Customer Reviews for

Artemis Fowl; The Arctic Incident

Average Rating 4.5
( 620 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(404)

4 Star

(134)

3 Star

(61)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

29 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by Jennifer Wardrip, aka "The Genius" for TeensReadToo.com

I didn't discover the delight that is the Artemis Fowl series until a week ago, when I read ARTEMIS FOWL in one day. So, of course, I had to pick up a copy of THE ARCTIC INCIDENT right away, to see if it was as good as the first. It definitely is, and in my own humble o...
I didn't discover the delight that is the Artemis Fowl series until a week ago, when I read ARTEMIS FOWL in one day. So, of course, I had to pick up a copy of THE ARCTIC INCIDENT right away, to see if it was as good as the first. It definitely is, and in my own humble opinion, I think I liked it even better than the first book. There are points throughout the book where Artemis, now thirteen, shows a softer, more vulnerable side that I truly enjoyed. Don't get me wrong, he's still an evil genius, but he's an evil genius with heart, and you can't help but love him.

Now that Angeline Fowl is out of her depression, thanks to some fairy magic from Captain Holly Short, she's sent Artemis back to Saint Bartelby's School for Young Gentlemen in Ireland. Artemis is having quite a large amount of fun flumoxing the school's counselor, Dr. Po, when he gets an urgent message from Butler, his bodyguard/butler/majordomo--it seems that Artemis Fowl the First is alive in Russia, being held for ransom by the Russian Mafiya.

Young Artemis, of course, immediately sets out to devise a scheme to rescue his father. It's been almost two years since Artemis Senior was last heard from, and his son is most eager to bring him home. Before he can work out a devious scheme, though, he's visited by none other than Captain Short and her superior, Commander Root, and brought down to Haven City and into Police Plaza. It seems the goblin triad, the B'Wa Kell, have a human counterpart aiding in their smuggling, and Artemis the Second is, quite justly I believe, suspected of being that human.

The fairies soon realize, however, that this time Artemis Fowl isn't the bad guy in this problem. But now they'd like Artemis and Butler's help in figuring out who is behind the allaince between the goblins and the Mud Men--and Artemis is quite willing to help them out, in exchange for the fairies help in rescuing his father.

What follows is an action-packed story of good versus evil below ground, with deceptions, backstabbing, and revenge taking center stage. As Holly, Root, Butler, and Artemis race to save Haven City from being destroyed, some of the same characters from the first book make appearances--Foaly, Mulch Diggums, Cudgeon, and Captain Trouble. There's also a new foe in THE ARCTIC INCIDENT, Opal Koboi, to be dealt with.

I highly recommend the ARTEMIS FOWL series to anyone and everyone. Highly enjoyable, thoroughly entertaining, and not soon forgotten.

posted by TeensReadToo on October 26, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Not worth it.

In sixth grade I had to do a book report on this. I didnt even finish it. This is coming from a girl who read the whole harry potter series in a week. I am an avid reader and I get very obsessive over every book I read. However, this book had a terrible first chapter, I...
In sixth grade I had to do a book report on this. I didnt even finish it. This is coming from a girl who read the whole harry potter series in a week. I am an avid reader and I get very obsessive over every book I read. However, this book had a terrible first chapter, I trudged through it like it was a jail sentence. Ive tried reading it over again, every time with the same result. This author has written anither book called half moon. That book is more worth your time. Dont waste your money on this boring abomination to literature.

posted by 9514243 on July 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 627 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 32
  • Posted October 26, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Jennifer Wardrip, aka "The Genius" for TeensReadToo.com

    I didn't discover the delight that is the Artemis Fowl series until a week ago, when I read ARTEMIS FOWL in one day. So, of course, I had to pick up a copy of THE ARCTIC INCIDENT right away, to see if it was as good as the first. It definitely is, and in my own humble opinion, I think I liked it even better than the first book. There are points throughout the book where Artemis, now thirteen, shows a softer, more vulnerable side that I truly enjoyed. Don't get me wrong, he's still an evil genius, but he's an evil genius with heart, and you can't help but love him. <BR/><BR/>Now that Angeline Fowl is out of her depression, thanks to some fairy magic from Captain Holly Short, she's sent Artemis back to Saint Bartelby's School for Young Gentlemen in Ireland. Artemis is having quite a large amount of fun flumoxing the school's counselor, Dr. Po, when he gets an urgent message from Butler, his bodyguard/butler/majordomo--it seems that Artemis Fowl the First is alive in Russia, being held for ransom by the Russian Mafiya. <BR/><BR/>Young Artemis, of course, immediately sets out to devise a scheme to rescue his father. It's been almost two years since Artemis Senior was last heard from, and his son is most eager to bring him home. Before he can work out a devious scheme, though, he's visited by none other than Captain Short and her superior, Commander Root, and brought down to Haven City and into Police Plaza. It seems the goblin triad, the B'Wa Kell, have a human counterpart aiding in their smuggling, and Artemis the Second is, quite justly I believe, suspected of being that human. <BR/><BR/>The fairies soon realize, however, that this time Artemis Fowl isn't the bad guy in this problem. But now they'd like Artemis and Butler's help in figuring out who is behind the allaince between the goblins and the Mud Men--and Artemis is quite willing to help them out, in exchange for the fairies help in rescuing his father. <BR/><BR/>What follows is an action-packed story of good versus evil below ground, with deceptions, backstabbing, and revenge taking center stage. As Holly, Root, Butler, and Artemis race to save Haven City from being destroyed, some of the same characters from the first book make appearances--Foaly, Mulch Diggums, Cudgeon, and Captain Trouble. There's also a new foe in THE ARCTIC INCIDENT, Opal Koboi, to be dealt with. <BR/><BR/>I highly recommend the ARTEMIS FOWL series to anyone and everyone. Highly enjoyable, thoroughly entertaining, and not soon forgotten.

    29 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Book was amazing. read it twice

    Book was amazing. read it twice

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2011

    He's done it again!

    Eoin Colfer has enlightened me with another one of his amazing novels. My heart was pounding with excitement by the 3rd chapter. i highly recommend the entire a.f. series.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2009

    Be Ye Entertained

    A year ago the child prot&#233;g&#233; Artemis Fowl took on the fairy underworld in a plot to restore his family fortune. This plot put the lives of his mother, his bodyguard, and all that was dear to him. But that was then and this is now. Artemis is a year older and has promise to go on the strait and narrow. He enrolled in one of Ireland's most premier colleges and now uses his talents to drive the psychologist to the brink of insanity. He almost put his greatest secrets behind him. The fairy people. He almost became normal. Well, as normal as a thirteen year old genius can be. But things don't stay the same for long.

    But one email is all it takes. It acted like a drop of water on a still pond. A simple email sent ripples in the once calm waters of his life. His father had been found. But getting would be no easy task. The Russian Mafia had gotten to him. At the same time the LEP (a fairy police unit) was doing a routine check-up on an abandon tunnel when they were attacked by goblins armed with illegal weapons. But that's not the bad part. They were powered by human batteries. So they naturally assumed that it was the only human who knew about the People's existence, Artemis Fowl.

    The fairy people capture Artemis and his massive bodyguard named Butler and takes them underground for a typical police integration. They find him innocent but are left with a problem; whose behind this. Artemis decides to help them; but there's a catch. He wants their help getting his father back. After a major break in the case they send Butler to France to investigate a suspect. While Butler is in France they trace the email and get everything ready to go. In Russia everything goes wrong and when they go back underground everything's different.

    This amazing work of literary art is well written and will capture the imaginations of readers young and old. It is a captivating book for readers of all ages. You will be drawn into the story by the truly unique writing style of The New York Times Best-selling author Eoin Colfer. This book is full of twists and turns from the beginning to end. Even some of the most hard to please and easily board reader will be delighted by this masterpiece. And if you're very lucky you may find some similarities between you and him. Will Artemis save his father; read the book to find out.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2012

    GO ARTEMIS

    If it were possible i'd rate this book 10000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000 stars

    8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2012

    Storyguy

    I loved this one pretty good but not for five stars

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    V V V agreed

    I completely agree with whoever posted that post about the person who posted the end. I am also a HUGE lover of artimis fowl and wa dissapointed when that person posted that. I will be sure to NEVER post the end of a book on here ever.

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2002

    !Simply Smashing!

    This book is a fabulous sequel to the first book by Colfer. It is in my opinion that these two books should be continued in a series, not like the Harry Potter ones, that will end with a seventh book for his last year of schooling, but as a continueing series. I feel that if Colfer decided to make thses books into a series, he should continue out the Fowl family name and criminal activities. Though this is my personal opinion, I feel that anyone who has read both of the Artemis Fowl books, which I highly recommend, and truely enjoyed them, would agree with me.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2012

    Read!!!!!!!!!!

    This book has quite a plot. Artemis fowl is a must read. I stay up every night till one a.m.reafing a book a day. Warning:once you dtart reafing you get obsessed"!!!!! I lovee it

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    H

    Great

    4 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    Boyboy 22

    Another great book with af

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    You should buy it. No doubt about it. A.F. series is awesome. This was my favorite book in the series.

    Awesome series!¿!¿!¿! ;)

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Arctic Incident

    This 2nd installment of boy genius Artemis Fowl has more action. And has deeper schemes. Now that Artemis' mother is back to lucidity, he is now adjusting to whbat is supposed to be normal. It was such a laugh when he used his vast knowledge about psychology to threw off his counselor. I think Artemis' teaming up with the LEP is too soon, I imagined that they would have more encounter as enemies first insteadof this. But then again authors have such wit on plotting. And again such big words for the 6th grader, which I think is good, now they'll get to use the dictionary more often while reading this. LOL. Also this hero needs to learn kung-fu or something, too much brain without any combat skills tend to get boring. Now that Artemis' dad has been rescued and fortunate alive, how will Artemis manage? I cannot wait for more of his adventures. And for the maturity of his character, and then I can really call him dangerous.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Artemis is a genius criminal mastermind. The way he talks, it's

    Artemis is a genius criminal mastermind. The way he talks, it's hard sometimes to tell that he's own twelve. However, there are still signs: his single-minded obsessions to restore the Fowl family’s status, his willingness to believe in faeries, and his devotion towards his mother. With his imagination and genius, Artemis possesses the power to do one thing no Mud Man (human) has ever done before: wrangle faeries into parting with some of their precious gold.

    His greatest obstacle to achieving his goal comes in the unlikely heroine Captain Holly Short. The first female member of Recon, Holly continuously gets into trouble despite being one of Root's best subordinates. To her dismay, he expects much more of her than other members, though she eventually learns that he means the best. She has a colorful nature and will never fail to amuse readers with her smart aleck comments.

    I was delighted when the two came to work together in book two. Both characters are brilliant and outstanding in their respective fields, and both have charismatic personalities that command attention from those around them, both in their world and outside (the readers). I enjoyed seeing the two reconciliate with each other (over Artemis's schemes from book one). They are formidable as enemies but even more so when they combine their brains and firepower.

    Artemis Fowl’s dark brilliance and criminal exploits will leave you hankering for the next installment in the series. With his wit and great sense of humor, Colfer brings to readers of all ages a genius antihero, futuristic technology, mind games, and a bit of magic.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2012

    Better

    Better than the first in every way

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2012

    Not worth it.

    In sixth grade I had to do a book report on this. I didnt even finish it. This is coming from a girl who read the whole harry potter series in a week. I am an avid reader and I get very obsessive over every book I read. However, this book had a terrible first chapter, I trudged through it like it was a jail sentence. Ive tried reading it over again, every time with the same result. This author has written anither book called half moon. That book is more worth your time. Dont waste your money on this boring abomination to literature.

    3 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    LOVE! : )

    THIS BOOK IS AWESOME! Exept for when Holly lost her
    finger... anyways, READ THIS!!!!!!!!!!!!!! : ) + ; )

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2014

    Colfer does it again!

    Another great book! I couldn't stop reading it, it was so good! There are new characters,a new plot, and much more Artemis!-Richie age ten

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    Artemis Fowl rating

    The twelve-year old criminal mastermind is back! Back at school, that is. In Artemis Fowl, the book is jam-packed with adventure, action, and a little gore. Fairies, trolls, centaurs, and radiation and bombs are not generally associated with each other. Fairies, trolls, centaurs, and criminals aren't either. Artemis Fowl is a must read for kids 12+, teens, adults, and elders! No matter your age, Artemis Fowl will please you, make you cringe or cry, all at the same time! You have to read this book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    Anonymous

    I WOULD RATE THIS IF I COULD 1000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 627 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 32