Customer Reviews for

The Art of Seduction

Average Rating 4.5
( 141 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(86)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Among the best I've ever seen

If you just want to get laid there are many easier books out there which can help you accomplish that. However, if you really want to know how to get under someone's skin there is no better book. This book is not evil. this book is a technology. It is a lot like a ch...
If you just want to get laid there are many easier books out there which can help you accomplish that. However, if you really want to know how to get under someone's skin there is no better book. This book is not evil. this book is a technology. It is a lot like a chainsaw. If you use a chainsaw for what it was meant to be used for, you can do things with it that are great- you can cut down the tree that is about to fall on your house, you can cut timber to build a new one, or even get some wood for a cozy fire. However, we also all know that we can use a chainsay for purposes that are evil. You can use this information for good or for evil. The choice is up to you. This book will show you the character traits that people love and how to use them for mutual benefit. It will help you learn how to give and receive pleasure. If you want to use these techniques for self enrichment, you can do that too. The number one lesson of the book for women is that any woman can seduce almost any man if she is a sexual woman, a fun playmate, and looks for the best in a men and draws it out. Any man will fall in love with a woman like that. Likewise, for a man, almost any woman will fall in love with a man who is able to express his sexual desires in a classy way, who is able to relax and let a woman feel attached to him, who provides romance, and who pays attention to her. The book clearly spells uout the fact that we are seduced by that which we are missing. Nobody wants to be around those who are insecure or are simply miserable SOB's. We love those people who are able to create their own reality which is fun, happy, and pleasant. We love the people who only see the good in us and not the bad- those who make us feel good about ourselves. Finally, seducers are able to indirectly create interest and desire, enter the spirit of the other person, go out on a limb for others, lead the other person astray, provide pleasure, pull back a little to make the other person chase them, and finally make the bold move to seal the deal. This book gives examples of how the world's most seductive people have done these things, sometimes for their own benefit, and sometimes for mutual benefit. How you use the techniques and develop your own personality is up to you. This book helps you understand those people around you. You will be able to help them root out components of their personality that hurt them. If I could give the book 10 stars I would. It is neither good nor evil. It is about the truth about hman nature. How you use its wisdom is up to you.

posted by Anonymous on July 7, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Didn't seduce me

The biggest problem I had with Mr. Greene's book was that he reduces seduction down to simple psychology instead of what it is, an art. Yes, he did his research about the great seducers of history, but he analyzes it in such a logical manner (as if love and seduction w...
The biggest problem I had with Mr. Greene's book was that he reduces seduction down to simple psychology instead of what it is, an art. Yes, he did his research about the great seducers of history, but he analyzes it in such a logical manner (as if love and seduction were logical) that it didn't convince me. He lists several seduction strategies and personalities and asks you to find your style as if it were a pair of shoes, and tries to make you believe that if you follow his step-by-step guide you'll seduce anyone. Well, I have to disagree with him. I think it takes a lot more than just being psychologically dexterous to seduce a person. If it were as easy as getting a Masters Degree in psychology, everyone in the mental health profession would have an enviable love life, and I truly don't think that is the case.

posted by 1172143 on May 18, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 146 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2005

    Among the best I've ever seen

    If you just want to get laid there are many easier books out there which can help you accomplish that. However, if you really want to know how to get under someone's skin there is no better book. This book is not evil. this book is a technology. It is a lot like a chainsaw. If you use a chainsaw for what it was meant to be used for, you can do things with it that are great- you can cut down the tree that is about to fall on your house, you can cut timber to build a new one, or even get some wood for a cozy fire. However, we also all know that we can use a chainsay for purposes that are evil. You can use this information for good or for evil. The choice is up to you. This book will show you the character traits that people love and how to use them for mutual benefit. It will help you learn how to give and receive pleasure. If you want to use these techniques for self enrichment, you can do that too. The number one lesson of the book for women is that any woman can seduce almost any man if she is a sexual woman, a fun playmate, and looks for the best in a men and draws it out. Any man will fall in love with a woman like that. Likewise, for a man, almost any woman will fall in love with a man who is able to express his sexual desires in a classy way, who is able to relax and let a woman feel attached to him, who provides romance, and who pays attention to her. The book clearly spells uout the fact that we are seduced by that which we are missing. Nobody wants to be around those who are insecure or are simply miserable SOB's. We love those people who are able to create their own reality which is fun, happy, and pleasant. We love the people who only see the good in us and not the bad- those who make us feel good about ourselves. Finally, seducers are able to indirectly create interest and desire, enter the spirit of the other person, go out on a limb for others, lead the other person astray, provide pleasure, pull back a little to make the other person chase them, and finally make the bold move to seal the deal. This book gives examples of how the world's most seductive people have done these things, sometimes for their own benefit, and sometimes for mutual benefit. How you use the techniques and develop your own personality is up to you. This book helps you understand those people around you. You will be able to help them root out components of their personality that hurt them. If I could give the book 10 stars I would. It is neither good nor evil. It is about the truth about hman nature. How you use its wisdom is up to you.

    17 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2009

    Didn't seduce me

    The biggest problem I had with Mr. Greene's book was that he reduces seduction down to simple psychology instead of what it is, an art. Yes, he did his research about the great seducers of history, but he analyzes it in such a logical manner (as if love and seduction were logical) that it didn't convince me. He lists several seduction strategies and personalities and asks you to find your style as if it were a pair of shoes, and tries to make you believe that if you follow his step-by-step guide you'll seduce anyone. Well, I have to disagree with him. I think it takes a lot more than just being psychologically dexterous to seduce a person. If it were as easy as getting a Masters Degree in psychology, everyone in the mental health profession would have an enviable love life, and I truly don't think that is the case.

    8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2007

    A Radical Psychological Expose

    For folklore, and romantic to treacherous seduction, Greene's historical tale here is a work of art. This is a sardonic, yet often profound view of the use of persuasion and influence, in situations that are borderline a tad unnerving. This book is a synthesis of philosophy and psychology, and is paradigm breaking. Freud must have had a similar unnerving effect on his contemporaries when he discussed premises for behavior that were previously not part of social discourse. The author expands his global metaphor of 'life as war' from his book the 48 Laws of Power into love and spirituality! This may not be the most effective metaphor for everyone to use, with all of the paranoid, elitist women in today's culture. But it sure is interesting. Lots of conflict and struggles, and subconscious steering of ones emotions. For the modern Casanova, Greene's seduction stories are far too dated and chivalrous to translate into today's world, but rest assured they are in a word, fascinating. I found that it's uses were not applicable so much in the modern era of women and the entitlement mentality. If you like a comparable use of sexual influence, toying and subconscious steering of ones emotions to lure in women, I suggest The Professional Bachelor Dating Guide - How to Exploit Her Inner Psycho by Dr. Tate. It encompasses very effective persuasion tactics to entice your targets and victims, who, let's be realistic, want to be seduced, or they wouldn't allow it to happen.

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Highly recommended... depending on your goal

    Regardless of whether one finds the seduction methods Mr. Greene proposes useful, The Art of Seduction is filled with fascinating historical examples of different personality types, and for this reason alone I recommend this book. That being said, the book is useful only insofar as you are 1.) male, 2.) relatively new to the concept of behaviour modification in response to different personalities, and 3.) in a relationship with an individual who clearly fits one of the eighteen types Mr. Greene identifies.

    If you are none of the above, then I suspect you will enjoy this book nonetheless; however, its usefulness for you may be diminished. If you are a woman looking for methods of enjoying more successful relationships with men, I recommend reading Sherry Argov's Why Men Love B*tches in conjunction with The Art of Seduction. This will provide a more well-rounded approach to your situation, and will make you a virtual savant in relationships.

    ~KV

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2006

    You must remember this...

    This book is topflight!! Anyone who thinks other wise is only confirming deep-rooted timidity within themselves. The research based examples serve as reminders that the laws of seduction have been in place since the beginning of time. The only problem has been that we humans have been too blind to see them enforced in our worlds around us.I can't say enough about this MASTERPIECE. It is truly the art of war for delicate times. Who can ever win such a war of the hearts unless he has the right tools for battle? I say this book could turn millions of minds on if people took time to absorb the knowledge that oozes from its pages. All those who think otherwise are more than likely stuck in a mental rut and have become bogged down with their own personal boring routines... If you read nothing else to improve your self-image, Self-confidence--Gentlemen I strongly recommend this one for your library!!! I have no doubts that you will refer to it often whether it be for knowledge or leisure reading...We all need to know these things if we are to be successful in the arena of love and passion... If you are smart you will take some time to learn the game that women have played on us for centuries

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2001

    One hell of a book

    Not just about sexual seduction but about social seduction. Baiting and setting the hook in people in general. I read it once and now I'm reading it again.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2008

    My god...

    It doesn't matter whether you think this book is made from pure evil or not. This book speaks of truth, undeniable truth. I learned things about myself through this book, about why I loved my ex so much and what mistakes I made in trying to get her back. Like all power it can be used for evil, but it may also be used for good.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Wow--lots of good useful info for men.

    This book will clear up a lot of issues you might have and misconceptions about the art of seduction. Mr. Greene really knows what he's talking about and you can tell it as you read. The book is in-depth and a real eye opener.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2007

    If you ain't got it, you're Wrong!

    Best Book in the History of the world, with the exception of the Bible obviously. Go and collect His other 2 selections, The 48 Laws of Power, and the 33 Strategies of War.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2007

    Great Book With Many Applications

    I was a little skeptical about this book, but it turned out to be a fantastic read. True, it does come off as a bit amoral, but the lessons taught can be applied to interactions of all sorts. Greene does a fantastic job of supporting examples that include not just sexual seduction but ones of politics and personal succcess as well.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2006

    A Fun, And Very Flirtatious Read

    I had such a great time reading this book, that I'm actually picking it up again and reading it! The book is rather seductive itself by not only offering some rather interesting advice, but it also touches on the history of some of the world's most famous seducers. These are not techniques that I would suggest that one do in real life though, but I would suggest it if someone were looking for something fun - and incredibly engaging to read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2005

    Fabulous

    Exquisitely written, packed with useful, real-world tips and historical examples ranging from Cleopatra to Bill Clinton. Don't be fooled by the title - the books lessons can be applied in business, politics, work, family, friends, co-workers, not just significant others. If you have superbly high morals and are offended at the appearance of anything but innocence, this book isn't for you. But if you're are sharp, witty, intelligent and cunning and would like to know how to get what you want easier, quicker and better - its a MUST READ.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2004

    The good, bad and terrible

    I am not surprised that some people are offended by the title and content of the book. It touches forbidden areas of the soul. That said, Part Two of the book reads more like a movie script than a how-to manual. In fact, much of Part Two -- the 'techniques' part -- uses literature to demonstrate its points. Roman novels, 10th century Japanese novels, 18th and 19th century French novels, 19th/20th century British plays, etc. Not good, for drama by its nature is drama, as in not real on a day to day basis. In addition, the author seems to have great admiration for the various seducers of women of chaste young virtue, or men of great power. In his view, the essence of capturing a young 'victim' was throwing money at her in spectacular form; the essence of capturing a powerful 'victim' was promising sex that never quite arrived, or at least didn't arrive until much was spent by the victim. Part Two -- 'techniques' -- did not give the impression the author believed in the potential for relationships where the sum of the couple was greater than the individuals. Most of Part Two part can be skimmed without major loss. The Part One of the book, which defines character types, defines in realistic detail the types of roles assumed by various seducers (man and women both). In this I could recognize real people of my acquaintence. The Part One lists in almost casual detail types of 'victims' (a term all too frequently used by the author to the detriment of the book), and what causes 'victim' deep down to be longing to be seduced. The details here is not quite are as defining as in seducer types, and the author shows some sense of distain for the 'victims' (who after all are getting what THEY want). Overall, the book does a decent job of detailing that most people are egocentric and how to 'take advantage' of that by stroking the ego of the 'target'. Is that bad? Some would say yes, but as Noel Coward said, 'In most relationships one person loves while the other person allows themselves to be loved'. This reviewer believes in the potential for involved relationships where each person can't think of a place they would rather be, but I have also found myself being drawn in 'like a moth to a flame' on occasion. Perhaps I better understand myself in this context now. Three stars.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2003

    you'd be suprised

    Review after review claims that this to too 'creepy', harsh or just too evil. It strikes me as quite odd. My impression is the total opposite. There is one thing con artist, manipulators and seducers all have in common: They understand basic human nature. Many of these things we don't want to admitt to, but they are true. Reflecting upon yourself while reading this book will reveal as much, if your honest with yourself. While many will be 'seduced' into using this 'power' for their own gain, if one is so inclined, he/she could use it for great good. The anonymous gift is often the most rewarding, right? Well 'the art of seduction' allows you to do just that. (assuming you don't have the need to make sure everyone knows how 'nice' you are) 'The art of Seduction' has opened doors in my life, taught me things that only years of experience and deep reflection could give me. It is not only about sexual seduction. It's about communicating in a different way, a more productive way. If all you can think about is deception while you glance through, then that is what you will use it for. Read it. Have an open and honest mind. Learn from what history has whispered. The question is, will you let this power improve your life and others around you, or will you use it to simply take what you want, without care to others?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Must read

    This book is facinating! It might be amoral for some, but it is part of the dark truth in our human nature and so intriguing to read and learn about.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2008

    A reviewer

    First and foremost, this book is not for the faint of hearts. It is NOT for the individual searching for 'a knight in shining armour'. This book forces individuals to think critically of how they fall into the game of seduction. A game that has been around for years and will be around for years to come. There is usefulness to the book, what is it to you, I can not say. But, for me, as stated above, I understand a bit more as to where I fall in the game of seduction.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2007

    a reviewer

    As is only appropriate, this small volume is sleek and appealing, with a glossy cover that draws the eye. It begs to be opened. Go ahead - the reward is a bonbon box full of clever diversions that might be handy if you use them right, a bit naughty if you don't, and even slyly humorous if you catch the whiff of satire. The text is broken into small - dare one say it, intimate? - morsels that you can read in stolen snatches of time. Author Robert Greene's observations on how to seduce (that is, persuade) are bordered with quotations from authors, philosophers and lovers, all offering entertaining support. However, potential seducers should note two key points. First, while Greene delivers his advice in terms of sexual seduction, if you are careful and interpretative, you may be able to apply pieces of it to general persuasion, including in business. On the downside, many of his techniques are pointedly sexy, over-the-top, amoral or manipulative. We thus recommend this book to those who study human nature for its own sake and for fun those who will apply or modify any techniques to attain power over others or those with the self-discipline to glean the gems, but turn away from taking unethical or illegal advantage.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2007

    fascinating history of seduction

    Robert Green¿s 48 Laws of Power is probably in the CEO offices of half the Fortune 500. The follow up Art of Seduction is quite interesting and intriguing to me, but it like it for reasons that may not have been the prominent intention. It gives fascinating tales about the great seducers and their techniques, most of which took place several hundred years ago. I was glued to my seat reading them, as Victorian era non-fiction is rarely covered by a modern writer, and certainly not by one of Mr. Greene¿s talent. The book was intended to draw easy parallels from lessons of the past and how they can be used to help men in the modern era in the pick up arena. I didn¿t find the concept translated well. The situations, and styles were simply too elaborate and flowery to apply in the fast paced world of girls full of the entitlement mentality. I would recommend Tate¿s The Professional Bachelor for modern era psychoanalytical persuasive seduction for that. As for this title, I would highly recommend the Art of Seduction for my reasons stated. Immensely researched stories from a highly romantic era in time, when chivalry was truly an art form. I¿ve been reading Greene¿s blog, and hope he follows through with the idea he¿s floating around.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2006

    Advanced seduction for the bold: how to persuade every time

    As is only appropriate, this small volume is sleek and appealing, with a glossy cover that draws the eye. It begs to be opened. Go ahead - the reward is a bonbon box full of clever diversions that might be handy if you use them right, a bit naughty if you don¿t, and even slyly humorous if you catch the whiff of satire. The text is broken into small - dare one say it, intimate? - morsels that you can read in stolen snatches of time. Author Robert Greene¿s observations on how to seduce (that is, persuade) are bordered with quotations from authors, philosophers and lovers, all offering entertaining support. However, potential seducers should note two key points. First, while Greene delivers his advice in terms of sexual seduction, if you are careful and interpretative, you may be able to apply pieces of it to general persuasion, including in business. On the downside, many of his techniques are pointedly sexy, over-the-top, amoral or manipulative. We thus recommend this book to those who study human nature for its own sake and for fun those who will apply or modify any techniques to attain power over others or those with the self-discipline to glean the gems, but turn away from taking unethical or illegal advantage.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2005

    Vital and Pertinent

    Many will be disconcerted with the premise of the book (make no mistake, it does not teach you 'how to be a predator' or anything atrocious like that). Truth scares people, and this book is chock full of truth. Growing up brainwashed by disney-esque romance stories, many young men today have honestly forgotten that love does not merely 'happen' like magic, and -nobody- is attracted to a passivist. There are a lot of people out there who, honest-to-goodness, simply never learned how to attract a mate and remain attractive to them. Women have actually broken up with me for not knowing and applying the basic concepts this book teaches! This is not sexist stuff, both men and women can benefit greatly from the overall message of this material. Read this book, it will be very eye-opening for some and a good reminder for everyone else.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 146 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8