BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Artemis Rising

Average Rating 4.5
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Captivating!

This is a genre I normally would avoid at all costs. But a friend suggested that I take a look at Cheri's book and I was caught completely off guard having read multiple chapters before I was aware that I was speeding along and enjoying every moment engrossed in her sto...
This is a genre I normally would avoid at all costs. But a friend suggested that I take a look at Cheri's book and I was caught completely off guard having read multiple chapters before I was aware that I was speeding along and enjoying every moment engrossed in her story telling manner. It is a captivating read and I highly recommend it to anyone looking for something easy to read yet powerful enough to propel a reader forward, hooked to the end. Bravo!

posted by ShaneParrish on September 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Took me 3 weeks just to read chapter 1. Cannot get past that. So

Took me 3 weeks just to read chapter 1. Cannot get past that. Sorry I found it extremely boring. 

posted by wiccanvix1 on June 28, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2014

    Took me 3 weeks just to read chapter 1. Cannot get past that. So

    Took me 3 weeks just to read chapter 1. Cannot get past that. Sorry I found it extremely boring. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Artemis Rising

    As I was thinking about what I wanted to write for this review, my brain keeps calling up that oft quoted line from Romeo and Juliet, "What's in a name? That which we call a rose By any other name would smell as sweet." But what if the name really did matter? In Artemis Rising, those who adopt these new names also adopt the fates of their namesakes. When Eva fully accepts her mother's belief system, and adopts the name Arethusa, she very quickly finds her life paralleling that of her namesake nymph. I love a good myth, but this was the first time I've come across that of Alpheus and Arethusa. Upon looking up the myth after finishing the book, I was impressed on how well the myth was translated to fit the life of a teen in the turn of the century Azores yet keep the parallels. The Tristan and Isolde legend I was more familiar with, and I found that inclusion was a bit more subtly done. The result is a love triangle and triangle of ideology.

    I always enjoy a lead female character who can take care of herself, even if she needs help from the guys sometimes. Eva/Arethusa certainly fills this role. All the characters are strong characters and well written. This is a great addition to the increasingly popular mythology adaptation genre. This is Lasota's first novel, and I look forward to more from her.

    I received a copy of this from the author for review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Captivating!

    This is a genre I normally would avoid at all costs. But a friend suggested that I take a look at Cheri's book and I was caught completely off guard having read multiple chapters before I was aware that I was speeding along and enjoying every moment engrossed in her story telling manner. It is a captivating read and I highly recommend it to anyone looking for something easy to read yet powerful enough to propel a reader forward, hooked to the end. Bravo!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2011

    A Must Read!

    Artemis Rising is an intriguing and complex tale, yet in the hands of author Cheri Lasota, the story flows seamlessly, gathering the reader into a world so real you can smell the bergamot along with Eva, feel the pitching of a storm-tossed ship, and the sweet taste of first love. Yet Eva's world, Arethusa's world, is one of magic, a place where themes of ancient myth and religious thought meet, confront, and struggle for supremacy. When Eva is shipwrecked on the Azores Islands off Portugal, she encounters Tristao, the blue-eyed boy who will fight for her against the beguiling but ruthless pursuit of Diogo. Be prepared for shocks, twists, and suspense when you read this story. Also be prepared for the exquisite Portuguese background, its culture, color, and customs. With velvety and powerful prose, Ms. Lasota lets us see, taste, smell, feel, and hear each experience as she guides us through layers of suspense, myth, magic, and romance.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2013

    OMG

    Omg this i now one of my favorite books of all time

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Aretemis Rising is a magical young adult novel about destiny and

    Aretemis Rising is a magical young adult novel about destiny and love. Set in the Azores in the late 19th century, young Eva Mare’s mother performs a pagan ritual to look into her daughter’s future. During her trance, she sees a man named Diogo and convinces Eva he is to be her destiny. But Eva encounters a young man of her own named Tristan who also faces a complex destiny. It is Tristan she falls in love with and it is Diogo who she disdains for his evilness.
    And thus begins a masterfully woven plot filled with conflict and danger and intrigue. Cheri Lasota has written a spell-binding historical fantasy about young, passionate love, skillfully tying it in with historical myths such as Tristan and Isolde and Arethusa and Alpheus. Although the novel is written for young adults, the story has a great deal of depth and is more than adequate for adults. It is a coming of age novel about self-discovery, about one’s true faith, and of triumph. A compelling read and highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Myth Lovers Must Read

    A beautifully written novel that will plunge you into the depths of myth. The author has a talent for putting the reader into the world and putting the character's into their hearts. Steeped richly in the culture of the Azores people, this novel has just the right balance of action, romance, and mysticism.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    Nice mixture of myth and legend wound together in a lovely story

    Nice mixture of myth and legend wound together in a lovely story. Eva Mare forced to leave home by her Catholic Father for taking part in her Mother's Pagan rituals. In route to their new home their ship sinks and Eva finds herself awakened on the shore of her new home by the man she is destined to love. Nice way to spend am afternoon inthe sun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This is a good myth!

    I always love mythology, and it could only get better with a dose of Christianity…

    The story is moving and I cried along with Arethusa, I can completely feel myself being in her shoes, and all those horrible things happening to her..

    I find myself surprised at each turn of the story, things which I didn’t know would fall into…I especially appreciate the ending, I was thinking the same lines all along, but I was still surprised how perfect it ended. A complex yet highly engrossing read…

    It’s really thrilling and horrifying what accepting other’s names would mean accepting their fate too… I really love this combinations of stories…

    The book is a combination of fast and slow, it got slower at the part when they are growing into maturity, it’s just it jump to a couple of years, and I really want to know what happen in those missing years. The beginning is engaging and pack of twist… the middle not so much.. but the end says it all, I even felt my breathing stops at every words I read..lol…

    I love how the author presents the philosophical thought between fate and choice, and how at the end, fate depends on our choice..(:D)…, the nature of true love and plain lust, and the danger of believing something and letting your mind be engulfed in things which are not true…

    Ms. Lasota beautifully combined Greek myth, Arthurian legend, Christianity into a wonderful tale, any romanticist would love.

    A book- Any reader could be carried away…Highly recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1