Customer Reviews for

Artemis Fowl; The Arctic Incident

Average Rating 4.5
( 615 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(401)

4 Star

(134)

3 Star

(60)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

28 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by Jennifer Wardrip, aka "The Genius" for TeensReadToo.com

I didn't discover the delight that is the Artemis Fowl series until a week ago, when I read ARTEMIS FOWL in one day. So, of course, I had to pick up a copy of THE ARCTIC INCIDENT right away, to see if it was as good as the first. It definitely is, and in my own humble o...
I didn't discover the delight that is the Artemis Fowl series until a week ago, when I read ARTEMIS FOWL in one day. So, of course, I had to pick up a copy of THE ARCTIC INCIDENT right away, to see if it was as good as the first. It definitely is, and in my own humble opinion, I think I liked it even better than the first book. There are points throughout the book where Artemis, now thirteen, shows a softer, more vulnerable side that I truly enjoyed. Don't get me wrong, he's still an evil genius, but he's an evil genius with heart, and you can't help but love him.

Now that Angeline Fowl is out of her depression, thanks to some fairy magic from Captain Holly Short, she's sent Artemis back to Saint Bartelby's School for Young Gentlemen in Ireland. Artemis is having quite a large amount of fun flumoxing the school's counselor, Dr. Po, when he gets an urgent message from Butler, his bodyguard/butler/majordomo--it seems that Artemis Fowl the First is alive in Russia, being held for ransom by the Russian Mafiya.

Young Artemis, of course, immediately sets out to devise a scheme to rescue his father. It's been almost two years since Artemis Senior was last heard from, and his son is most eager to bring him home. Before he can work out a devious scheme, though, he's visited by none other than Captain Short and her superior, Commander Root, and brought down to Haven City and into Police Plaza. It seems the goblin triad, the B'Wa Kell, have a human counterpart aiding in their smuggling, and Artemis the Second is, quite justly I believe, suspected of being that human.

The fairies soon realize, however, that this time Artemis Fowl isn't the bad guy in this problem. But now they'd like Artemis and Butler's help in figuring out who is behind the allaince between the goblins and the Mud Men--and Artemis is quite willing to help them out, in exchange for the fairies help in rescuing his father.

What follows is an action-packed story of good versus evil below ground, with deceptions, backstabbing, and revenge taking center stage. As Holly, Root, Butler, and Artemis race to save Haven City from being destroyed, some of the same characters from the first book make appearances--Foaly, Mulch Diggums, Cudgeon, and Captain Trouble. There's also a new foe in THE ARCTIC INCIDENT, Opal Koboi, to be dealt with.

I highly recommend the ARTEMIS FOWL series to anyone and everyone. Highly enjoyable, thoroughly entertaining, and not soon forgotten.

posted by TeensReadToo on October 26, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Not worth it.

In sixth grade I had to do a book report on this. I didnt even finish it. This is coming from a girl who read the whole harry potter series in a week. I am an avid reader and I get very obsessive over every book I read. However, this book had a terrible first chapter, I...
In sixth grade I had to do a book report on this. I didnt even finish it. This is coming from a girl who read the whole harry potter series in a week. I am an avid reader and I get very obsessive over every book I read. However, this book had a terrible first chapter, I trudged through it like it was a jail sentence. Ive tried reading it over again, every time with the same result. This author has written anither book called half moon. That book is more worth your time. Dont waste your money on this boring abomination to literature.

posted by 9514243 on July 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 134 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2007

    Artemis Fowl

    Artemis Fowl: the Arctic Incident is an odd book. I think I would have enjoyed it more, had i read the whole saga, but it was good none the less. My uncle bought me it because he liked it, and it was Harry Potter esque. Over all it was a good book. I would definately read it again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2007

    A Shocking Revelation

    Artemis Fowl, a boy of twelve and the youngest criminal mastermind in the world, is still searching for his father, who strangely disappeared after his ship sank around the Artic Circle. Artemis has long since endeavored his many attempts to find his father, but all in vain. One day, however, a mysterious message is discovered and shown to the young heir. The message is encrypetd in a video file, and filled with static. However, Artemis can just barely make out a man in his middle ages, wearing a torn siut and sitting in a chair in thesnow. Engraved on the skin of the man's neck are the Russian words 'Hello, son.' Just as the camera begins to focus in on the man's face, the clip ends, and Artemis is left baffled. Could this be his father he has been searching so long for? Butler, Artemis's bodyguard, and Holly, a fairy who is a renound LEPrecon officer, assist Artemis in his new quest to find his Father. Holly, however, is only accompanying Artemis to discover who is supplying the goblins (the fairies' enemies) with tactical weaponry. She reluctantly agrees to help him should he help her in her plan to solve this mysterious case. Filled with action, suspense, and mystery, this additon in the Artemis Fowl series is truly one of the most interesting one in the series. I highly recommend this book to anyone who likes magic and mystery combined.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2006

    Not the best book but still good

    After reading this book three times. I like it way more than the first time i read it. the reason i say its not his best work. Eion Colfer concentrates more on the ferries than on Artemis.. A small 'no no' but still satisfies Artemis fans...recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2006

    A worthy follow-up to the first - maybe even better

    First off, the reason I didn't give this book 5 stars is because I think in order for a book to get five stars it has to be mindblowingly exceptional. This book is great, but not mind blowingly exceptional... SUMMARY: Artemis is at boarding being bombarded with questions by the thearepist Mr. Po, when Artemis's bodygaurd, Butler, gets an email that shows Artemis's Long lost father is most likely alive.........Meanwhile, underground in the fairy world goblins are causing trouble and LEP knows someone is behind this mess, goblins are too stupid to plot this well. LEP realizes it's only chance to find the culprit is to team up with it's rival, Artemis Fowl... Colfer once again delivers a tale that will keep you on the edge of your seat. If you like books at all it wont take you long to finsh this book. No matter where you are if the book is with you, you'll want to read it......The second I finished this book all Iwanted to do was get Artemis Fowl: The Eternity Code, not because the ending was unfinished but because it was such a good book I wanted more.... don't listen to The review that says this book sucks, It's a lie. Read this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2006

    Artemis Fowl: The Arctic Incident

    The book I am reviewing is The Arctic Incident by Eoin Colfer. I think this book deserves four stars because it was an exciting book. This book is about a boy genius names Artemis Fowl. He is the only human that knows about fairies. His father has been missing for years. He finally gets a message that says the mafia has his father. Some fairies and him go to rescue him, but their mission is cut short. They need to save the lower elements for some bad fairies. To find out what happens read The Arctic Incident. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes an action filled story. It is a pretty challenging book. Other books by this author are from the same series including Artimis Fowl, The Eternity Code and The Opal Deception.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2005

    Pretty Good

    This book, although very, very good, is not quite as good as the first, in my opinion. It is an awesome read, and a previously lost character returns.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2004

    Great Book!

    The minute the first book caught my eye and I picked it up, I knew I was going to love it. And I was right. All three Artemis Fowl books are awesome, and The Arctic Incident is my favorite! The plot is great, and Artemis turns out to have some good in him after all. I love this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2003

    one of the best books out there

    Eoin Colfer has such a vivid imagination its no wonder that he can invent such great ideas. My friend clued me in on the first Artimis Fowl book and ever since i have totally loved Artimis! This book is highly recomended by me and my friends. There are only two books that are better than this one and those are the first and third artimis fowl books! If you are thinking about reading this book you should do it. You should also read the book before this called artimis fowl and the book after this called artimis fowl the eternity code. To me after reading these books it was hard to get into anyother book because i was used to the greatness of these!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2003

    Artemis Fowl and the Arctic Incident

    Authors Name: Eoin Colfer Title: Artemis Fowl and the Arctic Incident Genre: Fantasy Holly Short, part of the LEP, is after criminals violating laws of the underground world. They find the genius mind of Artemis Fowl, who is chasing after his father, helpful in their underground case, and in return the LEP helps Artemis in his journey seeking his father. Eoin Colfer has a wonderful imagination. For example she wrote, ¿Holly activated her helmet Optix, zooming in on the enemy.¿ Colfer has written about a world that we could only imagine about. The book is exciting and gets you on the edge of your chair. This sequel to Artemis Fowl is even more exciting and interesting than the first book. This will be one of the better books you will ever read. When I read this book I made a text-to-text connection. Artemis Fowl is normally in a lot of trouble. His father was kidnapped by deadly people. Just like Artemis Fowl, Harry Potter is always in a lot of trouble. The settings are both in incredible lands made up in the author¿s mind. Harry Potter¿s magical land and dangers remind me of Artemis Fowl¿s land and dangers. Even though the book was amazing there were some strategies I had to use in order to understand it better. I normally read through the book at a good speed, but as soon as it got difficult I slowed down. I slowed down my reading and even read over the part two or three times. I would stop for five minutes and try to picture what was happening in my mind so I could get a better feel of what was happening. By doing this, I understood everything that happened and I wasn¿t confused about the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2003

    beyond imagination

    Artemis Fowl is a book that has a very deep plot, as it takes you from the center of the earth all the way to Russia. The exiting adventures captain Holy Short has in this book with all her friends is enough to keep any teen interested until they flip the last page. This book takes you to places that you never would have imagined a writer could take you. This is the author¿s description of Murmansk a Russian city, ¿Murmansk was one of those Russian cities that had been made by pouring concrete directly into the mold. The only time Lenin Prospekt looked good was when it was buried in snow.¿ While you are reading this book you also get to know the characters very well, because of the way they are developed. In the beginning Holy finds Artemis to be rude and self-centered. But as the story progresses she finds that he has a softer side to him and that he is more than just brains. During the time in which I was reading this book I found it hard to sit down and just read it for 20 min. I would sometimes find myself sitting on my couch for up to one hour at a time in-twining myself in to the story of Artemis Fowl. I found this book very easy to flow though, but at times had to go back to remember who a character was or to catch myself up when I picked it up after not reading for a day. The fact that there was so much action and funny one liner¿s made it much easier for me to read. I felt it was hard to find a connection to the world in this book, through out the book the fairies keep on telling how the ¿mud men¿ or humans pushed them under ground and that in side the earth is the only place left to them. This reminded me of the wars and fights that the Palestine¿s and the Israel¿s are over land and property. I felt as if reading this book helped me realize why things like that happen and for what reasons

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2003

    Artemis Fowl review

    Holly is trying to figure out what the Goblins are up to. She needs Artemis Fowl to help, although he wants something in return. Fowl is a person who everyone despises. I thought that this book was very good. It had a lot of action and there was almost never a dull moment. They were going around trying to figure out what the Goblins were doing to going and rescuing people in the Artic Circle. They people were always finding things out too. They went to get more information about Artemis¿s Dad and nearly got killed. As you can see this book is action packed and very interesting. Eoin Colfer is a very author. Te action in this book was amazing This book was very well written. Sometimes though, you may have to read parts over to understand it well. You may have to do this because there are so many characters, and there are so many different places that they go to. Every so often you might want to read a part over so you understand so you understand and you know what you are reading. This way you know what you are reading, where the characters are, and who is talking. This book is similar to The Lord of The Rings and Harry Potter. The two books relate to me because they all have magic involved. They both also have different cultures and animals. There are dwarfs, goblins, and humans. There are also many made up places in the two like Atlantis and the two towers in Lord of The Rings. That is how I made a text to text connection. I enjoy action and fantasy and if you do too, this is a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2003

    Holly Short: the Golbin Conspiracy

    This book highly disappointed me. it portrayed Artemis as a weak adolescent who was getting beaten as his own game by a pint-sized fairy. the whole book was about fairies and goblins that the real substance of the book was forgotten. colfer managed to squeeze in the father rescue into the last chapter. if i hadn't read the title, i would've thought the main character was cudgeon. still containing the same wit and action/suspense of the first book, this book does not live up to its expectation. my copy had typos too. all in all, the first Artemis Fowl book was almost five times better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2002

    A good sequel

    I really enjoyed Eoin's first book about young master Fowl, and this continues the adventure. However, this book's pattern was a bit faster, it was still very inventive. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoyed the first novel. I only wish this one ended with a hint to a possible third book the way the first hinted at the second.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2002

    Artemis Fowl

    I liked this book. It is a bit slower than the first but it is a delightful story. It is filled with love and determination. In the beginning Artemis Fowl receives an email that says his father was alive and that he was being held for ransom. Artemis's dad had supposedly died when his boat crashed. Before Artemis can leave to save his father, a fairy captured him. The year before Artemis had stolen 15 million dollars worth of gold from the fairies. Artemis ended up helping the fairies. He did this so the fairies would help him save his father. Find out of Artemis can save his father, read Artemis Fowl The Arctic Adventure

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2002

    Adventurers Beware... You're in for a scare...

    Artemis Fowl was one of those rare books that leapt off the shelf when you first set your eyes upon it, and couldn't wait to get it home. There are two things that make a children's book successful: the book cover, and the author's first chapter. In Artemis Fowl, the first chapter pulled me whole-heartedly into the book and didn't let me go for air until the very end. And the cover was the thing that made me buy the book in the first place. It was very different and intriguing. Not so with The Arctic Incident. Once again we are face with a children's book cover that 'is awful'. It doesn't intrigue me at all. (If only 'The Arctic Incident' was move to the middle just below the Artemis Fowl' header, then I would have loved without complaint. However, and alas, I MUST pick up the new book anyway (despite the cover), becuase I know the author did a slam-bang job on the first, and I doubt (expecting great things) he will let me or any other Fowl fan down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 134 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 7