Customer Reviews for

Artemis Fowl; The Atlantis Complex

Average Rating 4.5
( 693 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(411)

4 Star

(140)

3 Star

(83)

2 Star

(32)

1 Star

(27)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

35 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

I said "Oh My God" at least a hundred times while reading this.

This book was amazing. I literally had to stop reading every once in a while because I was laughing too hard to focus. Orion is hilarious and humiliating, and Artemis (therefore Mr. Colfer) once again proved his (their?) genius-ness. The plot is a good one, though I adm...
This book was amazing. I literally had to stop reading every once in a while because I was laughing too hard to focus. Orion is hilarious and humiliating, and Artemis (therefore Mr. Colfer) once again proved his (their?) genius-ness. The plot is a good one, though I admit that it's more moral-filled than the others. I prefer just reading about Butler and Holly blowing things up together and Artemis carrying out his schemes. I like Angeline's part in the book and after I finished reading I wanted to design Atlantis #3 and get arrested just so I could test the security. Once again, this was an amazing book and Colfer is well on his way to becoming my new role-model. Goos job to him, and I think everyone familiar with the story- or comedy- should definitly read this book.

posted by 3734013 on August 3, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

Decline of Fowl

Overall, I don't think that "Artemis Fowl: The Atlantis Complex" is nearly as good as the previous books. At the begining of the book we discover that Artemis Fowl has a rare fairy psychological disease called atlantis complex and that Turnball Root (brother of Julius R...
Overall, I don't think that "Artemis Fowl: The Atlantis Complex" is nearly as good as the previous books. At the begining of the book we discover that Artemis Fowl has a rare fairy psychological disease called atlantis complex and that Turnball Root (brother of Julius Root), is planning to attack the city of Atlantis. The atlantis complex disease results in paranoia, OCD, alternate personalities, etc. I thought that the begining of the plot was decent, but I don't think that it developed very well. One example of this is how similar the story line was to book four: "The Opal Deception". In both cases there is some evil fairy/pixie trying to break out of prison for revenge, and naturally Artemis, Holly, and Mulch somehow meet and uncover what the antagonist is trying to do. Futhermore, I also don't think that some elements of the plot were very believable. The whole idea of Turnball Root reprogramming a space prob from his cell block and putting a "black magic rune" on the guard Vishby to control him seems very unrealistic. Throughout the first six books, we had never even heard of these control runes.... why wouldn't Briar Cudgeon or Opal Koboi have used these? Other antagonists besides Turnball clearly wouldn't have had a problem using them. Overall, I think that Eoin Colfer is just starting to make up new technologies and magic to keep a plot going. In addition, I also felt as though there wasn't enough character development throughout "The Atlantis Complex". Across the entire series so far, the characters of Holly and Artemis have both grown and developed in each book; Artemis matures and eventually stops commiting crimes so he doesn't hurt his friends/family, while Holly learns to trust Artemis and Butler after her kidnapping in book 1. This development throughout books 1-6 was what made each character believable while adding more depth to the plot. However, character development in general was simply absent in "The Atlantis Complex". I also felt that the style and tone of the book was off as well. The writing just didn't seem to flow together the way it did in previous books. Personally, I think that Eoin Colfer should have ended the Artemis Fowl books after book 4 or 5. Overall, I would not recammend this book.

posted by PalmerB on August 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 411 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 21
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I said "Oh My God" at least a hundred times while reading this.

    This book was amazing. I literally had to stop reading every once in a while because I was laughing too hard to focus. Orion is hilarious and humiliating, and Artemis (therefore Mr. Colfer) once again proved his (their?) genius-ness. The plot is a good one, though I admit that it's more moral-filled than the others. I prefer just reading about Butler and Holly blowing things up together and Artemis carrying out his schemes. I like Angeline's part in the book and after I finished reading I wanted to design Atlantis #3 and get arrested just so I could test the security. Once again, this was an amazing book and Colfer is well on his way to becoming my new role-model. Goos job to him, and I think everyone familiar with the story- or comedy- should definitly read this book.

    35 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    great

    Totally awesome. Read it, loved it.

    15 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    CAN'T WAIT to read the latest Artemis book!

    This series is definitely ONE OF THE BEST I've ever read. I am a big fantasy lover and this is definitely in my collection. I think all around, it is FANTASTIC! It is funny, exciting, smart...I hope the latest will be as good as the rest! :) The WHOLE SERIES has been amazing so far. Keep it up, Eoin! :)

    12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Jennifer Rummel for TeensReadToo.com

    Artemis isn't right in the head. He's having a touch of OCD - talking in words of five or rearranging items on his desk. He's also feeling paranoid. Plus, he has an idea to save the world. After sending Butler off on a bogus mission, he meets the new commander, Foaly, and Holly Short to explain his latest idea in Iceland. Just before he demonstrates the new technology, a large space vehicle appears. It's one of Foaly's more brilliant designs, but now it's under someone else's control, and that someone is using it for deadly purposes. As they attempt to escape the area, Artemis is hit and undergoes a personality switch. Holly must hold everything and everyone together while trying to escape the situation and uncover the meaning behind their attack. Unfortunately, she could really use Artemis's crafty criminal skills, but for now she must deal with Orion. Can Artemis fight through the Atlantis Complex (a disease enabled by the combination of guilt and fairy magic) in time to help save the people he loves - and his mind? I love Artemis Fowl. He's such an evil genius but also a great character to root for. Right now, he's struggling with his past actions and feels tempted to turn to the good side. I'm not sure how I feel about that, but it's interesting to watch the struggle. I love the sidekicks of this book. I love the relationship between Butler and his sister and their crazy athletic ability to kick butt anytime, anywhere. I love Holly Short - she's feisty and sarcastic, always breaking the rules, and she has a good heart. I really can't wait to see what will happen next.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2010

    Headline

    I remembered when I first learned about the series Artemis Fowl. I saw the book, the Time Paradox. I read the inside flap out loud dramatically, and the owner of the book snatched it away. I rolled my eyes. Artemis was a girl's name! Finally, one day, I was bored to pieces at a sleepaway camp. One girl had brought the first Artemis Fowl book, and so I borrowed it from her whenever she wasn't reading it. A counselor said, "Oh, Artemis Fowl? That's the best book ever! I just want to stop showering when I read this. No, I want to take it with me IN THE SHOWER, cover it with some plastic wrap, and read it there." I thought this was a bit extreme before, but now I'm considering just how much damage would be done with the plastic wrap. Maybe I could pull it off without mauling the book. This was on the second to last day at camp. While still doing my classes and following the camp schedule, I finished the book right before my friend's parents arrived, and ever since I've been hunting the books down. I'd planned on reading the Atlantis Complex today (August 3rd, day of release), but couldn't. Ah well, so long as I get it eventually.

    8 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    THE ATLANTIS COMPLEX

    Artemis Fowl wants to save the world, but he has a little problem. After his brief stunt with magic and all the guilt he's had built up over the years, Artemis has picked up a fairy sickness-Atlantis complex. Artemis has OCD, paranoia, and has a whole new personality-Orion, a white knight who's in love with the fairy princess Holly Short. But his sickness isn't Artemis's only problem, an unknown enemy for Holly's past plotting against the fairy world and Holly needs everyone's help to stop them.
    This Artemis Fowl book is just as funny and action packed as the others. Can't wait to see what happens next.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    AWESOME!

    I've loved all of the Artemis Fowl books, but somehow this one stood out from the rest-- in a good way.
    Artemis is growing up, and it's apparent in the book, a fact which I liked. Also, it seemed...older somehow, but not so old that it loses it's young audience. I also loved the idea of the Atlantis Complex, and Orion's character was very fun...All in all, I loved it. A great addition to an amazing series.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A simply "magical" experience.

    Eoin Colfer [Pronounced OWEN!] has released a new addition to his Artemis Fowl Series. A simply "magical" experience.

    Readers may expect the same fast-paced action sequences, memorable character appearances, and moments of peril that have defined this bestselling series thus far. Readers may, once again, enter the world of magic, brilliance, and rollicking mischief of Artemis Fowl. Eoin Colfer's genius analogies, cultural references, appropriated humor, and emotional conveyances help to make this book an easy and enjoyable read.

    Enter Turnball Root, the infamous brother of our deceased friend, Julius Root. Turnball brings a new, maniacal genius feel to the Artemis Fowl series. Enabling even humor, cruelty, and altogether Sherlockian deduction aspects to the usual repertoire of villains. Better yet, an avid hater of Opal Koboi. Turnball promises the thrill of brand-new adventure, an unseen challenge to the LEP. and an "under the weather" Artemis Fowl.

    This time around, our favorite child mastermind - Artemis Fowl rather more demented than usual. It seems he has caught a horrible fairy ailment. as a result of his improper meddling in the fairy arts: The Atlantis Complex. With newly found paranoia, split personality, and absolute fascination with the number five, will our hero be able to rise to the challenge?

    Read a chapter of this absolutely riveting novel online, and then buy the full version at your local bookstore [or online book outlet.]!

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Full of Suspense, Mystery, and Humor!

    "Artemis Fowl: The Atlantis Complex," by Eoin Colfer is the seventh installment in the New York Times bestselling Artemis Fowl series. Full of edge-of-your-seat suspense, one-of-a-kind characters, and laugh-out-loud humor, this book is sure to enthrall everyone who reads it! A unique, mysterious storyline keeps the reader quickly flipping the pages as they wonder what in the world is going to happen next! Definitely one of the best books in the series (and funniest), "Artemis Fowl: The Atlantis Complex" is a wild ride of a story, one that is impossible to forget! The ending will definitely leave all readers eagerly awaiting the release of the eighth and final book in this amazing series!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome!

    This is a great book! I am a BIG fan of Artemis Fowl and I can't wait for the next book The Atlantis Complex! Great job Eoin Colfer! Artemis Fowl ROCKS!

    3 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    Anonymous 5

    This was a pretty good book. Orion (artemis's alternate personality) is pretty funny, and i love the reference to greek mythology. They had to point it out for me to get it, but that's just me. I almost wish colfer had left off, but i really love the series. Also, you kind of need to read Artemis Fowl Files by colfer to understand the story behind turnball root.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    Hi

    Best book ever !

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    Funny

    This story made me laugh so hard that I cried. Excelently written.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    Some people just dont understand..

    Some people dont understand the jokes... i dont see how! These are awemazing!!! But I found some holes in Artemis's theories.... but I wont go into that now! These books are a MUST read! I wish there where more after The last guardian!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    Oops

    Sorry i had a typing problem there

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2012

    Minerva

    Why does everybody hate Minerva? She wasn't that bad.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    S

    Many people tend to drgrade these books because of the story line. But those people are defently wrong. In all the the books I have read, the artemis fowl seires holds one of the 10 special places in my heart for the amazing characters and story line. This book was probably my second favorite, just behind the arctic inxedent. Read this now.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2010

    Thank you, Disney

    I, like many others, had a a high expectation of this book. After I read it, I noticed that it was published by Disney Press. Go figure. Another great item ruined by Disney. The book was shorter, the plot had very little twists and turns, and Koboi was barely mentioned in the book, completely ignoring the cliffhanger. Unless you have read the Fowl Files, the villain is some completely random character. I enjoyed Orion, Artemis' other personality, but most of the book's plot seemed under-cooked. What I believe happened is after Disney ruined the series, Eoin's(pronounced Owen)heart wasn't in it any more. This is what Disney always does. They make one part no one cares about 'better'(in this case, the cover)and ruin the rest.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2015

    B, .p biyyontiyb io

    Ygh gki l gyyiyonyy .tooi ozyqughyy

    Tyo
    O ygk uy .
    Byo .iy
    oygyyuyqbby utyoyo y igkbkuybt

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2014

    The best series

    This book in the series of Artemis Fowl is very good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 411 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 21