog training when I bought my first dog (a pure-bred male papillon) five years ago, and by far, found this one to have the most information and easy-to-follow guildelines of any. I can't tell you how often we hear the comment, "what a well behaved dog!". I/my family am currently training our four-month, female Pom/Chi using these same techniques. Having been warned by the vet that since she's female, and a small-breed dog, she will try to be dominate, I'm proud to say that she is showing him the respect he deserves. (There is a section in the book for introducing new puppies to other members of the family.) We've had her about six weeks and we immediately took to heart the advice of the Monks to begin training her the moment she came home. She is too young yet for training classes (which I think are invaluable and recommend everyone get) since she hasn't had all her booster shots (vet requirement & I agree), but already is crate trained, knows how to walk on a leash, sit, lay down, and house-training is going much better this time around. One of the things you'll learn is how dogs think, and how to begin making puppy a healthy, happy, and well-behaved part of your life and home.
    Especially helpful is the section that asks you to perform certain "tests" to determine the puppy's personality, and highlight any areas in training that might become a challenge. Invaluable.
    Good luck with training your pup to be a well-behaved part of your life and home!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2009

    Got a puppy? GET this book!

    I HIGHLY recommend this. This copy is for my 8 year old who is training our new puppy. The reading is quite dry for an 8 year old, but we're taking it a section at a time & it's making a HUGE (positive) difference in their relationship! :)

    This is my 3rd copy of this book, though I've bought several more for gifts. This is THE way, in my opinion, to train dogs -- and, no it doesn't just work for German Shephards.

    No nonsense, no corporal punishment -- very loving but firm training for BOTH the dog and the owner. As we all know, an unruly dog is usually more a reflection on the OWNER than the actual dog's temperament. Not only do the Monks explain what to expect from your dog, they also explain WHY the dog reacts the way it does (instincts) AND why their way of training, in each situation, works.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2006

    Great Book!

    My husband and I are getting an Airedale puppy next month and this book was recommended to us by some friends! I have learned so much about puppies and dogs in general. The book is also really good at walking you through steps on how to train your dog to go to the bathroom, sit, stay, down, etc. The Monks of New Skete deal primarily with German Shepards, however this book can be applied to any dog breed. Highly recommended!! You will learn so much!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4