Customer Reviews for

The Art of War (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)

Average Rating 3.5
( 621 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(246)

4 Star

(139)

3 Star

(108)

2 Star

(46)

1 Star

(82)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

27 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

Get it free

This book and many other classics are free from "Project Gutenburg" on various ebook formats.

posted by 3814119 on January 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Very poorly formatted

The Art of War is an excellent book-when it's in a readable format. This is NOT the format to choose.

posted by Fyrebird on May 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 246 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 13
  • Posted April 11, 2010

    Review of Sun Tzu

    This concise and compact version of Sun Tzu is printed entirely in a "bullet format" which makes it very readable and enhances the understanding of ancient principles of war that are applicable in everyday life. Mr. Giles has published two versions of Sun Tzu's writings into this single book. The first section is a purist version with no interjections and an additional bonus version that incorporates translations and viewpoints of ancient Chinese masters of war.

    19 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2005

    I love this book!!!

    This an excellent book that I have found myself applying its strategies, tactical dispositions, or whatever you want to call them in both my professional and personal lives. I think everyone should have a copy of this book in their briefcase and/or book bag.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2011

    Timeless Advice, Enjoyable Read

    The Art of War is a military classic, written around 400 BC. However, because the maxims contained in the book are so succinct and universal, this is still a useful book for understanding and waging war today. The central themes are to attack where the enemy is weak, deceive the enemy into attacking you on your terms (not his), and the use of espionage to confuse the enemy while gathering information for your own use.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    The art or war

    I knew that the book wuld be realy good but I wasn't expecting it to be this good

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    Demigod person

    I think it is very useful. If the trojans had it they just might have won the war.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    A must read

    The Art of War is in many ways the Bible of warfare and strategy. And much like the Bible, a passage can have many different meaning depending on who's reading it. I've read through this translation a couple times now and the meanings are always changing, just as the events in our lives are always changing, giving each passage new life and understanding based on those personal experinces that are forever molding and shaping our conscienceness.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2012

    Highly recommended.

    Chinese is a very ancient language and is quite context-sensitive. This makes good translations to English difficult and two different translations of the same work in Chinese may come very different in English. The Denma Group has done an excellent translation of this ancient Chinese work making it quite understandable and east to read in English.

    Sun Tzu may have been one of the earliest professional soldiers to actually think about their trade and has come up with some valuable insights about conflict and war in general. Most people who are interested in this work will benefit greatly from having a copy of this translation in their library.

    A number of essays are included showing how the Denma Group has come to this particular translation and, also the huge amount of effort they have put into it. I own four different translations of the Art of War and this is the one that I carry on my e-reader.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    Very useful

    He was even more of a genius with strategy than Alexander the great!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2014

    Good book

    Good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2013

    Read before tackling memoirs of Grant & Sherman--all great!

    Although McClellan probably forgot to read this, we know that Lee didn't.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    sincere bonilla

    Ggeshsjshyyduuhsysdtdiuwjnnxraytdbyysjttthsrrqkxuwhtxjydrsrddtytfcxtduvjgsdvktsradvhdtfygaaycarsyvkdyduhucgstgkfgdcgxsc cdygyfyftsrsrcgyggytfhftrtfdtfycfrstjvhzrfydeecfhdtghfyvkfycgcdgxrshsdgeeggwwtfrsejetdtfxjydgwhsbjdywstdhhurygwdhvvaYZGHDHGYDFYVUFTDHVCEgyfygyyydeggssfytdtdhftstduffjtfkjopoguopigyebvbmnhsywrtuopapdpspzohsyfigyggjfufpoqweuoyrtwusyddrfdsgsgd

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    Test

    Test

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    To Frozenlake and Frostkit

    Join at LMFAO FIRST RESULT

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    Warman 988

    Sir yes sir this book is so bad ass it gets five stars
    Ps warman988 is out, over and out

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Angel

    If your not reading it than why did you rate it 5 stars smart one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2012

    Good

    Very good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2012

    Training hollow

    -War Clan

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2012

    Mind

    War

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    H

    H

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2012

    Excellent

    A superb copy of an enthralling work of art. I highly reccomend this copy of The Art Of War. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 246 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 13