Customer Reviews for

Artemis Fowl; The Atlantis Complex

Average Rating 4.5
( 674 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(394)

4 Star

(140)

3 Star

(83)

2 Star

(32)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

33 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

I said "Oh My God" at least a hundred times while reading this.

This book was amazing. I literally had to stop reading every once in a while because I was laughing too hard to focus. Orion is hilarious and humiliating, and Artemis (therefore Mr. Colfer) once again proved his (their?) genius-ness. The plot is a good one, though I adm...
This book was amazing. I literally had to stop reading every once in a while because I was laughing too hard to focus. Orion is hilarious and humiliating, and Artemis (therefore Mr. Colfer) once again proved his (their?) genius-ness. The plot is a good one, though I admit that it's more moral-filled than the others. I prefer just reading about Butler and Holly blowing things up together and Artemis carrying out his schemes. I like Angeline's part in the book and after I finished reading I wanted to design Atlantis #3 and get arrested just so I could test the security. Once again, this was an amazing book and Colfer is well on his way to becoming my new role-model. Goos job to him, and I think everyone familiar with the story- or comedy- should definitly read this book.

posted by 3734013 on August 3, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

Decline of Fowl

Overall, I don't think that "Artemis Fowl: The Atlantis Complex" is nearly as good as the previous books. At the begining of the book we discover that Artemis Fowl has a rare fairy psychological disease called atlantis complex and that Turnball Root (brother of Julius R...
Overall, I don't think that "Artemis Fowl: The Atlantis Complex" is nearly as good as the previous books. At the begining of the book we discover that Artemis Fowl has a rare fairy psychological disease called atlantis complex and that Turnball Root (brother of Julius Root), is planning to attack the city of Atlantis. The atlantis complex disease results in paranoia, OCD, alternate personalities, etc. I thought that the begining of the plot was decent, but I don't think that it developed very well. One example of this is how similar the story line was to book four: "The Opal Deception". In both cases there is some evil fairy/pixie trying to break out of prison for revenge, and naturally Artemis, Holly, and Mulch somehow meet and uncover what the antagonist is trying to do. Futhermore, I also don't think that some elements of the plot were very believable. The whole idea of Turnball Root reprogramming a space prob from his cell block and putting a "black magic rune" on the guard Vishby to control him seems very unrealistic. Throughout the first six books, we had never even heard of these control runes.... why wouldn't Briar Cudgeon or Opal Koboi have used these? Other antagonists besides Turnball clearly wouldn't have had a problem using them. Overall, I think that Eoin Colfer is just starting to make up new technologies and magic to keep a plot going. In addition, I also felt as though there wasn't enough character development throughout "The Atlantis Complex". Across the entire series so far, the characters of Holly and Artemis have both grown and developed in each book; Artemis matures and eventually stops commiting crimes so he doesn't hurt his friends/family, while Holly learns to trust Artemis and Butler after her kidnapping in book 1. This development throughout books 1-6 was what made each character believable while adding more depth to the plot. However, character development in general was simply absent in "The Atlantis Complex". I also felt that the style and tone of the book was off as well. The writing just didn't seem to flow together the way it did in previous books. Personally, I think that Eoin Colfer should have ended the Artemis Fowl books after book 4 or 5. Overall, I would not recammend this book.

posted by PalmerB on August 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 394 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 20
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    To ???

    YES. YES YOU SHOULD RIGHT NOW! GO AND DO IT NOW YOU WONT REGRET IT?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2013

    Yes yi

    This is a thrilling series. Books one to six are good i havent read the rest but i bet that they are good to. But you have to read them in order. I hope that book seven is as goood as the rest. Please tell me but dont spoil it. Thanks

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2013

    Urusai!

    To all who write about stupid things like demiwitch, this is ian artemis fowl page thing. It's kind of annoying when you write about off the subject things. Just saying.
    l

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2013

    I love this series!!! :)

    Though Artemis can be anoying and Orion, wow!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2013

    Is this the one after the time paradox

    ?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2013

    ?v jgjfudyjfhdjykbnkotufudyshxk

    Hhysjgsysgxgxggddgzrdgxjxgvtdkchdutxkxkgjdgggggrrtyjjh

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2013

    5* as expected

    Eoin Colfer, each of your books have been an amazing journey for me to follow, and this one was no exception. Artemis Fowl, as clever as ever, along with his friends save the world from a new villain. (one i didn't expect)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2013

    LOVW LOVE LOVE THIS BOOK!!!!

    I absolutly love this book and cant wait for the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2013

    SOS 10

    [Next in artimis fowl and please read The Golden Cat and chapter parts at golden girls by henry melten. You will only under stand it if you have read Warriorcats. Written by TGCA!] That night I slept like a coma patient and when I woke up a slim girl with coils of long curly dark hair and matching dark brown eyes stood over me. "I was just going to wake you up," the girl said giving me a friey smile and turned to the left. As she turned I saw two ear peircing in her left ear. "We have found people that we think will be capable on the quest including me and we'll be leaving at sundown tonight,"the girl explained while swinging open the door. "So ypu havn't been claimed yet, right?" I nodded then added that we already knew my godly parent is Posideon. She lead to the pavillion which last night was filled with lots of ravenous people but now empty except for four others. Haidn and Anna were there along with a boy who had short wavy darty blond hair and warm brown eyes that made me feel oh-so-safe. He had fair skin and was wearing a pair of camp shorts and a black tank top. On his back was a bronze bow & arrows that looked very frightening. When he saw me eyeing the bow intently he unstrung it from his back and said,"Watch this." He through up in the air and the moment it started to fall back down it transformed into a bronze dagger. "Cool", I exclaimed and gave a clap. Then a girl with medium length dirty blond hair tied in the mpst messy bun I've ever seen pushed the dagger boy away. "Forget about Seth," she said in a sarcastic tone. "Now for some Crystal time!" Crystal pulled out a sword out of its seath that was flaming with green fire. "Whats that," I asked amazed. "Oh! Don't touch it," she warned pulling the flaming sword away from my outstretched fingers. "It's Greek Fire and highly dangerous even for demigods like us." She seathed it and introduced herself,"I'm Crystal daughter of Hypnos, Aphrodite, and Hades, my parents had a threesome but I'm not immortal so you don't have to worry, and thats Seth son of Posideon and will probably join you on your quest." I looked at the boy who's dagger was now a bronze sword. "Well let's go to our cabin," Haidn suggested seeing that the introductions were done and he started to lead us away from the almost empty pavillion. When we got to the cabins Haidn led us inside the blue one in which I had been sleeping in and we sat down on our beds. Crystal nudged in with Seth while the girl who woke me up prompty picked to sit beside me. "I'm Terra Flinn by the way and daughter of Athena. I'll be your 'extra' quest number," she said then turned to listen to Haidn. "Leo says that the boat is finnished and they just need to test it but around sundown it'll be ready and we'll be going straight away," Haidn said standing up from his bed and circling the center of the room. "We will pack dinner and we'll eat while on the boat so no worries. Chiron has provided us with some "money" so we can Iris message." I nodded listening then raised my hand. Haidn nodded and I started,"is Crystal coming too?" "No," Anna answered. "Seth and Terra are joing us bit not Crystal." "So it's all understood?" Haidn asked twisring arpund to see everybody. We all nodded. "Well, meet me at sundown beside the beach and I'll be their with the boat." With that note we all dispersed to do our daily routines and I decided to follow Haidn to get the bow & arrows I asked for last night.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2013

    Skylar to Demiwitch

    Ahhhh. I &hearts Paramore tooooo!!!!! Theyre like my favorote band!!! (Looove Hayley Williams... shes just AMAZING) Anyways...cant wait to read what happens next... :)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    To demiwitch

    Hey... did u know that it is sabrina's REAL 11th birthday this august 23rd? She just said she was 11 cuse she was turning eleven soon. -your welcome, someone Brina knows

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2013

    Iwant demi witch

    Demiwitch demiwitch demiwitch

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2013

    ???

    Can somebody please tell me if its true that artemis fowl admitted to have fallen in love with Captain Holly Short

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    Ghy

    No! Commander Vinyaya must live! To Artemis+Minerva, you rock

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2013

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    Stare dad

    I loved this book! I cant wait to read the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    Hey merlyls,you bitch!

    Nobody listen to meryls. He/she*is being a f**k ing pervert.they are like this because if it's not sex,they hate it. WHAT A DOSHBAG! They only sit around watching porn all day! Hell is his birth-place! Dull and lifeless? Thats a perfect description of them! GO ARTEMIS!!!!







    * hey,meryls,what the hell are you? A she-male? Jackass

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2013

    I love this series!!!

    I have always loved AF series.I havent read this one yet,but i cant wait!I loved the last book!Little Arty was almost as good as older Arty,just more dispicable.It is very confusing when you first read about the paradox,but after going over in my brain for a little bit it made sense.For all you people who think Arty and Holly should be together(me being one of them),they woould if they were the same species.Its really too bad,they are a great pair,but either Arty wishes himself to be a fairy(which either would make the book really dum)or Holly wishes to be a mud girl.Either wouldnt be caught dead in the others species,but oh well..."If only",Artemis thought."If only."(if only she were human.I think he already loves her,hence the embarrasing proclamasions of love i have read about.And there is so much more evidence than that if you look deeper)...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    Good series

    I havent read this one yet but the first three are good. To all who think artemis and holly should get together: there are two big differences i want to point out; one: holly is a FAIRY. Artemis is a HUMAN. Two: artemis is a teenager. Holly is who knows how old.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    Love these books!

    Overall great read... all the Artemis Fowl books were good!

    Vm-

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 394 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 20