Customer Reviews for

Artemis Fowl; The Atlantis Complex

Average Rating 4.5
( 691 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(410)

4 Star

(140)

3 Star

(83)

2 Star

(32)

1 Star

(26)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

35 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

I said "Oh My God" at least a hundred times while reading this.

This book was amazing. I literally had to stop reading every once in a while because I was laughing too hard to focus. Orion is hilarious and humiliating, and Artemis (therefore Mr. Colfer) once again proved his (their?) genius-ness. The plot is a good one, though I adm...
This book was amazing. I literally had to stop reading every once in a while because I was laughing too hard to focus. Orion is hilarious and humiliating, and Artemis (therefore Mr. Colfer) once again proved his (their?) genius-ness. The plot is a good one, though I admit that it's more moral-filled than the others. I prefer just reading about Butler and Holly blowing things up together and Artemis carrying out his schemes. I like Angeline's part in the book and after I finished reading I wanted to design Atlantis #3 and get arrested just so I could test the security. Once again, this was an amazing book and Colfer is well on his way to becoming my new role-model. Goos job to him, and I think everyone familiar with the story- or comedy- should definitly read this book.

posted by 3734013 on August 3, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

Decline of Fowl

Overall, I don't think that "Artemis Fowl: The Atlantis Complex" is nearly as good as the previous books. At the begining of the book we discover that Artemis Fowl has a rare fairy psychological disease called atlantis complex and that Turnball Root (brother of Julius R...
Overall, I don't think that "Artemis Fowl: The Atlantis Complex" is nearly as good as the previous books. At the begining of the book we discover that Artemis Fowl has a rare fairy psychological disease called atlantis complex and that Turnball Root (brother of Julius Root), is planning to attack the city of Atlantis. The atlantis complex disease results in paranoia, OCD, alternate personalities, etc. I thought that the begining of the plot was decent, but I don't think that it developed very well. One example of this is how similar the story line was to book four: "The Opal Deception". In both cases there is some evil fairy/pixie trying to break out of prison for revenge, and naturally Artemis, Holly, and Mulch somehow meet and uncover what the antagonist is trying to do. Futhermore, I also don't think that some elements of the plot were very believable. The whole idea of Turnball Root reprogramming a space prob from his cell block and putting a "black magic rune" on the guard Vishby to control him seems very unrealistic. Throughout the first six books, we had never even heard of these control runes.... why wouldn't Briar Cudgeon or Opal Koboi have used these? Other antagonists besides Turnball clearly wouldn't have had a problem using them. Overall, I think that Eoin Colfer is just starting to make up new technologies and magic to keep a plot going. In addition, I also felt as though there wasn't enough character development throughout "The Atlantis Complex". Across the entire series so far, the characters of Holly and Artemis have both grown and developed in each book; Artemis matures and eventually stops commiting crimes so he doesn't hurt his friends/family, while Holly learns to trust Artemis and Butler after her kidnapping in book 1. This development throughout books 1-6 was what made each character believable while adding more depth to the plot. However, character development in general was simply absent in "The Atlantis Complex". I also felt that the style and tone of the book was off as well. The writing just didn't seem to flow together the way it did in previous books. Personally, I think that Eoin Colfer should have ended the Artemis Fowl books after book 4 or 5. Overall, I would not recammend this book.

posted by PalmerB on August 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 140 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2010

    Unforgettable, for entirely different reasons

    You will either love/appreciate this latest installment, or be severely disappointed. The most likely cause for disappointment would be Artemis's strange absence - psychologically that is. Artemis is suffering from Atlantis Complex, symptoms including OCD, paranoia and multiple personality disorder among many other psychological issues. As a result, the Artemis we know and have grown fond of is.not entirely 'there'. And as a result, Artemis's alter ego, Orion, often takes over. And Orion is hardly a genius. Granted, Colfer does an amazing job with this new Orion fellow as well as the remaining characters. The dark humor is there, the one-liners present, Mulch's sarcasm as vibrant as ever and the banter is perfect. And when 'Artemis' (not Orion) is present, the novel holds true to its predecessors. Don't get me wrong, Orion is a riot and I laughed more than once when he showed up, but there is a reason I picked up the Artemis Fowl book.and it most certainly was not because I wanted a book about this Orion guy. So where is Artemis? Oh, he's there. In bite size pieces and as a result, it would seem as though this novel were severely lacking. But despite Orion's humor, the novel is darker than any of the others before it, not only because of the strange emphasis on emotions, but because Artemis and the gang always seem a step or two behind their adversary as opposed to a dozen steps ahead. We're so used to the ingenuous Artemis being so far ahead of the game that by the time we manage to understand the twists and turns, we're struck with awe. But now the team can't seem to catch up effectively - and this new vulnerability brings another aspect into play; and makes the reader shiver with anxiety in an entirely new way. I do miss Artemis's deductions and the rapid twists and turns that leave me in the dust. What's worse is that this new adversary isn't nearly as formidable as Opal Koboi (whose name I genuinely fear). Yes, this novel was very different. But it was darker and in that sense, better. Yet, the boy we've become accustomed to seeing isn't there. And that for me, as a reader, was painful enough. But maybe this was Colfer's point in the end - this new vulnerability that the characters face. This novel runs deeper than the others and the emotions are stronger and that much more terrifying. Under this new lens - then it is probably the best in the series. After all, no other Fowl book has had this effect on me once I put it down. Even now there is a looming darkness that I cannot seem to place. This novel is very different. But if you read it, expecting another 'Fowl' novel, you will be disappointed. Instead, I suggest reading it under a new lens that has not been stained by expectation and to appreciate the differences and what it has to offer. This latest installment is good.very good but for different reasons entirely. And this strange drift away from the other novels can we welcomed - once. If Colfer repeats this venture again, I can confidently say that this new plot line has overstayed its welcome. But for now - this book was strangely amazing and definitely unforgettable.

    11 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    Awesome

    Orion is sooooooooooo awesome

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2012

    Great book

    This is a great book. One of the more complex ones but still funny.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    Good!!!!!!!

    This series is good but way too many books. I heard there is going to be 7 or 8.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    Good

    I liked this book but it did have some down sides to it. But I can get over that because of all the great things it has. I love Orion!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2012

    Ok

    It would have been better if Artemis was.witty instead of crazt

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    Good

    Good edition to the series. By the way, does anyone know when Bob Barker retired?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Ended?

    Maybe I got a glitched copy,but I didn't see the end info (such as the other books) and a couple of things went unresolved (past opal, the atlantis complex and holly+artemis). Is there another book and everyone has this problem, or is my copy glitched?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Love the book

    I am 8 and Orion whosit is boring

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Af valto tens calopi

    Sert cerged def guot

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Stop complaining, Koboi is only in the even # books. Minerva was only in the 5th at all for one reason: to make artemis seem more sympathetic

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2011

    Heehee

    Heehee how old is he now? Is there a eighth book?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2011

    Oh boy

    Never pay too much attention to over criticizing comments, you have to read it to really like or understand it. It probably does have weak points but not to the point of being dead flat terrible. Books like that dont get published. ( i think ) with the Mount of comments, most likely its another good book and i mean average in artemis fowl standards. Obviously hes not going to be the same artemis because of his psyche so he probably wont ever really recover. Im glad they bring back juliet who we dont see for 4 books. Minerva has no real point into being the book anyway so why bother?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    Honestly

    While Miverna was a nice character in the last book when you think about it it wouldnt do to have to geniuses. Besides Miverna would ease the stress put on Artemis and then the the book wouldnt be as good. Maybe next time.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2011

    Fairly good

    I am a pretty big Artemis Fowl fan and I found this sub-par. I found Orion a little annoying, and the books length to be a little short. However, Eoin Colfer does leave room for snother book to start, and i am looking forward to it, as I believe the storyline that this has ended on will lead to a excellent new book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2011

    Good

    Im just glad that Minivera wasn't in there

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    Ok

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2011

    Good addition to the series

    A good addition to the series. While the end did not be as I expected, but it was good nonetheless.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2011

    Second best book in the series

    Artemis Fowl: The Atlantis Complex is one of the best books ever written. You won't understand any of the book if you don't read the beginning prologue. Then whole Atlantis Complex,which is a magical form of OCD. Most people would think the complex was just some random thing Eon Colfer put in the book; but actually the complex plays a major role in the book. I love the story line of Turnball Root trying to escape Atlantis but, the reason isn't that good. I Really think that out of all Colfer's books this one was the least complexed and, it seemed to have kind of a hollywood feel to it. The plot line was terrfic but he didn't finish as a excitingly as he did in the other books. All in all I give it four stars and,I can't wait for the second book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 140 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7