Customer Reviews for

Artemis Fowl; The Lost Colony

Average Rating 4.5
( 503 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(345)

4 Star

(101)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Another Colfer Masterpiece

This book is but another reason why the Artemis Fowl trilogy is favored by readers of all ages in the world. Fostered around a great plot, this novel will keep you immersed in the intense and humorous storyline for hours. However, I feel that this book is truly great ...
This book is but another reason why the Artemis Fowl trilogy is favored by readers of all ages in the world. Fostered around a great plot, this novel will keep you immersed in the intense and humorous storyline for hours. However, I feel that this book is truly great because of its precise and colorful details. These details paint a picture in your mind to the point where you're there, standing in some of the most luxurious and complex places in the world or right in the middle of a battle, watching rubble and bodies flying all over the place. Destinations you've never even heard of will seem crystal clear through Colfer's fluent writing. As a person who enjoys reading fantasy novels, I thought that the cooperation between what's fictional and non-fictional really took this book to another level. Instead of having different groups split to do separate objectives, Colfer is able to make them work together, thus eliminating the confusion between parties. However, the best part of this book is the deep plot. It keeps you guessing as it unfolds, each new event causing more clouding of what is really happening. When you think you have grasped the causes for these bizarre events, Colfer throws you a curveball, and then it's back to square one again. Although I would suggest this book to all readers who love fantasy books, I think that it is best suited for the younger generations. Not much wordage is very challenging, and the humor in the book would be more appealing towards a younger audience. Overall, I thought that this was a very fluent and well written book. Although the language can be simple at times, the great details and deep plot will have you burning the late-night oil. If you are looking for a book filled with details and humor, I would suggest this book without hesitation.

posted by 2859988 on January 29, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Storyguy

Woow really weird not the best

posted by Anonymous on September 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 101 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2009

    Artemis is still great.

    Artemis is back in yet another engaging adventure. Not quite as good as the previous ones as a stand alone novel, but very entertaining.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by K. Osborn Sullivan for TeensReadToo.com

    Artemis Fowl is back (finally)! I was terrified that my favorite Irish billionaire genius teenager was gone for good because author Eoin Colfer has been publishing a variety of books in the last couple of years that had nothing to do with good old Artemis. But, fortunately, the boy genius hasn't been forgotten. He's back and more brilliant than ever in this fifth installment of the high-tech fantasy series. <BR/><BR/>As THE LOST COLONY opens, Artemis is fourteen years old and experiencing the uncomfortable pangs of puberty. While that alone is enough to keep most teens busy for a few years, Artemis has to contend with his surging hormones while trying to save an entire fairy race as it teeters on the brink of extinction. But it's that kind of multitasking that has made Artemis Fowl an international sensation. <BR/><BR/>THE LOST COLONY has all the elements that Fowl fans have come to expect, including a dizzying array of fairy-issue gadgets, danger whizzing past our heroes from a variety of sources, ingenious plans, and a bodyguard who is as loyal as he is lethal. This book also includes a few new characters who were, for the most part, likeable and fun. The one notable exception is a twelve-year-old French girl who could give Artemis a run for his money in the genius category. She is pretty, rich, and highly annoying. I often found myself wishing that one of the other characters would "accidentally" dunk her in a sewer, or shave her head, or something equally unpleasant. Is it wrong for me to have feelings of aggression toward a fictional character? No, I don't think so. And you'll understand what I mean once you read the book. <BR/><BR/>Fans of the ARTEMIS FOWL series will not be disappointed in this newest adventure. There were a few problems with the story, including some hard-to-follow descriptions of how Artemis and company escape their latest predicament, and an irritating French girl (see above). Overall, though, I found this an enjoyable book with an ending that knocked me for a loop. And, as always, I was left wondering what mischief Artemis will dream up next.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2008

    GREAT ARTEMIS FOWL BOOK

    Probably one of the most exciting books in the Artemis Fowl series. Number one is one cool character. Excellent story, new interesting characters, lots of action: GREAT BOOK.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2008

    another good one

    This one wasn't half bad, and is worth your time, if you like the series. Artemis showing some character advancement is nice, but I wish the others would also.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Liked this book

    I like No1

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2008

    Clarification?

    I THOUGHT IT WAS GREAT,BUT... the cliffhanger article at the end of the opal deception was never clarified, and that's what i was expecting

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2014

    Artemis Fowl #5

    I loved this book! It was an amazing work of art, a complete masterpiece, if you ask me! One thong that i really liked was how it would be like "IS THIS THE END?" And then somethinng amazing would happen! There was an amazing amoumt of awesome action, which was almost overkill (but then again all of the Artemis Fowl books are like that) This book was just so totally amazing it will definatly knock your socks off! I really thought that the charscter of minerva was a great rival (and a perfect match) for Artemis!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2013

    Which book?

    Is this the fifth book...?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2013

    A Good Book, But...

    Minerva struck me as more of an excuse to for the author to write an intelligent but evil character (As Artemis has changed his ways) than a real person, but overall a good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2013

    really good

    I like the part when they raid minervas house

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    Slow begining, everything else great

    I love this series, but was a bit disappionted with the beging. It is slower than anything else in the series, including the second half of the book. Otherwise it is just as good as every thing else Colfer has writen :D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    I like it!

    It is an okay book but not better than the others = }

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    This book isn't too bad...

    There are parts where this book is great as usual, with Artemis outsmarting the fairies, making up spectacular plans, and basically making LEP looking stupid as usual. I love the parts in Limbo and all the problems that keep popping up.

    Now, onto what wasn't so great. The new character, supposed to have the same intel level as Arty, but they did not compete and I thought it was an easy win for Artemis.

    All in all, it was a fairly good book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    My favorite series!

    This good book will not let you stop reading.Artemis finds a new species of fairy called demons and ends up trying to save their population. The worst part is that when Artemis and his new friends bend their way back through time to Earth; 3 years has passed from their 5 min absence.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2008

    Artemis fowl

    Artemis Fowl falls into fairy problems again when he tries to find out the story behind Demons. Who else is there to join him but Holly Short, The same LEP officer, now Ex-LEP officer that helped Artemis with his other challenges before this one. At first Artemis goal is to capture a demon, which randomly appear on earth coming up from the underworld. Artemis some how figures out how to catch a demon but is beaten to the chase by another genius who knows about the demons. then a demon is captured by the other genius Minerva Paradizo. Artemis and holly then work together to capture the demons. I Enjoyed this book but not as much as the Eternity code.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2008

    Projected

    I feel this book could go a while on the market. Its really good but not great. It had many heart pounding moments and others when its sorta boring. It was still a very good book. Its one of those ones u just keep reading over and over again because every time you read it, you discover something new!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2008

    Artemis Fowl my favorite intellectual

    Arteis fowl has returned in The lost Colony. I had previously read the last 4 and thoruoghly enjoyed them ( I thiunk you will too). The bond betwwen Artemmis and Holly deppeens in this book, and he mmets a possibe loveer. The first 100 pags were a bit dull, but thenm the story picked up with the abduction of the demon protagonist, NO1. IIt was intersting to see Arteims go even deeoper into the wold of magic, into oth dimensions and times. A very good read, highly recommended

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2007

    Courtesy of Teens Read Too

    Artemis Fowl is back (finally)! I was terrified that my favorite Irish billionaire genius teenager was gone for good because author Eoin Colfer has been publishing a variety of books in the last couple of years that had nothing to do with good old Artemis. But, fortunately, the boy genius hasn't been forgotten. He's back and more brilliant than ever in this fifth installment of the high-tech fantasy series. As THE LOST COLONY opens, Artemis is fourteen years old and experiencing the uncomfortable pangs of puberty. While that alone is enough to keep most teens busy for a few years, Artemis has to contend with his surging hormones while trying to save an entire fairy race as it teeters on the brink of extinction. But it's that kind of multitasking that has made Artemis Fowl an international sensation. THE LOST COLONY has all the elements that Fowl fans have come to expect, including a dizzying array of fairy-issue gadgets, danger whizzing past our heroes from a variety of sources, ingenious plans, and a bodyguard who is as loyal as he is lethal. This book also includes a few new characters who were, for the most part, likeable and fun. The one notable exception is a twelve-year-old French girl who could give Artemis a run for his money in the genius category. She is pretty, rich, and highly annoying. I often found myself wishing that one of the other characters would 'accidentally' dunk her in a sewer, or shave her head, or something equally unpleasant. Is it wrong for me to have feelings of aggression toward a fictional character? No, I don't think so. And you'll understand what I mean once you read the book. Fans of the ARTEMIS FOWL series will not be disappointed in this newest adventure. There were a few problems with the story, including some hard-to-follow descriptions of how Artemis and company escape their latest predicament, and an irritating French girl (see above). Overall, though, I found this an enjoyable book with an ending that knocked me for a loop. And, as always, I was left wondering what mischief Artemis will dream up next. **Reviewed by: K. Osborn Sullivan

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2007

    Expectations unmet, but still recommended

    I had read all of the Artemis Fowl series up to this point and loved them. I picked this up with high hopes. I flipped through the book in one night and realized that I was a little disappointed. Colfer is one of my favorite authors but I feel he didn't quite live up to his name. Let's focus on a good for a moment excellent descriptions and word choice as always, and good character development. Now for the bad stale environment at times, overused puns, and a slightly prolonged plot. That said, I would still recommend this book along with the entire series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2007

    You are glued to the book

    I have read all the Artemis Fowl books, i loved them all and this one is no different. As in all the books Artemis outsmarts the average reader, and terrifies them with his ingenious stunts and actions. Even if you are not in the 9-12 yrs range, i recommend this book as a must read-if your not into fantasy...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 101 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6