Customer Reviews for

Artemis Fowl

Average Rating 4.5
( 1459 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(908)

4 Star

(305)

3 Star

(120)

2 Star

(46)

1 Star

(80)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

66 out of 74 people found this review helpful.

Really good book

I didn't expect it to be so good. Great story with colorful characters. Liked it a lot and days later I still hadn't forgotten it, nor have the kids. Have recommended it to everyone.

posted by Julie_Price on August 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

22 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

I love this Book

Ok, so I'm a 16 year old girl who's definitely read a lot. I read on a lot of different levels, adult, YA, and I read this book awhile back when I was maybe 10 or 11. Once thing I can say is that I can still read this book and like it a lot, however, the difference betw...
Ok, so I'm a 16 year old girl who's definitely read a lot. I read on a lot of different levels, adult, YA, and I read this book awhile back when I was maybe 10 or 11. Once thing I can say is that I can still read this book and like it a lot, however, the difference between this book and Harry Potter, I think, is simply that it's even more for children than Harry Potter is. I'm not sure if adults would enjoy this book, AND, if I'd never read the book when I was younger I'm not sure if I'd like it that much.
For any younger children who want to read it, I don't think it's a book for reluctant readers (I tried to get my 10 year old brother to read it but he was intimidated by the length and how it was kind of confusing for him.)
Also, someone else on here recommended the book Incarceron and although I agree that's a great book, Incarceron is a YA book and Artemis Fowl is directed at children, so of course Incarceron will be a lot more appealing to older readers.
Overall, I think this is a great book for tweens who like to read fantasy. (And, you either love or hate the arrogance of Artemis Fowl. I personally loved it lol.)

posted by StephLovesToRead on January 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1469 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 74
  • Posted August 1, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Really good book

    I didn't expect it to be so good. Great story with colorful characters. Liked it a lot and days later I still hadn't forgotten it, nor have the kids. Have recommended it to everyone.

    66 out of 74 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2011

    Re

    Enhanced means that it includes either sounds, movie clips or pictures.

    55 out of 79 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    FOWL

    The first in the fowl series. This book packs a high flying adventure against mans long lost friends: The Fairies. No not just any fairies but ones with technology far superior than our own.
    One Irish genius challenges them and proves a worthy foe.
    He is out to seek their most prized possession:
    GOLD.
    Artemis Fowl is a book i loved as soon as i read the first page.

    42 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2010

    Great Read

    The Fowls have been notorious criminals since the time of the Norman Conquest, exploiting and out witting others for monetary gain. Artemis being a Fowl follows his forefather's footsteps and embarks on exploits of his own; though this time he decides to exploit a new people, the fairy race. The book Artemis Fowl is wonderfully written and seamlessly carries you from the fairy world to the world we all know. The fairy race is very well developed and their way of life along with their underground world seems very real. The story itself is very technologically oriented and really entertains the inner geek in all of us with the very detailed descriptions of the advanced fairy technology used against Artemis and Artemis' own use of electronics to outwit the fairies .The plot is something you would get if you crossed The Bourne Supremacy and The Lord of The Rings, very technologically oriented, action centric, and full of magic and lore. The mix of technology and fairy magic is not something that is very commonly seen in most books and movies, paired with a great writing style this book really stands out from others. The book is full of many twists and turns as Artemis, unexpected to the fairy people outwits and counters everything the fairies seem to throw at him. This book is a great read and can entertain people of all ages with its detailed scenes and a very well developed back story. I strongly recommend this book to people of all ages looking for something fast paced and fresh.

    30 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2013

    Click yes if you love reading this book

    Click yes if you like minecraft

    24 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2012

    I love this Book

    Ok, so I'm a 16 year old girl who's definitely read a lot. I read on a lot of different levels, adult, YA, and I read this book awhile back when I was maybe 10 or 11. Once thing I can say is that I can still read this book and like it a lot, however, the difference between this book and Harry Potter, I think, is simply that it's even more for children than Harry Potter is. I'm not sure if adults would enjoy this book, AND, if I'd never read the book when I was younger I'm not sure if I'd like it that much.
    For any younger children who want to read it, I don't think it's a book for reluctant readers (I tried to get my 10 year old brother to read it but he was intimidated by the length and how it was kind of confusing for him.)
    Also, someone else on here recommended the book Incarceron and although I agree that's a great book, Incarceron is a YA book and Artemis Fowl is directed at children, so of course Incarceron will be a lot more appealing to older readers.
    Overall, I think this is a great book for tweens who like to read fantasy. (And, you either love or hate the arrogance of Artemis Fowl. I personally loved it lol.)

    22 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2009

    Crazy Good Book

    Artemis Fowl by Eoin Colfer is a fantastic fantasy novel, with daring feats and incredible and magical discoveries.
    This is an excellent book because it is a little bit of everything. It has some action, mystery, and a lot of fantasy. Not to mention the prodigious mind of young 12 year old Artemis Fowl. It takes place in modern day Europe, including England, Ireland, and an underground fairy world with goblin gangs, fairies, and incredibly angry dwarfs of all species. The thing is Artemis wants the fairy power, and to do that Artemis needs to muster a secret object. This object tells about the fairies and if he studies about them he can get a hint to capture the power. To get this object he must travel around the world searching for sprites (old fairies). All this could threaten war between the two worlds.
    The sprite Artemis finds is all the way in Vietnam. He makes her give him the book using his amazing mind. He realizes what he really needs is a fairy. Later he kidnaps a fairy. She was doing a ritual of magic when Butler, Artemis' man servant and only friend tranquilized her.
    Eoin tells this story in 3rd person omniscient really giving you a good grasp at the character's thoughts and feelings. He makes Artemis probably the smartest person on the planet. He needs diversions for plans he only knows. Also Butler is trained in the deadliest martial arts and weaponry, a feel bad for the poor soul who tried to pick pocket him.
    This is for anyone who likes fantasy and action. This is the first in the series so I recommend reading this first. The other ones only get better.

    17 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Loved it

    This is one of the best best books i have ever read. Read it if you ike
    Fantasy
    Adventure
    Mystery

    15 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    Good fast read

    Very good fast read. I was surprised at the entire idea of a technologically advanced fairy world. Great characters that I am looking forward to getting to know better in future books.

    11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    Cool is not close to what it is its AWSOME

    When i first heard of it my mom was reading it. She told me it was about a 14 year old criminal master mind so i was like not my kind of book not enough magic ( this is what happens when you don't actually look at the description) then a while past and i started running out of things to read (my mom NEVER takes me to the public library) so i thought i might as well and i read it i was not disaponted i say if you don't like this book YOU ARE CRAZY!!! SO READ IT NOW!!!!!!

    10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    Great book

    This serise was one of my favorites. I thought it was cool how the fairies are not the girly ballerina type fairies you find in many books. This book was also pretty funny. I give it 5 stars. :)

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2010

    Artemis Fowl Book Review

    Artemis Fowl, "A book that will keep the pages turning, no matter what your age, a new kind of fairy tale." I am reading this particular book because it was my second choice and it sounded interesting. Plus, it was also the biggest font and the least amount of pages. Now that I have read it I do not like it, it has almost no description. Young 12 year old Artemes Fowl is a genius, smarter that most adults in the burglary business. He will do what ever he wants to get it. "It" You ask, Gold .Gold from the fairies.
    So one day Artemis decides he wants more money even though he is already a millionaire. Only one species has the amount of money that he wants, The LEP. The LEP is a special group of Fairies, Elf's and many other mystical creatures. They all carry magic unless you disobey the power. Each creature also carries a book that tells about there kind. They must never give the book to any human, or there race will be discovered by human. One alcoholic fairy had revealed him self to Artemis. BIG, mistake. He then must play a scheme on the fairies to get what he wants. The gold. Of course the plan works. Then he reads the book, to find Mrs. Captain Short on her first mission. He captures her, keeps her hostage, and locked up, till he gets the gold. To save Holly the LEP goes on a mission to save her. He uses this to get closer to the gold. The LEP's plan is not working, this calls for one thing. Mulch the unbeatable. Till the unthinkable happens he is killed under ground in a tunnel trying to save Holly. Can Artemis get the 24 carrot gold he wants? Read the book to find out!
    I would rate this book 1 out of 5 stars. Many people liked the book but I did not. It was a very confusing book. It changed scenes in the middle of chapters with out a clue. They also stayed on one un descriptive scene for long time. It did not show, instead it told. I would not recommend this book to any sixth grade boys. I would not recommend it to any 6th graders.

    7 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    Artemis fowl

    It is a very good book id recommend 2all

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2012

    Epic and Realistic! A+++

    A wonderfully written story, Artemis Fowl is unique, and very hilarious-it's the greatest teen-children's novel I have ever read. This is a book that will stay with you throughout your life...an unforgettable adventure...

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2010

    Artemis Fowl Review ~SMW GEHS

    In Artemis Fowl, by Eoin Colfer, the intelligence of youth is taken to a whole other level. Beautifully written and a real page turner, this book is a unique combination between science and magic. The reader will be transfixed by the border line of fantasy and magic. The protagonist of this story, Artemis Fowl, is a youthful criminal mastermind fixated on restoring his family's fortune. But as his plans to hold hostage a magical creature for ransom, he runs into some truly magical problems. Readers will laugh and gasp as they progress through the story which offers a surplus of comedy and drama. This book is great for young minds all the way up to adulthood. The excitement of this book will have you turning the page just as well as the delightful and diverse characters will. If you love adventure with a spike of magic or a pinch of Science Fiction, Artemis Fowl is for you.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    Grea Grrrrreeeaatt!!!!!!!

    This book is one of the best books I've read in a while.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2012

    Awesome

    Get this book!

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2011

    ???!

    Is this the first book in the series?

    4 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2011

    awful

    this book was so boring, i couldn't even finish it. i love to read but when i was reading this book i would rather do anything but read. the only reason i gave it a star is because i have to.

    4 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2008

    HORRIBLE! WHAT KIND OF FANTASY WRITING IS THIS?

    I came to this series looking for a good Sci Fi/Fantasy series. I failed. I read the first 150 pages knowing it will just get worse! Colfer cannot write good fantasy characters like Derek Benz, Brandon Mull, JS Lewis, Jenny Nimmo, etc. This book is barely readable even when Artemis is in. Horrible style of writing. DO NOT read this book!

    3 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1469 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 74