Customer Reviews for

The Art of Seduction

Average Rating 4.5
( 141 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(86)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Among the best I've ever seen

If you just want to get laid there are many easier books out there which can help you accomplish that. However, if you really want to know how to get under someone's skin there is no better book. This book is not evil. this book is a technology. It is a lot like a ch...
If you just want to get laid there are many easier books out there which can help you accomplish that. However, if you really want to know how to get under someone's skin there is no better book. This book is not evil. this book is a technology. It is a lot like a chainsaw. If you use a chainsaw for what it was meant to be used for, you can do things with it that are great- you can cut down the tree that is about to fall on your house, you can cut timber to build a new one, or even get some wood for a cozy fire. However, we also all know that we can use a chainsay for purposes that are evil. You can use this information for good or for evil. The choice is up to you. This book will show you the character traits that people love and how to use them for mutual benefit. It will help you learn how to give and receive pleasure. If you want to use these techniques for self enrichment, you can do that too. The number one lesson of the book for women is that any woman can seduce almost any man if she is a sexual woman, a fun playmate, and looks for the best in a men and draws it out. Any man will fall in love with a woman like that. Likewise, for a man, almost any woman will fall in love with a man who is able to express his sexual desires in a classy way, who is able to relax and let a woman feel attached to him, who provides romance, and who pays attention to her. The book clearly spells uout the fact that we are seduced by that which we are missing. Nobody wants to be around those who are insecure or are simply miserable SOB's. We love those people who are able to create their own reality which is fun, happy, and pleasant. We love the people who only see the good in us and not the bad- those who make us feel good about ourselves. Finally, seducers are able to indirectly create interest and desire, enter the spirit of the other person, go out on a limb for others, lead the other person astray, provide pleasure, pull back a little to make the other person chase them, and finally make the bold move to seal the deal. This book gives examples of how the world's most seductive people have done these things, sometimes for their own benefit, and sometimes for mutual benefit. How you use the techniques and develop your own personality is up to you. This book helps you understand those people around you. You will be able to help them root out components of their personality that hurt them. If I could give the book 10 stars I would. It is neither good nor evil. It is about the truth about hman nature. How you use its wisdom is up to you.

posted by Anonymous on July 7, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Didn't seduce me

The biggest problem I had with Mr. Greene's book was that he reduces seduction down to simple psychology instead of what it is, an art. Yes, he did his research about the great seducers of history, but he analyzes it in such a logical manner (as if love and seduction w...
The biggest problem I had with Mr. Greene's book was that he reduces seduction down to simple psychology instead of what it is, an art. Yes, he did his research about the great seducers of history, but he analyzes it in such a logical manner (as if love and seduction were logical) that it didn't convince me. He lists several seduction strategies and personalities and asks you to find your style as if it were a pair of shoes, and tries to make you believe that if you follow his step-by-step guide you'll seduce anyone. Well, I have to disagree with him. I think it takes a lot more than just being psychologically dexterous to seduce a person. If it were as easy as getting a Masters Degree in psychology, everyone in the mental health profession would have an enviable love life, and I truly don't think that is the case.

posted by 1172143 on May 18, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 146 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2004

    Great title, bad book

    Elffers and Greenes manual could be subtitled 'How to Be a Slimeball.' I'm not exactly sure what I expected, but I hoped it might be something useful to someone like me who wished to keep there morals intact. Creepy.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2014

    Good book

    Good book, plenty of examples from seducers of earlier times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2014

    A facinating journey through all the faces of the ancient rituals of seduction

    If you read this book with an open mind, it will captivate you

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    Stalkerish

    This book teaches you how to have an anti-social personality disorder. It is well written though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    R

    Redfeather purrs loudly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    Yellowfox

    Owlstar?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    Cats

    "I dont care." Silversoul says before turning. She pads to her spot, almost crying

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommend this book!

    very interesting read, and I'm only half way through it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Must read

    This book is facinating! It might be amoral for some, but it is part of the dark truth in our human nature and so intriguing to read and learn about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2011

    Amazing

    Awesome science fiction short stories, Im deff reading this over and over. Imagery is on point, vampires and futuristic type of settings. Deff recommending this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2011

    Great book, it could be applied in many ways.

    Seduction can be used at various situations such as jobs, networking and etc...I bought all four Robert Greene audio books and I listen to it whenever things are slower at work, it reminds you to keep yourself in focus at all time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2011

    SEDUCTION

    This Book will have you saying "This is the best i ever had" I love it !!! I also have the book "48 Powers of Law". Robert Greene....Your awsome !!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2011

    Interesting!

    This is a very interesting book. Even if you don't plan on doing any seducing, the stories of Marilyn Monroe & jfk are very intriguing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2011

    best book

    best book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2011

    it is good

    this is a good book to read it has alot of storys explaining how seduction is used altho i really wouldnt recommend on using it to learn how to use the art.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A great read on multiple levels!

    This book is well researched, VERY well organized and a lot of fun to read. You can use it as a manual, learn more about the psychology of needs and wants, or just appreciate the stories told about the love lives of some of the most influential people in world history.

    The book is divided into three sections...the types of seducers, the types of victims (that's right, VICTIMS!), and the seduction process itself. Part one is very absorbing. This is where people who love a great story will feel right at home. Part two is much shorter, but interesting enough for anyone to read since it gets you thinking about which type you might be and what you feel your weaknesses are. Part three is really much more of a study in psychology, and the other parts of the book can be very much enjoyed without it.

    A note of caution: You'll get more out of the reading experience, I think, if you look at the text from a completely amoral standpoint. Once you start imagining yourself as a victim, or even a seducer, it can ruin the experience for some. This is basically a manual for how to manipulate those around you using any means necessary, but that doesn't make it any less of a fantastic read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Good reading about seduction.

    I really thought the Art of Seduction was one of the better books on the subject as a whole. I also liked the historical examples he gave, Cleopatra for example, and how he incorproated these into this book. It's a good read for anyone, even women, as it does help one understand the techniques invloved for seduction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2009

    Great Book

    I loved reading this book and trying to decide which type of individual myself and everyone else I kmow is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2006

    One of the best books out there!

    I have this book and its one of the best books i have ever read. This book not only tells you attract a certain male or female but it gives you a story line example into the psyche of the person you are trying to seduce. It gives so much detail about each profile and is a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2005

    What a rollercoaster ride.

    ¿The Art Of Seduction¿ is definitely NOT for the fainthearted or those harboring a Calvinistic outlook on life. A couple of friends and I recently went on a 4-day boys only road trip to another part of the country. Our mission was to have a great weekend where we would enjoy the simple pleasures that life has to offer. By pure chance we stumbled upon this book in someone¿s flat. It changed the entire tone of our weekend. Purely by just reading isolated excerpts from it, it sharpened our senses to some elementary practices that we ordinarily would have engaged ¿ but without the conscious awareness of what we would have been doing. The fact that we now had the correct language for our behaviors towards the opposite sex ¿ especially negative, anti-seduction behaviors ¿ ensured that our weekend was an unforgettable rollercoaster ride that bore fruit. I¿m not, by any means suggesting that we would not still have had the same experiences but that the pleasure of our experiences was sharpened and heightened by the fact that we identified exactly what we were doing. Plus, we actually shared the book with our (very willing I must hasten to add) ¿victims¿. Throughout the weekend, such remarks as ¿you are creating a false sense of security in me¿ were often heard, to everyone¿s amusement. Kings, emperors and knights were created. A must read and a must apply.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 146 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8