Customer Reviews for

The Art of War (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)

Average Rating 3.5
( 621 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(246)

4 Star

(139)

3 Star

(108)

2 Star

(46)

1 Star

(82)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

26 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

Get it free

This book and many other classics are free from "Project Gutenburg" on various ebook formats.

posted by 3814119 on January 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Very poorly formatted

The Art of War is an excellent book-when it's in a readable format. This is NOT the format to choose.

posted by Fyrebird on May 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 82 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted May 13, 2011

    Very poorly formatted

    The Art of War is an excellent book-when it's in a readable format. This is NOT the format to choose.

    11 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2011

    like the text, hate the formatting

    Very interesting historical text that can be extrapolated to fit many modern contemporary situations, however, I found it hard to read this particular version because the formatting was so poor. The footnotes made the text hard to read and often it was hard to tell where the footnote began and the text resumed.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    Good

    Just confusing but i am also 13

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    SUKY

    This book sucks it big horible ripoff

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    Not good

    Half the book is about if sun zo rilly exsisted

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2011

    Terrbile Version

    I did not enjoy this version.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2011

    Commentary is too distracting

    This is unreadable. More commentary and footnotes than actual text. CRAP!!!

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2011

    Get it for free from Project Gutenberg

    If you buy it here, you will be getting the EXACT same copy as is available on Project Gutenberg (only difference is it won't be part of your B&N library). This version also has a LOT of commentary and history (which make it hard to read the actual book).

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2011

    NOT RECOMMENDED--SAVE YOUR MONEY--------

    BORING NONSENSE--READ IT FREE INSTEAD------

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2014

    Sum Tzu said: I'M F***KING CHINESE, NOT JAP! YOU IDIOTS Than

    Sum Tzu said:

    I'M F***KING CHINESE, NOT JAP! YOU IDIOTS

    Thank you for sharing my wisdom...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2014

    Mr. Pu-Pu

    Stinks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    Should not pay for this version.

    This is a Project Gutenburg eBook which is available free in this same format elsewhere.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2013

    A commentary not the book

    Dissapointed, thought i was buying the actual book but this is a commentary of the authors interpration of the art of war, you can find some of the actual story in between the thick commentarty but it is far and in between-the review of the book does not sate this fact

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Um..the book..where is it?

    Yeah so I finally get a chance to open the book & it's nothing but a white screen with a tiny black triangle on the bottom??? Refund!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    Not the right one!

    Its not the whole book its just a reasher paper looking. If you want the actual book your going to have to buy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    Just a Project Gutenburg book ripoff.

    Get it free off their website.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2011

    dont

    it is not good at all: (

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2011

    Don't buy this version

    I actually do recommend reading the Art of War. I am not a military buff in the slightest, but I was intrigued by the philosophy of it. Don't pay for this version though as it is simply repackaging the version available for free on Project Guttenburg.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2011

    Not Recommended

    It's a very difficult read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2011

    terrible read

    not recommended--also, you can get it free! wish i would have known that before paying for this. what a total waste of money this purchase was. i had to finally skim through this one to get through it because it was so awful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 82 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5