Customer Reviews for

Artemis Fowl: The Opal Deception

Average Rating 4.5
( 519 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(344)

4 Star

(107)

3 Star

(40)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

Answer to the r Pre Answer to the previous question

1 Artemis Fowl 2 The Artic Incident 3 The Eternity Code 4 The Opal Deception 5 The Lost Colony 6 The Atlantis One (I forget its name) 7 The Time Paradox ( 6 & 7 might be mixed up) 8 The Last Gaurdian

posted by Anonymous on December 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Good book but still the obvious worst.

I don't reccomend it very strongly.

posted by 11758892 on January 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 107 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    Icey

    Good book

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2011

    Totally the best one

    I thought this book was the best one ij the series. I just love Artemis Fowl and Oplal Koboi rocks!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    You just gotta love this book!

    I believe anyone who reads about Artemis fowl (1st and 2nd book) will like this book a lot! this is the best book yet! any child will like this book. Opal strikes again! Awesome book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2014

    Artemis Fowl #4

    I loved this book! It is a masterpiece, and a treat to read. While though this was not my favorite book in the series, it is an excellent book and a wonderful addition to the already-amazing series. I like how the plot unfolded and I loved the characters! I think it is amazing how Colfer creates these characters and keeps them alive in his mind and in the minds of others, all of his fans and the readers of his books! Thank you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2013

    ??

    WHO IS MINERVA????????????????????.?????

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2013

    ATLANTIS COMPLDX COMES AAAFFTTTEERR THE TIME PARADOX!!!!!!!!

    ATLANTIS COMPLEC IS AAAAAFFFFTTTTTERRRRRR THE TIME PARADOX!!!!!!!!

    GET IT RIGHT!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    Hi

    If you liked the harry potter series you will like the artimes fowl books too. They were almost as good. The first one is the best and the rest are okay.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good book

    This book was so good. I devoured it and although I didn't know it was the fourth book, the story line was easy enough to grasp.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    No Deception for Fowl

    Nothing is ever easy for genius mud people, or for genius People as the team of characters finds out in the latest Fowl installment. There were deeper issues and more personal advancements in this edition. Not as dark as the previous book, but still full of pleasant surprises and sad changes. There are several witty references to present day technology, events & theories which were used so well the escape into the Fowl world still held true. Fowl had to work a little harder in this book to get things back on track, I hope he makes it through the next one¿

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2008

    Good book

    Since Book one I have loved the Artemis fowl series, The Opal deception adds on to the suspense. Holly short is put into another rock and a hard place along with Artemis together they have to escape the grasp of death for the 4th time. Which also takes away the suspense in some way, I already know that there is a next book, and they have already escaped death 3 times so why can¿t they do it again? But Eoin Colfer always has a way of pulling through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2007

    Surprising

    I am a typical girly-girl I wear a lot of pink and read romantic comedies with goofy titles. And yet, I find this science fiction/action-adventure novel amazing, proving that Artemis Fowl: The Opal Deception is a book that anyone can enjoy. The outrageous events in the plot as well as the crazy banter between characters makes it enthralling. The novel, fourth in the series, is about Artemis Fowl, a teenage criminal mastermind, in liaison with Captain Holly Short of an underground fairy police force. Their mutual enemy, Opal Koboi, has escaped from prison and is attempting to bring an end to the fairy world. Artemis is the only one on Earth who has the intellect to stop her. However, his memory of the fairy world has been wiped out, and he may not gain these memories back in time. I was intrigued by this novel. The descriptions of the hidden underground society are extremely convincing. Reading this book is like being dropped into another world. Artemis¿s genius plans are always completely unexpected, and readers sit on the edge of their seats waiting to find out how the events will unfold. I found the climax to be a little disappointing after more extreme events in the novel, but it was still very entertaining. Readers should be forewarned that this novel discusses supernatural beings, and touches on the subject of paranoia. Also, the novel may be confusing without reading the first three books in the series. All in all, this was a great book. The story and characters don¿t get redundant after reading the other books. I¿d highly recommend this book to anyone looking for a good read, even if it doesn¿t seem to be your type of book because it¿s a book everyone will love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2006

    Another Great Addition...

    Definitely a good read, but I absolutely agree with the other reviewers -- book 1 and 2 are simply amazing. But overall, this book was excellent and had me up well into the night reading. Another home run!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2006

    Artemis Fowl: The Opal Deception

    Yes, it is no doubt disappointing, but I still liked to read it for the fun of it. They still used wit in this and despite the fact that there are two more books to go, some characters just have to die. Good guys can't prevail all the time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2006

    good

    this was a good book . better than the thrird , but not as good as the first two. I think colfer made artemis fowl to soft in this one. but still pretty good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2006

    AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!

    I highly reccomend this amazing book!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2006

    Still solid

    The 4th book in the series isn't quite as good as the first 3, but don't let that stop you from enjoying a great adventure. Opal can be a bit annoying at times, but I do appreciate the author's sense of humor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2006

    populair everywere but not worth of a kings place

    this book is the latest and greatest part of the artemis fowl series. the great escapes and coming wars, that's just too good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2005

    One of the BEST!!!

    How can you not like the 4th Artemis Fowl book? It is a page turner, comical, fast-paced... in one word: brilliant!! It probably took two days to read it. In my humble opinion, it was the best AF book yet. I think Artemis becomes more likeable, which is good - it shows that he is developing his character. I've read that there's a 5th book, possibly a 6th, so I can't wait!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2005

    One of my favorites

    I'm a big sci-fi fan, so I really enjoyed it. I must say my only complaint is that there are no dragons. (Yes, I am aware that my list of recommendations is longer than my reveiw)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2005

    Clever and Satisfying

    In his previous run-in with the fairies, Artemis Fowl and his human friends had their memories of the People wiped. This is not good, as the evil nemesis of both humans and fairies, Opal Koboi, is back. After Artemis, Holly, Root, Mulch, and Butler foiled her plans, the pixie put herslelf in a self-induced coma. She breaks out of the clinic where she is being held to wreak havoc and horror on the two worlds and their inhabitants. But as old friends team up, there seems to be no pattern to Opal's behavior. What is Koboi up to? Can Artemis find his lost memories? Has he finally met his match? Why not read on to find out?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 107 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6