Customer Reviews for

Artemis Fowl: The Time Paradox

Average Rating 4.5
( 609 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(417)

4 Star

(117)

3 Star

(50)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

PARADOX

This book follows Artemis as he tries to heal his mother from this rare disease, in which a lemur fluid is needed to save his mother.Seems easy enough. But there's a catch, Artemis at age 11 had 'killed' the last lemur. So Artemis is left with one choice, to go back in ...
This book follows Artemis as he tries to heal his mother from this rare disease, in which a lemur fluid is needed to save his mother.Seems easy enough. But there's a catch, Artemis at age 11 had 'killed' the last lemur. So Artemis is left with one choice, to go back in time and steal the lemur from himself...but the last thing he expected was Opal Kboi.
The ultimate showdown:
Artemis vs. Artemis

posted by Tolassa on October 27, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Pretty Good For A Boy's Book!

Sure, it's more of a boy's book pick then a girls, but if you're in for some action and need a book to read, I recommend Artemis Fowl. A good book, I've read better, but a pretty good book all in all.

posted by Izzie_B on December 31, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 417 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 21
  • Posted September 4, 2011

    AWESOME!!

    I loved this book!!!!!!!!! I especially love the Beckett and Myles!!!!! So cute!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Layla

    Great!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    Awesome

    This book is amazing. Definately my favorite Artemis Fowl book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2011

    must read

    I have read one of the Artemis Fowl Books (The Arctic Incident) and I thought it was very hard to top. I was wrong when I read this.After his journey in limbo, Artemis is trying to adjust to life and settle down. But as soon he is settling in, his mother comes down with a sickness unknown to mankind. His friend, LEPrecon Officer Holly Short, confirms it is a disease that is spread by magic, and the only way to cure it is to inject the brain fluid of a lemur, but there are two problems: 1.The lemur went extinct eight years ago; and 2. The reason it is existence is because Artemis had killed it for money. And so, as he and Holly go back in time, they dicover dark secret.The thing I liked most about The Arctic Incident was that the author could think outside the box and he definitely worked outside it hear. He took the laws of time travel, which are complicated enough, and intertwined it into the story. I had enjoyed this book greatly and hope to read more of the series this summer

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2011

    Twists you all around!

    Fast-paced exiting, readers will love the unexpected twists that come with every chapter of this exiting novel. Amazing how fast you can get caught under the wrong usumption that things are finally calming down once in awhile

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2010

    Entertaining and Fun

    In this book, Artemis is faced with his largest challenge yet. His mother has contracted a deadly disease and it is up to Artemis to save her. Unfortunately, there is only one cure; the brain fluid of a rare lemur that Artemis used as a means to improve his finances five years ago. This left the species extinct. This book is intended for children ages ten and up because of mild violence and semi-advanced vocabulary. My purpose of reviewing this book is to get other people interested in reading it. It is also to describe how enthralling and entertaining it is.
    This book is the sixth and last Artemis Fowl book in the series. I am judging this book on the criteria that it is entertaining and has much adventure and excitement in it. Artemis is in a race against the clock as he searches for the brain fluid that could be the difference between life and death for his mother. He is pitted against his rival Opal Kobio, and the perhaps even more dangerous younger version of himself.
    This book contains time travel, and resulting from that, a time paradox. The time paradox is that he must save a lemur from his younger self which will alter time. The book achieves its goals and purposes because it delivers an action packed thrill ride that stands up to and supersedes the previous books in the series. This stands up to books like Harry Potter because it contains a large storyline and many characters that will entertain you.
    My purpose of reviewing this book is to get other people interested in reading it. It is also to describe how enthralling and entertaining it is. The book delivers a good storyline and ties up all loose ends into a great ending.
    I love this book because it got me reading it and wouldn't let me stop. It is a very good book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing sixth book!

    Artemis Fowl has called up his fairy friends once more. This time it's because his mother is deathly ill, and getting worse by the minute. She is diagnosed by the fairies with Spelltropy, a disease that can only be cured with the brain fluid of the Silky Sifaka lemur. What's the catch? Artemis himself killed the last member of the species when he was ten years old. So in order to save his mother, he has to travel back in time to steal the lemur back. This plan proves to be working just fine, until things don't go according to the past. Will the little lemur be safely transported back, or will a new (and old) villain return to ensure that two members of the twenty-first century get permanently stuck in the twentieth?

    Colfer's use of time travel in this book makes a lot more sense than the last one, and more than once, you're guaranteed to facepalm yourself when the little details and allusions all come together at the end. Another great thing about the use of time travel in this novel is that you can compare the characters of the past and how much they've evolved over the course of the next five books (a colossal amount). And of course, the plot is one big, funny, adventure that makes this book one of the best ones in the series.

    -Literary Pizazz, literarypizazz.blogspot.com

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    i love this book

    I am now reading this book and I am so sad it is the last book. I read the first five books in under a week. People might say this is a book for boys or little kids but I am a teenager and a girl and I have been mezmerized by this book. From the first book to the last book Artemis changes his live and the lives of others in agood way. I recomend this book to everyone!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2008

    !!!The best!!!

    When I read the previous book, Eoin left me on a cliffhanger. Twin brothers??? Wow! That left me on my toes until my friend told me that there was a new one! When I got back home, I went to the Barnes&Noble website and found out that I could read it during the summer. Immediately, I asked my parents for the book. Read it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2008

    Yeahs, I cant wait

    Okay twin brothers sounds awesome.But brain stuff? I dont know that sounds a little far fetched for me. And what happened to Artemis' plots and schemes?. I get that he has become a better person but once a criminal always a crimenal. Colfer i thought went a little off-track with the whole demons thing. Will they be involved in this book? Will the war-locks send him back in time? im sure they have the power to. Will holly short accompany him on this time traveling journey? And what about butler? he has become old and maybe even a liability. What role will he play? And mulch? I dont know, to me it sounds like colfers going to have two different plots going. One with artemis in the past and another with everyone else in the present. Artemis going mono-e-mono with himself sounds awesome. Btu i think Colfers gone a little bit to far this time. Hopefully he hasnt gone far enough so that he ruins the whole series. Evan though i have my doubts this is still a series i respect and cherish and i will deffinately be sitting at Barnes and nobles reading all morning with a coffee in my hand seeing if colfer could pull this one off.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2008

    An amazing series

    this series is totally amazing! it starts off with an evil genius of a boy plotting to get more money and keep up the fortune (but he has no friends). as the series progress you watch him learn what it means to put others before himself and still use his genius. I love the series and can't wait for this one to come out!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2008

    It's not even out yet but I couldn't resist!

    OK, so when this book comes out, the B&N had better be prepared because I'm raiding them the day it happens! In case that didn't already tell you enough, I'll just say that the entire Artemis Fowl series is amazing and anybody can read it! Looking foward to the new book!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2008

    Hooray! Another Artemis Fowl book is here at long last!!

    I really like the Artemis Fowl series. I've read and reread each book, and look forward to this one. I wasn't really sure where the last book in the written series (The lost colony) came in, it seemed a bit of a ... different style... than the other books. Also, it seemed strange that Eoin Colfer wrote a graphic novel. Call me crazy, but it seemed out of character. Anyhow, I'm really looking forward to this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2008

    A reviewer

    i love the fowl seris and i reread them from time to time and i still love them... but lemur brain fluid?...im a little skeptical about that. But no worry i still have faith in colfer to make a wonderful book...lets just hope this wont bring the fowl seris crashing down....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2008

    can't wait for awesome ending!

    I can't wait for the awesome ending of Artemis Fowl! Though little has been unlocked about the book (even it's cover), I think I have an idea of what it's going to be about because of it's title. I'm sure everyone knows what 'time' means, and 'paradox' means 'something that people think is false but really is true.' I think this book will kind of be a part 2 of AF:The Lost Colony. But that's just my opinion.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2008

    Cannot wait for this book!

    I love Eoin's books! He was such a huge inspiration for me in writing my own book (which is part of a 5 part series). I have read all of the books several times and I am anxiously awaiting this one's publication.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2008

    Artemis Fowl

    I am in love with this book and i think this next one will be great.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2008

    Another addition to a great series

    i have high hopes for this book. Artemis has battled all the great masterminds of this world (above and below it) that its about time he had a battle with himself.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2007

    I cant wait!!

    i am seriously going to be 1st in line for this. I cant wait to find out aout the twins and Minerva. I also hope N1 turns out OK. I cannot wait!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2008

    I Can't Wait!

    I CANNOT WAIT FOR THIS BOOK! I got the fifth one when it first came out and I have been waiting forever for this one! This plot sounds like the best one yet!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 417 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 21