Customer Reviews for

The Art of Travel

Average Rating 4
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 12 of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2003

    *sigh*

    Such a beautiful book! Definitely not for those who don't dwell on thoughts. Perfect for rommantics, dreamers, philosophers, observers, etc. Live well!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    great book for thought

    makes you consider your life and travel experiences

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2002

    A beautiful book that is NOT for tourists only.

    I was excited to read this book after the first reviews were published; it has exceeded even my wildest expectations. The author combines personal experience, graphic arts, poetry, prose and philosophy to describe at last 'why' we travel and 'what' we can expect to gain from travel instead of the 'how' and 'where' to travel. I have already enjoyed past trips more for having compared my experiences and impressions to M. de Botton's musings; I know that I will enjoy future trips more for the same reasons.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2002

    Thought-provoking

    It certainly is a different sort of book. But I was very happy to have stumbled upon it because I've asked myself very often why it is that I like to travel so much. The Art of Travel certainly doesn't have the answers to one's traveling desires, just a lot of theory and ideas, and how to view the traveling experience on your next trip. I have learned quite a bit from this novel alone and I'm pretty sure that from now on I will see things differently when I go abroad.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2002

    Travel wise

    Sometimes a book tumbles into your hands from nowhere - and you know it is meant to be exactly there. Like the 'The Art of Travel'. Come along, do what I did. Strike a series of conversations with kind, wise people that tug on your shirt sleeve, pulling you this way and that way. Not to worry, they don't compete to show you the newest and coolest travel destination. All excited they point you to the many different states of mind, of observation, of interest, of admiration that are possible while travelling. Alain de Botton combines his own astute observations with the thoughts and ideas of his guides, great travelers throughout the times - and often understands them better than they did themselves. Not of their destinations or their artistic or scientific merits the story tells, but of their individual ways, their personal art of travel. My personal rediscovery included the reminder that it is not so important where we travel to, but which part of us goes along for the trip. 'The Art of Travel' came to me on an airport and I will not let it go. Not as long as I travel. And who knows when that will ever end.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2014

    Thoughtful travels

    There are plenty of illuminating points to consider alongside the 'guides.' infrequently spotted with other languages, the writing is still clear and humorous.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2002

    Not interesting at all

    This was a good book. A good book only for those who can tollerate sections of repition and bordem.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 12 of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1