Customer Reviews for

Artemis Fowl; The Time Paradox

Average Rating 4.5
( 600 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(411)

4 Star

(116)

3 Star

(50)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

PARADOX

This book follows Artemis as he tries to heal his mother from this rare disease, in which a lemur fluid is needed to save his mother.Seems easy enough. But there's a catch, Artemis at age 11 had 'killed' the last lemur. So Artemis is left with one choice, to go back in ...
This book follows Artemis as he tries to heal his mother from this rare disease, in which a lemur fluid is needed to save his mother.Seems easy enough. But there's a catch, Artemis at age 11 had 'killed' the last lemur. So Artemis is left with one choice, to go back in time and steal the lemur from himself...but the last thing he expected was Opal Kboi.
The ultimate showdown:
Artemis vs. Artemis

posted by Tolassa on October 27, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Pretty Good For A Boy's Book!

Sure, it's more of a boy's book pick then a girls, but if you're in for some action and need a book to read, I recommend Artemis Fowl. A good book, I've read better, but a pretty good book all in all.

posted by Izzie_B on December 31, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 607 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 31
  • Posted October 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    PARADOX

    This book follows Artemis as he tries to heal his mother from this rare disease, in which a lemur fluid is needed to save his mother.Seems easy enough. But there's a catch, Artemis at age 11 had 'killed' the last lemur. So Artemis is left with one choice, to go back in time and steal the lemur from himself...but the last thing he expected was Opal Kboi.
    The ultimate showdown:
    Artemis vs. Artemis

    16 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    A Critic

    I was waiting for this book to come out for a long time! When i finally got the chance to read it, i was absorbed in the book. i finished it in a day! here's what i though: i thought it was awwwwwwwwwwwwwwwsome!! it talked about how Artemis was willing to do anything to save his mother, even thought he had to jeopardize his friendship with Holly in order to do it. I thought he was a jerk for crossing that line, but at least he had remorse. and then there was the fact that he caused the extinction of the lemur eight years ago, and now he thought it came back to bite him. if he had been the ruthless, cold-hearted jerk that he was before, he couldn't have cared less, but because he became Holly's friend and saved his mother from insanity, he became less ruthless and learned of friendship, love, empathy, mercy, guilt, selflessness and saving the world from that odious pixie Opal Koboi once again. saving the world from that narcissistic,ego maniacal, paranoid pain in the ass again was a selfless act that he learned from his friends. then he went back in time and encountered his 10-year old self. we can see that he looks at his younger self and to his horror he found that he was obnoxious and ruthless. good thing he had a change of character in some aspects. he was still a criminal mastermind, he was still a smart ass, but he was wasn't as crazy about making money as much as he used to. i think that Artemis liked the new version of himself. <BR/>Mulch was, as always, humorous and helps a lot, and in the end, he did it out of the goodness of his heart, but with interest. <BR/>and then the kiss between Holly and Artemis: i was shocked! but at least Holly's excuse was because she was emotional and flushed with magic, and Artemis' excuse was that he was nearly killed and weak. Holly then regrets the kiss, and Artemis was awkward and returned no feelings, so that got out of the way, because i thought that he was falling for Minerva. The time paradox was the most confusing part, but it was still thrilling! and Artemis nearly met his match with his younger self, but, of course, since he had experience he outsmarted everyone in the end, even Opal Koboi. he nearly died trying to save Jayjay, his mother and the world from the most powerful fairy in the world, and he didn't even earn a penny! talk about a change of character!!!

    9 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2011

    Epic!

    This is just what colfer needs to boost popularity a whole lot more! The twists ans turns made the book exciting!

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2009

    Eoin Colfer's "The Time Paradox" with Artemis Fowler, a must read!!

    This book was given as gift to my preteen grand-daughter whom enjoyed it very much. I read it beforehand to make sure it was appropriate. To me an adult it was very interesting, fact-filled, exciting and fast paced. I know I will buy and read some more of Eoin Colfer's Artemis Fowler books in the future.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2011

    Soo c So cool

    One of the best books in the series! I couldnt put it down! Five stars

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2011

    Best book!

    GREAT!!!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Artemis Fowl is AWESOME!!!

    Love artemis fowl i cant see how people dont like it its a good series hope u read it

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Review

    This boook was very good and exciting. But their were points that I felt like skiping a few pages. Mainly because some points felt like they would never end and I wanted to tear threw to see the ending(mainly to see if their would be another book). People who havent read any of the other books will most certinly be lost. If your going to read this book read the other if you are a fan like my self you will find this next book very worth the time and money.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2009

    Readers Ages 10 And Up Can Enjoy This Intriguing Series (Reviewed by TheBookworm)

    Artemis Fowl: The Time Paradox<BR/>By Eoin Colfer<BR/>Pub. Date:<BR/>5 out of 5 stars<BR/>PG - Violence<BR/>Recommended<BR/><BR/>Artemis is just beginning to relax and settle into his new life¿s routine when his mother becomes gravelly ill. The only cure: a unique lemur¿s brain fluid. The only problem: that lemur`s species has been extinct for seven years. With Captain Holly Short of the Fairy LEP by his side and N°1 the demon warlock fueling their time travel escapade, he begins his journey into the past in hopes of capturing the last lemur before its murderer gets it. But Artemis¿s latest plan may be the first to fail, because this time around he is up against the cleverest enemy yet. Himself at the age of 10, and yet to gain a conscience<BR/><BR/>The Time Paradox was the best in this amazing series so far. I was so far drawn into the story, I felt like I was one of the characters participating. I loved seeing how the young Artemis and present Artemis clashed. The present Artemis had gained a conscience and the ability to feel guilt, so he had new limitations and feelings to deal with. He looked at every problem with a kinder air and was no longer able to willingly risk a friend or human being or any creature for his gain. The young Artemis was hard and sometimes very cold. He was willing to do almost anything to get his father back.<BR/><BR/>The changes in Artemis through the books were so gradual that they were sometimes hard to notice, but in this sixth book in the series where the past and present Artemis¿s are both included, it was so obviously clear how much he had changed for the better.<BR/><BR/>The story wasn¿t just made up of action. There was fun to read mind-boggling provocative ideas smoothly strewn through the pages. Some interesting emotional twists between characters added an air of unease and uncertainty. Just when I¿m starting to give up hope, the good guys save the day by means that I feel I should have foresaw, but yet I knew I couldn¿t possibly have guessed.<BR/><BR/>The Time Paradox came to a gratifying close that wrapped up nicely, but left a wide open door for another book in the series. Readers ages 10 and up can enjoy this intriguing series. I do suggest though that you read the prior books in the Artemis Fowl series to best understand this book.<BR/><BR/>Date Reviewed: January 8th, 2009<BR/><BR/>For more book reviews and book information check out my blog at www.inthecurrent.blogspot.com

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2011

    Amazing!

    Maybe even my favorite Artemis Fowl book, and that's saying something!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2011

    Best book ever

    I loved it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2011

    just finished

    super fabulous! jayjay=adorable, and the makeout scene was GOLD. haha ol arty is hot. xD

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2008

    Pretty Good For A Boy's Book!

    Sure, it's more of a boy's book pick then a girls, but if you're in for some action and need a book to read, I recommend Artemis Fowl. A good book, I've read better, but a pretty good book all in all.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    This Book is the Coolest!

    I've been waiting for this book for FOREVER! When it finally came out I was ecstatic.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    WHY!! Holly. WHY!!

    This was a good book but why does Artemis and Holly have to kiss. I think that was pure fanficition. What happened to Minerva, I really liked her character. For me Artemis's character became too nice. In the other books he was cocky, arrogant, and a smart aleck. I love that about him! I can understand why he became nicer but he didn't have to become that nice. I still liked the ending though. That was really cool how he knew but didn't know them at the same time. I recommend this book to people who like Artemis NICE not to people who adore his cool, original, arrogant attitude.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    REALLY ACTION-PACKED

    "Artemis Fowl: The Time Paradox" is the sixth book in the wonderful fantasy series, "Artemis Fowl," by Eoin Colfer. It is extremely action-packed and super fun. Any Artemis Fowl fan will not be disappointed! Read the series, you will enjoy it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2008

    Good, but...

    This was a great Artemis fowl adventure, it had all the stuff you would exspect from Eoin colfer. The only thing that bothered me was that he left Minerva'Artemises possible girlfriend'completely out of the story! Other then that it was pretty darn awesome!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2014

    Another blast to the past!

    When his mother gets a deadly disease,Artemis has to the past eight years earlier to get the only cure : a silky safika lemur, in which is extinct... because of him. When he and Holly go on another mystical adventure, who would think that you would meet a younger Mulch Diggums,stiil a burgular at the time, Commander Julius Root before he was murdered,and the murderer Opal Koboi who also wants the lemur. Once you start reading it, you will not be able to stop!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2012

    :) (: c-dog

    I love the Artemis Fowl series,i think it should never, ever,ever ,
    ever ,ever ,ever ,end!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    This book rocks!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This hole set of books rock! The only thing i do not think is good is that they are not long

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 607 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 31