Customer Reviews for

Artemis Fowl

Average Rating 4.5
( 1414 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(874)

4 Star

(302)

3 Star

(118)

2 Star

(45)

1 Star

(75)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

59 out of 65 people found this review helpful.

Really good book

I didn't expect it to be so good. Great story with colorful characters. Liked it a lot and days later I still hadn't forgotten it, nor have the kids. Have recommended it to everyone.

posted by Julie_Price on August 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

20 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

I love this Book

Ok, so I'm a 16 year old girl who's definitely read a lot. I read on a lot of different levels, adult, YA, and I read this book awhile back when I was maybe 10 or 11. Once thing I can say is that I can still read this book and like it a lot, however, the difference betw...
Ok, so I'm a 16 year old girl who's definitely read a lot. I read on a lot of different levels, adult, YA, and I read this book awhile back when I was maybe 10 or 11. Once thing I can say is that I can still read this book and like it a lot, however, the difference between this book and Harry Potter, I think, is simply that it's even more for children than Harry Potter is. I'm not sure if adults would enjoy this book, AND, if I'd never read the book when I was younger I'm not sure if I'd like it that much.
For any younger children who want to read it, I don't think it's a book for reluctant readers (I tried to get my 10 year old brother to read it but he was intimidated by the length and how it was kind of confusing for him.)
Also, someone else on here recommended the book Incarceron and although I agree that's a great book, Incarceron is a YA book and Artemis Fowl is directed at children, so of course Incarceron will be a lot more appealing to older readers.
Overall, I think this is a great book for tweens who like to read fantasy. (And, you either love or hate the arrogance of Artemis Fowl. I personally loved it lol.)

posted by StephLovesToRead on January 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1424 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 72
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2004

    Boring and Confusing at it's best

    I thought this book was confusing and boring, but if you like science fiction/fantasy a lot I think you will enjoy it. If you don't then don't give it a chance...

    3 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2003

    Great Book!

    I loved this book! It has tons of action and some adventure. Even though some of the book is slow it is still great! If you liked this you would definatly ove the 007 novels. Like Moonraker by Ian Fleming.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2003

    One of the Best!

    Artemis Fowl is almost the evil twin of Harry Potter. Instead of wanting to become friends with fairies and Leprechauns, he's after their gold for his own personal enjoyment. Artemis is suave, cunning, and smart all around. He knows what he's doing and how to do it(even if mistakes come along). This book does become slow at the beginning, but it will grab on to you until you finish the book. THis was a great book and if I had to describe it in one word it would be "Smart".

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2012

    This rating is regarding most of the 1 star ratings.  PLEASE tel

    This rating is regarding most of the 1 star ratings.  PLEASE tell us WHY you rate this book 1 star.  Why even bother writing a review only to say 'boring read'.  Really?  That tells us nothing except perhaps that the reviewer did not have the mental capacity to actually read the book and write a coherent review.  

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2012

    Spanish?

    Does this mean the book is written in Spanish????

    2 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2012

    Clean, engaging story

    I was apprehensive about this book because the title character is a devious teenage thief who doesn't care at all about others. I worried that the book would glorify those traits. I was pleasantly surprised. this is written at about a fourth or fifth grade level. The main character is, surprisingly, somewhat sympathetic. The book is clean, without any language, and is engaging. I found myself interested in the storyline, without worrying about my children reading anything inappropriate. I appreciate books like this.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    Spanish

    Is the book in spanish or french because when i was reading the over view it was not in english.

    2 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A good book for any kid

    I started this series in middle school. Now I'm in college, and STILL read the new books as they come out...cause I HAVE to know how everyone ends up. The first book is an introduction, a bit slow to start, but don't let that stop you. Once the story gets going, and more characters are revealed and fleshed out into detail, you just have to keep going. The series is great for any middle schooler interested in reading more for fun, boy or girl, especially if they are into Scifi or fantasy. This series is occasionally funny, and in particular has some really cool villains later on. I would reccommend to any kid from 8 to 17.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A villain worth rooting for

    I first saw this on a shelf a couple years back and was intrigued by it but hadn't picked it up to read it until my 8 year old insisted that it was an awesome story and that I'd love it. So, with him continually asking how I liked it, I read Artemis Fowl.

    When asked by my wife about the plot, my best quick answer was that it is sort of an "evil Richie Rich carrying out a dastardly scheme against the world of fairies." (For those unfamiliar with Richie Rich, he's the super rich kid with tons of fun gadgets and crazy adventures to save his family/friends/world). In this case, the rich kid is 12-year-old Artemis Fowl, and his motives are less altruistic.

    Overall, I enjoyed Colfer's unimaginative tale and found it a fun and enjoyable read. One of the violent fight scenes (the main one) and a handful of (human) swear words, make me a little uneasy about letting my kids read the rest of the series unsupervised (historically, series books tend to get grittier as they go on), but I'm definitely willing, and in fact intrigued enough, to pick up book two and read it myself and then possibly hand it on to my kids.

    With so many similar books flooding the market lately, I don't see this necessarily becoming a classic to endure for decades or beyond. But it's worth picking up and taking a glance at for a bit of escapism and it's a fun adventure that kids will enjoy as well.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Jennifer Wardrip, aka "The Genius" for TeensReadToo.com

    I've been trying to find a new series to hold me over until the next Harry Potter book--and I've finally found it. Meet Artemis Fowl the Second, a twelve-year old genius who doesn't want to go to school, is worried about his mother's fragile mental health, is preoccupied with his father coming back from the dead, and who is determined to add to his family's coffers by any means possible. In a word, Artemis is an evil genius, and you just can't help but love him. Or hate him. Or love to hate him. Or hate to love him. Or...well, you get the picture. <BR/><BR/>Artemis, along with his bodyguard/manservant/butler ironically named, of all things, Butler, Artemis sets out on his greatest, and most ambitious, scheme to date--discover the secrets of the fairy world, and relieve some of said fairies of their precious gold. After all, they have plenty to spare, and after Artemis Fowl the First lost a vast majority of their fortune, the Fowl family needs to pad the coffers. <BR/><BR/>So off Artemis sets on a world jaunt to discover the secrets of the fairies, and his ambitions and delusions finally pay off--he meets an alcoholic sprite who, in exchange for the return of her magic, lets Artemis get a good look at her Book. The Book, you see, contains all the mandates, rules, and regulations (along with a slew of secrets) of the fairy world--and now Artemis Fowl is able to hatch his nefarious scheme. <BR/><BR/>Artemis discovers that the fairies must adhere to very specific rituals to renew their powers, so along with Butler, he sets out on a stakeout to catch himself a fairy. Hoping, of course, that he can hold said fairy for ransom in exchange for some gold. <BR/><BR/>What Artemis didn't include in his calculations, however, was Captain Holly Short. A member of the LEPrecon Unit, Holly, although a small sprite, is very human looking--and can be extrememely wily and dangerous. As Artemis implements his evil plan, Holly uses her own military-type background to hatch her own plan of escape. The results are both disastrous and hilarious. <BR/><BR/>I read ARTEMIS FOWL in one sitting. Once you get started on this story of the human world of the Mud People mixing with that of the magical beings who live below ground, you just can't stop! The magical quality of the book is that it is all too believable--and so much fun! You envy Artemis his brilliance at the same time you can't believe how undenianably evil he is. You pity him, and you despise him. As for Holly Short, you love the fairy, admire her tenacity, yet hope at the same time that she spares the lives of Artemis, Butler, and Butler's sister, Juliet. I have to admit that I loved Foaly, the centaur in charge of computers and technical equipment. Actually, I loved ALL the characters of ARTEMIS FOWL, and can't wait to read the next book! Pick up a copy today!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2005

    BORING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I had to read this book for school. It was like torture!! It was stupid, and made no sense whatsoever. Some of the people who I talked to said that it was hard and confusing, but the only thing I found that was hard about it was keeping my eyes open. If I could I would give this a negative 11 out of 10. DO NOT READ THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2014

    QUESTION: VERY IMPORTANT

    Is this book in SPANISH or ENGLISH?! Because the summary is in Spanish. If you know PLEASE respond back to Tallia. Thank You

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Sorry accidentally posted too early

    This series was amazing. I love how you are put in a world with fairies but instead of it beeing the old times it is very futuristic. Great series again. This is a must read to anyone into sci fi.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2013

    Tode

    Cool.......... dont undersstand a word.........

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    Hellow

    Hello

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2013

    Excellent book

    Excellent book but the summary is in italian while the book is english.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    Angeled part 1.

    Im just a ordinary girl, ya know, that live with her dad and is homeschooled in A rincky-dink island in the middle of nowhere. I bet your thinking, "ya right!" Well, its true! Me and my dad are just plain old people who oneday will die and go to heaven blah blah blah. But i was wrong, my life isnt normal because one day, i found a cave. You're probably thinking, "well it is just a cave, whats so important?" Well, before i get to that... let me tell you 'bout me. My name is Cindra (sounds like sin-dra) and im twelve with red hair and (dont worry im not a vampire or anything) red eyes. Ya, creepy right?. Well, back to the cave... it was the first i saw, i walked into it and fell into a slide. Weee! Right? Not! It was very fast and very dark. When it ended, i was launched over a pool of water. I closed my eyes, because i thaught i would hit the wall. I didnt. So i opened my eyes and i was suspended over the pool of water then i looked up, the full moon was above me, and once it passed overhead i fell into the water. I found a opening and swam out i was on the west side of the island, i swam to shore and went home and fell asleep.| When i woke up it was night time. I went to change into pjs but when i took of my shirt then put on my jamms... there where wings, not the fairy kind, but the angel kind. I gasped and looked at my wings with awe, i knew dad would call police, so i got every pece of clothing packed in a backpack(i dont have alot) and also put the meatal 'stick' my dad gave me for my birthday and put it in there too. Then i flew of to the mainland.| Is Cindra ok and is her choise to go to the mainland a good one? What is that meatal stick? Find out in angeled part 2 which will be posted in Armetis fowl, the artic insadent.| Do you want to be Cindra's freind? At the artic insadent, write your name, age, state Cindra will meat you in and if you want to be a jedi or demigod(dont ask why, it's a saprise! Its awsome!) If you are a demigod, you have to tell me your wepon and godly parent. You also have to put your eye and hair color. Thanks for reading! -AOA

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Awesome!!!!!

    This is better than most series i have read so far. Harry potter is less catchy and creative. Artemis's attitude is awesome. And how the author writes the story all efects it. In this case , in a good way.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    High Tech

    This was truly a great book. There were some big words that probably people under 7 wouldn't understand but it is a great 8-16 year old book. There were lots of technological terms and it was cool that fairies ad better technology than the humans. I would really recomend this book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    Favorite

    Read the series until the end. I loved it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1424 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 72