Customer Reviews for

The Art of Romance (Matchmakers Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Delightful! A must read for Contemporary Fiction Lovers!

    Kaye Dacus' The Art of Romance is....well...romantic!

    She has written such a sweet novel with well developed characters.

    (You have to love the grandmother's. They are meddling and competitve but so adorable!)

    Caylor is a strong and strikingly generous female lead. I love how she interacts with her grandmother and has such a great sense of family. Her faith seems such a natural extension of who she is, it is never in-your-face, but prominent all the same.

    Dylan is rich in depth and sincerity. He's made a serious error in judgment and his brothers have such an unconditional love for him. He could easily have dismissed his brothers advice and suggestions but he showed great strength by being willing to admit his errors and seek counseling.

    The imagery used in this book is phenomenal. Kaye paints such realistic pictures with her words that I had no trouble visualizing anything in this book.

    As for the ending...well my heart melted!

    This is Book Two in The Matchmaker Series. I highly recommend this book to all readers of contemporary fiction. The Art of Romance releases on May 2, 2011 so I don't want to give away the plot but suffice it to say...Get this book! 5 stars for absolutely wonderful! I received this advance reader copy book galley from Barbour Publishing via NetGalley in exchange for my honest review.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2012

    Kaye has a knack for developing quirky, loveable characters. Thi

    Kaye has a knack for developing quirky, loveable characters. This is no exception. The grandmothers are ones we’d all wish to have [minus the matchmaking perhaps]. I love that Caylor is an author. I love that Dylan is a painter. Two artists will understand each other in ways most others won’t.

    I love Caylor as a real person – insecurities and all. She is good at what she does and is confident in who she is – to a point. Everyone has that point. The areas where they feel confident and competent and other areas where they feel insecure and incapable.

    The read is lighthearted and fun and will leave you smiling long after you finish it.

    This is the second book in the series [I read the first one, Love Remains, after I read this one], but I had no trouble picking up on what I needed to know. Book 3, Turnabout’s Fair Play, comes out in November. I’ll be picking it up.

    9 out of 10 stars

    *Thanks to the author and publisher for a free review copy*

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2011

    Great Read - more than once!

    Personally I love the way Kaye writes. Her characters are real - with spiritual issues, emotional issues and everyday struggles. Their lives are not perfect and neither are their friends and families rather they deal with the same stuff the rest of us deal with. Kaye shows her readers that through all of the trials God is still with us and He will carry us through to what He has for us if only we will trust.

    Thanks for more great reading. =)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Her Secret Hero

    The Art of Romance by Kaye Dacus Book 2 of the Matchmakers
    Book 1: Love Remains Book 3: Turnabout's Fair Play

    What an enjoyable book! Nosy grandmother's determined to be the first ones who get the prized great grandchild... but first they have to marry off their grandchildren. So why not take a grandson from Perty and add a granddaughter from Sassy and kill two birds with one stone!
    At thirty-five and six foot tall Caylor Evans don't have any hope for a future love. She thought she had that ten years ago, but someone came between them. She is a Professor, Author, involved in her churches ministry and most important she moved in with her grandmother, Sassy, five years ago after Papa's death. Sassy needs her and that is good enough, or is it? When she meets the handsome grandson of her Sassy's best friend Perty she has second thoughts...

    Dylan Bradley has been through the wringer. At one time he loved his art work. Doing portraits and even some book covers to work his way through college. He was a disappointment to his parents, his other three brothers were getting all kinds of degrees but Dylan enjoyed his artwork, so his parents refused to pay his college. He had left God way behind after high school although his conscience often niggled at him when he knew he did wrong. As a Professor in Philadelphia his superior was Dr. Rhonda Kramer. She took him into her world and changed his art style, clothes and than his morals when he moved in with her. When he finally realized how she was running his life, and he stood his ground, he lost his job. Now he is back in Nashville, living in his grandparents carriage house and given a list of rules to follow. At age twenty-eight he was still treated like an immature child.

    This is a great story, Dylan needs to come back to the Lord and forgive himself for his past mistakes. He can't judge all women to be like Rhonda and he has to see the love his grandparents have for him and that they truly care, unlike his parents. He has been separated from the love his family and misses the close relationship he had with his brothers. He starts seeing how he let Rhonda run and ruin his life. And when he starts to heal he hopes a beautiful redhead will give him a second chance at love. Or will she run when she finds out his past secrets?

    Caylor has the love of her family, although there are huge issues with her sister, Felicity who now wants to be called Sage. She has her two close friends to help her through life as well, Zarah and Flannery. And she has Sassy. Can she tell Dylan her secret from her past without losing all hope of losing any chance with him?

    **Received through NetGalley for Review

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2011

    Matchmaking at its finest

    Kaye has done a wonderful job of making an large cast of characters easy to keep up with and care about. She is a very detailed writer and you get the full picture of what is going on throughout the book. The grandmother's are a wonderful bunch of ladies, old friends who care so much about their grandchildren they want to see them happily married. Three of the grandchildren are best friends and they are the center of the three books in this series.


    This book points out that we make mistakes as we grow and then learn as we get older that we need to make different choices because it is how God wants us to live. We all have to come to different growth periods where God is growing us up in something that we didn't see as wrong at earlier times in our lives. God grows us little by little until we are ready to see what needs to be changed. This book also reminds us that we need to understand that what a person did in their past is part of that past and that if they are in Christ then they have been made new in Him. We are not to judge because we all have things that we have done things we shouldn't have. We have to learn from those mistakes and more foward.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2011

    The Art of Romance--a fun read!

    Kaye Dacus has created a cast of characters that are like "real" people-from meddlesome grandmothers to interfering siblings all seeking to hurry True Romance along. With her portrayal of both setting and characters, I moved right in and tagged along as if I were a part of Caylor's and Dylan's family gatherings adding my "think-so's" to their conversations. This wonderfully written, light-hearted romance leaves you happy and content. I highly recommend THE ART OF ROMANCE!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2011

    Real life, real love, really good reading

    The Art of Romance is my favorite book so far in Kaye Dacus's "The Matchmaker" series! I enjoyed the "creative" career choices of the characters. The characters were well-drawn and true-to-life. I especially loved the generational dynamics between Caylor and her grandmother--and between Dylan and his mother.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2011

    The Art of Romance - It's a keeper!

    Must admit, the cover grabbed me, but it was the romance and character development that kept me turning these pages. The Art of Romance is not a book that a reader can easily dismiss. There are distinctive issues emblazoned onto the pages that every woman has encountered whether she's fifteen or fifty. Every woman struggles with her flaws. So does the main character, Caylor.

    It's how she deals with them that made this book so enticing - well that and the paint-brush wielding hot artist that she encounters on the stair well. Their romance is one that is layered and not easy. She has secrets. He has secrets. Am I gonna tell ya? Nope. Where would the fun be in that?

    Whip in a dash of meddling grandmothers and their shining sense of humors and it doesn't take long to figure out that one is holding a great read. About half way through I began slowing down - not because I was bored, but because I realized that I would truly miss Caylor, Dylan, and the secondary cast of characters when I reached the last page. I'd miss the witty conversations, the REALISTIC problems plopped out there on the page and the suave and classy way Ms. Dacus handled them. Will I read another Dacus book? You bet! This is Christian Romance at it's best. Realistic, sassy, hot and the kind every woman wants. Way to go, Kaye Dacus!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2011

    A Wonderful Romance!

    This is my first Kaye Dacus book, but it won't be my last. I loved this story! Kaye Dacus is a wonderful writer. She tells this story with wit and honesty and believable characters that you just can't help but love. Dylan, a handsome artist with a "secret" and Caylor, a tall, statuesque writer with a "secret" meet, with a little help from their meddling grandmothers. Dylan and Caylor are certainly not perfect. They're real, with faults and pasts that include bad decisions (don't we all have those?) that challenge both of them. Add a wonderfully sassy and meddling grandmother (her name is Sassy) and you have a read that you just don't want to put down. A barometer for me of a good book is this: when I do have to put it down because life calls me to get something done, I think about it and can't wait to get back to it. That was the case for me with "The Art of Romance". If you want a book that makes you smile, laugh out loud, think long and hard about past mistakes, and gives a satisfying conclusion to all the twists and turns, then get this wonderful book. I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2011

    Humouous Romance with Southern Homecooking!

    I thoroughly enjoyed reading The Art of Romance. Kaye Dacus writes in a way that utterly draws a person into the world of intelligent, mature, and well-rounded characters. I honestly felt as if I were experiencing the story in the middle of a warm Southern kitchen with her descriptions of pies, cookies, and chocolate in almost every chapter. As my mouth watered and the smell of fresh baked bread floated from the pages, the story of the prodigal son returning and the woman who unknowingly loves him, came alive through humorous circumstances crafted by sprightly grandmothers. "Mr. Fantastic" had me laughing at loud. Who is he? You'll have to read the book to find out! The plot twist in the story is stuff of daydreams and creates a sweet romance between Caylor and Dylan. Don't forget your favorite dessert as you indulge in this wonderful new romance from Kaye Dacus.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2011

    Masterful storyteller

    The Art of Romance grabbed me from the first page and held me captive until the last. Kaye has a way creating three dimensional characters that are so flawed and so likeable. The plot she weaved was very simple, yet felt complex. I loved the dynamics between the three friends : Caylor, Zarah and Flannery-I wanted to be their fourth friend! And the grandmothers, Sassy and Perty. They mettled yet it was clearly out of love, so the characters didn't mind in the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2011

    Great characters, good story

    I fell in love with the characters in this story. Caylor Evans is a thirty-something English professor living with her grandmother. She's on the right track, but nowhere near snagging a man. Dylan Bradley escaped a troubled relationship and ruined a promising career with his mistakes. He returns home to live with his grandmother, and piece his life back together. These two have more in common than they think, including secrets that won't stay in the past. Dacus does a great job of fleshing out each character. I loved the quirks and foibles of Caylor. Like how she couldn't rest until she wrote down people's annoying habits for her upcoming book. I can totally relate to that! I appreciated the honesty and sincerity of the way Dylan dealt with his struggles. In many novels characters avoid dealing with their deep issues and magically regain normalcy by the next chapter. But Dylan's journey to God develops from a natural and sincere place as he worked with his counselor. It really tugs at your heart.

    Both Caylor and Dylan had their own unique flaws, and some similar hangups, which made them come alive on the page. Since both characters are professors, the language of the book is a bit more complex. There are lots of long sentences, em dashes-and of course big words. But I do enjoy big words and love to look them up. So if that's your kind of thing too, you'll enjoy this book.

    The plot in The Art of Romance was well-developed-the action always arising from a character's decision. Events happened at a natural, flowing pace making it easy to follow, but still interesting. The character drama felt like it belonged right where it unfolded. The Art of Romance is a good read, and I look forward to the final book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2011

    Best Yet!

    I've been reading Kaye Dacus' books since the first one, Stand In Groom, came out and I have to say this is the best one she's ever written. I loved both of the characters and how she incorporated art and writing into the story making it feel like it's a real part of their lives. And the setting on the college campus was great too, something that I don't see in Christian fiction, nice especially that she didn't make it a Christian college. I love that Kaye's characters live in the real world, not some too perfect Christian bubble that doesn't really exist. Dylan is one of the best heroes I've ever read in an inspirational romance novel. His journey is so real, something that happens in real life. And his relationship with his brothers is fantastic. I want to meet those guys! (Dibs on Tyler!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1