Customer Reviews for

Artemis Fowl

Average Rating 4.5
( 1446 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(898)

4 Star

(304)

3 Star

(119)

2 Star

(46)

1 Star

(79)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

63 out of 71 people found this review helpful.

Really good book

I didn't expect it to be so good. Great story with colorful characters. Liked it a lot and days later I still hadn't forgotten it, nor have the kids. Have recommended it to everyone.

posted by Julie_Price on August 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

21 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

I love this Book

Ok, so I'm a 16 year old girl who's definitely read a lot. I read on a lot of different levels, adult, YA, and I read this book awhile back when I was maybe 10 or 11. Once thing I can say is that I can still read this book and like it a lot, however, the difference betw...
Ok, so I'm a 16 year old girl who's definitely read a lot. I read on a lot of different levels, adult, YA, and I read this book awhile back when I was maybe 10 or 11. Once thing I can say is that I can still read this book and like it a lot, however, the difference between this book and Harry Potter, I think, is simply that it's even more for children than Harry Potter is. I'm not sure if adults would enjoy this book, AND, if I'd never read the book when I was younger I'm not sure if I'd like it that much.
For any younger children who want to read it, I don't think it's a book for reluctant readers (I tried to get my 10 year old brother to read it but he was intimidated by the length and how it was kind of confusing for him.)
Also, someone else on here recommended the book Incarceron and although I agree that's a great book, Incarceron is a YA book and Artemis Fowl is directed at children, so of course Incarceron will be a lot more appealing to older readers.
Overall, I think this is a great book for tweens who like to read fantasy. (And, you either love or hate the arrogance of Artemis Fowl. I personally loved it lol.)

posted by StephLovesToRead on January 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 119 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted May 19, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A good book for any kid

    I started this series in middle school. Now I'm in college, and STILL read the new books as they come out...cause I HAVE to know how everyone ends up. The first book is an introduction, a bit slow to start, but don't let that stop you. Once the story gets going, and more characters are revealed and fleshed out into detail, you just have to keep going. The series is great for any middle schooler interested in reading more for fun, boy or girl, especially if they are into Scifi or fantasy. This series is occasionally funny, and in particular has some really cool villains later on. I would reccommend to any kid from 8 to 17.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A villain worth rooting for

    I first saw this on a shelf a couple years back and was intrigued by it but hadn't picked it up to read it until my 8 year old insisted that it was an awesome story and that I'd love it. So, with him continually asking how I liked it, I read Artemis Fowl.

    When asked by my wife about the plot, my best quick answer was that it is sort of an "evil Richie Rich carrying out a dastardly scheme against the world of fairies." (For those unfamiliar with Richie Rich, he's the super rich kid with tons of fun gadgets and crazy adventures to save his family/friends/world). In this case, the rich kid is 12-year-old Artemis Fowl, and his motives are less altruistic.

    Overall, I enjoyed Colfer's unimaginative tale and found it a fun and enjoyable read. One of the violent fight scenes (the main one) and a handful of (human) swear words, make me a little uneasy about letting my kids read the rest of the series unsupervised (historically, series books tend to get grittier as they go on), but I'm definitely willing, and in fact intrigued enough, to pick up book two and read it myself and then possibly hand it on to my kids.

    With so many similar books flooding the market lately, I don't see this necessarily becoming a classic to endure for decades or beyond. But it's worth picking up and taking a glance at for a bit of escapism and it's a fun adventure that kids will enjoy as well.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2008

    Not Bad...

    I have mixed feelings about this book, while it was entertaining and did a good job of creating a unique fantasy world its still lacking something i can't quite put my finger on. I bought the other books in this series because they all had fantastic reviews so i'm hoping i don't regret it. All in all, not so bad but not great either.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2008

    Kickoff... okay

    The Artemis Fowl Series begins with the title character capturing a fairy to try and get a code. The series introduced the characters well, but grew a little dull after a little. The next two were probably better when it came to excellence.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2003

    Artemis Fowl........Intriguing or Wannabe Harry Potter

    Artemis Fowl is a pretty good book. I mean what can I say? It didn¿t read it in one day like I did with Harry Potter, but it was a good book to read overall. The book mixes action, adventure, faeries, and evil plots as Artemis Fowl, and spunky Holly Short battle against each other in a war of mind games and fortune. While reading the book, I thought it was a little slow at times. But when you got to the good part it got better and was hard to stop reading. That is until the author starting talking about dwarf gas, which was pretty disgusting. But in the end the book was fun to read and made you think about how Artemis is so smart and how Holly is so determined. The main character, Artemis Fowl, is a boy of about 12 years of age. He decides to give up on his father¿s disappearance and is saddened by his mother going insane. He then unmasks a plot to uncover the secret, underground world of ¿the People¿ or in other words, faeries. Artemis, who is mostly brains, is assisted with his manservant Butler who is mainly brawns. Together, they make a good time and kidnap a young elf named Holly Short, who works for Leprechaun or faerie police. Holly is a pawn in Artemis¿s plan to steal faerie gold making his family once again rich criminals. But the faeries fight back in order to return their main officer (Holly) back to safety. But while both sides have their strengths and their weaknesses, in the end only one side can win. I liked the way the characters where so easy to relate with. Everybody knows how red their parent¿s faces get when they are hopping mad, and they know the determination one can get when really, really trying for something. I also found it kind of funny how the movies depict faeries, and how the book depicts them. In movies, faeries are sweet, angelic creatures that grant wishes and can do no harm. But in the book, faeries are just like people today. They smoke, get drunk, and swear. Quite a lot actually. And while their home is underground, they still have criminals, gangs, and people who don¿t obey traffic laws. First time author Eoin Colfer does a great job in describing the little details that make this story a good one to read. I am a big fan of the Harry Potter series and this book is a great book to pick up while waiting for the 5th book to come out. And, Colfer just released two more books in this series so readers will have even more to look forward too as they wonder what happens to Artemis, Butler, Commander Root, Holly Short, and the other characters that make this book pretty much a good read. But it doesn¿t really have a chance against other big time novels such as Harry Potter like I already mentioned and The Lord of the Rings. So in conclusion, Artemis Fowl is a pretty good pick for the fantasy reader.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2003

    Read me

    Artemis Fowl is about a young boy who is a criminal mastermind, the world he lives in, is full of trolls, elves, and fairies. His goal is to do the impossible-steal fairy gold. Eoin Colfer¿s way to get you into the character is great! The way she started off the book was key to the plot by showing you what kind of person Artemis Fowl is. The world that Artemis Fowl lives in is basically the same as ours, but there are trolls, fairies, and elves. The trolls live underground, humans live above, and fairies live in both. The way all the characters are described reminded me of The Lost Years of Merlin, witch also had many, many different kinds of creatures. In the process of reading this, I was thinking of today and hostage situations when Holly Short is kidnapped. The only way to get her out was to pay up to the LEP officers. To find out if it works, read the book. Once I started the book, I could not let go of it. The more I read, the more I wanted to read. You need to be a good reader to understand the book, and also believe you could live in a world like Artemis Fowl live in. The tools I used reading were: visual so you could get in to the story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2002

    Understandable?

    This book started out pretty good but when it got to the middle it was hard to understand until I was on the last couple of chapters when artemis had found the book and had used some of the magic powers. Over all the book was really good and I recomend this book to you people that like that fantacy or magic books

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2002

    Good!

    A strong 3 stars! This is a story about a 12-year old who wants to steal a leprecaun. Artemis Fowl is good for the most part but not as good as others.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2001

    A bit of a disappointment

    Artemis Fowl is a variation on Professor Moriarity from the Sherlock Holmes stories. The comparison between the two is made within the book, so the similarity is intentional. Artemis is conceived as a twelve-year-old since this is a book for young adults. Miramax must be planning a movie, and have had something to do with the publication of the book. I suppose they are trying to jump on the Harry Potter/Lord of the Rings bandwagon, but this book suffers greatly by comparison. The richness of detail and character one gets with Tolkein's books, and the clever plots and characters in the Harry Potter books are all missing here. All books depend for their richness of texture on the author's experience of the world, its people, history and literature. This author has his tank too full of Hollywood action movies and Saturday morning cartoons. His 'code' that runs along the bottom of each page was clever and well done, but I translated about twenty lines of it, and it was incredibly boring. To anyone who's translated all of it, does it get better?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2001

    Try it

    Acctualy i would give this book three and a half stars. All though this books charaters are slightly unbelivable (I mean, come on, a twelve year old who has unlimmited technology and a body guard? i don't think so!) It is a great cross between fantasy and hostage/rescue mission. The idea behind the book is good and its a great one to curl up with on a rainy day with. It is a short read but if you love fairys, gnomes, slightly crude humor, and hostile take over with a 'good' cause behind it you should love this book!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2014

    No it's Italian

    This book is in Italian

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2013

    Is the book in english because the description is not

    ? Do not go by my stars ive never read the book yet

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    Spanish

    Is it in spanish

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Good beginning to a series

    Glad someone told me about this series. It is one I can read with my kids.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    ?... ???

    Why is it in a different language (nook front page advertisemant)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2012

    Not in spanish

    Read the sample this is not in spanish

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2012

    IS THE BOOK IN SPAINISH

    IS IT CAUSE THE THING IS IN A LAUNGWEGE I DON'T KNOW HIW TI READ!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2012

    ITS IN ENGLISH

    Its in english when you buy it dont worry

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    What lengwige is it someone give me a strate anser

    Need to know if its in english

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2012

    ok

    this book is ok. good for young readers who love fantasy.
    i dont reccomend to any harry potter or percy jackson fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 119 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6