Customer Reviews for

Artemis Fowl: The Opal Deception

Average Rating 4.5
( 521 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(346)

4 Star

(107)

3 Star

(40)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Answer to the r Pre Answer to the previous question

1 Artemis Fowl 2 The Artic Incident 3 The Eternity Code 4 The Opal Deception 5 The Lost Colony 6 The Atlantis One (I forget its name) 7 The Time Paradox ( 6 & 7 might be mixed up) 8 The Last Gaurdian

posted by Anonymous on December 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Good book but still the obvious worst.

I don't reccomend it very strongly.

posted by 11758892 on January 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 528 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 27
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    READ!!!

    You should totally read this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Awesome it is

    Everyone who knows about it thinks its awesome so i say we try to get more people to read it, because when i say artimis fowl at my school they just think i am crazy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    To is it

    No! It is not the third book. It is the fourth.

    The third book is called The Eternity Code.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    Greatbook

    Great book the besr of its type!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2012

    In this book you will learn how Artiemis Fowl is going to steal

    In this book you will learn how Artiemis Fowl is going to steal a painting from a high security German Bank. You will also experience fairies and the stuff they will do to help others.

    Criminal mastermind Artemis Fowl is back, and so is his brilliant and dangerous enemy, Opal Koboi. Artemis has no memory of the fairy people and has returned to his unlawful ways. He is preparing to steal a famous Impressionist painting from a German bank, having no idea that his old rival, Opal, has escaped from prison by cloning herself. She’s left her double behind in jail and, now free, is exacting her revenge on all those who put her there, including Artemis.

    They get stuck in a special area overrun with trolls, from which they are saved by Butler and Mulch. After that they have to stop Opal from blowing up the entirety of Haven, revealing the people to humans and taking over the world. They do this by chasing her shuttle deep underground, and eventually conquered it.

    After his last run in with the fairies, Artemis had his mind wiped of his memories of the world belowground. But they have not forgotten about him. Once again, he must stop the human and fairy worlds from colliding only this time, Artemis faces an enemy who may have finally outsmarted him.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    While Artemis and the faeries have somewhat of an understanding

    While Artemis and the faeries have somewhat of an understanding with each other, one could sayArtemis Fowl is too brilliant to stop scheming. Using stolen faerie technology, Artemis builds technology of his own. In his attempt to profit off it, however, Artemis's invention is stolen by Jon Spiro, a businessman who plans to take the credit--and profits--for himself. Artemis and Holly must work together once more to save both their worlds. Following the events of the third book, Artemis is deemed dangerous to the fae, and his memories are wiped. Recon figures out several of the tricks that Artemis has implemented in order to regain his memories. The memory wipe takes Artemis's newfound morality along with it.

    Is it possible to put into words how delighted I was to see Artemis's adventures continue? And to imagine the look on the faeries' faces when they figure out what Artemis did in book three? It's not polite to gloat, especially as their secrecy is on the line with Artemis's mistake in presenting the cube to Spiro, but I just love the child criminal mastermind. I seriously had a crush on him back in the day (and I might still have one....). He's probably my favorite antihero of all time.

    When his memory is wiped at the end of book three, I knew that couldn't be the end, and I was right. It was a joy seeing memory-wiped Artemis being dragged into faerie adventures, not knowing what's going on and having to go with the flow. Of course, I was even happier when the faeries realize that they need Artemis-with-all-his-memories-intact. I love how Artemis has transformed over the series from a boy willing to commit crimes and hurt people to get what he wants into someone with a moral code and who will go out of his way to help someone in need.

    Artemis Fowl is a series that readers of all ages will enjoy. I have the first books on my bookshelf, and I often return to them. I don't believe that I will ever outgrow faeries and human criminal masterminds working together.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    Awsome

    Really cool

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2012

    DO YOU LIKE HARRY POTTER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    THEN GO TO MY REVIEW ON ATLANTIS COMPLEX

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    Awesome

    The best

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Hi

    Um is this the third book

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Good book but still the obvious worst.

    I don't reccomend it very strongly.

    1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2011

    Whats the order of these books

    Whath the order?

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2011

    Crud

    I bought it but it won't download

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2011

    Awesome book!!

    I read all of them constantly AMAZING BOOKS!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Well-Written Fantasy

    Opal Koboi is public enemy number one in the world of the fairies. She is a cunning, evil, dangerously intelligent, insane little pixie who wants to destroy the world of the fairies and rule the world of the humans. Human boy genious, Artemis Fowl, with the help of some friends, must foil Opal's evil plan before it is too late.

    Artemis Fowl, the Opal Deception is a well-written story with a lot of fast-paced action. It is a story that takes readers into the political world of fairies, centaurs, trolls, and dwarves. The dialogue between the characters is laced with humor. Readers will chuckle at some of the comments. The character development is also well done. All of the characters are believable and they have depth. It is interesting to watch Artemis Fowl change from a self-centered rogue to a caring human being.

    Artemis Fowl, the Opal Deception is a book that will appeal to fantasy lovers ages ten and up.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2011

    Great+series

    Great+read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2011

    Totally the best one

    I thought this book was the best one ij the series. I just love Artemis Fowl and Oplal Koboi rocks!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2011

    one of the best

    i loved this book it was very exciting and action packed anyone and everyone will love this book and the series

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2011

    Opal Rocks!

    Anyone who likes Opal (The Arctic Incident) will love this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    You just gotta love this book!

    I believe anyone who reads about Artemis fowl (1st and 2nd book) will like this book a lot! this is the best book yet! any child will like this book. Opal strikes again! Awesome book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 528 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 27